Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX

FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX

Item# 334745
The DEWALT cordless 18V 1/2in. drill / driver is designed to handle all your drilling and fastening tasks. Powerful drill features 3 speed ranges, a built-in LED light and heavy-duty ratcheting chuck. Operates on XRP batteries for extended run times. Clutch Settings 22, Case Included Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 18V XRP batteries, Chuck Size in. 1/2, Volts 18, Side Handle Yes, Variable Speed Yes, Reversible Yes, Charger Included Yes, 1 Hour, Speed - No Load RPM 0-500/0-1,250/0-2,000, Keyless Chuck No, Tool Weight lbs. 6.25. Patented 3-speed all-metal transmission matches the tool to task for fastest application speed and improved run time Heavy-duty 1/2in. ratcheting chuck helps prevent bits from slipping and falling out LED worklight provides increased visibility in confined spaces High power, high efficiency motor delivers 450 watts of max power for superior performance in all drilling and fastening applications XRP extended run-time batteries provide long run-time & battery life
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 32(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doesn't get much better

,
February 4, 2014
By RM274
from Raymond, OH
"I don't buy a specific brand, just because I want to say I only use DeWalt or Porter Cable. I buy what I believe is the best product in that category. As far a 1/2" cordless drills go.....It doesn't get much better. It is a great drill for what it is made for. It's a little to heavy for small items inside the house, and a little too big to fit into tight spots. But if you are running 3.5" wood screws in all day, it's perfect. My only real complaint is when the batteries stop holding a charge, is the cost of the batteries. If you bought 2 new batteries for this drill, you would be close in price to buying a new drill. Other than that, it's a great tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Drill

,
August 20, 2012
By bj324
from Halstead, KS
"I have had this drill for 3 years and I love it. I have used it all around the house as well as building steel framed barns. It is tough enough to take plenty of abuse. Handle is very comfortable and the balance is just right. Sure the battery weighs a lot but it beats dragging cords around everywhere. Don't let your battery sit uncharged. I made that mistake on one of mine and now only lasts for 1/4 of the time, but that was completely my fault."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my dewalt

,
January 17, 2012
By ebug
from Chino, CA
"I've had my drill for three years and its still going strong. I'm able to use large 4 inch hole saws with this drill with ease. Plenty of power and long battery life."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeWALT = Excellence

,
January 16, 2012
By EnterValueHere
from Tucson, AZ
"After much debate on what drill to purchase, I finally settled on this one. DeWALT is a name you can trust so i thought, why not?
Just as I thought I was not disappointed. This drill does not lack power like other cordless brands feel like. The hammer function is beautiful and makes driling into concrete simple. I would highly recommend purchasing an additional battery; as all cordless drills run out of steam before you do.
The only flaw to this drill is its weight. The drill itself is compact, but its robust construction and the monster battery make over-head work exhausting (and I am no milk toast).
This product is very well built and a solid investment. Keep the case out of frequent sun exposure as mine dry-rotted after about six months.
Buy it! You will not regret it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good drill

,
January 16, 2012
By Bflier
from Doylestown, PA
"This is the best cordless drill I have owned. It's rugged and powerful. Battery longevity has not been an issue (have been using it for a year now)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill

,
October 19, 2011
By jdgofnm
from corrales,nm
"dad has it works great i have used it like it alot."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Proformance

,
October 19, 2011
By 1Bigmike
from Denton, N.C.
"Running a camp we use so many tools and go though so many. I have had to trash so many B &D drills it not funny I've started to replace with the Dewalt power tools an we are not having to disgrade any more sence . It has allready save me money ,an I will tell everyone to buy Dewalt."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solid drill

,
October 17, 2011
By MrWilderness
from MN
"I've used Dewalt tools for years and they have stood the test of time. They can take the abuse of the job site and keep on working. This Dewalt drill has a lot of torque and long lasting battery. I would definitively recommend this drill to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Drill

,
June 16, 2011
By Kartboarder22
from Otsego, MN
"This drill is pretty amazing, 3 speed gives this thing a lot of power. Very heavy duty design and an aluminum transmission. Very precise and smooth operation. Lithium is the way to go, giving you full power until the battery gets too low and it stops completly. It can get a little scary if you are drilling into something deep and the power all of a sudden kills but just hold your drill there and wait a few seconds then you can engage the trigger to reverse your bit out. Only Cons is the drill isn't too compact and it weighs a lot with the heavy steel/aluminum construction of some components. But this is the Heavy Duty drill, maybe a little too much for the DYIers who only use a drill once in a while. This is for the person that needs a drill daily or every other day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of power and run time.

