Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer

LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer

Item# 33226
The LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer has a clear vacuum hose and black suction probe that reaches down through the dipstick tube to the bottom of the engine pan. Powerful vacuum pump action creates a strong suction that pulls the dirty oil and sludge into the Oil Changers tank. You can also use it for bailing the boat, removing transmission-oil overfill, cleaning up spills and more. Tank Size gal. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 x 11 x 18, Suction Hose Length in. 48, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 25. No mess from spills or inconvenient drain plugs Used oil and other liquids store safely for proper disposal Just a few seconds to drain oil from a small engine 8-10 minutes for large engines Portable, easy to use - no electricity needed Heavy-duty steel holding tank and steel pump with durable leather piston for long life 2 gallon capacity makes it the right size for quick and easy maintenance on larger vehicles as well as smaller 4-cycle engines lawn mowers, lawn & garden tractors, tillers, generators, snow throwers, ATVs, outboard motors and transmissions/ differentials Size makes it easier to tote & store
Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (73 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
5
61 of 73(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Review 1 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not impressed

,
February 4, 2014
By SurfandTurf
from Port deposit, MD
"Great concept but the design of the threads on the can causes the pump handle to break the seal releasing the vacuum. I purchase this model thinking the metal can would hold up longer. I have used it three times now and each time the cam lost its vacuum resulting in the job taking longer then just pulling the drain plug. Works great until the handle gets bumped and the seal is lost."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

good idea, poor execution

,
August 12, 2013
By flyingwoo
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I purchased this "liquivac" as an upgrade to their smaller, plastic models. It was not an upgrade. It is made from a cheap fuel can. The pump does not stay in. Maybe it's because we need to use it several times a day. Maybe it's because you have to handle it with kid gloves. I just hate it. Bought one at HF that runs on air & works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good concept - poor execution

,
May 6, 2013
By ATSF206
from OK
"I have been using mine since 2002 for my Volkswagen diesels and Mercedes-Benz. The threaded connector between the pump and can is too short and tends to pop off when pumping. Because its too short it won't hold vacuum long enough to evacuate a full oilpan of oil; requires constanct re-pumping.
I think there are better alternatives out there although at a higher cost.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquivac Topside Oil Changer

,
April 23, 2013
By Crowhunter
from Zeeland Mi.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"It is the best I have ever used simple to understand and works great for changing oil in boats and any engine you have ,you must read the instructions and warm motor a few minutes ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Oil Changer needs some changes

,
February 11, 2013
By SamT
from Delaware
"The concept of this product is good. It can be used to transfer liquids by pulling them into a vacuum tank, without the liquid actually going through a pump. My sample, however, had problems. In particular, the vacuum pump does not securely screw onto the tank threads, and as such the pump frequently falls off of the tank. A much improved thread on the tank and on the pump is needed for reliable operation. Even so, with practice and if used carefully, the product will work, and I do plan to keep it and use it in the future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better Pumping

,
November 2, 2012
By moxnicks
from Leavenworth
"Good product. I use it for VW TDI and small engines. You might want to use some better tubing though. The vinyl tubing attached to the tank is too soft so collapses under vacuum. If you do not heat the oil up the tubing holds up better but the oil flow is very slow. If you heat the oil up the tubing has issues. Try some heavy pvc or polyethelene tubing. Depending on your particular engine some soft copper tubing for down the dipstick would work better than the dipstick tubing included (which can bend and kink in hot oil). But this may not work if the dipstick tube is not straight enough. A dipstick in the collection tank itself showing volume extracted would be good. But might be hard to implement. Overall I am happy with this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No mess

,
October 11, 2012
By peter67
from Ottawa, Ontario
"Works fast and great. No more spills on your driveway. The liquivac sucks all the oil out of your small motors. It's pricy but it is made in the US and it saves the environment."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquivac Topside Oil Changer

,
October 8, 2012
By BlueFin
from Northern Wisconsin
"This Product: ...is what you need to change oil in any boat... It is easy to use and does a Great Job, with no mess..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

does the job

,
October 7, 2012
By bmwx3
from poplar bluff, missouri
"i used this vacuum pump to change the oil in my bmw. it worked fine. just followed direction. got all the oil out and was little mess to clean up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality

,
August 13, 2012
By HappyRedneck
from Lehi Utah
"No problems to report. Works fine and showed up on time"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as described

