Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir

Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir

Item# 3316149
The Mityvac fluid evacuator provides a clean and simple way to evacuate and dispense fluids. Vacuum pressure extracts transmission fluid, brake fluid, coolant, gear oil and engine oil. Flow GPM 2, Tank Size gal. 2.32, Suction Hose Length in. 60. Evacuate and dispense fluids at the push of a button Convenient manual pump and 2.3 gallon reservoir Durable poly construction resists rust and corrosion Large base with foot stabilizer Automatic flow-control valves prevent overfilling Quick drain pour spout 2 rigid dipstick tubes 5-foot suction hose
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Review 1 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked Well

,
July 27, 2014
By TF686
from New England
"Used MV7201 to remove engine oil and transmission (hypoid gear) oil on Indian Scout. Made a typically messy job simple and clean. Only problem was that the second time I used it, the main suction tube stayed stuck in the tube connector. I reefed on it pretty hard but it won't budge. I don't want to break it so I left the hose connected for now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing system

,
April 7, 2014
By Sambo1985
from north carolina
"For anybody who is a DIY or works on small engines this is the tool to have. I just got home at 9:00pm and open it up and tried it out. So worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this Mityvac is a really good product

,
February 4, 2014
By Im1ru12jame
from New Orleans, La
"i've been using my Mityvac Fluid Extractor for a couple of years now to do regular oil changes on my 1999 Mercedes C 230 Kompressor. It works great and I have never had a problem with it. I can do a complete oil change from start to finish in less than a half an hour."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good, not perfect.

,
October 15, 2012
By CleverNickname
from Boston, MA
"This works great for pulling the oil out of my Volkswagen TDI through the dipstick hole. It makes it not just possible, but easy, to change the oil without getting under the car *at all* (The TDI's oil filter is on the top of the engine)
However, when using it to *dispense* oil (or, in my case, pump the dirty oil into the disposal jugs) the seal around the top leaks a bit, so I can't just pump it up and walk away, I have to baby-sit it and pump periodically. I have not yet contacted the manufacturer about this yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mityvac Fluid Evacuator

,
October 10, 2011
By Baka
from Seattle, WA
"I researched many different kinds of oil evacuators, pros and cos of changing oil this way, read reviews, and talked to a co worker who uses one on his boat. I finally decided to try it on my 2006 Scion XA and this works pretty good. Very easy to use, translucent tank is handy to see how much oil is being extracted, instructions were clear and easy to follow. Make sure the oil fill cap is off so the oil will drain or a vacuum is created (duh). Also, make sure the tube is at the bottom of the oil pan. As the oil is emptied the end of the tube will start sucking air. Just push it in more or pull it out a little at a time and either air or oil will be sucked out. as the end of the tube is positioned at the bottom of the pan. For me it is easier, simpler and cleaner so I won't put off changing my oil. To me this out weighed the possible small amounts of old oil that may or may not be left in the pan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality pump

,
June 13, 2011
By jonpw
from Nebraska
"I have had this for four months now, used it on my compact tractor and mowers. It is solidly built, and ready to use out of the box. It works best with warm oil, it is best to run your engines just before changing oil anyway. You can see what you pull out and it makes handling the waste easy. It really made the process eaiser and will likely not put off oil changes again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product !

,
March 21, 2011
By Uspsllv
from Manchester ,CT
"purchased over 5 years ago still works great! I run veggie oil in My truck and use it to transfer oil here and there while filtering it ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and clean

,
November 23, 2010
By Phlipper
from Marengo, IL
"This Extractor is a wonderful addition to my shop. It is easy to use and fairly easy to clean. It works best at removing fluids from machines that are not easy to access. I have used it on transmissions, a/c compressors, brake systems, cooling systems and engines as well. I like the extended reach that the hoses give since I work on motorcoaches and tractors which do not offer easy access.
I have recommended it to several friends and am glad that I own it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mityvac Fluid Extractor

,
November 18, 2008
By jhn9840
"I do work on Outdoor Power Equipment as a side line and many of todays small engines do not have oil drain plugs. This product certainly makes the oil change job much easier and alot less messy. I have had it for over a year now and would certainly recommend it to anyone."
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shop item

,
November 17, 2008
By ROBERT9876
from NC
"THIS IS VERY NICE, HAD PUMP, TAKE ANYWHERE. I PURCHASED THIS ONE SO I DON'T HAVE TO DRAG A AIR LINE WITH ME. WORKS WELL IN SHOP/ OR IN FIELD. NEED 2 ONE FOR DIRTY AND ONE TO FILL WITH NEW."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mityvac Fluid Evacuator - 2.3 Gal. Reservoir
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy oil change

,
October 29, 2007
By oldbob
from LI,NY
"The mityvac is especially useful for oil changes in BMW and Mercedes-Benz vehicles with canister filters which can be accessed from above the engine. Just put the hose down the dipstick tube and while the engine oil is being removed, change the filter. The 8.8 liter capacity is enough even for the european engines which ordinarily have 8 quart capacities. Also, no worries about stripping the drain plug threads. The dealerships use the vacuum method so it's good enough for me."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.