Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove

Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove

Item# 330973
The Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove gets the job done FAST with a powerful 35,000 BTU burner. Heavy wall cast construction stands up to frequent movement from one location to the next. For outdoor use only. Propane tank and connector hose not included. Burner Diameter in. 6 7/8, Max. BTU 35,000, Product Type Outdoor stove, Overall Width in. 14 7/8, Orifice O.D. in. 5/8, Orifice I.D. in. 1/4, Fuel Type Propane, Overall Height in. 7 3/4, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Burners qty. 1. 14in. Diameter from control valves to outer ring
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Probably a good product

,
November 29, 2013
By pigfarmer101
from Arizona
"Need Northern tool to get with their manufacture and tutor them on English. i.e."cut off immediately and re-operate when unusual sounds be heard due to heat be adjusting"
Would be a better product if the two outside flame adjustments did the outside rings instead of half on each side. Middle valve contols the middle flame. Right valve controls the flame on the two outer burners sections on the right side. Left valve is the same for the left. Would be nice to be able to control the circles of fire instead of inner circle then right/left half.
Also, bolts provided for assembly were bevel head, but the only beveled part was the legs that go inside the ring. Bevel head bolts made no sense to me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard to go wrong.......

,
September 18, 2013
By GunsmithWI
from Baldwin, WI
"Since I cannot use my canner on the new glass-top stove I tried using it on the side-burner of my Weber grill. It worked, but was weak/slow to heat up and get to working temp. Then I saw this burner - noted the heat output and decided to give it a try.
It took only 5 minutes to assemble and set up. I got the canner ready and applied the heat. WOW. I had a fast, rolling boil inside of just a few minutes. Once the lid was on (pressure cooker) it sealed right away and the steam vent was really hissing.
The controls are a tad touchy to movement - just a little bit drops/raises the flame a lot, but once you get used to it it's no problem. If you're going to use this for food processing, home canning or boiling a large pot of liguid etc., this unit will do the job with finesse. I'm very glad I bought this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost 5

,
September 17, 2013
By ragingseas
from ocean shores wa
"This is a great little stove, well constructed and very stable. I use it mainly for a very large, heavy, "All American" pressure canner. This would have gotten 5 stars without a hitch if the first one received hadn't had a faulty manifold that spit flames at me. Northern tool very quickly sent me a replacement valve system and now it is working perfectly. It says it puts out 10,000 BTU and I have no idea how to measure it but can say it gets 25qts of water up to a boil in no time. It is effective and safe."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Buy

,
September 13, 2012
By Bobbi60
from Clear Lake WI
"We bought this burner to use with our pressure cooker during canning season. It was excellnt. Wish I knew 30 yrs ago. Reduced our processing time down to 20 minutes. We did get the recommended hose, and had no trouble hooking things up. Can't wait to use it next summer for the whole season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Gas Burner

,
August 16, 2012
By Chilefarmer
from Jacksonville, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"No trouble to order, (Easy ordering) shipping was fast. This burner is being used in a meat smoker. Works perfect, love the three valves. you can get just the amount of heat you need for whats being smoked. This burner should last as long as you will ever need one. Would truly work in any place you need a burner. Some Assembly is needed, but if you can use a screw driver you have it covered. If you cant use tools get you six year old to do it for you. Its that easy. CF"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy duty & simple

,
August 13, 2012
By HandsInTheSoil
from Kansas City, MO
"The burner is heavy built. It is simple to operate. It's not cheap, but it will probably last a very long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smokehouse Burner

,
August 13, 2012
By Babysmokologist
from Hoquiam, WA
"I bought this burner based on the recommendation of others. The brass flame controls are excellent, allowing a slow cook of wood chips for smoking, and great temperature regulation. This burner is solidly built and affordable. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy quality

,
May 9, 2012
By Bry56
from Burnsville,MN
"Ordered this for a smoker I built, Heavy burner and good quality. This will last for years.Price was just right too."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Stove

,
October 10, 2011
By revan
from Utah
"Purchased this item for a family reunion and it worked great. It would have been nice if it had come with a regulator."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane stove

