Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."

"Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."

Item# 30770
"Roughneck heavy-duty woodpile tarp is green on one side, brown on the other side and is specially designed to protect woodpiles. Polyethylene fabric has a 10 x 10 strand per inch tight weave and is double laminated to form a waterproof, rot-resistant woodpile tarp that resists sun fading and cracking in cold weather. Fabric has a solid weight of 3.4-oz. per square yard, providing excellent tensile strength and tear resistance. Made to actual finished size, compared to cheaper tarps that are cut to size, then folded at edges to yield a tarp that is smaller than stated size. Material Type Polyethylene, UV Inhibitors Yes, Material Thickness oz. per Sq. yd. 3.4, Dimensions L x W ft. 4 x 18, Color Brown/Green, Weather Resistant Yes, Grommet Material Aluminum, Grommet Spacing ft. 3, Mildew Resistant Yes. Specifically designed to cover wood piles Made with 3 layers for superior durability First layer is tightly woven 10 strands per inch x 10 strands per inch of polyethylene fiber Woven fabric has a double laminated coating of polyethylene, producing a solid weight of 3.4-oz. per square yard Delivers excellent tensile strength and tear resistance Tarp is waterproof, rot-resistant and resists cracking in cold weather Edges are heat-sealed and reinforced with rope for extra durability Weave and outside coating both contain UV inhibitors to give tarp a high resistance to fading and degrading in sun Rustproof aluminum grommets every 3 feet to help secure tarp over woodpile"
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Review 1 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4' x 18' Woodpile Tarp

,
February 10, 2016
By
from northern wisconsin
The best wood pile tarp I've ever had and I've tried many.
Stands up to all types of weather. Almost every wood pile tarp I've bought ends up looking like shredded cheese within one year, but not this one. I've had these tarps on wood stacks for five years and they still look like the day I bought them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tarp

,
January 23, 2016
By
from Joplin, Mo
It is not possible always possible to find a tarp that is such excellent quality and is just the right size. I have never seen these for sale any where else other then Northern Tool. This tarp is perfect and the size is just what I needed. I ordered 2 more and plan on using them for other projects. I am glad I got them.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wallylong

,
December 19, 2015
By
from illinois
basic tarp that is handy for a lot of things. keeps the firewood dry.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4x18 tarp

,
December 10, 2015
By
from California
Love this light weight tarp for covering my wood pile! The 4' width makes it easy to handle, both putting it on and folding it back to remove wood as needed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't last

,
November 14, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
These tarps barely last a year before they start developing large holes. I have purchased them several times in recent years thinking that I had previously simply gotten a bad batch. My experience has been totally opposite of those reviews claiming that they last 3-4 years. They are fine for "short term" covering of wood but, if you don't intend to use the wood for a couple of years, I would look elsewhere for a better tarp.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for covering a fence, too.

,
September 25, 2015
By
from North Central Florida
I bought a case of these in 2011 to cover the fence between my neighbor's four yappy dog and my half dozen big dogs. I zip tied them to the fence and they've held up great - no signs of wear or tearing to date (2015). Really helps to cut down the "yelling" between the two crowds, except when they're able to nose through the seams.
Next project - mount between 12' high posts above my 6' high privacy fence to block the glare of another inconsiderate (and apparently scared) neighbor's poorly placed bright, low mounted street light until my olives and viburnum can grow." Hope" he likes the green.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood Pile Tarp

,
August 4, 2015
By
from Fremont ,NH
For the money these tarps are a good cover product for stacked firewood. I have been using them for years. Each tarp lasts about 3 or 4 years, which is long time considering they are out in all kinds of the weather 24/7/365.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tarps

,
May 8, 2015
By
from VA
these tarps typically last about 4 years for me. It's worth having the size matched to a woodpile so you are not constantly fighting the extra material.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood pile tarps

,
March 21, 2015
By
from Missouri
I love the wood pile tarps. I have three 16 foot ranks of wood that last me all season. I cover these with the 4' x 18' wood pile tarps and I only need one per pile and they fit perfectly! AND, reasonably priced!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
February 2, 2015
By
from NJ
Perfect for keeping snow and rain off stacked row or firewood and lets air in so the wood seasons properly without trapping moisture that causes dry rot.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown

,
November 5, 2014
By
from Arkansas
Seems to be a good product but haven't had any snow or rain to evaulate it.
Good price and was what I was looking for.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Woodpile Tarp

,
October 20, 2014
By
from Mountainsof, VT
These tarps are light weight and will probably last only 2 seasons or so. But they are the perfect size for my stacked wood. I stack 2 rows of 18" split wood together, 16 feet long. These tarps covers each row perfectly. We'll see what they look like in the spring.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood pile tarp

,
September 19, 2014
By
from Richmond, VA
This is a good tarp for the money. The green/brown helps hide it where the blue sticks out. You'll probably need to tie or tack the edges down to keep them from blowing over.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp

,
April 20, 2014
By
from NorCal
Not what I expected though to be fair to Northerntool I did not read the description thoroughly enough. I would be hard pressed to call any "tarp" that is made of 3.4oz material "Heavy-Duty". My fire wood is 22" long so a tarp that is only 4 feet wide will only protect the top 1 foot of my woodpile. My fault I should have been more analitical when reading the description. Tarp was as described but does not fit my need as a woodpile tarp.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tarp

,
April 18, 2014
By
from Kingsport, Tn
This is a nice quality tarp made out of weather resistant material
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Indiana
Strapped this around my first wood stack. It has stayed in place through some very rough weather.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tarp for a narrow boat

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Scappoose, OR
Perfect cover for a pulling boat. I recently built an 18' row boat, with a sliding seat. To cover it I needed a 4' by 18' tarp. Hard to find, unless you have a Northern Tool catalog handy. Just what I needed at a great price.
Thanks
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Roughneck 3.4-Oz. Heavy-Duty Woodpile Tarp - Brown/Green, 4ft. x 18ft."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TARP

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Conroe tx
Found this tarp to last longer then the Blue one you can buy. Does not deteriate as fast
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.