Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V

Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V

Item# 305175
Heavy-duty Puma 60-Gallon, 3 HP compressor is built with a cast iron belt-driven oil-lubricated 2-cylinder single-stage pump to run quietly and deliver long pump life. ASME-certified vertical tank has gate valve to allow downstream air to be shut off. CFM at 90 PSI 12, Amps 15, Tank Type Vertical, Drive Belt, Stage Single, HP 3, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 x 29 x 63, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Volts 230, CFM at 40 PSI 13.5, Max. PSI 150, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, Motor Phases Single, Air Tank Size gal. 60, Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated, 2-cylinder. Durable cast iron oil-lubricated pump for long life and no heat transfer between cylinders Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide good heat dissipation and less moisture Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Durable metal belt guard won't break Oil sight gauge for easy visual oil checks ASME-certified tank is ready for use in commercial shops Rebuildable pump rod inserts and replaceable valves for extra-long pump life
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Review 1 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

puma compressor

,
February 10, 2014
By yamahajay
from longwood florida
"This was a good buy.a lot of compressor for the money very easy to set up.runs air tools with no problem definitely would buy another if I needed too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 5, 2014
By Rdaa
from Florida
"Ordered this compressor online and picked it up at my local store. Setup instructions were clear and easy to follow. Works great and is not near as loud as my old oil less compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMA 3hp

,
February 4, 2014
By twisted
from Albemarle, NC
"This compressor is very smooth and quiet, the drain on bottom is easy to open and close. I have ran it hard all day with no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma 3hp, single stage, 60gal. air compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By Packman10
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had been looking around for a larger air compressor and found the Puma 3hp. at Northern Tool. I purchased it and installed it and I am very happy with my purchase. A great price too.
It has several nice features about it and will help me with my air tools in doing restoration work on my old cars. I would recommend this compressor to anyone needing a larger stationary air compressor in there garage or shop. Thanks, Northern Tool. J. D.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puma Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By lackluster
from Ladson SC
"It's a little louder than I expected it to be, but overall a great compressor. Great for at home use. Wouldn't recommend for a busy shop, but the weekend warrior would love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By SixGunsAutomotive
from Leander, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After 30 years of turning wrenches and purchasing many overpriced 'premium' brand compressors, I picked up the Puma for the home shop where I do repair work and auto paint. This thing performs on the same level of the high-end compressors. Planning on picking up a second one for the shop soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Quality Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By jwb132
from Forest City NC
"I purchased this compressor last year and wanted to use it for a bit before writing a review. I use it 3 or 4 times per week for wood working, and metal fabrication. It's a beast! This thing runs all of my tools with no problem. You can tell by the quality of the welds, components and build quality that a lot of work went into its design. It's way quieter than my last compressor and takes a fraction of the time to build pressure. It runs smooth and doesn't vibrate as much as other compressors that I've seen. Can't think of a single negative thing to say about it. Even the price was right! I LOVE it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma 60 gal

,
February 4, 2014
By JJGJ
from N. Carolina
"Excellent mid size compressor for auto shops, etc. Enough CFM to run most tools. Quiet, easy to hook up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet & fast

,
February 4, 2014
By Coneboy
from Union Grove, WI
"Best bang for the money. The V-Twin motor is super quiet (compared to my past compressors) and has a fast recovery time. Definitely a "Two-Thumbs up"!! I only wish the feet were about 4" taller to make it easier to drain condensation from the tank. Had to extend drain out from unit to make it more convenient. Still a great unit!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good bang for your buck

,
February 4, 2014
By hubb10
from Arizona
"This compressor Is great, it's a lot quieter then I expected and has worked marvelously since I've received it. I use it all the time and couldn't be happier, best part is its made in the good ole USA."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By ssgt
from dallas texas
"Bought this and happy with it. I'm building a 1955 F100 truck. Needed it for sanding , impact, air ratchet and spray painting.
It works good, but has a hard time keeping up with DA sander. It runs all the time. I have not spray painted it yet, but I'm using a HvLP gun. I believe it will be good for that. With all that said I would buy it again.
The noise is very low compared to my last compressor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

puma 60 gal compressor

,
September 26, 2013
By bronica645
from jacksonville Fl
"Great compressor
No problems at all works like a dream!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Unit, quiet & very nice quality

