Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000

FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000

Item# 3353000
Air-cooled dry sharpening system puts a precise cutting edge on chisels, plane irons, spoke shaves, carving tools, lathe tools and more - without the mess of a wet system. Use PSA-backed abrasives mounted to the tempered glass wheel for both coarse grinding and micro-honing. Sharpening port offers precise repeatability of commonly used angles for chisels and plane irons. Sharpener is fast and easy to use, with no jigs required. Powered by a strong 1/5 HP electric motor. U.S.A. Grit 120, 400, 1000, 3600, Material Type Tool grade plastic, Speed RPM 580, Wheel Size in. 6, Angle Sharpening deg. 20, 25, 30, 35, Wheel Type 2 sided tempered glass wheel, Motor 1&#82605 hp induction motor, Cooling System Forced air, On/Off Switch Industrial on/off switch with safety lock out, Product Type Sharpener, Volts 115, Case Included No. Air-cooled dry sharpening system for chisels, plane irons, spoke shaves, carving tools, lathe tools 1/5 HP motor 150mm tempered glass grinding wheel Sharpening port for precise repeatable bevel angles of 20, 25, 30 and 35 for chisels and plane irons up to 2in.W Rigid bevel angle settings and skew cam provide precise positioning of the sharpening port Forced air cooling allows higher material removal rates without affecting the steel temper Precise and repeatable 5 micro bevels Slotted wheel allows you to 'see through' to view cutting edge as it is sharpened No jigs required just select angle and sharpen Combines coarse grinding and micro-fine honing in one port Lapping abrasive in sharpening port increases burr removal and speeds sharpening Adjustable top tool rest T-slot mounting system Tool has cast aluminum top, sheet metal housing, impact- and vibration-resistant plastic base
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
October 15, 2012
By JohntheHandyman
from Las Vegas, NV
"This is the slickest sharpener I have ever used. It makes it a snap to get a like new edge on wood chisels and putty knives, and similar items with no burning. There are jigs available to do lathe tools and all sorts of stuff which makes it truly a versatile sharpening system. Brilliant design."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Sharpener

,
August 27, 2012
By rm1199
from San Antonio, TX.
"I've had this one for a while now and find it easy to use. I've never been good or patient when it came to sharpening my tools. Now with the WorkSharp It takes the time out and makes it fun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

arrow44

,
October 10, 2011
By arrow44
from Occidental ca.
"This product is great, and easy to use. i shapened all my lathe tools in minutes. I sharpened all my chisels and it does a fantastic job.It works great on plane blades. i used it to shapen my lawn blades also, and my planner blades. You can sharpen knives also. I love it , What a great tool, Thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Tool Sharpener

,
June 6, 2011
By BigLarry
from Freeport, TX
"Very easy to set-up and use. Much more precise on my turning tools. More accurate angles than with the wet wheel I was using before. Wish I had bought this tool earlier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tool sharpener #ws3000

,
March 21, 2011
By mrfavor
from encinitas calif.
"looks like the old time sharpenersused on the farm shop ect. turns very slowly so the blades will not lose their temper. not so fast as a factory but gives a better edge."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Sharpener

,
July 20, 2009
By carpentom
from Charlotte,NC
"I've been a finish carpenter and cabinetmaker for 25 years and was thrilled when I began using this tool. It is the easiest sharpening system I've come across yet. It can handle re-cutting a new bevel on chewed up chisels and makes touching up a micro bevel a 10 second job. I can take it with me on longer jobs and use it to touch up scrapers, chisels, plane irons and even screwdrivers. The only objection I had when I first bought it a year ago was the 2" blade width limit. Recently I saw the wide blade adapter and it now handles my wide 3" blades with the same ease. I know of 4 other mechanics who have used mine on a job, go out and buy their own. If you use cutting edges regularly, this is a must have."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the DIY or proffesional

,
September 13, 2008
By PAwdwkr
from Jackson Center, PA
"After unpacking I was sharpening my first chisel in a matter of 10 minutes. Very easy to put and edge on the chisel.Swapping disks was easy. Sharpening larger plane blades on top of the sharpener is a little harder to keep the angle right but it can be done. I like the being able to buy new disks anywhere. The tool looks to be well built. I would recomend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worksharp 3000

,
April 14, 2008
By Chairmaker13
from WV
"Out of the box and a look at the instutional DVD and I was up sharpening my tools. Plane irons, spoke shaves and carving tools. The WorkSharp is well worth the money,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WorkSharp Tool Sharpener

,
April 14, 2008
By LARRY1LR
from LOS BANOS, CALIFORNIA
"I was reluctant to purchase WorkSharp because of the cost. But was I pleasantly surprised when I got my tool. I really bought the WorkSharp to sharpen wood scrapers. As you are probably are aware scrapers come in a variety of shapes and sizes. The WorkSharp handled all of my scrapers with ease. The tool sharpen them scarey sharp in a very short time. I am not one that gets off sharpening tool, I like to work with them and they need to be sharp.
The instruction are very well written at sixth grade level so they are very easy to understand. Set-up and operation is unbelievable fast. I can see this tool saving me hours and hours of time , TIME IS MONEY!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great time saver

