Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"

Item# 305175
"Heavy-duty Puma 60-Gallon, 3 HP compressor is built with a cast iron belt-driven oil-lubricated 2-cylinder single-stage pump to run quietly and deliver long pump life. ASME-certified vertical tank has gate valve to allow downstream air to be shut off. Duty Cycle 50, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 x 29 x 63, HP 3, Max. PSI 150, Tank Type Vertical, Volts 230, Motor Phases Single, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, Portable or Stationary Stationary, CFM at 90 PSI 12, Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated, 2-cylinder, Stage Single, CFM at 40 PSI 13.5, Drive Belt, Amps 15, Air Tank Size gal. 60. Durable cast iron oil-lubricated pump for long life and no heat transfer between cylinders Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide good heat dissipation and less moisture Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Motor runs at 3,450 RPM Pump runs at 1,450 RPM Durable metal belt guard won't break Oil sight gauge for easy visual oil checks ASME-certified tank is ready for use in commercial shops Rebuildable pump rod inserts and replaceable valves for extra-long pump life"
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Review 1 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3HP, Single Stage, 60gal., Compressor

,
January 28, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
" I bought this compressor as part of my garage refresh project. Unit performs exactly as I had expected based on reviews here and elsewhere. No issues or factory defects. It is quiet compared to what I'm accustomed to as far as compressors go. Can easily hold a conversation next to it while it's running. Assembled and sold by an American company, does what it says it does, and is priced right. Not much else to say. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!

,
January 26, 2015
By
from Kansas
" I've used a 33 gal oil-less compressor for the last 10 years and it did ok if you didn't run any air hungry tools. It was so loud that you could hardly be in the garage while it was running without ear protection, and late night use in the garage while kids are asleep in the house was impossible with all the noise. I am super impressed with the Puma 6060v, and it's by far the biggest bang for the buck compressor available right now in my opinion. The only thing that's not ideal is the drain....it's hard to get to as delivered, but simple to extend to a more reachable position. It is SUPER quiet which was very important to me. You can literally stand right next to it and carry on a conversation with ease, and you can't hear it at all from inside the house. Even with a relatively low pop off pressure of 135psi (which is simple to change if desired), it barely has to run to keep up with a cheap 4cfm body saw that would have brought my old compressor to it's knees. Very happy with my decision and would recommend to anyone wanting a high quality, powerful, quiet compressor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMA

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Charlotte, NC
" I have only had the compressor for a short period of time but I am very pleased with the quality and performance to date. I am also thrilled to find a quality product made in the USA "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor for the Price

,
December 12, 2014
By
from Texas
" Can't beat this compressor for the price. It has the same "Made in Mexico" motor as the much higher priced IR. The compressor seems to be solidly built and easy to maintain. The pressure switch is not as well built as others but is a minor component to replace if necessary down the road. This unit is much quiter than my 6.5 HP Sanborn 25 gal horizontal tank and runs much cooler. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very reliable

,
November 11, 2014
By
from oklahoma
" iv had this compressor for about a year and it gets used about every other day on average. winter and summer, the compressor can be setting in 100 degree air or around here sometimes i turn it on and its about 10 degrees it always starts. it says max psi 150 which is why i bought it but its set to 125 from the factory with a 145 psi pop off so i replaced it with a 165 psi pop off and set the pressure up to 150. it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great air compressor

,
October 10, 2014
By
from vermont
" very happy with the compressor. got it to use a sand blast cabinet . keeps up well for home use restoring
parts. wish the shipping was cheaper.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLANT COMPRESSOR !!!

,
July 27, 2014
By
from Nashville, Tn.
" This is an EXCELLANT compressor for home use and the best value for the money. I spent a long time reviewing different compressors and was willing to pay more for the top name brands. I have owned this unit for several months now and it performs beyond my expectations and without any problems. The only thing I have noticed is the difficulty in draining the tank with the bottom valve, it is close to the floor and difficult to reach so I simply extended the piping out and installed an automatic air bleed valve and it works great. Overal construction of this compressor is very good quality, it is easily installed, maintained and serviced. Operation is much quieter that I had expected. I have it connected to a 1/2" delivery system with a multiple outlet manifold and hose real and the unit does not have to labor hard or long to recover air pressure with typical air tools, inflating tires, etc. or using a lot of air blowing dust or dirt. Definitely need to install vibration dampers and bolt to the floor but not difficult to do at all. Electrical connections are up front and easy to do....Not rocket science. I would definitely recommend this compressor to anyone needing moderate to heavy duty operation. I am very glad I checked all the reviews and purchased this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Compressor for your money

,
July 20, 2014
By
from Chicago, Illinois
" Unless you can get a used quincy two stage for sub 700, this is a great compressor. The pump is fairly standard, made in Taiwan, and the motor is made in Mexico just like the I.R. models. Quality Tank as well. Highly recommended. Quieter than most oil-less 5 gallon pancake compressors. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Quieter than expected!

