Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry

Item# 3317875
Remotely start your car from up to 400ft. away to warm it up in winter and cool it down in summer. Locks and unlocks doors, pops the trunk and turns the engine on/off using the 4-button remote (included). Programmable 15 minute run time and automatic cold start. 4-button long range remote. Parking light confirmation and keyless entry. For use with vehicles with fuel injection and automatic transmissions only. U.S.A. Keyless Entry: Yes, Multi Function Remote: Yes, Remote Included: Yes, Range (ft.): 400, Works With: Fuel Injection/Auto Transmissions, Temperature-sensing Start: Yes
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 of 23(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Review 1 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS!

,
January 21, 2008
By Redhot
from STL MO
"Received this for Christmas, from Northern and i love it! I have an older car and was jealous of everyone who had the cars that come with the starter. I complained so much to my boy that he finally got it! I watched him install and he did it quickly and i am happy! No more cold mornings waiting the whole ride for the truck to get warm! Must have for everyone! Highly recommend."
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE IT

,
April 15, 2011
By rick51
from CHICAGO ILL
"IT DOSE WHAT IT SAY IT WAS GOING TO DO YES AND THE PRICE IS RIGTH SO THANK YOU."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

exelent produt

,
March 14, 2011
By nikc
from stafford tx.
"fast instalation, super esa to progam and use.
i instalet in 84 chevy truck whit 6.2 detroid diesel on no hase
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

jeep keyless entry

,
March 14, 2011
By luvmyjeep2
from Short Gap, WV
"love this product. I received this as apresent for my husband with my new Jeep. Love those early mornings when all I have to do is clicked out by the garage door and by the time I walk down to garage jeep is toasty warm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great, Complicated Install

,
March 14, 2011
By Jimmynotanelectrician
from Copake, NY
"I am 50 and have installed many car stereos in my day. I thought I would install this in my daughter's 2006 Fusion. I read the instructions and looked under her dash and promptly found an experienced installer who did it for $200. The unit works great as advertised. The only drawback is the Fusion has a one piece key/fob, so she actually has twice the lock and unlock buttons. Both work.
She is very happy with it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 19, 2010
By grassgators
from Westminster, MD
"I bought this for my wife for her older work car. Install took about 3 hours and instructions were great but YOU WILL NEED wiring diagrams and a test light for complete install. The programing was a little confusing for me but I finally got the hang of it and became easy. Vehicle stars every time and serves its purpose. I will also say that if you have no experiance with vehicle wiring you may want to have it installed professionally. Other then that you will not be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

,
November 20, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
"if you can follow instructions and have proper diagrams its easy to install very great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prestige Security Remote Car Starter

,
September 3, 2010
By drbane
from Milwaukee, WI
"I got this unit primarily because the lock cylinder on my drivers door was stripped out and the key was no longer able to unlock the car. It was a real pain having to walk around the car all the time to unlock the passenger's side door.
The install was a bit much for what was promised to be a straight forward installation. I think if I had it to do over again, I would pay the few extra bucks and have one of the guys at the local automotive stereo shop do the install for me.
The ability to leave the car running during the cold midwest winteres with-out having the keys in it is a great idea."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remote Car Starter - Cheap (and Cheerful?)

,
February 15, 2010
By Seymoursport
from Seymour, CT
"Upon opening the box, two thoughts came to mind; boy, there are a lot of wires to hook up and did I pay too much for a mass produced kit with small diameter wires and tiny connectors? More on the latter concern later.
Let me start by saying that it is absolutely necessary to get an under dash wiring schematic for your vehicle. The instructions that come with the unit are clear and concise, but absolutely useless without a road map of the factory electronic components and wiring info. It's also good if you know your way around a voltmeter or at least a 12V test light.
Once you are familiar with your vehicle, splicing of the remote starter harnesses is not difficult. I choose to connect only those functions that I would need to start the car. Many more options are available. I completed my install by teeing into the brake switch, securing the control unit and performing the simple programming routine. Two pushes of the green remote button and the engine fired. A step on the brake pedal without the key in the ignition and the safety shut the engine off. Success.
Two months later of twice daily operation without a hitch proved my initial distress over the parts that poured out of the box unfounded. I have since looked at many other higher priced remote starters, all of which have no better content.
Cheap and Cheerful? More like a good value and a slight challenge to install."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like

,
November 2, 2009
By 3car7
from Bothell, Wa
"Instructions are very detailed. Everything is as described. Fast Shipment. No complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless E

