Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Topsider Oil Changer

Topsider Oil Changer

Item# 33226
"The Topsider Oil Changer has a clear vacuum hose and black suction probe that reaches down through the dipstick tube to the bottom of the engine pan. Powerful vacuum pump action creates a strong suction that pulls the dirty oil and sludge into the Oil Changers tank. You can also use it for bailing the boat, removing transmission-oil overfill, cleaning up spills and more. Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 x 11 x 18, Tank Size gal. 2, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 25, Suction Hose Length in. 48. No mess from spills or inconvenient drain plugs Used oil and other liquids store safely for proper disposal Just a few seconds to drain oil from a small engine 8-10 minutes for large engines Portable, easy to use - no electricity needed Heavy-duty steel holding tank and steel pump with durable leather piston for long life 2 gallon capacity makes it the right size for quick and easy maintenance on larger vehicles as well as smaller 4-cycle engines lawn mowers, lawn & garden tractors, tillers, generators, snow throwers, ATVs, outboard motors and transmissions/ differentials Size makes it easier to tote & store"
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (88 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
6
75 of 88(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topsider Oil Changer
Review 1 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider is the 'tops'

,
June 9, 2015
By DOTMAN54
from Southington, CT
" This tool performs as advertised, just follow the instructions and you will be surprised at how well it works. The pump and tank are well made, and the tubing supplied makes a usually messy job cleaner. Perfect solution to engine maintenance where draining the oil is difficult due to space limitations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the shop !

,
May 17, 2015
By 230kvdr
from LA Cal.
" Great product but the gaskets could be bigger and better. Takes time, but that can be expected through a dipstick tube ! Will come in handy for various tasks in the shop ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

super - glad I bought it

,
May 13, 2015
By Agilityaussie
from Apex, NC
" Follow the instructions of assembly and usage to a T and you will be amazed how easy and handy this oil extractor is.
I used on mowers and next may use on cars.
So far so super.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Quality

,
April 12, 2015
By Bowhunter64
from North Carolina
" The metal construction is far better than the plastic counterparts. Great tool at a great price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oil Vac

,
March 2, 2015
By Mowerman1964
from Fl
" Great little unit to have in your shop. Great for changing oil & cleaning out gas tanks. Great for any small engine mechanic or do it yourself person. This oil vac has saved me tons of time, and time is money. I now own 3 for my shop. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Extractor

,
March 1, 2015
By DrewRVA
from Richmond, VA
" Great product. Works like a charm. No more going under the vehicle to change oil. Tube is appropriate length. Took about 10-15 minutes to extract the oil out of a 2012 Equinox. Love the metal design unlike most plastic extractors out there. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

,
January 28, 2015
By glh17
from Murfreesboro, TN
" I got this extractor to remove oil from my small engines. I've not had much luck with the cheaper pump extractors over the years. Probably owned 3 or 4. Used the topsider for the first time today on my riding mower. I carefully followed the instructions and had no problems. So far I feel the extra money has been well spent. This unit is obviously made of superior material (metal vs plastic). It seals well and as best I could measure it seemed to remove about all the dirty oil. I do worry a bit about the plastic hose clip either breaking or putting so much pressure on the extraction line that it causes drainage problems. Will know more a year or more down the road, but so far so good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquivac Topsider

,
October 11, 2014
By LouieBenz
from New York, NY
" Absolutely a must-have tool for no-mess oil changes on my Mercedes Benz cars. Also works great when i do oil changes on my motorcycles and lawn mower. The steel construction makes the Topsider a better choice over other plastic versions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

,
September 22, 2014
By Nortones2
from Riverside, California
" Great tool, I use this on vintage motorcycles to remove oil from gearcases. A great tool for that application. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

,
September 5, 2014
By Cri1
from Orland ,CA
" This product is awesome. It did exactly what I wanted it to do. I set it up, pumped it up, and walked away. Came back my oil was out, no mess, no fuss, no work. Very happy & satisfied with the product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
August 15, 2014
By BoatGuyNH
from NH
" Very Good product, does the task very well. Fast shipping and decent price. Can't beat it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes life a whole lot easier

,
July 20, 2014
By tagliato
from central New York
" This unit is definitely best used AFTER reading the instructions with included precautions.
NEVER exceed 40 pumps as it took this dummy 1 other unit to figure that out. I sometimes have a problem thinking that more is better. Not so.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

buyer

,
July 15, 2014
By buggsbunny
from Monroe Ga
" Never worked. Pump created no vacuum or suction & should have returned to store but never did. Do not waste money on this item. Now used for gas can - only thing it's good for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-20points
2out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works great

,
July 6, 2014
By B7L3U8E
from Flushing Queens N.Y.
" He loves it.It Did the job.He had no trouble at all using it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Transmission Fluid changes

,
June 27, 2014
By BigDavid12
from Waukesha, WI
" I bought this to do transmission fluid changes on my 2007 Chev Impala. The dealer wanted $200+ dollars to do a partial fluid change. A full fluid change was not recommended due to the high mileage of the car. This device made it effortless and clean. Just insert the tube down the trans fill tube, and it easily sucked out 8 quarts in a matter of minutes. I would have otherwise had to jack the car up, drop the tranny pan, to do a partial change. It paid for itself with the first use. Also made in USA was a bonus. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not impressed

,
February 4, 2014
By SurfandTurf
from Port deposit, MD
" Great concept but the design of the threads on the can causes the pump handle to break the seal releasing the vacuum. I purchase this model thinking the metal can would hold up longer. I have used it three times now and each time the cam lost its vacuum resulting in the job taking longer then just pulling the drain plug. Works great until the handle gets bumped and the seal is lost. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

good idea, poor execution

,
August 12, 2013
By flyingwoo
from Scottsdale, AZ
" I purchased this "liquivac" as an upgrade to their smaller, plastic models. It was not an upgrade. It is made from a cheap fuel can. The pump does not stay in. Maybe it's because we need to use it several times a day. Maybe it's because you have to handle it with kid gloves. I just hate it. Bought one at HF that runs on air & works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good concept - poor execution

,
May 6, 2013
By ATSF206
from OK
" I have been using mine since 2002 for my Volkswagen diesels and Mercedes-Benz. The threaded connector between the pump and can is too short and tends to pop off when pumping. Because its too short it won't hold vacuum long enough to evacuate a full oilpan of oil; requires constanct re-pumping.
I think there are better alternatives out there although at a higher cost.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquivac Topside Oil Changer

,
April 23, 2013
By Crowhunter
from Zeeland Mi.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" It is the best I have ever used simple to understand and works great for changing oil in boats and any engine you have ,you must read the instructions and warm motor a few minutes . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topsider Oil Changer
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Oil Changer needs some changes

,
February 11, 2013
By SamT
from Delaware
" The concept of this product is good. It can be used to transfer liquids by pulling them into a vacuum tank, without the liquid actually going through a pump. My sample, however, had problems. In particular, the vacuum pump does not securely screw onto the tank threads, and as such the pump frequently falls off of the tank. A much improved thread on the tank and on the pump is needed for reliable operation. Even so, with practice and if used carefully, the product will work, and I do plan to keep it and use it in the future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.