Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit

Item# 3309670
Tough, versatile rack features a unique design which allows infinite length adjustments for a custom fit on the bed rails of most full-size, short- or long-bed pickup trucks. Rack is designed to fit most cab and bed lengths fixed width is not adjustable. Capacity lbs. 800, Material Type Steel, Application Truck rack, Assembly Required Yes, Finish Type Powder-coat, Compatible With Full-size, short- or long-bed pickup truck. Fits most full-size, short- or long-bed pickup trucks No-drill installation option makes it easy to install - all hardware included for permanent installation Black powder-coat tubular steel frame supports up to 800 lbs. Gold zinc-plated hardware provides maximum strength and durability Rear grab handles Sturdy rope ties on each 25in.H vertical upright Fully adjustable cross member Entire rack can be removed in minutes for full access to truck bed Rear cross member can be removed for carrying tall cargo 134in. overall length, 55in. overall width of rails
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
21 of 27(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good equipment

,
September 29, 2014
By DR287
from el paso tx.
"easy to assembled. one person. and a shop lift. 2 ore 3 hrs. to assemble it. great buy! instructions weak. about noise? yes.. but only on highway. wind noises.."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ladder Rack

,
July 16, 2014
By TFM1
from Nashville, TN
"The rack is very sturdy, rugged, and durable. We have purchased four of these racks in the past and have had excellent service out of all of them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does not fit ALL trucks

,
April 8, 2014
By laustin
from NH
"I have a 2013 F150 and the side walls to the bed are double walls and don't leave enough of a lip to use the J bolt mounting kit, so you would have to permanently mount the rack. I want to swap from the rack in the summer to a bed cover in the winter so that is not an option.
I'm going to design a new mounting part and have a local machine shop manufacture it for me to fit my needs.
SO, Check your side rails and make sure you have a big landing under the rail to fit a bracket. 2013 F150 does not fit.
Other than that, this rack seems very well put together. I cant wait to get it onto my truck.
I only said No to recommend because it won't fit my needs. If you permanently mount it, It should be fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Clear and spot on.

,
September 18, 2013
By Amigo3
from Arkansas
"Great product. This is a very solid assembly that works exactly liked I hoped. The instructions recommend help with the installation but I did this by myself (early 60's) with not much trouble. I agree with a previous review about the harmonics. There is a very loud HUM made worse by the fact I have a sunroof on my truck. I could totally silence the noise if I reached through the sunroof and grasped the front bar with my hand. I am going to try to add a soft foam shield to see if the vibrations are reduced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rack it up

,
September 17, 2013
By Joker1
from Woodland ,WA
"Rack works good, the only problem was the harmonics when driving, strange vibration(humming noise at 55 to 60 mph) . We ended up reinforcing in several areas to minimize the sound. Does a great job as is but the noise was annoying."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOISY

,
October 24, 2012
By Roofdv8
from Cortez, CO
"This rack is a good value. The instructions are not so good. The joint with the bracket on the top two rails is not a good design.
My real issue is the noise. I installed this rack on a new 2012 F-150 crew cab. It is so noisy my crew fights over who has to ride in the truck with this rack.
I would greatly appreciate recommendations regarding how to reduce the noise.
If I can solve the noise issue I would be 110% satisfied.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the money

,
May 26, 2012
By bripat
from canton ny
"very happy with the rack very well built.easy to put together 2 hours or less. first load of lumber. over 600 lbs worked great . very strong. .put tarp over rack. used for weather tight cargo. hand rails in back good for getting in back of the truck. just a great rack..alot of tie downs low profile for garage clearance ....... very pleased thank you NORTHERN"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
January 29, 2012
By Melthelandscapepro
from Wenatchee, Washington
"Received this rack as a Christmas present and use it for carryng PVC for irrigation systems, plywood and sheetrock for projects. Durable, easy to handle and very functional. Has many tie down loops for almost any type of cargo. The only negative comment is for putting it together and mounting on truck. Takes at least two people and instructions were not that good. Overall I would recommend this cargo rack to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth what you pay

,
January 16, 2012
By BigWill
from United States Broussard, LA
"I bought one of these racks about 3 years ago and have overloaded it extensively, it really takes a beating. None of the bars or fasteners gave up, shifted, or bent. It is a good price with fast shipping. In one of the previous reviews they said no matter how much adjusting they did that it wouldn't align right. I had the same problem until I discovered that the truck rails were not the same distance apart in the front as they were in the back( Dodge Rams are just like that). Overall a good quality rack well worth the money. It took me about 6 hours to assemble and install working by myself."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Rack

,
October 12, 2011
By DONMANDON
from Texas
"I did have some problems assembling this. The directions call for having help. I just had only me. I got it together , and we used it to carry two kayaks to the coast, with no problems. I have a small aluminum boat, and I think it will haul it ok also. Most that use this would probably be contractors hauling pipe or long boards. I think it would be good for that also. I have seen these racks for over $1000 , so for the price, it's good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Truck Rack

,
October 11, 2011
By Newcomb
from Cape Cod
"The rack is great for the price. Strong enough for my general contracting needs. Went together easily. I'd buy another for my next truck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Contractor Rack Kit

,
March 14, 2011
By McDaniel
from Natchitoches, Louisiana
"The rack was fairly easy to assemble with help. We assembled and then set on to my truck. Bolted to the bed, straightened up the frame and tightened bolts. Great rack, looks great and serves it's purpose. I would recommend this rack, especially for the price. Plus the loops on the rear are excellent to assist getting in/out back of the truck.
The only complaint I have is the delivery. It comes from a trucking company and requires an appointment for delivery and a signature. This was a problem for me, because there is usually no one at my house/shop.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied with product and service

,
November 23, 2010
By otis2010
from Knoxville, TN
"Just a note to say that the ladder rack that I recently purchsed from Northern is an excellent piece of equipment. It is very strong and very suitable for the usage that is expressed in the advertisement.
The ordering was very simple, the delivery was very prompt, and just on the schedule that I was told.
The assembly and installation of the rack went very well, The instructions were very precise and easy to understand, including all the detailed pictures and information to assist in assembly.
It is now in use on my truck and working great.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rack to fit

,
November 18, 2010
By blasterman57
from russell,kansas
"what i like about the rack is i could leave my toolbox located behind the cab and adj. the leg supports behind the box. the tool box is still easily accessable and didn't reduce the strength of the rack. i have recieved numerous compliments on the looks of it sitting on my truck. can't beat it. i'd get another if i get another truck.
well worth it....
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent rack for the price.

