Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Topsider Oil Changer

Topsider Oil Changer

Item# 33226
"The Topsider Oil Changer has a clear vacuum hose and suction probe that reaches down through the dipstick tube to the bottom of the engine pan. Powerful vacuum pump action creates a strong suction that pulls the dirty oil and sludge into the Oil Changers tank. You can also use it for bailing the boat, removing transmission-oil overfill, cleaning up spills and more. Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 x 11 x 18, Tank Size gal. 2, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 25, Suction Hose Length in. 48. No mess from spills or inconvenient drain plugs Used oil and other liquids store safely for proper disposal Just a few seconds to drain oil from a small engine 8-10 minutes for large engines Portable, easy to use - no electricity needed Heavy-duty steel holding tank and steel pump with durable leather piston for long life 2 gallon capacity makes it the right size for quick and easy maintenance on larger vehicles as well as smaller 4-cycle engines lawn mowers, lawn & garden tractors, tillers, generators, snow throwers, ATVs, outboard motors and transmissions/ differentials Size makes it easier to tote & store"
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (96 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
82 of 96(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topsider Oil Changer
Review 1 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SuperSucker Tool

,
January 26, 2016
By
from Houston, TX
The Topsider Oil Changer works great! It takes the mess out of oil changes in small engines such as lawn mowers and string trimmers. I have not tried it yet but I know it will work great for changing oil in my vehicles.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider Oil Changer

,
November 7, 2015
By
from Brown City, Michigan
I purchased this oil changer to use for my boat, since I couldn't access the drain plug on the oil pan without making a mess in my bilge. I used this product as per the directions in the box and it worked great. I think I will start using this to change my oils in my vehicles too and save myself the trouble of cleaning up oil spills on my garage floor.
Just remember to not pump it more than 30-40 pumps, and only warm the engine for 3-5 minutes. The oil only needs to be warm, not hot.
There is also a small hole in the top of the pump to oil the seals in it on an occasion.
Wish I would have bought one long ago. Made in USA too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in its class

,
October 29, 2015
By
from Miami Fl
So far so good, used 5 times and no problems. I would recommend it to friends. Makes oil changing on my car a breeze. Easy to use and store.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
October 28, 2015
By
from Western South Dakota
Only downside is it takes several pumps to remove oil from crankcase. Must have patience to remove 4 quarts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

,
October 22, 2015
By
from Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was leary of this product and wanted to use it to take the oil from my Mercedes Benz. After so serious fiddling with the parts and pieces was done, it works perfectly and as good as advertised. I only wish there was a spout to pour the old oil out. I have not yet found one for it. I am now moving on to the tranny fluid.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made in USA out of real steel.

,
October 18, 2015
By
from Oregon
I was very impressed with the build quality. It feels heavy duty with all metal construction and all of the attachments needed to drain your oil through the dipstick tube.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider Oil Changer

,
September 19, 2015
By
from NY
Important to apply oil to seals.Works great. Have no problems.Make sure to clean your hose and container after using.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Topsider oil changer

,
August 18, 2015
By
from Birmingham, Ohio
The product is made of steel but is not rugged. When pumping to create vacuum the pump frequently comes off or loose breaking the seal and vacuum. This is a real negative since it is a pain trying to hold the can and pump together while pumping. Also the draw is very weak and unless you are sucking up a thin liquid such as water it does not work well. Even warm engine oil does not flow well back into the can. Bought it to change oil in my boat and it could not draw the oil up effectively. After many failed attempts with this product I finally made the right decision and tossed it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider is the 'tops'

,
June 9, 2015
By
from Southington, CT
This tool performs as advertised, just follow the instructions and you will be surprised at how well it works. The pump and tank are well made, and the tubing supplied makes a usually messy job cleaner. Perfect solution to engine maintenance where draining the oil is difficult due to space limitations.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the shop !

,
May 17, 2015
By
from LA Cal.
Great product but the gaskets could be bigger and better. Takes time, but that can be expected through a dipstick tube ! Will come in handy for various tasks in the shop !
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

super - glad I bought it

,
May 13, 2015
By
from Apex, NC
Follow the instructions of assembly and usage to a T and you will be amazed how easy and handy this oil extractor is.
I used on mowers and next may use on cars.
So far so super.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Quality

,
April 12, 2015
By
from North Carolina
The metal construction is far better than the plastic counterparts. Great tool at a great price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oil Vac

,
March 2, 2015
By
from Fl
Great little unit to have in your shop. Great for changing oil & cleaning out gas tanks. Great for any small engine mechanic or do it yourself person. This oil vac has saved me tons of time, and time is money. I now own 3 for my shop.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Extractor

,
March 1, 2015
By
from Richmond, VA
Great product. Works like a charm. No more going under the vehicle to change oil. Tube is appropriate length. Took about 10-15 minutes to extract the oil out of a 2012 Equinox. Love the metal design unlike most plastic extractors out there.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

,
January 28, 2015
By
from Murfreesboro, TN
I got this extractor to remove oil from my small engines. I've not had much luck with the cheaper pump extractors over the years. Probably owned 3 or 4. Used the topsider for the first time today on my riding mower. I carefully followed the instructions and had no problems. So far I feel the extra money has been well spent. This unit is obviously made of superior material (metal vs plastic). It seals well and as best I could measure it seemed to remove about all the dirty oil. I do worry a bit about the plastic hose clip either breaking or putting so much pressure on the extraction line that it causes drainage problems. Will know more a year or more down the road, but so far so good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquivac Topsider

,
October 11, 2014
By
from New York, NY
Absolutely a must-have tool for no-mess oil changes on my Mercedes Benz cars. Also works great when i do oil changes on my motorcycles and lawn mower. The steel construction makes the Topsider a better choice over other plastic versions.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

,
September 22, 2014
By
from Riverside, California
Great tool, I use this on vintage motorcycles to remove oil from gearcases. A great tool for that application.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

,
September 5, 2014
By
from Orland ,CA
This product is awesome. It did exactly what I wanted it to do. I set it up, pumped it up, and walked away. Came back my oil was out, no mess, no fuss, no work. Very happy & satisfied with the product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
August 15, 2014
By
from NH
Very Good product, does the task very well. Fast shipping and decent price. Can't beat it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes life a whole lot easier

,
July 20, 2014
By
from central New York
This unit is definitely best used AFTER reading the instructions with included precautions.
NEVER exceed 40 pumps as it took this dummy 1 other unit to figure that out. I sometimes have a problem thinking that more is better. Not so.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.