Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360

Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360

Item# 32083
This portable Ironton 115V Transfer Pump is thermally protected and powerful enough to handle all transfer pumping requirements around the home, farm or shop. Great for water beds and fish tanks. Max. Suction Lift ft. 7, Power Cord ft. 6, Volts 115, Discharge Port in. 5/8, Flow GPH 300, Suction Port in. 5/8, Pump Housing Cast aluminum, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 5 x 5, Impeller Shaft Stainless steel, Amps 1.4/1.7, Max. Total Head ft. 25, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, Self-Priming Yes. Connects to 5/8in garden hoses for suction and discharge Efficient motor draws only 1.4-1.7 amps Includes a convenient carrying handle Slip-resistant rubber bumpers keep the pump in place during operation Designed to transfer water only, no oil or flammable liquids Not safe for potable water
Average Customer Rating:
4.041 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (49 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
42 of 49(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Review 1 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart after 15 minutes of pumping

,
January 19, 2014
By DJB123
from Moyock,NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"First off- Northern is one of my favorites places. Rarely, am I disappointed with a purchase from there. Unfortunately, this is one of those rare occasions. First off, this says it is self priming - I assure you it is not. After trying to get it to prime for a few minutes, the first impeller self destructed. Luckily, it came with a spare and is very simple to replace. Guess that was a misprint I think to myself. Next time I pre-prime it and it starts pumping fine. I am pumping clear, cold water from my in-ground pool DOWN A SLOPE to the tree line. The most this pump has to lift the water is about 1.5 feet from the water line to the pool deck where it was sitting. It was pumping well - a little on the slow side for its rating but I am in no hurry. I go clean out the skimmers in the pool and a few minutes later I hear the pump change pitch. The volute and motor are cool to the touch and the water flow has stopped. I take it apart a second time and this impeller is in several pieces. I could have almost siphoned the water down hill so this was an easy pumping job, clear cool water down a gradual slope.
Needless to say I am returning it and getting something else.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Used Motor Oil

,
August 29, 2013
By kcuf96
from Chicago, IL
"I know these pumps are only supposed to pump water however it works great for moving waste motor oil for my shop. The price is the lowest around and it works good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pump is overrated

,
February 23, 2013
By Super5
from Golden Valley, Arizona
"My intended purpose was for a aquaponics system. Pump is advertised at 300 GPH. I only needed 140 GPH , but I know how pump ratings are. I pumped clear water with 2 foot rise and no head pressure for 12 minutes and moved 7 gallons of water. That means about 35 GPH. The pump comes with a spare impeller (rubber) and when new parts come with spare parts you know you in troble. I am a regular northern customer, I really expected more"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little pump.

,
October 8, 2012
By N8Ball
from Chattanooga, TN
"Works great. Boosted my end of hose pressure when I hooked it between 2 hoses hooked to my house. I saw no surging or cavitation. I turned on the water before turning on the pump. When I turned the pump on the water stream increased by 10 feet. Best bang for buck out of small pumps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump to fill camp trailer water

,
August 13, 2012
By 77ljb
from Potlatch, Idaho
"Works like a charm. Fast and no more lifting heavy water jugs to fill the camp trailer water. Have your generator handy plug it in and off you go.
Thank you"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fine for small jobs

,
August 13, 2012
By RVF8300
from FL
"This product performed as advertised, however it is only applicable for small jobs. If you need to drain a yard, low area or the like it will do the job. If, however, you need to do a larger job go the next step up and get a more powerful unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got a lemon? Noisy & no pressure

,
June 9, 2012
By PocoAskew
from Oregon
"This pump is supposed to move 270 GPH @ 20' of head. I needed it to CIRCULTATE water over a height of about 12'. Even after priming with a garden hose to remove all air, this pump could not circulate water. The net head is zero but the water does need to travel up and down 12'. And this sucker is LOUD. I planned on using it 8 hours per day, but the noise would not be tolerable even though it is outside (near our house). It's going back. Either this one is defective or they are junk."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice electric pump

,
May 7, 2012
By rogerfire
from North Carolina
"I use this pump to move water from a 250 gal holding tank to my garden through a 200' garden hose up a slight incline. I have not had any issues with the pump and it works very well for this task."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little Pump

,
January 19, 2012
By TestEOne
from Muskego, Wisconsin
"No need to prime this little pump and for the money it is worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little pump

,
January 16, 2012
By BigDaddySD
from South Dakota
"I use this for transferring wine between tanks, and it works very well. Handy little pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

transfer pump

,
January 12, 2012
By TR78
from Bay Point, California
"I bought this pump to use for a sink in my garage and it works better than expected plus it's made in the USA. Great little pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
January 9, 2012
By jharper
from TX
"This little pump worked fine for watering a food plot. Also got it to add to my Huricane kit, just in case"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect little portable utility pump

,
October 19, 2011
By rainman92123
from San Diego, CA
"Pump works perfect as advertised. I use it to tranfer water from my collection rain water barrel to one of my storage water barrels about 30 ft away. I then also use it to draw water from a barrel and water my plants using standard hose. Pump is a little noisy but for this price I don't mind. I did not need to prime the pump. I only have the pump for a week so I can't report on durability."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Utilitarian

,
March 21, 2011
By BandC
"We live in a high desert area and collect rainwater for garden and landscaping. This pump let's us pump the water from the rain barrels so we can adequately water the vegetation without having to carry buckets of water. It is small yet efficient. Great buy for smaller size supplemental watering needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
March 14, 2011
By jphac
from Wisconsin
"Great little pump for smaller jobs. Pumps a lot of fluid, doesn't need priming and won't hurt being run dry. Who could ask for more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good...for the price

,
March 8, 2010
By Etowninc
from fort worth, Tx
"I used this small pump to drain my above ground pool. I wasn't in a huge hurry so I just used it a few hours a day and before you knew it...it was down to the bottom. A little noisy and the pump had to be placed really close to the water level to work. I knew I wouldn't need a pump again after this so, I couldn't see spending a lot of money on a good one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold pump

,
February 16, 2010
By ABQBREWER
from Albuquerque, NM
"I use this pump to circulate cold water through a plate chiller and a heat exchanger in an ice vat. It works great, the rate of flow is actually more that I need. I have had to replace the impeller once already but it was my fault I ran the pump for about 30 seconds while trying to suck water up a hose and it did not work and took out the impeller. I will it was a self priming pump but other than that I have no comlaints. Excellent pump for the money I would recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't Perform as Advertized

,
October 19, 2009
By Mainuh
from Coastal Maine
"I bought this pump to fill my solar water heater with glycol/water. It is advertised as pumping over 40 feet of head, and didn't even pump 10 feet. I thoroughly read all reviews and figured this was the best pump for the money, but was very disappointed and had to replace it with another pump that I bought locally.
If you are only transferring fluid and don't have to pump very high then this is the pump for you, otherwise don't waste your time or money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Transfer pump

,
October 19, 2009
By ic80hwy
from Coralville, Iowa
"I needed a pump to transfer wine. I am using it with a variable speed routor control. This pump works great! It also comes with a spare pump kit and extra bushes for the motor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton 115V Transfer Pump - 5/8in. Ports, 300 GPH, Model# NTPP360
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer pump

,
July 20, 2009
By loh1251
from Minnetrista, MN
"Second style of pump that I have used. First one had to be primed each time used and was a pain. This one self primes and does a great job. I use it to empty a dry well in the yard when ground moisture gets high. Very easy to use and does a great job of moving water."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.