Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"

"Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"

Item# 32079
"This 12V battery-operated Ironton Transfer Pump is ready to work when the power goes out or when you have remote transfer jobs. Inlet and outlet easily connect to 5/8' garden hose. Battery Connections Not incldued, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 5 x 5, Discharge Port in. 5/8, Self-Priming No, Impeller Shaft Stainless steel, Max. Suction Lift ft. 6, Max. Total Head ft. 25, Port Size in. 5/8, Pump Housing Cast aluminum, Solid Handling in. 0, Suction Port in. 5/8, Volts 12, Amps 6 1/2, Flow GPH 150. Delivers 150 GPH at 0 head, 90 GPH at 3-ft. head, 60 GPH at 10-ft. head and 30 GPH a 15-ft. head Heavy-duty stainless steel cam and cast aluminum housing Features a convenient built-in carrying handle and slip-resistant rubber feet to keep the pump in place"
Average Customer Rating:
2.929 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
8 of 14(57%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Review 1 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pump Is Functional

,
August 10, 2014
By TeeDub
from Washington State
" I got this pump (2 of them) to move water for an intercooler for machinery in my shop. The fit and finish is a little rough but the pumps work and move water fine. They need a little prime from time to time, but once primed they hold their prime for a few days.
They make a little noise - but for me that is good because I want to know if they stop. I am running them off a battery and the draw is reasonable.
The one thing I cannot review is the life of them as I have only been using the first one for a month. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Loud, No PSI

,
July 15, 2014
By Crazzedbull
from Houston
" You can get much better pumps for the price. I guess I will just keep it for a rainy day.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

,
August 14, 2012
By Tintic63
from Utah
" Used pump for less than one (1) hour befor it burnt up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Watering Pump

,
August 13, 2012
By Staci
from PV, MO
" We bought this pump to use for drawing water out of our lake to water our trees and flowers on shore. We don't have electricity so this pump is ideal for our needs. We do NOT have to prime it every time we use it and since we have it at our weekend place there are numerous days in between uses. It is by no means high pressure but the water does come out at a decent flow rate. We are very happy with this purchase! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did what I needed it to do

,
March 14, 2011
By skhh
from Litchfield, MN
" The pump did what I needed it to do, pump antifreeze through a 53 ft. park model trailer with washer and two toilets. It was very slow though, I wouldn't want to be needing it very often or for very many gallons. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good 12 volt pump

,
August 30, 2010
By Chickm1
from Orange, Texas
" The pump is small and easy to use. Made in USA, and operates trouble free. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works decent but noisey

,
May 27, 2010
By Vandil
from Madison WI
" Pump is not a self primer no matter what the sales pitch says. I use it at the low point in the hose line and let the water pressure from the line prime it. May have to start it and stop it once or twice to get it pumping.
Pumps fairly well after priming, fills a 55 gal barrel with 16ft of head in <20min. Draws about 9.5 amps doing so. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad actually

,
July 20, 2009
By Sethfdabomb
from carver, ma
" This product doesn't seem to get really good reviews. From my standpoint, what you pay for this makes it worth it. Its not really expensive and seems to pump really well. When I fill up with diesel (what i use it for) It plugs right into the 12v outlet in my trunk. So its very convenient and it does what I need it too. What I use it for is to transfer BIO diesel to my jetta from a tank I have in my garage. Having this little 12v pump ensures I never need to plug in. Its great for what it is. After all im trying to save money with Bio, not spend a lot on getting it into my car. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not self prime

,
May 21, 2008
By nd96
from Princeton, Tx
" I bought this pump because of the listed self-priming feature. However, it will not self prime - even 2 inches above the water level. Once pumping, it does an okay job off the 12v batteries, but I really needed something that was self priming. Was a waste of money for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pony Pump

,
January 22, 2008
By firewalker
from Sugar Land, Texas
" Well, I purchase one of these to transfer water from a holding tank to my travel trailer. The first time I used it worked like a charm. The second time I tried to use it it would not pull a suction sufficient for "self" priming. I basically had to get my suction line filled in order to make the pump work. The 3rd time I tried to use the pump it would not pull any suction. I took the pump back and it was replaced with a new pump. While the replacement has not yet failed, it is just a matter of time before it does as it has trouble priming. Spend a little more money and get a better product. The extra cash will easily offset frustration. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pony pump

,
July 9, 2007
By mary1234
from jefferson, colorado
" great little extra pump, good to have around the house for those emergincy's i use it for my pond and it does great. have to keep the water clean tho... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pony Pump Self-Priming

,
July 9, 2007
By JoeV
from Portsmouth,OH
" Easy to use, heavy duty. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

no good

,
May 3, 2007
By jcomeau
from Columbus, New Mexico
" I couldn't even get it to work from one bucket of water to another at the same level. Self priming? I don't see it. I'd give it 0 stars but this script won't allow it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ironton Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 150 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# NTPP12V"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked for 5 mins and quit

,
March 6, 2007
By Alrightfarmguy
from King City, Mo
" I tried to use this pump to pull water w/ 25ft of head. I had my local plumer come and set it all up and it ran for about 10 mins and then it would not pull any more water. The product does not do what it'll say it does. Unless your going to pull water from one tank to another at a short distance stay away from this thing! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.