,
August 30, 2011
By dsrfromgreenbay
from Green Bay Wisconsin
"I bought this stove for a smokehouse I am building. The stove is the right size and low so it can be used on a table top also. The 35,000 BTU is all that I require and probably will never use the total capacity.
I like the adjustibility of the stove with the 3 burner valves. I also added a needle valve for more control. Granted the burner is not high tech but it will suit most of your cooking needs.
I saw a post here that you needed a high pressure regulator - this stove is only rated for less than 1 psi of pressure so you need a low pressure regulator like off your gas grill. This stove is not a high pressure fish cooker and has its limitations. If you use a high pressure regulator the center burner will work somewhat but you will blow out the side burners, it simply cant handle the high pressure gas and you should'nt try. If you want a high pressure stove dont buy this one as it is not intended for that use.
I initially had trouble with the flame hight so I had to take off the valves and clean them of grease. After that it worked great and is meeting all my needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Burner

,
July 12, 2011
By Beckster
from Waterloo, Iowa
"This burner is awsome! I needed to find a burner for canning in the garage that would heat up my 7-quart canner fast. I researched for over a year and decided on this one. It works absolutely great! It heats up fast, and with three valves, can be partially shut down to lower heat when needed. My only disappointment is that it came with no maintenance/cleaning instructions, etc."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Dale29016
Blythewood, SC 
 
Please wait while more information about Dale29016 is loaded.
Additional information about Dale29016 could not be loaded.
Canning
July 16, 2012
"How did it work out to can? Pressure or water bath?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great High Heat Burner!

,
June 15, 2011
By k228250
from Washington State
"We use this burner for cooking foods outdoors that require a lot of heat (more than a residential stove top burner normally puts out), and it does not disappoint. We have had ours now for over a year and it probably gets used at least five times a week. Easy assembly, easy controls, and its built to last. We have recommended this item to all of my wifes relatives who also cook a lot of foods requiring serious heat. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

,
June 6, 2011
By Redneck1
from Midland Texas
"Excellent product ordered two burners good quality"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
May 4, 2011
By PressureCooker
"Not sure what others were complaining about. Burners have fully adjustable flame using control valves and unit throws out a lot of heat. Heated 7 gallons of water from 45 degrees to boiling in 1 hour. This unit will be great for pressure canning in the garage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy burner for outdoor use

,
November 23, 2010
By Mike55
from Langlois, Oregon
"This burner works very well for outdoor use. We use it for canning, thereby keeping odors and steam out of the house. The burner works easily from a "barbecue" propane tank. It is easy to light, and to regulate. With the three control valves (each controlling a portion of the burner) the heat can be set precisely. The only thing to watch out for is to be sure to use it in a sheltered location. If a breeze comes up, it can blow out the flame. This burner has been a godsend for home canning tuna! I bought two of them, and have been well pleased. Northern's customer service is excellent, and I got my order quickly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good cooker for traveling

,
August 23, 2010
By alagrad
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Bought this cooker to take to the hunting club. Works well and travels great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REGULATER

,
June 25, 2010
By REDDIGO
from canada
"I bought 2 of these burners .They work great BUT You have to use a High Pressure regulator ( like on a turkey fryer ) The MR HEATER REGULATOR is Low pressure and will not work on these burners.Hope this helps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
WhatPressure
 
Please wait while more information about WhatPressure is loaded.
Additional information about WhatPressure could not be loaded.
High or Low pressure regulator
July 23, 2011
"If you have a low pressure burner, for example, that is rated at 40,000 btu/hr maximum
that was copied and pasted from a guide to propane page defing this appliance as a low pressure burner and making the answer in q&a the correct answer."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Triple Versatility for my Smokehouse!

,
June 1, 2010
By Pops6927
from Fort Worth, Tx.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased this burner to use in my plywood smokehouse; it performs excellent every time I use it! The beauty of it is it has three different burners in one... the center ring, the left side outer ring and the right side outer ring. You can turn them on and off as you like to increase or decrease your heat output without endangering lowering the flame to unsafe levels by just using the propane tank shutoff or a needle valve, which could blow out. I also purchased the 12 ft hose to keep the tank well away from the smokehouse and out of the Texas sun, too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor burner

,
February 16, 2010
By ToddJ
from Plymouth, MA
"The burner did not throw out any heat. Flame was real low. Valves did not work. I returned this item for credit, which I did receive quickly and no hassle. I would NOT recommend this product, BUT I would recommend Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Single Burner Propane Stove
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The hot one

,
February 15, 2010
By gaston10
from Puerto Rico
"This burner is called single burner propane stove,But to me it is the best burner ever created, it is three burners in one and I call it the hot one because it fill all my expectancies in the soil laboratory work .I did put a request to my manager to order two more."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.