Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

Item# 332145
"Variable speed rotary tool and mini-rotary tool accept standard rotary tool accessories to cut, saw, grind, drill, polish and sharpen. Use on metal, wood, plastic, glass, ceramic, stone and more. Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 5 x 4 1/3, Speed RPM Variable 8,000-30,000, mini tool 16,000, Wheel Included Yes, Application Rotary tool kit, Case Included Yes, Wrench Included Yes, Variable Speed Yes. 36in. flex shaft with stand LED work light 34 Sanding bands 9 Wire and bristle brushes 28 Grinding wheels and stones 2 Engraving cutters 10 High speed drill bits 136 Cutoff discs 6 mandrels and much more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (78 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
72 of 78(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product Great Price

,
March 19, 2015
By rich1967
from monroe, nc
" My parents purchased one for art and craft projects. With us owning our own business and always borrowing their tools they told us about it, so we got online and bought one also. You can't beat the price and with the amount of pieces that come with it, there isn't anything that I could not use it on yet. The price was cheap, so we were worried that the old saying you get what you pay for would take effect. Not the case with the Rotary Tool Kit. You can't go wrong with this product. Great Product!! Great Price!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
February 28, 2015
By gandolf36
from Grantsburg WI.
" The things i have found with this tool are limitless!! This has met and exceeded all my expectations!!!! I recommend this tool to any and everyone!!!! Totally awesome! Well worth what I spent!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

rotary tool

,
February 8, 2015
By 314bily
from tobaccoville
" i have own several dremels glad that i took a chance on your products never thought they would be as good but i give it an awesome review i have tried other tools from northern tools will buy a lot more staff is great thanks billy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

grinder set

,
January 28, 2015
By dlcdc
from w. pa.
" Nice hand held grinder set. lots of related cutters, stones and attachments. The small one can be run off of 12v. vehicle current and is thus portable for mobile use. this is a great addition to my workbench. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a shop bench must

,
January 23, 2015
By cheq59
from Fulton Missouri
" very adaptable tool for the bench cleaning, grinding small stuff and polishing. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very complete

,
January 14, 2015
By hobby21
from Santa Clara California
" Very complete, have everything you need. compatible with my Dremel tools.
good value for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as great as everyone makes it sound

,
August 5, 2014
By JB1999
from Dallas, TX
" Not sure how this gets so many great reviews. It's definitely a "get what you pay for" product. It does it's job OK in most instances but the motor does not have the power nor the longevity of a Dremel. If you need to do one little project this will be fine. No doubt Dremel is way overpriced, too. The bits alone make this worth the price. But here's the issues I've had:
1) Original purchase had broken latches - replaced no problem at store
2) Original purchase had problem with mini tool, spun off center - replaced no problem at store
3) Claims that it works with all Dremel accessories - UNTRUE! - probably works with most bits but DOES NOT interchange with collects, flex shaft, or other attachments
4) LED light can not be used with flex shaft
5) Motor is underpowered and will bog down when drilling with an 1/8" bit in soft plastic
6) Collets - changing them is horrible and they don't even have all the sizes needed to use all of the included accessories
7) Motor speed is inconsistent even when there is no load
So, again, you get what you pay for. It's a lot of pieces for the price and will work great for a small project or two. But, if you need to change bits regularly then look elsewhere. And the handy Dremel screw chuck collect DOES NOT fit on here, nor do any other Dremel collects. This tool has a slightly larger diameter where the collect nut attaches both on the main tool and on the business end of the flex shaft. I've heard rumors of and adapter but have yet to find one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool little tool

,
February 4, 2014
By jdlitwiller
from Western KY
" Handy little tool, takes a lot of effort out of tedious hand powered polishing or carving. I bought it primarily to cut 3/16" and 1/4" cable, since I've broken both wrists. Big tool has plenty of power, while the little one may be good for something intricate that I haven't discovered yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rotary tool set

,
September 17, 2013
By gidebbie
from algonac
" I really enjoy thee multiple speed on the larger tool. Wish the smaller one had at least high and low "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hidden problem

