Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK

Item# 332145
"Variable speed rotary tool and mini-rotary tool accept standard rotary tool accessories to cut, saw, grind, drill, polish and sharpen. Use on metal, wood, plastic, glass, ceramic, stone and more. Application Rotary tool kit, Case Included Yes, Variable Speed Yes, Wheel Included Yes, Wrench Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 5 x 4 1/3, Speed RPM Variable 8,000-30,000, mini tool 16,000. 36in. flex shaft with stand LED work light 34 Sanding bands 9 Wire and bristle brushes 28 Grinding wheels and stones 2 Engraving cutters 10 High speed drill bits 136 Cutoff discs 6 mandrels and much more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (72 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
66 of 72(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as great as everyone makes it sound

,
August 5, 2014
By JB1999
from Dallas, TX
" Not sure how this gets so many great reviews. It's definitely a "get what you pay for" product. It does it's job OK in most instances but the motor does not have the power nor the longevity of a Dremel. If you need to do one little project this will be fine. No doubt Dremel is way overpriced, too. The bits alone make this worth the price. But here's the issues I've had:
1) Original purchase had broken latches - replaced no problem at store
2) Original purchase had problem with mini tool, spun off center - replaced no problem at store
3) Claims that it works with all Dremel accessories - UNTRUE! - probably works with most bits but DOES NOT interchange with collects, flex shaft, or other attachments
4) LED light can not be used with flex shaft
5) Motor is underpowered and will bog down when drilling with an 1/8" bit in soft plastic
6) Collets - changing them is horrible and they don't even have all the sizes needed to use all of the included accessories
7) Motor speed is inconsistent even when there is no load
So, again, you get what you pay for. It's a lot of pieces for the price and will work great for a small project or two. But, if you need to change bits regularly then look elsewhere. And the handy Dremel screw chuck collect DOES NOT fit on here, nor do any other Dremel collects. This tool has a slightly larger diameter where the collect nut attaches both on the main tool and on the business end of the flex shaft. I've heard rumors of and adapter but have yet to find one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool little tool

,
February 4, 2014
By jdlitwiller
from Western KY
" Handy little tool, takes a lot of effort out of tedious hand powered polishing or carving. I bought it primarily to cut 3/16" and 1/4" cable, since I've broken both wrists. Big tool has plenty of power, while the little one may be good for something intricate that I haven't discovered yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rotary tool set

,
September 17, 2013
By gidebbie
from algonac
" I really enjoy thee multiple speed on the larger tool. Wish the smaller one had at least high and low "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hidden problem

,
June 22, 2013
By Seesawman
from Va
" The tool itself worked fine. The collet nut and main tool shaft are larger than other rotary tools such as Dremel and Craftsman. I use this tool heavily and have split 2 collet nuts easily. Replacements are not available at a box store. As an occasional use tool its ok. If you want heavy duty quality, buy a different name brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP21

,
June 10, 2013
By DUMBO
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
" I got one back in 2010 .... and I fine I tend to pick it up more then any other tool that I used to use all the time now. it's very easy to run, as well change from one part to another...only trouble I found so far... is that since I use the heck out of it.. the extension wire inside broke now I have to pick it up to use it... with the different speeds makes it very nice cut small parts you might be building..
Its so good that I got one for a friend for a X mess this pass year... he loves it as well too.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doing great so far

,
October 15, 2012
By RyanP
from OKC,OK
" I have used many rotarys before and had ok experiences. I like this set because it really has everything you need to do most jobs. I use mine to build coffee tables and pictures frames, works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spiral handle blowup

,
January 24, 2012
By ergunmetin2002
from Newyork
" First I was thought this is good tool with a lot of parts in the box first week spiral handle blow up there is no way to fix it. With out handle useless. I don't see northern tools sells spiral it self "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-16points
6out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rotary Tool

,
January 12, 2012
By ohenkle
from Iowa
" This rotary grinder is awesome. Plenty of power and all the accessories you will use for most projects. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that it gets a little warm to the touch. Recommend you use the supplied handle for use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dad

,
January 9, 2012
By pete57
from Fernandina, Beach, FL
" I purchased the 245 piece Rotary Tool Kit for my adult son and you would have thought I bought him the moon!!!!
He is an amazing artist and is immersed in using this kit to make figures out of animal bones, antlers, and other projects with wood.
It was better than buying him a bb gun when he was a young boy. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico and every time I talk with him by phone, he thanks me for the gift. I will be buying him more tools from Northern to keep the boy in him alive.
By the way, he says the quality of the tools are most excellent. He was excited the kit included the proper adapters to sharpen knives and is excited with the many accessories.
Happy dad in the East coast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
navyman
savannah ga 
 
Please wait while more information about navyman is loaded.
Additional information about navyman could not be loaded.
Happy Dad in Flordia
July 14, 2012
" What a cute story in a bond of a father &Son with a little help from northern tool. You should send the Dad a gift card for sharing this great story "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!!

