Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

Item# 332145
"Variable speed rotary tool and mini-rotary tool accept standard rotary tool accessories to cut, saw, grind, drill, polish and sharpen. Use on metal, wood, plastic, glass, ceramic, stone and more. Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 5 x 4 1/3, Speed RPM Variable 8,000-30,000, mini tool 16,000, Wheel Included Yes, Application Rotary tool kit, Case Included Yes, Wrench Included Yes, Variable Speed Yes. 36in. flex shaft with stand LED work light 34 Sanding bands 9 Wire and bristle brushes 28 Grinding wheels and stones 2 Engraving cutters 10 High speed drill bits 136 Cutoff discs 6 mandrels and much more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (78 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
72 of 78(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Review 21 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quite running product

,
March 6, 2011
By Bob2011
from Higgins Lake, MI
" Previously owned various " Rotary Tools", which did not hold up for long. (Abrasive Dust ruined bearings, both sleeve and ball types). Switched to another brand about 10 years back, and it is wearing out, and no longer available. Purchased this set about six months ago, and was supprised at how smooth the large unit ran. Larger unit is a little bulky for freehand work, but the flexible shaft more than offsets this (or use the smaller sized unit). The large variety of collets allows for use of multiple sized and purposed "bits", and the unit is faily smooth and quite. The storage case allows for compact storage of the unit and attachments, which is quite handy for keeping things organized in one place. Unit feels solid and comfortable to hold, though the large size of the largest unit limits its flexiblity without the shaft. (The flexible shaft included with the unit lets it expand the usefulness of the product .Units have been successfully used for sharpening, wood carving, deburring and detail sanding. Well designed and built up useful product that I recommend to friends and family that have a use for a rotary tools capabilities. (as an added note the unit I received initially had a dead charger unit for the small tool, a quick call to customer service, and the part was replaced in less than a week including shipping time - NO Hassle - Great service) Previously never had a reason to call Customer Service, and they came through with flying colors... they stand behind their products. Have been using various Rotary Tools since the early 1970's. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

first time owner of a rotary tool

,
December 27, 2010
By ddbbcooper
from Belfair Wa.
" This is my first time buying a rotary tool. I needed it to get into tight places. I am restoring an old car and lots of little areas on verious parts that need a tool that will get there with the varible speed, its ideal. The long exstension works great as well. Not to mention the miny rotary tool works great. Great deal and works great. Buy it you won't be disapointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK

,
December 25, 2010
By Anonymous
" Tool seems to be good for the money. The motor is not as stout as the name brand models, but a great tool for general use. Love the accessories. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool for the money

,
November 23, 2010
By Joeloklocksmith
from Prairie Grove, Arkansas
" The kit come's with enough piece's to keep you busy for a while. I do feel that it is lacking in power. It would be great for small detailed work . The fold out case is very easy to handle and carry. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Quality Great Price

,
November 23, 2010
By Daniel2000
from Florida
" I bought this for my father after he retired because he wanted to polish alot of antiques he has in his home. This works great with the cloth wheels to polish metal that has become tarnised. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Rotary Tool

,
November 16, 2010
By Modeler
from WV
" The Good: I had never used a rotary tool prior to ordering this one, but I had seen several dremels in use. Needless to I was extremely impressed with the tool's performance, and the kit come with all the bells and whistles you could want. Above all else in my opinion is the flex shaft and tool stand, which allow me to work on fine detail projects without holding the large tool! Definately a good long term tool.
The Bad: the mini-tool's locking pin isn't long enough to lock the shaft so that the collet head can be unscrewed to switch accessories. The Smallest high-speed bit is a 5/64" which does not fit any of the included collets. Maintenance and lubercation instuctions are non-existant. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rotary tool kit

,
November 16, 2010
By myly
from michigan
" love it one of the best little tools fun to use hard working. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rotary tool kit

,
November 16, 2010
By bubba549
from kentucky
" Very useful tools great for wife and her hobbys and storage Wife was very thrilled with it she uses it all the time for different crafts and hobbys like polishing stones and grinding on her gourds and bird houses she also uses it for drilling things and removeing screws and the wire wheels she uses for cleaning off rust or buffing up different metals "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
November 16, 2010
By CarpalTomO
from Champlin, MN
" I received this as a gift over a year ago and have been using it at least once a week since.
THE GOOD: The included bits with it are your standard affair and work well.
All other rotary accessories work with this one as well.
I like having the ability to change the set RPMs and that it has an on/off switch so I can keep the RPMs set and still turn on and off the tool.
It's easy to clean off any dust/debris in the large vent holes.
THE BAD: I had the included flap-style sanding wheel shaft bend on me because it wasn't balanced, not a horrible thing considering I can go out and buy another one cheap enough.
OVERALL: Great rotary tool set for the price. I use the included case to keep everything clean and secured for storage. Would definitely recommend it to my friends and family looking for a rotary tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, great bargan!

