Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V

Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V

Item# 305175
Heavy-duty Puma 60-Gallon, 3 HP compressor is built with a cast iron belt-driven oil-lubricated 2-cylinder single-stage pump to run quietly and deliver long pump life. ASME-certified vertical tank has gate valve to allow downstream air to be shut off. Air Tank Size gal. 60, Amps 15, CFM at 40 PSI 13.5, CFM at 90 PSI 12, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, HP 3, Max. PSI 150, Motor Phases Single, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 x 29 x 63, Drive Belt, Tank Type Vertical, Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated, 2-cylinder, Stage Single, Volts 230, Duty Cycle 50. Durable cast iron oil-lubricated pump for long life and no heat transfer between cylinders Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide good heat dissipation and less moisture Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Motor runs at 3,450 RPM Pump runs at 1,450 RPM Durable metal belt guard won't break Oil sight gauge for easy visual oil checks ASME-certified tank is ready for use in commercial shops Rebuildable pump rod inserts and replaceable valves for extra-long pump life
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Review 1 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great air compressor

,
October 10, 2014
By buick455
from vermont
"very happy with the compressor. got it to use a sand blast cabinet . keeps up well for home use restoring
parts. wish the shipping was cheaper.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLANT COMPRESSOR !!!

,
July 27, 2014
By Doityourselfr
from Nashville, Tn.
"This is an EXCELLANT compressor for home use and the best value for the money. I spent a long time reviewing different compressors and was willing to pay more for the top name brands. I have owned this unit for several months now and it performs beyond my expectations and without any problems. The only thing I have noticed is the difficulty in draining the tank with the bottom valve, it is close to the floor and difficult to reach so I simply extended the piping out and installed an automatic air bleed valve and it works great. Overal construction of this compressor is very good quality, it is easily installed, maintained and serviced. Operation is much quieter that I had expected. I have it connected to a 1/2" delivery system with a multiple outlet manifold and hose real and the unit does not have to labor hard or long to recover air pressure with typical air tools, inflating tires, etc. or using a lot of air blowing dust or dirt. Definitely need to install vibration dampers and bolt to the floor but not difficult to do at all. Electrical connections are up front and easy to do....Not rocket science. I would definitely recommend this compressor to anyone needing moderate to heavy duty operation. I am very glad I checked all the reviews and purchased this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Compressor for your money

,
July 20, 2014
By dannyboyyyy
from Chicago, Illinois
"Unless you can get a used quincy two stage for sub 700, this is a great compressor. The pump is fairly standard, made in Taiwan, and the motor is made in Mexico just like the I.R. models. Quality Tank as well. Highly recommended. Quieter than most oil-less 5 gallon pancake compressors."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Quieter than expected!

,
July 13, 2014
By ALChooki
from Arlington, TX
"I haven't used this compressor for very long, but so far I'm impressed with the quality and and finish of the compressor. Also this is very quiet in comparison to other compressors of the same type I've seen. It took approximately 6 mins to fill from empty to shut off. I'll post another review after I begin to use this more and more, but so far I think this compressor is a great buy for the price and the quality you are getting. I searched for about 3 months before choosing this compressor based on reviews and pricing. Northern tool was also very easy to deal with and it was awesome they loaded the compressor for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor for the price

,
June 24, 2014
By Paulypin
from Ligonier, PA
"The compressor was shipped well. Set-up was easy. I bought the compressor to use with a sandblasting cabinet. I'm a hobbyist and the Puma was a great fit for what the compressor has to do. The owners manual could have been more concise. It is nothing more than 3 pages printed on both sides stapled together."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

puma 6060v compressor

,
June 11, 2014
By natelee
from lagrange, ga
"I went and picked this compressor up in the macon ga store.
It seems to be very solidly built and well designed.
It is very easy to wire but after running it through the break in period, it never seemed to build up tank pressure.
I notified steve sykes at puma and discussed the problem.
It turned out that whomever assembled it plugged up the holes in the back of the air filter covers, which he sent me new ones but all you would have to do is drill
them out.
This turned out to be very frustrating but that fixed the problem.
Just wanted others to be aware of this and save a future headache.
All in all good product with good customer support.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bang for the buck!