,
May 27, 2013
By lgregor
from Western, North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have to first give 5 stars to Northern Tool. Ordered this unit online on a Tuesday late evening. It stated a 7 to 15 day delivery to the store (I did store pickup). I got a call 2 days later it was in the store ready for pickup. I was not only floored it came in so fast. I was happy but not ready yet having had to coordinate use of a truck. Phenomenal service by Northern Tool, I couldn't be happier.
The unit itself came nicely clear wrapped from half way the tank all the way up. 3 people easily lifted off a truck and sat on the ground. The unit is clean, VERY nice quality welds and paint. Things must have changed since a prior reviewer noted the plastic line from the motor to the valve. Its now copper with radial metal fins for cooling at both the critical locations. I was EXTREMELY pleased to see this. A unit this clean, with quality items such as these at this price point - excellent value.
One thing to note, which I was going to do anyway but seems to have no notice in the manuals. It was a conversation I had with the Puma technician that put my mind at ease I was doing the right thing by buying quality vibration dampeners. I put them on order the same night I did the compressor but speaking to Puma its a requirement to prevent stress/cracks in the weld/tank. I would think that should be noted in the product description/specs somewhere.
The unit is a lot quieter than I would ever have imagined. VERY pleased. No vibration on the concrete floor standing directly next to it while running, another pleasant surprise. Comparing it to my portable direct drive contractor compressor its a night and day difference. Like the difference between a direct drive and a belt drive table saw. You pretty much need hearing protection for direct drive. Can easily talk at a normal voice right next to this compressor. I bought the 1 year extended warranty just in case.
The cage for the belt & flywheels are protected by a steel mesh/grate not plastic like a lot of others at this price point and even higher $$. A very nice addition. Despite the reasonable price tag they did not seem to cut any corners on anything.
Only negative that I would give it is the location of the drain valve at the base of the tank. Even if it was only a tube to extend out from the side it would be better than having to drain water directly on the floor and let it run everywhere. It is also VERY close to the ground. Even with the dampers installed there is only about 1" space between it and the floor. May try to slide a short pan underneath to help deflect the water from going everywhere or puddling up underneath when draining. May try a small tube to divert it, not sure yet. To be fair, this is how most compressors are until you get into much larger & much $$ units.
I would definitely recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
31out of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor for the money

,
April 23, 2013
By imonyourcouch
from SD
"I tried to find reviews on this product and could not fond one negative review. I bought one, and have been happy with it. It is surprisingly quiet and reaches pressure quickly. As long as it lasts I am satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUMA AIRCOMPRESSOR

,
April 23, 2013
By 2143810
from LANE CITY, TEXAS
"I PURCHASED A PUMA AIR COMPRESSOR SEVERAL MONTHS AGO AND I WAS REALLY AMAZED AT HOW QUIET AND SMOOTH IT RAN. I DIDN'T BOLT IT DOWN BECAUSE I WANTED TO SEE HOW MUCH IT WOULD VIBRATE BEFORE I DID. AFTER I SAW HOW SMOOTH IT RAN I DIDN'T HAVE TO BOLT IT DOWN. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COMPRESSOR TO ANYONE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 2, 2013
By RG1994
from Wichita, KS
"Had this compressor about a month and love it. I researched compressors for quite a while and decided on this one. I couldn't find a negative review anywhere and so far all of the reviews were completely accurate. Have only used it for impact wrench, ratchet, and cutoff tool and runs those easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and effective.

,
April 9, 2012
By cyclopsracing
from San Diego, CA
"Excellent product. Used in my home shop.
Please note: the hookup is pure 220 ac with no neutral used. I wired the ground to the center tap on a dryer tail and safe-ed off the neutral that normally goes to it and put the ground on the female tap in the outlet box (dryer circuit uses 3 wire with ground)."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
In operation
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
24out of 47found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressed

,
March 7, 2012
By RyanOKC
from Oklahoma City, OK
"After doing TONS of research and deciding on how much I should spend on a compressor I decided on this Puma. Not many reviews on it, but I found were mostly all good reviews. Got it home wired it up and got to work. Very quiet, dont shake much, and very powerfull. I ran my grinder for a long time and it still kept up just fine and the compressor even shut off a few times. Its well built, attractive, and for the price you cant beat it. The warranty was cheap, so I bought an addtional 2 year warranty on top of my 1 year so I have 3 years...Good compresssor!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
29out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma PK6060v air compressor

,
January 16, 2012
By SawDustBob
from N. Texas
"I bought this compressor for my woodworking shop to replace a 28 y.o. Sears compressor. I have found it to be reliable, and much quiter than my old compressor. The compressor is used daily, 7 days a week for the last 3 months, my only gripe is that it needs a drain valve that comes out to the side instead of underneath. Best Buy for the Buck I could find."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puma Belt-Drive Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 60-Gallon Vertical, 3 HP, 12 CFM, Model# PK6060V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Good

,
March 9, 2011
By scruffdaddy
from Jonesborough, TN.
"I have been very satisfied with all my purchases at Northern Tool, I Purchased this Puma PK6060V Air Compressor after very careful consideration and alot of reserch. And it also fit my price range. Im a Backyard mechanic that has restored serveral Cars and trucks and even a couple Harleys. So i wanted a good Compressor for the buck. This Puma Compressor is the best quality and best built in it class and price range. Puma has a Quality Product. The puma craftsmanship by far out dose it compitistion. The only problem that i found on this compressor was the Plastic hose from the air tank to the air presure switch. It Didnt fail and works just fine, But for this caliber product i would have liked to have seen a copper line instead of the plastic. This would have put this product over the top. But its still the best compressor in its class."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+80points
80out of 80found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.