,
June 22, 2013
By Seesawman
from Va
" The tool itself worked fine. The collet nut and main tool shaft are larger than other rotary tools such as Dremel and Craftsman. I use this tool heavily and have split 2 collet nuts easily. Replacements are not available at a box store. As an occasional use tool its ok. If you want heavy duty quality, buy a different name brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP21

,
June 10, 2013
By DUMBO
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
" I got one back in 2010 .... and I fine I tend to pick it up more then any other tool that I used to use all the time now. it's very easy to run, as well change from one part to another...only trouble I found so far... is that since I use the heck out of it.. the extension wire inside broke now I have to pick it up to use it... with the different speeds makes it very nice cut small parts you might be building..
Its so good that I got one for a friend for a X mess this pass year... he loves it as well too.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doing great so far

,
October 15, 2012
By RyanP
from OKC,OK
" I have used many rotarys before and had ok experiences. I like this set because it really has everything you need to do most jobs. I use mine to build coffee tables and pictures frames, works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spiral handle blowup

,
January 24, 2012
By ergunmetin2002
from Newyork
" First I was thought this is good tool with a lot of parts in the box first week spiral handle blow up there is no way to fix it. With out handle useless. I don't see northern tools sells spiral it self "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-18points
6out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rotary Tool

,
January 12, 2012
By ohenkle
from Iowa
" This rotary grinder is awesome. Plenty of power and all the accessories you will use for most projects. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that it gets a little warm to the touch. Recommend you use the supplied handle for use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dad

,
January 9, 2012
By pete57
from Fernandina, Beach, FL
" I purchased the 245 piece Rotary Tool Kit for my adult son and you would have thought I bought him the moon!!!!
He is an amazing artist and is immersed in using this kit to make figures out of animal bones, antlers, and other projects with wood.
It was better than buying him a bb gun when he was a young boy. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico and every time I talk with him by phone, he thanks me for the gift. I will be buying him more tools from Northern to keep the boy in him alive.
By the way, he says the quality of the tools are most excellent. He was excited the kit included the proper adapters to sharpen knives and is excited with the many accessories.
Happy dad in the East coast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
navyman
savannah ga 
 
Please wait while more information about navyman is loaded.
Additional information about navyman could not be loaded.
Happy Dad in Flordia
July 14, 2012
" What a cute story in a bond of a father &Son with a little help from northern tool. You should send the Dad a gift card for sharing this great story "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!!

,
October 11, 2011
By 1bigdog
from Jacksonville FL
" I needed some accessories for an old rotary tool that I had for years for an upcoming project but the prices for some of the individual items were just too expensive. Saw this set from NT online and bought it with a gift card that I had. I just couldnt believe how many accessories came with it. That flex shaft is just great. I couldnt have finished one particular project without it. Used it for hours on end with no issues. One piece of advice is to remove the shaft, lube it with a little Slick 50 lube, or equivalent and re-assemble. Makes it run much cooler and smoother. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definately Worth It!

,
October 10, 2011
By clayb83
from Falls Creek, PA
" I have only used this kit on a few projects but it has already paid for itself. It is great to have around. I was even able to do some of my own gunsmithing which saved me a lot of money. Great Value! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rotary Tool

,
March 21, 2011
By Butch1954
from Oxford, CT
" Good price, Good Value. Used it only a few times. Worked very well. I use it mostly for model making. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value

,
March 21, 2011
By SJCassidy
from CT
" I had a Dremel in the past, and bought this as a replacement. It has performed at least as well as the Dremel, came with a shipload of accessories, and included a "mini" rotary tool as well. I even got a second kit for my husband to keep in his hobby room. All in all, a great purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool for the Money

,
March 21, 2011
By Donnieg
from Jasper,Ga
" I am very pleased with my order got fast service and getting remarkable service from this item.I would recomend this to anyone who does hobby work or other various task.I will continue to order from Northern tool for all my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.