Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000

LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000

Item# 332260
Great for removing used oil from hard-to-reach drains on large or small engines. Easy-to-use pump tank comes with suction hose and storage cap. Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 x 10 1/2 x 7, Suction Hose Length in. 48, Tank Size gal. 2. CLEAN - No mess from spills or inconvenient drain plugs Used oil and other liquids store safely for proper disposal FAST - Just a few seconds to drain oil from a small engine 8 - 10 minutes for large engines CONVENIENT - portable, easy to use, no electricity needed QUALITY CONSTRUCTION - heavy-duty polyethelene holding tank and steel pump with durable leather piston for long life The 8 qt. capacity of the LiquiVac makes it the right size for quick and easy maintenance on larger vehicles as well as smaller 4 cycle engines lawn mowers, lawn & garden tractors, tillers, generators, snow throwers, ATVs, outboard motors and transmissions/ differentials Perfect size to tote & store
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 19(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Review 1 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected.

,
July 21, 2014
By DE49
from TN
"Does not remove all the oil. In some cases it may leave as much as a quart. Depends on what you use it on. Works better on small engines, than on cars or trucks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little unit

,
February 4, 2014
By Lebarre
from Greenville, SC
"Works well. Only caveat is that it's a bit unwieldy to pump, due to the orientation of the handle. The mityvac units are much easier to pump as they're like a bicycle pump, you pump vertically with the unit on the floor. Also, the included nylon pickup tube is too small for cold or thick oil. Remove it and just use the larger diameter clear tubing.. Or add a bit of solvent or diesel to whatever system you're evacuating to thin it.. Works great, and makes for a more complete drain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked great, 3 times.

,
December 30, 2012
By turbosix
from dallas, tx
"Bought this to change the oil in my wife's turbo mini cooper s and my honda s2000 and it worked great for one oil change on the mini and two on the s2000. the fourth time i tried to use it to drain the oil on my s2000 i found the pump would not generate any suction.
Reading the instructions suggests that the leather seals may dry out if not used over time (I'm not sure how 3 months of no use is long enough for this to happen) and to drip some new motor oil into the handle to restore them.
Sounds like a great idea, so I tried it and the pump does generate some suction now, unfortunately not enough to actually suck any oil out.
So the only thing i can do now is buy an entire new pump assembly. This would be a 5 star review if I was able to use it more than 3 times."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent solution

,
March 8, 2012
By Rowbear
from Rockport, MA
"This oil extractor works very well. Instead of having to tip my lawnmower over to pour the oil out and hope for no mess I just stuck the tube down the oil filler tube and voila out came the oil. Ditto for all my gas powered appliances. Easy to use and basically no mess. I don't know where the idea that it will take 45 minutes came from. It maybe took 3-4 minutes per appliance, including my Powerhorse log splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pop the hood and change the oil!

,
January 9, 2012
By cbdmopar
from Austin, TX
"Half of the vehicles I own have a cartridge style oil filter, so there is no reason work under engine!
Now, to change the oil, warm it up a bit, pull the dip stick and utilize the liquivac per instructions. While the oil is being sucked out (it takes a while) change the filter (which is right under your nose), put up the LV, fill'er up with some synthetic oil and you are good to go!
On a cautionary note, you may not get dirt under your fingernails so you may want to repack your wheel bearings to feel like you accomplished something!
No go spin a wrench!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

liquid / oil transfer

,
October 10, 2011
By cthereason
from US
"This product really does work well. I use it to service my mobil air compressor. Its quick,easy and allows me to quickly service my equilment without any down time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
April 28, 2011
By Fike
from Castleton, VT
"I've had this for 2 years and never had a problem using it. Much easier than opening the drain plug on vehicles and there is no better way to change oil in small engines. Get the oil warm for faster draining."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect 4 stroke Seadoo oil changer.

,
June 2, 2010
By kawmagnum
from New Bern, North Carolina
"Have tried several products -even home-made, to extract oil from 4-tech Seadoo Motors. This works perfect. No mess and gets all the oil out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

If I had only know . . .

,
May 24, 2010
By LastBlackman
from College Park, Ga
"I have yet to use it. The instructions states it would take about 45 minutes to extract the oil. If I had known this, I would not have purchased it. I did find a great use for it . . . I can remove the old gas from my bass boat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where have you've been all my oil-changing life!