,
July 13, 2012
By alinwa
from WA
"As the owner of a construction company I have TOOLS......lots of tools, more than most shops. It's refreshing to buy a tool that works as described. This thing is awesome, one of my employees sucked the crud out of a 40gallon step-tank on a 24ft Topkick box van out on a jobsite today, got the rig to the next job where we can repair it properly.
I'ma' order another one, that's why I'm back on this site! Gonna' put a bigger hose on....... and a 'Y' pipe...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Plagued by Air Leaks

,
June 25, 2012
By GKNY
from Huntington, NY
"I've seen a lot of great reviews on here, which led me to purchase the Liquivac Topside Oil Changer. Accordingly, there's a high possibility I'm doing something wrong in using it. Nonetheless, I found that the oil needed to be way hotter than it should before it would flow at all and that I almost constantly had to pump as I'd lose the vacuum due to air leaks. Maybe it's me or maybe it's an inferior, cheaply-built product. Effectively a gas can with some gaskets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes the pain out of an oil change.

,
May 14, 2012
By 7zuma7
from Los Angeles, CA
"I used this to change the oil on a 2004 Jetta TDI. On this car the filter is up on top. With the Topside Oil Changer there is no need to go under the car and remove the cumbersome belly pan. You just suck the oil out of the pan and the bottom of the oil filter area. Refill with fresh synthetic and you are done! As long as the tube reaches to the bottom of the oil pan you should be able to do this on many other cars. Just keep an eye on how much oil you use when you refill and you should be able to get a sense of how much you were able to suck out. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
April 16, 2012
By amac
from NJ
"I used this on my hyundai sonata , 4 quarts out and 4 quarts in no problem . just make sure the gaskets are on properly and you will have no problem and empty after every use . measure what comes out this way you know how much to put back in .. did not have to jack car up at all even when changeing the oil filter .. this is definatly the way to go ..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Side Oil Changer

,
January 9, 2012
By blubaron
from Astoria,N.Y.
"This product works just great!Since my oil filter is under the hood,I don't have to crawl under the car no more.(BMW 330ci 2001)
Again,follow the instructions,and it works like a charm.
It would be nice,if there was some kind of indicator,that tells you how much oil or liquid has gone into the container.
A must have tool!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
October 21, 2011
By Quag
from Pennsylvania
"After doing oil changes on my boat for the last three with a cheap plastic handpump that leaked and took forever to use, this was fantastic. No problems with missing gaskets as I read in other reviews. Keep in mind this does not replace climbing under a car to access an oil drain plug, but works fantastic for those with limited or no access to the oil drain as in most boats. Make sure the engine is run well and the oil is warm, works like a charm. Highly recommend. Took less then ten minutes to drain my oil pan (not sure exactly how long since I was doing other things while it worked....love it hands free after you build up the vacuum)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems like a quality product

,
October 11, 2011
By JohnInKY
from Northern, KY
"Looks good and seems to be constructed of quality materials. I have not yet had a chance to try it out. Assembly was easy and detailed instructions are included. Hope to do a follow-up review after actually using it...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great way to change oil

,
October 10, 2011
By Rag01
from brooklyn, NY
"easy to use, did not have to crawl under the car, did not get hands dirty, unscrew the pump and tube, cap it, take it to the store for recycle, empty it, ready for the next oil change. no mess, no fuss."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
LongJohSilver
Port Mansfield, Texas 
 
Please wait while more information about LongJohSilver is loaded.
Additional information about LongJohSilver could not be loaded.
Pumpity, Pump, Pump, Pump...
August 27, 2012
"For a sail boat user cruising in all parts of the world, and having to change oil, transmittion or suck fluids from various places, there is always a need for good suction. The question is electric or manual. Sixty strokes may seem like a lot of effort on a hot day, but in the middle of an endless sea with no electricity or in presious supply and lots of time on your hands... manual becomes the only reasonable choice. The Topsid Oil changer fits the bill and is compact and takes up less space than an electric model that may hold a larger quantity. Discharge can be transfered into a larger container and so the practical considerations speak for themselves... Simpler is better. High tech... High energy is not always the best solution."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oil Changer

,
October 10, 2011
By Duende1
from Duluth, MN
"If only I had known that such a device had existed years ago. Now I can change the oil in my lawnmower, jet ski and snow blower with no mess, no fuss. I am very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LiquiVac Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

top side oil changer

,
June 13, 2011
By lchap
from cleveland tx
"the top side oil changer worked good for me it takes alot of pumping but it beats draining oil.i use it on small engines"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.