,
October 11, 2011
By 1bigdog
from Jacksonville FL
" I needed some accessories for an old rotary tool that I had for years for an upcoming project but the prices for some of the individual items were just too expensive. Saw this set from NT online and bought it with a gift card that I had. I just couldnt believe how many accessories came with it. That flex shaft is just great. I couldnt have finished one particular project without it. Used it for hours on end with no issues. One piece of advice is to remove the shaft, lube it with a little Slick 50 lube, or equivalent and re-assemble. Makes it run much cooler and smoother. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definately Worth It!

,
October 10, 2011
By clayb83
from Falls Creek, PA
" I have only used this kit on a few projects but it has already paid for itself. It is great to have around. I was even able to do some of my own gunsmithing which saved me a lot of money. Great Value! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rotary Tool

,
March 21, 2011
By Butch1954
from Oxford, CT
" Good price, Good Value. Used it only a few times. Worked very well. I use it mostly for model making. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value

,
March 21, 2011
By SJCassidy
from CT
" I had a Dremel in the past, and bought this as a replacement. It has performed at least as well as the Dremel, came with a shipload of accessories, and included a "mini" rotary tool as well. I even got a second kit for my husband to keep in his hobby room. All in all, a great purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool for the Money

,
March 21, 2011
By Donnieg
from Jasper,Ga
" I am very pleased with my order got fast service and getting remarkable service from this item.I would recomend this to anyone who does hobby work or other various task.I will continue to order from Northern tool for all my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quite running product

,
March 6, 2011
By Bob2011
from Higgins Lake, MI
" Previously owned various " Rotary Tools", which did not hold up for long. (Abrasive Dust ruined bearings, both sleeve and ball types). Switched to another brand about 10 years back, and it is wearing out, and no longer available. Purchased this set about six months ago, and was supprised at how smooth the large unit ran. Larger unit is a little bulky for freehand work, but the flexible shaft more than offsets this (or use the smaller sized unit). The large variety of collets allows for use of multiple sized and purposed "bits", and the unit is faily smooth and quite. The storage case allows for compact storage of the unit and attachments, which is quite handy for keeping things organized in one place. Unit feels solid and comfortable to hold, though the large size of the largest unit limits its flexiblity without the shaft. (The flexible shaft included with the unit lets it expand the usefulness of the product .Units have been successfully used for sharpening, wood carving, deburring and detail sanding. Well designed and built up useful product that I recommend to friends and family that have a use for a rotary tools capabilities. (as an added note the unit I received initially had a dead charger unit for the small tool, a quick call to customer service, and the part was replaced in less than a week including shipping time - NO Hassle - Great service) Previously never had a reason to call Customer Service, and they came through with flying colors... they stand behind their products. Have been using various Rotary Tools since the early 1970's. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

first time owner of a rotary tool

,
December 27, 2010
By ddbbcooper
from Belfair Wa.
" This is my first time buying a rotary tool. I needed it to get into tight places. I am restoring an old car and lots of little areas on verious parts that need a tool that will get there with the varible speed, its ideal. The long exstension works great as well. Not to mention the miny rotary tool works great. Great deal and works great. Buy it you won't be disapointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK

,
December 25, 2010
By Anonymous
" Tool seems to be good for the money. The motor is not as stout as the name brand models, but a great tool for general use. Love the accessories. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool for the money

,
November 23, 2010
By Joeloklocksmith
from Prairie Grove, Arkansas
" The kit come's with enough piece's to keep you busy for a while. I do feel that it is lacking in power. It would be great for small detailed work . The fold out case is very easy to handle and carry. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Quality Great Price

,
November 23, 2010
By Daniel2000
from Florida
" I bought this for my father after he retired because he wanted to polish alot of antiques he has in his home. This works great with the cloth wheels to polish metal that has become tarnised. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools 245-Pc. Rotary Tool Kit - RP2145CK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Rotary Tool

,
November 16, 2010
By Modeler
from WV
" The Good: I had never used a rotary tool prior to ordering this one, but I had seen several dremels in use. Needless to I was extremely impressed with the tool's performance, and the kit come with all the bells and whistles you could want. Above all else in my opinion is the flex shaft and tool stand, which allow me to work on fine detail projects without holding the large tool! Definately a good long term tool.
The Bad: the mini-tool's locking pin isn't long enough to lock the shaft so that the collet head can be unscrewed to switch accessories. The Smallest high-speed bit is a 5/64" which does not fit any of the included collets. Maintenance and lubercation instuctions are non-existant. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.