Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000

FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000

Item# 3352000
The Work Sharp WS2000 is a precision grinder and sharpener designed to restore tools you already own, such as gasket scrapers, wood chisels, cold chisels, putty knives, mower blades, axes and much more. Air-cooled dry sharpening system uses slotted wheels for adhering PSA abrasives. Precise and repeatable 25 sharpening port for blades up to 1 5/8in.W. Slotted wheel allows user to 'see through' as edge is sharpened. Forced air cooling and sharpening port heat sink enable higher material removal rates without affecting steel temper. Offers coarse grinding to micro-fine honing. Includes 8-pc. abrasive kit. U.S.A. Amps 6, Battery Included No, Case Included No, Cord Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 5/8 x 11 5/16 x 11, HP 1/5, Length in. 12 5/8, Product Type Bench, Side Handle No, Speed RPM 1,750. Air-cooled dry sharpening system Fast and precise sharpening of carving and lathe tools No jigs needed just select angle and sharpen Lapping abrasive in sharpening port increases burr removal and speeds sharpening Rigid bevel angle settings and skew cam provide precise positioning of sharpening port Bevel and skew angles are not affected by wheel diameter, chisel size or user setup Offers quick reshaping of a new or damaged chisel and fast honing No recalibration required for changing wheel diameter or tool size
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sharpener...for smaller tools

,
July 17, 2013
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
"I won't repeat all the praise you'll find in the other reviews. It's all true, this sharpener is easy to use and does a great job on plane-blades, wood chisels, gouges, screwdrivers, scrapers, scissors, shears, pruners, etc.
But I wouldn't recommend it if you have a large tool that is REALLY dull -- axe, mattock, splitting maul, lawnmower-blade, cold-steel chisel, hatchet, etc. For that kind of tool, where you need to remove a lot of steel, well, yeah, you can use this tool. But you are going to go through a lot of sanding disks, and that can get expensive. Use your old friend, Mr Grinder. At least to take off 95% of the material, then you can shift back to the WS2000 if you want, to put a really fine edge on the tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Find

,
August 20, 2012
By CampMoneyPit
from Central, New York
"This product originally is a tool sharpener as I believe it will work excellent for that to. We needed it to lap small metal parts and make them flat. It worked perfect for what we needed it for. Thanks Work Sharp. Only way to improve it is to include a variable speed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better for sharpening tools than a grinder

,
March 15, 2011
By Jimmyc
from MO
"I Like the sharpener but had some problems with the fiine grit disks pulling up and tearing. With practice, I've been able to avoid this problem. I plan to buy a leather disk to get a better edge on a knife. I have sharpened all my tools that had been dull for years. I recently dismantled heavy tree pruning tools and sharpened them to work like new."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

,
November 16, 2010
By taxguyjr
from Batesburg, SC
"What a great tool for the woodworker of any skill level. Honing any wood working tool to perfection is a snap. Just follow the directions and you can put a better than factory edge on most any tool in very little time. If you really want to impress your family and friends, use the knife sharpening attachment and sharpen up all the old, dull kitchen cutlery. So far I have found nothing negative about the product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Life to Old Chisel

,
May 26, 2010
By RockNorth
from Washingtonville, New York
"For years I have been struggling in sharpening my chisels and planes. This tool makes this chore so easy that it makes me feel sorry that it wasn't made twenty years ago. There is only one problem with the tool. All my workers and friends give me their tools to sharpen. You must get this tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WorkSharp WS2000

,
February 22, 2010
By John46
from Brockport, NY
"Nice sharp chisels and easy to use. Easy assembly and quiet running."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally an easy way to sharpen tools

,
October 19, 2009
By T300
from Franklin, MA
"Great machine, that makes sharpening just about anything a snap. Very easy to setup and use. I was sharpening a plane blade within 5 minutes of taking it out of the box. It has a nice quiet motor, which is always a big plus. A great tool to have permanently setup and ready to sharpen when you need to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WorkSharp Tool Sharpener

,
November 20, 2008
By Joe48
from Fitzgerald, GA
"Very versatile. The see through feature make precision sharpening a common occurrence. Especially useful in sharpening .wood lathe chisels."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome!!

,
August 12, 2008
By Anonymous
from Seattle, WA
"Every tool in my garage is now sharp. I have a jumbo screwdriver that is 30 years old and has had a bad tip for the last 20 years. I kept it for a pry bar. I just sharped it back to better than new. Axes, knifes, scrapers, it doesn't matter, this tool sharpens them all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WorkSharp WS2000

,
August 11, 2008
By Cesar
from Highpoint, NC
"Almost ready to go from the box, easy to use, requires no math skills:) I've sharpened everything I own except the kitchen knives. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Tool Sharpener

,
January 16, 2008
By corvetteman
from Eagle, NE
"I received this for Christmas gift and have been very pleased with it performance. It does all that I had hoped it would when I requested it. A great tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merry Christmas for Me!

,
January 15, 2008
By MJBrack
from Utah
"I purchased the Work Sharp Tool Sharpener as a Christmas gift for my husband. He had previously done all of the research and dropped a hint or two. I thought he had basically done the shopping for me. I went to the Northern Tool website, found the sharpener and the rest is history. Before New Years', he had the tool up and running. He took me to his workshop and showed me how it worked, as well as all of the drill bits he had sharpened -- and the bits he had lined up to be sharpened. Obviously, it has been a hit and was something he wanted and has not been disappointed with. He said it is extremely easy to use, and he is very satisifed with the results obtained. As for me, the Northern Tool website is very "user friendly" and easy to navigate through. Overall, this was a great shopping experience and I was glad I was able to find something for him that he really wanted and has already gotten quite a bit of use out of -- with more to come. Thanks, Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Precision Benchtop Tool Grinder/Sharpener - Model WS2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Sharp Tool Sharpener

,
January 14, 2008
By bobber
from Ohio
"So far, I really like this machine. I've used it to sharpen several tools. I've used it most to sharpen chisels with great success. Some people might like the more expensive model because it has more settings for chisel angles but if you take your time various angles can be sharpened on this machine. Great machine for the home shop owner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
taxguyjr
Batesburg, SC 
 
Please wait while more information about taxguyjr is loaded.
Additional information about taxguyjr could not be loaded.
Greatest sharpening tool that I ever used
May 7, 2012
"This is by far the fastest and best sharpening tool that I have ever used. The add on knife sharpener makes all other knife sharpening tools obsolete."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)