,
May 4, 2014
By CMullins
from Virginia
"I do a lot of porting and polishing as well as using a sand blast cabinet (also the typical mechanic tool use also). This unit performs great, it is super quiet and smooth and it holds up great even to the more demanding tools. So far I'm very impressed with the quality of the unit, it looks good and feels well made. A +"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great compressor

,
April 30, 2014
By 74blazerresto
from atlanta
"After vasilating on which compressor to buy I elected to go with the PUMA, so far it has been a great compressor. It more than keeps up with all my air tools I have used to date with it. 3/8" 1/2" and air chisel. The only thing I haven't used with it are my D/A and paint guns as I haven't installed my Dryer yet. There are only 2 issues I have with the compressor first is the height of the feet, while I understand the desire to keep as low as possible for COG purposes it makes it difficult to drain the water out. Second issue is not with the compressor itself but the fact that accessories have to be ordered, i.e. equipment installation pads for vibration. You cannot install directly onto concrete you must use some form of vibration isolation pads, otherwise you run the risk of the compressor vibrating itself out of position or worse yet potentially shaking itself apart. what I did was cut 3 pieces of 4x4 wood blocks to about 4 inches long and glued foam pipe insulation to bottom of them then lag bolted to the feet of the compressor. That solved the 2 problems at once height and vibration isolation. The compressor is very quiet for its size and capabilities (you can have a normal conversation next to it while its running). all and all it was a great buy for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

puma compressor

,
February 10, 2014
By yamahajay
from longwood florida
"This was a good buy.a lot of compressor for the money very easy to set up.runs air tools with no problem definitely would buy another if I needed too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

General auto repair and mild sand blasting

,
February 5, 2014
By vrod
from Texas
"Bought about 6 months ago to replace a 150PSI craftstman that struggled to run my sand blasting cabinet. This one is quiet, fills up quickly, does a good job with my sand blasting cabinet. Could always be better, but for the money and considering a home workshop, excellent deal. Runs impacts, grinders, all general air tools no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 5, 2014
By Rdaa
from Florida
"Ordered this compressor online and picked it up at my local store. Setup instructions were clear and easy to follow. Works great and is not near as loud as my old oil less compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMA 3hp

,
February 4, 2014
By twisted
from Albemarle, NC
"This compressor is very smooth and quiet, the drain on bottom is easy to open and close. I have ran it hard all day with no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma 3hp, single stage, 60gal. air compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By Packman10
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had been looking around for a larger air compressor and found the Puma 3hp. at Northern Tool. I purchased it and installed it and I am very happy with my purchase. A great price too.
It has several nice features about it and will help me with my air tools in doing restoration work on my old cars. I would recommend this compressor to anyone needing a larger stationary air compressor in there garage or shop. Thanks, Northern Tool. J. D.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puma Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By lackluster
from Ladson SC
"It's a little louder than I expected it to be, but overall a great compressor. Great for at home use. Wouldn't recommend for a busy shop, but the weekend warrior would love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By SixGunsAutomotive
from Leander, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After 30 years of turning wrenches and purchasing many overpriced 'premium' brand compressors, I picked up the Puma for the home shop where I do repair work and auto paint. This thing performs on the same level of the high-end compressors. Planning on picking up a second one for the shop soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Quality Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By jwb132
from Forest City NC
"I purchased this compressor last year and wanted to use it for a bit before writing a review. I use it 3 or 4 times per week for wood working, and metal fabrication. It's a beast! This thing runs all of my tools with no problem. You can tell by the quality of the welds, components and build quality that a lot of work went into its design. It's way quieter than my last compressor and takes a fraction of the time to build pressure. It runs smooth and doesn't vibrate as much as other compressors that I've seen. Can't think of a single negative thing to say about it. Even the price was right! I LOVE it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma 60 gal

,
February 4, 2014
By JJGJ
from N. Carolina
"Excellent mid size compressor for auto shops, etc. Enough CFM to run most tools. Quiet, easy to hook up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet & fast

,
February 4, 2014
By Coneboy
from Union Grove, WI
"Best bang for the money. The V-Twin motor is super quiet (compared to my past compressors) and has a fast recovery time. Definitely a "Two-Thumbs up"!! I only wish the feet were about 4" taller to make it easier to drain condensation from the tank. Had to extend drain out from unit to make it more convenient. Still a great unit!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good bang for your buck

,
February 4, 2014
By hubb10
from Arizona
"This compressor Is great, it's a lot quieter then I expected and has worked marvelously since I've received it. I use it all the time and couldn't be happier, best part is its made in the good ole USA."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By ssgt
from dallas texas
"Bought this and happy with it. I'm building a 1955 F100 truck. Needed it for sanding , impact, air ratchet and spray painting.
It works good, but has a hard time keeping up with DA sander. It runs all the time. I have not spray painted it yet, but I'm using a HvLP gun. I believe it will be good for that. With all that said I would buy it again.
The noise is very low compared to my last compressor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.