Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"

"Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"

Item# 31801
"This professional-grade sweeper has a 22 cu. ft. capacity collection bag and a 42in.W sweeping path that quickly takes care of lawn chores and debris like leaves, grass clippings and small or medium nuts. The exclusive patented spiral brush sweeps more efficiently than standard sweepers and puts less stress on gears for a longer service life. Hopper can be emptied from tractor seat with the pull of a rope. Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 65 1/2 x 50 1/2 x 36, Tire Size 11 x 2 1/2, Approx Capacity cu.ft. 22, Wheel Type Semi-pneumatic, Housing Material Steel, Working Width in. 42, Bagger Volume bushels 17 1/2, Mounting Type Hitch pin, Walk or Pull Pull, Application Sweeper. No-slip positive lock height adjustment will not vibrate out of position and has easy-to-remember height settings A 9in. chute reduces chance of clogs 3-position hitch adjustment for level operation on any tractor hitch height without spacer rings 11in. spiraled polypropylene brushes sweep efficiently at low speeds 4 1/21 brush to wheel turning ratio Remove collapsible hopper for easy storage Sealed ball bearings on brush axle for long service life"
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Review 1 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Real Time Saver

,
March 23, 2016
By
from Columbia, SC
I've used this sweeper several times since owning it. It works exactly as it is suppose to and everyone else has described. It is a real time saver when it comes to sweeping up everything from cut grass to pine cones. It also stores very easily without taking up a lot of space. I feel it is definitely worth every penny spent.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine

,
March 1, 2016
By
from Missouri
Put it together by myself, but a beginner would need an extra hand with the bagger. It picks up Sweet Gum seed balls. Need to go over the area twice. Gets about 90%. Beats raking.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built

,
January 4, 2016
By
from minnesota
Assembled and used once before snow came. heavy duty, very well made. My previous sweeper was an Agrifab and this one is much better built for only about $20.00 more.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Gatesville, Texas
We recently bought a place that has more than 200 oak trees on two acres. Leaves everywhere. It was easy to assemble and operate. It would have taken a month to do by hand what this sweeper did in three days.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes leaves disappear quicker

,
November 2, 2015
By
from Virginia
Nobody likes raking leaves. This unit works well. I recommend mowing while using it so that the leaves compress before being swept. 4 stars because putting it together took about an hour.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why aren't these more popular?

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Nashville, TN
I just bought this a few hours ago, assembled it in under an hour, and used it. In under two hours I cleaned the back yard (about 1/3 acre) of large sycamore leaves from two large trees, plus the small leaves from some other trees. Last time I spent all afternoon do in the same job and had to come back next day to finish. I am pleased with the efficiency and effectiveness of the sweeper. The only problem is that the wheels do not appear to be on any kind of differential, so you cannot back up without going in a perfectly straight line. I'll no longer be raking grass clippings either--I'll just tow this while mowing; the way it picked up pine needles and other small stuff gives me confidence that it will do just fine for grass.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grass Catcher

,
June 24, 2015
By
from Maine
This product does what its intended to do. I have been able to pick up 3 acres of lawn grass with relative ease. The dumping feature works fine and I only wish I could back up and drop but the lawn tractor jack knifes so I drive and drop instead. The installation took longer than I expected. The instructions could be a bit clearer when it comes to the bag component. More pictures of what the build looks like during the process would have been helpful. Overall I like the product and would recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good.

,
May 29, 2015
By
from Kansas
I bought this to pickup Pine needles, & Pinecones. Works well on both! The only drawback is when you get it full, it is hard to dump. It needs something to hook on the rope, as it just slips through your hands.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lawn Sweeper

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Weddington, NC
This product was fairly easy to assemble. Excellent job of picking up lawn leaves. A bit bulky to transport and store.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the bulk of leaves

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Rocky Mount NC
Gets most of the leaves, at least on level ground. I would buy again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lawn Sweeper

,
November 29, 2014
By
from Hooksett, NH
Works well once you get the hang of it with the depth adjustment and speed. Used for leaf pick up. A larger size might have been better since the 22 cu.ft. bag fills fast but then getting into tight spots could be a problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lawn sweeper

,
November 13, 2014
By
from Woodbury, MN
Lawn sweeper worked great. Can't complain. I will be back.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

money well spent

,
November 13, 2014
By
from Ga.
I'm impressed with how well this thing works. It's actually fun to use. I'd actually recommend it to friends and I don't do that very often as it's a good way to loose friends. My only advice would be to keep and eye on the dump cord while dumping. I've ran over it a time or two and had to unwind it from the roller brush.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good construction overall

,
November 7, 2014
By
from Burlington NC
Everything was well constructed. The only improvement would be the wheels. Over uneven ground it will miss leaves.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft.

,
October 26, 2014
By
from EASLEY SC
Very easy to assemble. The sweeper works great even on small nuts and hickory nut hulls. The rope to dump the leaves and nuts makes dumping the leaves and nuts very easy. Don't have to leave the seat of your mower. You can get through most areas with the 42 inch sweeper. I would buy this sweeper again.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper

,
October 11, 2014
By
from Vermont
It's a good product to use for my lawn care. It picks up the cut grass pretty good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well!

,
September 28, 2014
By
from Minnetonka, MN
Bought this and put it together with the help of my wife. Found out we were missing a piece and The Store Manager Dan from the Minnetonka, MN store helped us out and got the piece from another box. Finally got it put together and it works great once you figure out the correct height adjustment. Great product and its made well. .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Assemble Great Little Sweeper!

,
September 21, 2014
By
from Mount Morris
This sweeper is definitely worth the money. The instructions were clear and all the pieces to assemble the sweeper were included. I did need a little help from my husband on the grass catcher part because it was rolled up and so I needed someone to hold it for a minute. But other than that the assemble went smoothly. I did make one little mistake on the hitch assembly instructions #5. I put the bolts between the hitch tube bolts using the spaces between the three bolts instead of putting both clevis bolts between hitch bolts one and two facing my mower. After I tightened the bolts I was not able to change the height adjustment handle. Then I realized my mistake and made sure the bolts were not in the way of the handle. Then everything worked fine. I have a tall hitch on my mower and the sweeper hitch works perfectly so that the catcher bag doesn't drag on the ground. I would definitely recommend this sweeper to my friends.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grass sweeper

,
June 23, 2014
By
from Binghamton, NY
Just as good as an expensive vacuum for cleaning grass clippings, twigs, pine cones and leaves. No motor or components to maintain. Fills after about 1 acre. A little difficult to dump when full. Takes up a bit of space in the garage, not practical to disassemble regularly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ohio Steel Lawn Sweeper - 42in.W, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 42SWP22"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

YARD SWEEPER

,
May 28, 2014
By
from RIVER FALLS, WISCONSIN
I found the sweeper easy to assemble and operate. Looks to be well built and good fit and finish. I have only used it 1 time so far but worked perfect!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.