Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L

Item# 3063
NorthStar wedge slips over present wedge and converts it to a four way splitter for FAST splitting. For use on horizontal, hydraulic log splitters. Application Wedges/wedge wings, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/4 x 9 1/2 x 12. Fits 32-ton, high-profile splitter #11954
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 7(71%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Review 1 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needs alteration

,
April 9, 2014
By Cwkfromky
from Walton , ky
" This wedge has a problem. the ram on the splitter hits it. I had to cut away the bottom half of this wedge to keep the splitter RAM from hitting it This should never be sold to use it as it is. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rides up falls off on the back stroke

,
April 8, 2014
By woodcutters
from Michigan
" Great stuff I split 38 face cords a heating season hard wood only.Turns two strokes in one. I welded mine in got tired of it falling off. looking forward to getting next years wood cut and splitt before winter hits in 2015...just like I always want to do at the end of a heating season...lol Thank you for the great improvements "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

,
January 9, 2013
By ChrisinMa
from Mass
" I read many reviews before purchasing and I am actually more pleased with it that I had expected based on the comments. I see what others are talking about with the way it floats on the wedge. I too started out wedging it tight but soon I realized if you’re splitting logs large enough to catch the horizontal wedge the float is not an issue. I also took a grinder and sharpened up the leading edge and I also eased the side welds a bit to reduce the force needed to push a log through. After a day of use I modified mine by cutting one end down by 2”. Now I can flip it over for smaller logs and the horizontal wedge lines up better. Northern tool should make this change, no charge for the suggestion.
Really does make a measurable difference in splitting production.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
January 30, 2010
By RCL358
from New York
" I modified this to fit my split-fire dual direction splitter by adding/welding a grab handle to the 'top' utilizing 1/2" round stock. This way I can pull it off when not needed. I only split in one direction when using. I then added/welded shims to the inside such that it is a snug, not tight, fit. I also sharpened the edges utilizing a portable electric angle grinder before using. Will split 16" diameter hardmaple blocks into 4 sections with ease! If you need smaller pieces buy the 8" high version or just turn the bigger pieces and split again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not perfect

,
December 19, 2009
By dwyNH
from East Kingston, NH
" The big problem I have with this option to the 32ton NorthStar is the inside weld of the wedge reams the leading edge of the NorthStar main wedge. When at full extension the ram actually comes in contact with the 4 way wedge. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Wildcat1
Kane, PA 
 
Please wait while more information about Wildcat1 is loaded.
Additional information about Wildcat1 could not be loaded.
Keep 4 Way from dulling leading edge of main wedge
October 17, 2011
" I had one on another old splitter and a friend bought the exact same one. Seeing this would happen we welded strips of steel to inside of each side on the inside of the 4way wedge. You only have to weld the closest edge to you as the pressure of the strips pushing on the side (not the edge) of the main wedge keep it from going all the way front inside of the 4way and dulling it! We used strips of steel about 1/4" thick and about 3/4" wide or so and about 6-7 " long. This will solve your problem permanently. Welds never broke and it absolutely solves your problem, having split many log trucks of logs for resale. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time saver

,
July 13, 2009
By littlez
from Vermont
" This product is a great time saver. I drilled a hole though both the wedge and the 4-way wedge to keep the 4-way wedge from slipping up while under preasure. you have to use a strong grade bolt or it will just bend a regular bolt in half. It is also advisible to make sure your existing wedge is the same height or it will want to roll all the time. My splitter only has a 4" piston, but it still seems to work good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Four-Way Slip-On Log Splitter Wedge - 9 1/4in.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

splitters best friend

,
April 21, 2008
By Jimmer
from upper Michigan
" This is a great little tool, nearly 40% more output of split wood. Of course you still have to haul and stack. Note that the 4-way just floats on the existing wedge with no lock down. Also it is mild steel, with no harding. It effectively moves the wedge about an inch closer to the ram, within contact distance. Therefor you might need to weld a bead on the cutting edge and re-grind it into shape about once a year depending on how much use it gets. Still, it is a great little tool! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.