,
June 13, 2011
By goatgoat
from Michigan
"This drill is well balanced, plenty of power, and great run time. It has a lot of torque so hold it tight. I was able to bore about 30 1/2" holes through treated 8x8 timbers on 1 battery. I do wish it had a stronger chuck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill

,
March 23, 2011
By cc777z
from South Dakota
"I purchased this drill last summer (18 Volt XRP, 1/2inDCD940KX). I had been using Bosch drills for a few years. Was having good luck with them but had 2 of them burn out after only a few months. Decided to go with the Dewalt for the first time. I needed a high speed drill and this is the only one I found rated at 2000 rpm. It works great, batteries charge fast and last a long time between charges. After purchasing a 12 volt Bosch driver I came accross the Dewalt 12 volt drills and drivers. Wish I had known about them earlier. I like the way they feel in my hand better than the Bosch."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Motor Smoke

,
March 21, 2011
By ChurchGuy
from Springfield, MA
"Don't expect the drill to last more than a year under normal use. The motor started smoking after a year but it still worked.
Then the locking chuck started to lock and NOT release!
Finally after 18 months the chuck is stuck.
It was great when it worked and now I use the batteries in the cheaper 2-speed version which has never failed!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in.

,
March 21, 2011
By Blksmith
from Kelowna BC Canada
"I bought this drill a few yrs ago and still use it today. I would be lost with out it. I use it to install my wrought iron railings, window grills, balconies,etc. It is always kept in the welding truck. If I need a stronger drill at home, I take it home to do a job there as well. I have two Makita cordless drills at home but they are smaller drills and can't screw in 3" screws or bigger. So thats were the Dewalt come in handy. I'd recommend any one to buy one. It is the best investment for hand drills you could make. Can't work with out it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dewalt dcd940kx

,
November 23, 2010
By aike
from massachusetts
"Great drill. I have had it for a few years now. Very powerful motor, strong chuck, and long lasting batteries. A little on the heavy side...but that's a sacrifice for the power and long lasting batteries. A perfect drill. Great case too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt 18V hamer drill

,
September 16, 2010
By doneitall
from Washington state
"I puchased a DEWALT model DCD940 and would recommend it to everybody who needs a medeum duty drill. I recently moved up to the 36V and gave my crew the 18V after many years of use. Even after dropping it 30 feet onto concrete and putting it back together, (the case popped open but no damage to the drill)!
the creqw is hard on it but it is still running stong and probably will for many more years.
As always DEWALT built it to last.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dewalt Cordless Kit

,
September 13, 2010
By cleburn
"I,m a maint. mechanic at a large facility. We use the Dewalt 18 V cordless drills daily and the kit is the most economic way to purchase. The Dewalt 18 V does the job required of it even after being abused by multiple mechanics. The batteries have a long enough duration to get the job done, and if kept properly charged, last a long time. I also have one at home for personal use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff Maynard

,
November 3, 2009
By JJBeaster
from Las Vegas
"I'am 55, I've had alot of power tools over the years, DeWalts have nerer let me down, This model had thousands of hours on it and may need a bit ot service now, but fhen it will live for ever. My Millwaukie hammer drill is done, next will be a Dewalt hammer drill, just cannot decide which one I want..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DeWalt Cordless Drill/Driver is an A++

,
November 3, 2009
By MarkWB
from Boulder, CO
"I have used this product on the ranch and at home for many years without any problems or hitches. It is fantastic. I would receommedn this to anyone; in fact, I bought one for my son.
A great product, easily well worth it's cost!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver — 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in.

,
November 2, 2009
By Cattmandoo
from The Colony, Texas
"Model# DCD940KX. This is an outstanding product from DEWALT that is a powerful, high quality, excellent Cordless 18 Volt XPR Drill/Driver. I have used the 12 Volt model for MANY YEARS with excellent results, which is why I purchased the DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver — 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX to add to the functionality and excellent operation and handling for the 12 volt model.
In short, if you want the best DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver — 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX, this is the BEST!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - DEWALT Cordless Drill/Driver - 18 Volt XRP, 1/2in. Chuck, Model# DCD940KX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

18V XRP - smooth power

,
November 2, 2009
By Premixyz
from Bay Area CA
"I have two of these, one for home and one at work. Out of the five cordless drills that I have or use this is by far the best. Smooth and powerful, works for almost every situation. I like it much more than the drill of another brand that was about the same price (a little less) but has the lithum battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.