,
May 31, 2010
By bigredone
from Alamogordo, N.M.
"This is a great rack for the price. I am a new contractor just starting my business and have limited funds to purchase needed tools at this time. The price of the rack is great and has been excellent addition to getting materials to the job for me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Let down

,
May 3, 2010
By Losttime
from Lawrenceville,GA
"When I unpacked there were rust flakes falling from inside the tubing parts. Then on examination you could see rust particles and grinder marks under the powder coat. The discription on the fasteners was poor. The " J " bolts to allow drill less mounting have three times the curve required to reach under the rim. The joint clamps on the upper tubing will not secure the joint properly. The guides for the " J " bolts do not leave clearance for a utillity box. I installed the rack any way and took most of the day. I assembled it on the F150 by myself. I cut off the forard " J " bolt guides and allowed the tool box to do the holding job. The upper clamps will need quick screws added to hold the top together. Good luck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Ladder Rack for the price !!!

,
February 22, 2010
By Edge2009
from Glenville, NY
"My six year old son and I assembled this new ladder rack in approx. two hours. After assembling the ladder rack, I installed it on my 2001 F250 Superduty. The rack did not have enough height to clear the cab so I had to perform a modification to gain a little more clearence, no big deal. For the price, this is a good looking ladder rack and is also very sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice for contractors

,
February 22, 2010
By BigBee
from Williamsburg, VA
"Overall this was a very good investment. The J hooks that hold the main supports are worthless so you will end up having to drill if you want this to be a strong rack. Some bolts were missing from the box but I bought the ones I needed and it works fine. Other reviews said you will have to weld, this was not true for me. I built my rack in about four hours. I put a spare tire on top with a fire extinguisher rack and some tools as extra doo-dads. I used my rack for off roading mainly with lights on the front etc. I have a big lifted truck and this rack makes it look even bigger. Thanks Northern."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good ladder rack for the price

,
November 23, 2009
By JVander
from Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this rack for my 2001 Sierra half-ton extended cab shortbed. Overall I like it. The price was good compared to other racks out there, it's strong and sturdy, the only complaint is that the 'clamp' means of holding the two halves together (the rectangle-shaped part on the photo with the 2" diameter circle cutout) is a stupid design. The back rack tubes are crimped in order to slide into the front rack tubes, then they are held together by means of a 'clamp' that spans the joint by about 4" on either side. This friction means of holding the tubes together can't take much stress before the rack starts to come apart, no matter how tight you make the clamp bolts (admittedly I did have a lot of tension on the rack because I had stuff lashed up off the front and other stuff lashed up off the back; long story). I didn't care to take off the powder coat in order to weld the two halves together, so I just drilled a hole through both tubes on the front side of the joint and put a bolt through to lock the tubes together. I just did this to the larger bottom tubes, I have to do it to the top tubes now since they are starting to come apart too. Someone here said that their rack didn't have as much clearance over the cab as shown on the picture, that's probably because the picture is of a Ford truck and they have a GM truck. Ford bedsides are taller than GM. For what it's worth, my rack came with risers to lift the rack another 6" or so, I didn't use these so I can't say how sturdy they are. Since the product description doesn't say that the risers are included it may just be a fluke that I got them with my rack.
This rack is sturdy with no squeaks or rattles, though the wind does howl through it on the highway. It's not exactly easy to take off, but I was able to do it by myself in about 30 minutes including taking off the clamp bolts, which I suppose does fit with the product claim that it can be removed in minutes. The rack is plenty sturdy without the center brace, but I installed my center brace over the cab roof instead of the center of the rack. I did this because it makes moving about the bed easier and to give the cab roof a little extra protection. The grab handles off the back are very handy to climb up in the bed. All in all this is probably the cheapest rack you'll find, and it's a universal fit, so don't expect that you can install it without some tinkering around, and if you expect to put a lot of stress on the front section you should plan on bolting or welding the tubes together.
One other thing is that Northern also sells the same rack under the Buffalo Tools brand, Item# 3309672. They look identical to me except that the Buffalo tools rack specifically states that it comes with the riser kit, and the Buffalo rack is $20 more plus you have to pay shipping.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Contractor Rack Kit
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

J-hook clamps don't work, etc.

,
October 29, 2009
By KenM09
from Waynesville, NC
"Out of the box ...
1) The paint is chipped in many places and has rusted there.
2) The instructions are poor, missing some steps. Small pictures, printed poorly help some, but not much.
3) The J-hook clamps, for temporary installation, don't tighten down onto my trucks side. ('95 Toyota T100) When tightened, the curve of the j-hook tightens onto the sleeve of the mounting feet before the pad of the j-hook even touches the truck side railing. So, the whole rack can still be moved by hand. I had to drill holes in the truck and mount the rack as a permanent installation, after buying 1/2 " bolts to do this, the bolts for permanent installation did NOT come with the rack.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.