,
September 13, 2010
By TNBassKisser
from Murfreesboro, TN
" I've been really pleased with this rotary tool outfit. I'm always tinkering on something and this thing gets used constantly. I would have rated it a 5-star product, but some of the metal bits are cheaply made and do not hold up very well. I just replaced the commonly used ones with Dremel-brand bits that last a lot longer. But, for the money, compared to other complete kits, this outfit is a true bargain. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool, Great Price

,
August 30, 2010
By taijirich
from Fayetteville, nc
" I have been looking for a rotary tool, but it was a want, not a need, and my Northern store did not have it in stock when I was there. I saw it online and saw all of the great reviews, and wanted one.
Well, the need arose, and bingo, it was in the store, I bought it and can't believe anyone would pay more for much less. For less than the cost of a name brand tool, I got the tool and all needed accessories. The flex shaft was a lifesaver. This is a great set, if you want it, get it. You get a load of stuff. As stated, you get the tool, a flex shaft, and a mini tool as an added bonus. The accessories are everything you will need to get started and then some. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
June 2, 2010
By aster123
" i bought this rotary tool to replace my dremel. i had gone through 3 and was sick of replacing them after only a few uses, so i decided to give this one a chance. so far i have used it for many intense projects and it has far surpassed my expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rotary Kit

,
June 2, 2010
By caveman101
from AZ
" I found this tool gets way to hot. The case arrived broken. The sanding bands would keep coming apart immediately when I used them. The Grinding wheels would brake from the shafts that hold them on. I was kind of disappointed. I do not know how it got so many good write up’s. I Guess I just got a bad kit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Rotary Tool Kit

,
June 1, 2010
By 64chevyman
from Prescott, WI
" I have 3 hobbies, Woodworking, Stained glass and restoring Classic cars. I have found the rotary tool valuable in all three hobbies. The selection of attachments have proven to help me to accomplish tasks that would have been very difficult with out the kit. It is very easy to use and is very precise when needed for intricate work. Now that I have used the Rotary kit I can't imagine being without it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value compared with Dremel product

,
February 26, 2010
By ehousner
from Atlanta Ga
" This SET is a fantastic value. I purchased it on sale which helped even more. All of the attachments and carrying case are just ICING ON THE CAKE. This product is quiet, powerful and a value that cannot be overcome. I would suggest this to anyone. I will use it this weekend for 10 different small projects starting with doing my Chocolate Labradors nails, then cutting some laminate wood trim and some tile, just to name a couple. Wiyh this tool I am looking forward to a professional outcome!!! Thanks Northern Tool!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

clocks

,
November 2, 2009
By guirk
from sone mountain georgia
" as a hobby i like to make different type clock bodies and install the factory works. this tool allows you to make small cuts you otherwise could not make. the collets are not too good but you can interchage dremmel collets. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

,
November 2, 2009
By tompgapro
from North Florida
" I like it for doing all my little tasks. I used it for cleaning grout from tile to sharpening my chainsaw. I love the variable speed and all the attachments. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

cheap

,
October 31, 2009
By goinggoinggone
from new york
" case was cracked and missing latches contence all over the place cheap construction. Not happy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a lot of tools

,
March 23, 2009
By auntlooney
from Vacaville, CA
" I have owned a Dremal for several years now. I needed something to use at work. When I saw all the things you get with this Rotary tool, I was very surprised. I have looked at these same tools for the Dremal and I would be paying hundreds of dollars for all of it. This is a very good value just for the assessories alone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rotary tool pack is great!

,
March 19, 2009
By Regulator
from Fairbanks, Alaska
" Tlhis is really a nice tool. Far superior in my mind in comparison to
the Dremels I've used in the past. It has plenty of power, variable
RPM, and a plethora of useful attachments. No need to buy a flexible
shaft as this one it in the kit. The hard case furnished with the tool
allows you to keep things neat and handy. This baby is a buy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.