,
July 13, 2014
By
from Arlington, TX
" I haven't used this compressor for very long, but so far I'm impressed with the quality and and finish of the compressor. Also this is very quiet in comparison to other compressors of the same type I've seen. It took approximately 6 mins to fill from empty to shut off. I'll post another review after I begin to use this more and more, but so far I think this compressor is a great buy for the price and the quality you are getting. I searched for about 3 months before choosing this compressor based on reviews and pricing. Northern tool was also very easy to deal with and it was awesome they loaded the compressor for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor for the price

,
June 24, 2014
By
from Ligonier, PA
" The compressor was shipped well. Set-up was easy. I bought the compressor to use with a sandblasting cabinet. I'm a hobbyist and the Puma was a great fit for what the compressor has to do. The owners manual could have been more concise. It is nothing more than 3 pages printed on both sides stapled together. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

puma 6060v compressor

,
June 11, 2014
By
from lagrange, ga
" I went and picked this compressor up in the macon ga store.
It seems to be very solidly built and well designed.
It is very easy to wire but after running it through the break in period, it never seemed to build up tank pressure.
I notified steve sykes at puma and discussed the problem.
It turned out that whomever assembled it plugged up the holes in the back of the air filter covers, which he sent me new ones but all you would have to do is drill
them out.
This turned out to be very frustrating but that fixed the problem.
Just wanted others to be aware of this and save a future headache.
All in all good product with good customer support.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bang for the buck!

,
May 4, 2014
By
from Virginia
" I do a lot of porting and polishing as well as using a sand blast cabinet (also the typical mechanic tool use also). This unit performs great, it is super quiet and smooth and it holds up great even to the more demanding tools. So far I'm very impressed with the quality of the unit, it looks good and feels well made. A + "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great compressor

,
April 30, 2014
By
from atlanta
" After vasilating on which compressor to buy I elected to go with the PUMA, so far it has been a great compressor. It more than keeps up with all my air tools I have used to date with it. 3/8" 1/2" and air chisel. The only thing I haven't used with it are my D/A and paint guns as I haven't installed my Dryer yet. There are only 2 issues I have with the compressor first is the height of the feet, while I understand the desire to keep as low as possible for COG purposes it makes it difficult to drain the water out. Second issue is not with the compressor itself but the fact that accessories have to be ordered, i.e. equipment installation pads for vibration. You cannot install directly onto concrete you must use some form of vibration isolation pads, otherwise you run the risk of the compressor vibrating itself out of position or worse yet potentially shaking itself apart. what I did was cut 3 pieces of 4x4 wood blocks to about 4 inches long and glued foam pipe insulation to bottom of them then lag bolted to the feet of the compressor. That solved the 2 problems at once height and vibration isolation. The compressor is very quiet for its size and capabilities (you can have a normal conversation next to it while its running). all and all it was a great buy for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

puma compressor

,
February 10, 2014
By
from longwood florida
" This was a good buy.a lot of compressor for the money very easy to set up.runs air tools with no problem definitely would buy another if I needed too. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

General auto repair and mild sand blasting

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Texas
" Bought about 6 months ago to replace a 150PSI craftstman that struggled to run my sand blasting cabinet. This one is quiet, fills up quickly, does a good job with my sand blasting cabinet. Could always be better, but for the money and considering a home workshop, excellent deal. Runs impacts, grinders, all general air tools no problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Florida
" Ordered this compressor online and picked it up at my local store. Setup instructions were clear and easy to follow. Works great and is not near as loud as my old oil less compressor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMA 3hp

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Albemarle, NC
" This compressor is very smooth and quiet, the drain on bottom is easy to open and close. I have ran it hard all day with no problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma 3hp, single stage, 60gal. air compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had been looking around for a larger air compressor and found the Puma 3hp. at Northern Tool. I purchased it and installed it and I am very happy with my purchase. A great price too.
It has several nice features about it and will help me with my air tools in doing restoration work on my old cars. I would recommend this compressor to anyone needing a larger stationary air compressor in there garage or shop. Thanks, Northern Tool. J. D.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puma Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Ladson SC
" It's a little louder than I expected it to be, but overall a great compressor. Great for at home use. Wouldn't recommend for a busy shop, but the weekend warrior would love it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Leander, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" After 30 years of turning wrenches and purchasing many overpriced 'premium' brand compressors, I picked up the Puma for the home shop where I do repair work and auto paint. This thing performs on the same level of the high-end compressors. Planning on picking up a second one for the shop soon. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.