,
March 25, 2009
By hagaen
from brunswick, georgia
"as per order the, "Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry ", was exacg\tly what my husband had been looking for.
we had tried several other companies but to no a\vail.
i will be ordering one for my vechile as well.
i also would recommend northern tool to anyone, their pricing, quick service, accurate identification of what we were looking for and their speed in which they shipped the product, to me is wonderful and surpasses many others.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is no BullDog

,
November 17, 2008
By prospect
from Ma.
"This was my 5th remote starter from Northern. I was expecting the BullDog Security unit.
The Prestige unit that arrived was a dissapoinment. This unit requires several holes to be drilled into the vehicle. The instructions were sparce and seemed to be geared toward professional installers. I had to refer to the Bulldog website for wiring diagrams and bypass information. Please bring back BullDog Security remote starter kits. They are much more user friendly for DIY'fers.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remote Start unit

,
August 11, 2008
By twowheeler
from Park Falls, Wisconsin
"To install this unit, requires a lot knowledge of your car and its wiring, by reading other posters, I thought it was a Bulldog security unit and went to their web site for help. They did help with some wiring guides and best of all a "T" harness that I purchased, but it helps to have your car wiring diagram. The supplied instructions were excellant and covered all the details, except the wiring choices (colors). To these old tired eyes the print was too small, so went to the Prestige (Audiovox) website and printed a larger version. All wiring was ample and plenty of it, did shorten some wires to avoid a birds nest under the dash. Installation took a couple of days, I'm detailed orientated. After programming the unit, I can start the car from the house, and it stays locked till I unlock it with the remote, a feature that was'nt addressed in the write-up. Overall a excellant unit, but does require something more than basic knowledge of your car and don't be in a hurry to install. Do it right the first time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money and time

,
February 3, 2008
By disapointed
"I purchased this product because of the detailed instructions that were promised in the point of sale information. that could not be further from the facts. I recieved no dvd as promised there is only a small instruction manual, that would be great for a certified mechanic but for a diy install it was horrible. I have spent the better part of 2 days trying to install this system.Ihad to purchase a wiring schematic for my vehicle, misc wiring connecters and extra wire, still no functions with the remote start. needless to say
I would not suggest this system as a diy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I knew it would work

,
March 10, 2007
By DaveT
from Jacksonville, Fl
"I gave this to My Wife as a gift and promised installation by Me. I had not done even a car radio install in 20 years or so but still knew the basics. I had to read the instructions more than once, but over 2 weekends, I got it in and it worked perfect. I think I use it more than She does. The install dvd told and showed Me what to look for but the included tester was the best tool for me. The clicker works from a long way too ...I park way out and when I come out and push it,I can see the lights flash but way to far to hear it crank...fun huh?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bulldog Remote Starter

,
March 7, 2007
By Buick
from Pennsylvania
"Easy Install. We installed one no problems on the second one we had no output on trunk latch circuit. Contacted tech department at factory. They said problem with control unit shipped back for repair took about a week to get back. Finished install works perfect. I agree with other installers range not as advertised. I would suggest if you cant see vehicle opt for the longer range model."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
March 7, 2007
By tallicazx6
from Fond du Lac, Wi.
"Pretty easy to install. It is made easier if you get the wiring harness for your specific car. Works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Installing on two cars!

,
March 7, 2007
By chewbaccabear
from STL, MO
"I thought the installation was simple. I bought the harness too and it cut down the time by 50%. All you need to do is go to bulldog security website and get your wiring diagram. I loved it so much I'm installing it on another vehicle!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remote Starter

,
March 7, 2007
By katienoname
from Cedar City, Utah
"I bought this starter because I live in Utah and it gets kind of cold here in the winter. I thought it would be nice to start my car from in the house. I installed the remote starter in my car myself, being a woman, my husband didn't think I could do it. The instructions were very explicit and had no problems except when I plugged it in it made a beeping sound. I called tech support at Bulldog Security and they walked me right through the problem which was something I didn't hook up. They were great and right on the ball. I have told several people about this and they are going to get one for their car. I LOVE IT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Prestige Security Remote Car Starter and Keyless Entry
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starter

,
March 7, 2007
By Dawg
from Lincoln, NE
"Has worked flawlessly since installation. Very easy to put in and configure, especially with the optional t-harness adapter. Had one issue with programming from the factory but phone customer service was great to work with and solved the problem in a couple minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.