,
November 2, 2009
By Anonymous
from Quohog, RI
"Works PERFECTLY, exactly as described. Spilled a whooping 3 (tiny) drops of oil, and took a fraction of the time. Not having to pull the drain plug and deal with warm + dirty oil running down your arm is an added bonus. Only possible drawback would be larger capacity oil pans (like on some diesels) where the 8-quart might not be enough. It was also nice to see and get a reading on the exact amount of oil drained. There's fancier and more expensive ones out there, but this one gets the job done fer me fer now!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Follow directions...

,
November 2, 2009
By Elplacs
from Minnesota
"Product works great. Very easy to use as long as you follow directions. The directions clearly state to warm up the engine. I missed that on my first attempt and the oil was to thick to flow well. After warming engine up it worked great. Just a few pumps and it will suck out all the oil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile Product

,
October 19, 2009
By Anonymous
from Bakersfield, Ca.
"I originally purchased this product to change the oil in my boat, but it has been useful in maintaining my quads and lawn equipment as well. Well built, quality product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oil Extractor

,
October 19, 2009
By dnick
from Clarksville, IA
"Great idea, but will not work with a warm engine, the best time to change oil. The clear extraction tube connecting the nylon dip stick section to the suction tank collapses when warm oil softens it. All of the tubing needs to remain open even when it gets warm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but tricky to use

,
October 18, 2009
By JayRay
from Coastal Mississippi
"Did not work at all out of the box, but I could hear the air leaking. I could not make it work by following the directions (dry gaskets), so I put a light coat of oil on both rubber gaskets and tightened both connections gradually until no air could be heard -- got to be just right, not too loose, not too tight. I helped it along this time by filling the tube with oil to "prime" it. Another try after all the tinkering, and it moved just a little oil, maybe a lean quarter ounce into the tank, then it quit.
At that point wished I had not purchased this product. But you know, that darned little white clamp looked kind of tight on the clear plastic tube even in the fully released position (as it must be released to move the oil). It didn't look nearly as tight as when closed, but it was still putting a pretty good dent in the tube (both sides). So I pulled that little white clamp apart just a bit (this is not in the directions either), and viola, the oil was flowing very well, very fast, and I felt like Jed Clampit.
Low quality directions in general.
So it worked for me, it was just very finicky and needed fine tuning right away. Four stars because the directions are very poorly written and poorly illustrated, and I doubt the mfg'r did much field testing on this oil extractor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works

,
November 17, 2008
By starrcade
from Wexford, PA
"I wasn't sure about this product really working or not but being a landscaper and always changing the oil on small engines that oil has nowhere to drain but all over the equipment, I figured I would give it a shot. I got it, put the hoses on and pumped it up, inserted the line as directed and "POOF" it drew the oil out. When it started to gurgle and stop pulling the oil I removed the drain plug to see if it left anything. Well lets just say less than a half an ounce was left, i can deal with that clean up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

luiquivac oil extractor-2 gallon

,
May 12, 2008
By dfetzy
from Saxonburg,PA
"When I first used the unit, it would not pull a vacuum.
I oiled the gasket on the intake screw cap and the rubber gasket on the pump screw down. Still no luck.
I took the pump off and held it by the extended metal handle and put an eyedropper of oil down the tiny hole adjacent to the pump handle and worked the handle a few times to coat the "O-ring"? before re-assembling the unit.
Now it worked great. If you have trouble you may want to oil these items to maintain the essential vacuum.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Saves Money

,
January 14, 2008
By Gobbler
from Deatsville, AL
"I bought this product after reading about it in a magazine. I use it to change my transmission fluid. Saves me a lot of money by doing it myself. I simply pump out all of the transmission fluid in the reservior (enter where the dip stick goes) and replace the same amount of fluid that I pumper out. I do this once a week for 3-weeks and it gets probably 95% of the fluid out. Works like a charm and each change took me less than 5 minutes! I have also used this on my lawn mower oil and for changing my coolant and brake fluid in my vehicles. I would highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
unclejoe
nyc 
 
Please wait while more information about unclejoe is loaded.
Additional information about unclejoe could not be loaded.
buy a better extractor
January 12, 2011
"this unit is cheaply made hence the price. the handle/pump needs to be tightened ever few pumps, the hose step down is just poor design and makes it more of a nusense to use. Also theres no way to determine how much fluid was extracted so I have to refill the empty oil bottles to b sure. spend the money and get a real tool"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
October 31, 2007
By eushapti
from kernersville N.C.
"Does a great job of removing old transmission fluid before removing the pan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LiquiVac Oil Extractor - For Larger Projects, 8 Qts., Model# 2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
July 9, 2007
By rbhz06
from atlanta GA
"This product is very easy and straight forward to use. i love it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.