,
January 22, 2008
By gthornhi
from San Mateo, CA
"OK, this thing works better than I expected. I'm a woodworker but am always short on time. I don't mind using my waterstones, but when I'm looking for something to get the job done quickly so I can get to working on wood, this is great. It's quick and simple, and I find that I go back for quick touch up sharpening throughout a project since it takes no time.
The only thing keeping this from getting 5 stars is that the unit is limited in terms of it not taking all the widths of my wood plane blades.
This is not the sharpener for you if you're looking to sharpen knives - at least I find that mine doesn't work well for it (to be fair, it wasn't designed for it). It works great for general hand plane blades and chisels."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHARP!! As Sharp as New!

,
January 14, 2008
By RKlimek1
from Lowry, Minnesota
"The WorkSharp Tool Sharpener WS 3000 was a gift from my wife for Christmas this year. I wasn't too sure just how much I would actually use the 3000 versus the 2000 Model. But am I glad she made the choice to get me the top of the line! It does a very nice job and I haven't had such sharp chisels since they were new. I have already sharpened between 12 and 15 chisels that I was unable to use before I got my Worksharp 3000. I will continue to use it with a variety of wheels and she also purchased me the two-year accidental damage replacement warranty (although I don't plan on using that it is helpful to know it is fully covered). I highly recommend this tool-gift or otherwise!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 11, 2007
By scroller07
from Tucson, Az
"When I received the Worksharp Tool Sharpener, I tried it and it sharpens the files in short time and a good sharp edge. It is easy to use and fits a lot of different size files."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worksharp WS3000

,
October 8, 2007
By Pappy
from North Carolina
"The WS3000 delivers! It is an excellent sharpening tool and works as well as the manufacturer claims. It is quick and very easy to use. The only negative comment is the instructions say to sharpen narrow chisels (1/2" or less) on the left of the fence. If you do it will wear a groove in the sanding disk. I sharpen everything on the right side of the fence and it works beautifully.
If you are looking for an alternative to the more expensive sharpening tools, or the scary sharp method, this is it!
Great tool!
Pappy
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp review

,
April 26, 2007
By Saxophone
from Portland, OR
"This tool is simple to use, fun and extremely effective -- at an affordable price. So if you're a woodworker and you need to sharpen your tools without a lot of hassle, Work Sharp is perfect."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest way to razor sharp tools—ever!

,
April 25, 2007
By ToolUser
from Oregon
"No more bench grinders or hand sharpening for me. The Work Sharp does the job quickly and way easier than I would have imagined. Really like the chisel port. I just chose one of the pre-set angles, then slid my chisel back and forth a few times and I was back to work—with a razor sharp edge—in no time.
The other cool feature is a slotted disc that lets you "see through" the wheel and actually see the cutting edge of the carving tool you're sharpening as you sharpen it. (it's supposed to do lathe tools, too, but I haven't tried that yet) The see-though method was MUCH easier than my usual sharpen-inspect-sharpen-inspect-sharpen-inspect method. Again, razor sharp results.
Oh yeah, and the Work Sharp is from the same people who make Drill Doctor. Glad to see the Drill Doctor guys have brought us another cool tool. Thanks!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow. A Complete Surprise!

,
April 25, 2007
By gdatom
from Portland, OR
"Just when you thought there wasn't anything new, this product comes along.
Easy to use and exceptionally precise. Amazing how sharp I can get a chisel on the worksharp (and I don't have outstanding sharpening skills).
The product is compact and I don't have to mount it on the bench. I keep it on the shelf and bring it down when I need it.
Heard a friend complain that it looked too different than his Tormec. But then, he has all the mess of sharpening "wet" (this is a dry sharpener), the tormec is huge and it's expensive. After all that, to get a really great sharpening, he still has to use a stone.
I love my WorkSharp. One product that does it all. Amazing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Tool Sharpener, Model# WS3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Works!

,
April 25, 2007
By NorCalWWer
from Nor Cal.
"I was skeptical of this sharpener at first, but the price was reasonable so I decided to try it. Wow, I am glad I did, this tool really works! What used to take me half an hour (with marginal results) I can now do in minutes and get scary sharp tools. The work sharp is really easy to use and makes sharpening simple. The slotted wheel is like nothing I have ever seen. I was able to sharpen all my carving gouges with ease. Using a black marker to color the edge really helps to see the edge as you sharpen.
Now I realize that I have been working with dull tools all these years. Now I can finally retire my jigs and water stones and focus on woodworking, not sharpening.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.