Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"

"Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"

Item# 31347
"This Ironton Oil Extractor Pump is a 60 Watt high efficiency, self-priming pump with 12V DC motor. Compact and lightweight for exceptional portability. Also works with machine oil. Inlet Port in. 0.39 dia., Outlet Port in. 0.39 dia., Amps 5, Flow GPM 3/4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 5 5/32 x 5 1/2 x 3 11/32, Max. Suction Lift ft. 1.66, Hose in. x ft. Inlet 0.16in. x 3.94ft. Outlet 0.47in. x 4.92ft., Watts 60, Self-Priming Yes, Speed RPM 1400. Big flow, high delivery head features a 3L/min. flow rate Maximum suction lift of 1.66ft. Includes a 0.47in. dia. x 4.92ft.L outlet hose, 0.16in. dia. x 3.94ft.L inlet hose, 1.5m wire and 2-pc. clamp"
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
19 of 23(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Review 1 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Oil Changes

,
May 17, 2015
By Sarge759
from Maryville, TN, United States
" The Ironton oil extractor pump makes it easy to change oil, especially on engines with a bottom oil drain plug or one that is located in nearly inaccessible places. I use it on electric start equipment where the battery is right there. I have a spare battery that I use to power the pump on manual start equipment. This works better and easier than my old manual oil pump. This pump is small and light-weight and is easy to use. Put the intake tubing in the dipstick hole and the output tubing in an approved container and turn the pump on. Easy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OIL EXTRACTION PUMP

,
May 12, 2015
By Steve765
from FORT WAYNE
" I bought the oil extraction pump to make oil changes easier on my MINI Cooper automobile. With this pump, I never have to get on the ground under the vehicle, which is really great since the ground clearance of the MINI is only a few inches. Also, it empties directly into my recycling container, making for fewer messes. It does the job, with minimum fuss! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect 4 Me

,
May 9, 2015
By 1SoHappy
from Lancaster,ca
" I bought a 5 th wheel and in the back of my chevy p/u I bolted a 8750K generator and a small air compressor in front of my 5 th wheel hitch, So I needed a way to change my generator oil without having to unbolt the genny I seen that you guys offered the Ironton Oil Extractor Pump. I knew right then that this was the answer to my oil change problem. That did the trick, boom bang oil change done. Pumped the old oil out and the new oil in I was done. Man I was surprised, I was looking for my next oil change job. when my truck engine needs to be changed, guest what I'll be doing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

oil extractor pump

,
April 29, 2015
By coger
from Bettendorf,Iowa
" pumps oil fast and efficient. easy to clean have pump about 51 gals so far "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pump

,
March 6, 2015
By Thunder321
from Garrett IN
" good portable pump, simple to use, lightweight, works great for small jobs "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

transfer pump

,
March 1, 2015
By tangl
from Montana
" great size, easy to store and transport. I use this in the field and need something portable and easy to handle.
This fits the bill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

messy

,
February 28, 2015
By jeerk1
from florida
" surprised us first time I used it, It started pumping before we had the discharge hose in a container. other than our operator problems
it did and great job.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good with a little modification

,
January 9, 2015
By Oldfiredawg
from New Mexico
" I had problems with the plastic pick up tube, there was NO way to get it to go down into the oil pan through the dip stick tube due to it curling. Went and purchased about a 3' section of steel brake line, cut the ends off and it worked fine. Just a bit slow. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oil Extractor Pump

,
December 13, 2014
By 12789
from West Palm Beach
" Just be sure to read the instruction. This did what it was supposed to do/ "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
October 11, 2014
By B1ll
from Cleveland,Ohio
" Bought pump to change oil in marine engines and generator. Brought engines up to runnig temps. Pump seem to take much longer than stated to remove the 5 quarts. Pump seem to vibrate like a bad bearing or cavitating the oil. I guess you get what you pay for.
Would not recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked for 5 seconds

,
October 2, 2014
By OzonaPressureCleaning
from Palm Harbor
" Maybe I got a defective item, but it worked for about 5 seconds then it started to smoke. It would not turn on after this. Returned to a local Northern Tool. I exchanged it for another one so I will update after I try the new one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ironton Oil Extractor Pump

,
September 28, 2014
By JubaGeorge
from Waxhaw ,NC
" I wasn't very impressed with this for draining car oil. After warming engine, tried it through dipstick tube. Took a long time. Had to constantly be repositioning the hose to keep it pulling oil. When it could get no more oil, I opened the drain plug and got another quart out. The hose is just too curved - won't straighten. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
September 20, 2014
By jetsport
from Long Island New York
" Bought to do oil changes on my Sea-Doo watercraft, Was happy with the results, Much quicker than the Mighty Vac System "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
August 23, 2014
By bri69wal
from Ca
" Purchased this to replace the oil on Roush supercharger. Worked better than I thought and only took a few mins to completely drain the oil. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best tool ever

,
August 8, 2014
By drndl
from Wisconsin
" Works great. I don't have to remove the mower deck to change the oil anymore. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as expected and advertised

,
July 27, 2014
By thecarman
from tracy ca
" Have used twice already to empty fluid from auto tran case. Will also use on next oil change. So far, product meets all my expectations to make these fluid changes easy, quick, and clean. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Oil Extractor Pump

,
July 17, 2014
By BIGDADDYRAYJ
from LOCKPORT IL.
" THIS UNIT PREFORMED BETTER THAN I COULD ASK FOR PUMPED 2QT'S ( WARM )OIL FROM A 33HP MOTOR IN APROX 30 SEC. THIS CUT MY TIME IN 1/10 AWESOME AND 12 V NO EX CORDS "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ironton Oil Extractor Pump

,
June 27, 2014
By DW1111
from West Hartford CT
" Compact, straight forward, simple operation.
The PVC extraction tube coil cannot be straightened easily at all, even with heat, to reach the sump bottom.
I had to insert a thin, stiff wire inside the tube in order to reach straight to the bottom of the sump.
It took 10-15 minutes to pump out 3/4 Qt. from a lawn mower sump. Not even close to the 3L/min. advertised. I will address this fault after I try it once more and hope for a replacement if the unit is faulty.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump for engine oil changes

,
April 20, 2014
By eavega
from Atlanta, GA
" I used this pump on a boat with an Inboard motor. the pump is small enough to not be a hassle in a small engine space. You MUST warm up the oil prior to pumping. Once the engine has reached operating temperature, the small tube into the dipstick tube, and snake the large tube out the bilge drain. Pumped out the 5 qt of oil in under 5 min. No leaks, no hesitation. You have to listen to the pump sound to know when to shut it off. Really made the yearly oil change on the boat an effortless affair. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ironton Oil Extractor Pump - 12V DC, 60 Watt, 3L/Min. Flow Rate"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump!

,
February 4, 2014
By OIRSER
from Wisconsin
" This is a great little pump for removing oil from from small engines. I also use it on farm equipment. The clue is to have the oil warm before pumping. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.