Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"

"Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"

Item# 31781
"This Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw is ideal for landowners and part-time users who require a high-powered, heavy-duty and responsive tool for all cutting conditions. It combines the best technology and ergonomics with a powerful 3.0 cubic inch, 50.2cc, 3.2 HP X-Torq engine for lower fuel consumption and reduced emissions levels. Noise Level dB 104, Tool Weight lbs. 11.3, Oil Pump Flow Automatic, Oil Capacity oz. 10, Bar Length in. 20, Case Included No, Chain Gauge in. 0.05, GasOil Fuel Mix Ratio 501, Fuel Capacity oz. 18, Chain Pitch in. 0.325, Engine Displacement cc 50, Primer Bulb Yes, Chain Brake Yes, HP 3.2, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning No, Engine Speed RPM 9,000 max., 2,900 idle, Low Vibration Handle Yes. 50.2cc, 3.2 HP X-Torq engine delivers power with lower fuel consumption and reduced emissions levels LowVib system lessens operator fatigue by reducing vibration levels Centrifugal air cleaning system removes large pieces of dust and debris before they reach the air filter for reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life Quick-release air filter for easy cleaning and replacement Easy to control with front-handle ergonomics and 7 offset handle Distinct felling marks for better felling precision Combined choke/stop control for easier starting and reduced risk of engine flood Side-mounted chain tensioner for easy access Forced three-piece crankshaft for durability in the toughest applications Inertia-activated chain brake reduces the likelihood of injury due to kickback"
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Review 1 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speedy

,
December 15, 2015
By
from Winchester, TN
The product I ordered was processed and delivered when I was told. The product is a Christmas gift so I have not used it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husqvarna 450

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Richmond,TX
Well, the 450 refurbished chainsaw helped me to finish cutting my trees much faster than last years using only a pole-trimmer chainsaw.
Ran into issues: as the chain was not the right size for it. But, called Husqvarna and they will ship the correct size. The second issue, it is mine because I did not re-checked again the bolt and tensioner. So, the chain came off over the bar with some minor damages on it, fixed by a file quickly. Uses lots of chain and bar oil (4 fills) and 3 gas fills After, first start I did not feel much power or vibration from the Husqvarna. Cutting through pine branches was so fast, a little slower through oak branches. But, it did worked for around two hours without problems. Well, after few hours even it is not that heavy still I felt the difference in the weight compared with my Poulan Pro Pole saw (a subsidiary of Husqvarna) on a Husqvarna 128LD (which is much heavier and longer), it made my hand muscle to be more relaxed...
Recommending to try a refurbished Husqvarna if you would not need 2 yrs of warranty, especially if you use coupons/discounts that are sent through mail.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chainsaw

,
September 19, 2014
By
from Dallas, TX
I use it in my ranch and it works like a champ. I am glad I bought the 20" one. It is powerful and has minimal vibration. Much better than Stahl when it comes to vibration. Easy to work with and easy to maintain.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

,
July 30, 2014
By
from Milwaukee, WI
After my 3 year old Chinese made chain saw quit in the middle of cutting up a tree, I found out how impossible it is to get replacement parts. So I decided to spend the extra and get one with a good reputation. After reading way to many reviews on line I decided on the Husqvarna Rancher. This was definitely a good decision. It starts without any problems, cuts up trees like they are butter and is pretty good on gas. Replacement chains are a little hard to find but they do stay sharp. I would wholeheartedly recommend this chain saw to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Cutting Machine

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Pawnee, OK
I use my Husqvarna to cut wood for our fireplace, and clearing trees on a 40 acre farm. My saw has several hundred hours of use, with no mechanical issues. I won't use a saw with a dull chain, and I am very serious when it comes to using manufacturer recommended oil, and replacement parts. I'm sure that has a little bit to do with the longevity of my saw. I have owned and used several makes and models and Husqvarna has proven to be one of the top choices for homeowners, farmers, ranchers and anyone short of a professional arborist. Even those guys might find Husqvarna to be a good choice. I still own a Stihl 028 Woodboss, which is a very dependable saw, and it still works great after more than 25 years of service. However, it will not keep up with the Husqvarna. Husqvarna's chain speed is considerably faster than the Stihl. The Husky uses a little less fuel, and is just as easy to start and maintain. All I have had to do with either saw is lube the tip of the bar, adjust the chain tension, and keep them fueled and full of chain oil. Husqvarna's price tag is a little intimidating, but I believe you will find it worth the money in the long run. It has very little vibration, much unlike the less expensive saws, so you can saw all day and not feel like you've been run over by a truck. It is much more quiet than some of the cheaper saws, but you still need to wear hearing protection.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rancher chainsaw

,
February 5, 2014
By
from North Carolina
Very good saw with no problems, have had mine for several years and it has never had anything done to it besides sharpen chain.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing saw

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Tuscumbia, AL
I have to admit I was not expecting the performance this saw delivers. This saw will handle hours of tree felling and or firewood cutting. I have cut five cords of wood and fell six 24" red oak trees and still cutting like a unused chain. was not expecting the smaller chain to perform like the larger chain the 455 Rancher carries. great saw for the value.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
This saw starts on the first pull and is well balanced. The motor is powerful enough for the toughest job. The 20' bar is appropriate for most applications. Had my saw for the past 5 years, and it hasn't missed a beat. I would recommend this to everybody.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Rosburg, WA
I use this saw around my 26 acre farm that is mostly wooded and it more than handles the job, from cutting firewood to falling trees this is a tough saw. I have dropped it from a tree I was liming and it survived, I have had mine for six years and when it dies I will purchase another one!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Husqvarna Rancher Chainsaw - 50.2cc, 20in. Bar, 0.325in. Chain Pitch, Model# 450-20'"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

,
January 22, 2014
By
from Summerville, SC
I have been using various consumer chainsaws the last 20 years. After my most recent saw lasted about 5 years, and its replacement lasting about two months I decided to buy something closer to a real saw. I can't afford the pro saws, but I am now starting to cut my own firewood so needed something better than I was using.
The first thing I noticed taking it out of the box was the chain. It looked serious (as compared to the wimpy chains I used on my old 40cc saw).
This saw will only get non-ethanol fuel. I have made my own mix forever. I had heard about ethanol and small engines, so I add the ethanol treatment. This is the first time I have tried the pre-mix fuel and it works great.
While using it the first time last night, it cuts fast. With about 18" tree that has been down for over a year, my previous saw would constantly bog down and it would take me almost half an hour to get through one cut. I could bog this saw down also, but only when I would get so caught up in how fast it cut I would put to much down pressure on the bar. If I just let the chain do the work, it cut through the tree like knife through butter. The spikes help a lot when bucking. Push down on the handle, let the spikes engage the wood, slowly lift and repeat.
I don't think this is a low-kickback chain. It cuts like there is no tomorrow. Twice I had it kick up a little (very little, but more than using my old saw) while cutting. Nothing too concerning as you should really be paying attention when using a chainsaw anyway.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.