Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326

Item# 335326
Grip step drill bits let you accurately drill specific-sized holes for woodworking and more. Made of drop-forged high speed steel with titanium coating for longer life. Diameter in. 3/16-1/2, 1/2-3/4, 1/8-1/2, Includes qty. 3, Material High speed steel, Steps 6, 9, 13. Includes 3/16in.-1/2in. six-step bit, 1/2in.-3/4in. nine-step bit and 1/8in.-1/2in. thirteen-step bit
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well worth the money.

,
September 17, 2013
By Delano79
from Gravette, AR
"I received these bits for Christmas after placing them on my wish list. I have used them to drill a wide variety of hole sizes. They work well in a drill press as well as a hand held drill. When they wear out I will definitely be buying another set. Sure beats spending twice as much on individual name brand bits."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bits I have ever used

,
November 16, 2010
By JKTX
from Houston,TX
"I bought these after reading other reviews about them. Soon after I got them I had a project where I used the 3/16-1/2 bit to drilled 46 1/2" holes in 1/4" steel plate. Drilled from nothing to 1/2" hole in 30 seconds each and the bit was still gold colored and sharp. Then I drilled 46 3/4" holes in 1/4" steel plate with the 1/4-3/4 bit in about 30 seconds each. It was also still sharp and still gold colored when I finished. I was showing the bits to a friend and to prove to him how good they were I drilled through a 1/2" steel table top with the 3/16-1/2" bit with a cordless drill in under a minute. My oly complaint is that they don't come in bigger sizes. You can not buy a better bit for twice the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

,
November 16, 2010
By OffroadMatt
from Coldwater, MI
"Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price tag. These bits work extremely well as long as you take care of them. They work really well in all sorts of situations. Very helpful when you need to drill a large hole in a tight spot because of the short, compact size. We use these almost daily in our R&D shop (offroad suspension manufacturer). We did manage to break the shank off of one but it was being "abused" by drilling material that was too thick with a drill that was a bit too powerful. I like these so much I had to get a set for my tool box at home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Like a Charm

,
November 16, 2010
By SPMerc
from Maryland
"I bought these, based upon the great reviews from other Northern customers. I also bought one Irwin step drill bit on an auction site - it cost me more than this set of 3. I use these to cut holes in stainless steel buckets. I have to drill a pilot hole first, but once done, these bits cut through the stainless in about 3 seconds and they just keep working without getting dull. Other drill bits either turn red from the heat or just break when cutting through stainless. These don't even get warm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value step drill bits

,
June 1, 2010
By curtinkc
from Kansas City, MO
"Good quality step drill bits for a great price. Even if they end up wearing out, they will be cheap to replace. Worked great so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set of Step Bits

,
June 1, 2010
By degrit
"I bought these bits a few years ago and used them at work. I used one bit to drill over 200 holes in stainless steel panels using only a few drops of oil and the bit is still like new. It is still very sharp. For the price you can not beat the quality of this set of bits."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bits!

,
February 15, 2010
By subzero
from Nevada
"Already done about 20 5/8" holes in 16ga and 1/8" stock. I would think they would perform better in a drill press, but all I had was my cordless drill. It was work, but overall, they performed better than expected for the price you pay."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

,
November 2, 2009
By smokydig
from asheville,NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"me and my father both use these buits to be more product plus its such an awesome buy If i purchase the same bits from a tool truck exe(snap-on, mac or mstco they want 3x's what these cost from northern"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bits for the buck!

,
April 16, 2008
By Skillman
from North New Jersey
"Many single unibits can be a little pricey for just one bit. This set is a great price and quality to mach. I use my set moderatly for over a year now and they still do a grerat job! I mostly use them to bore holes in steel 1/4" or less."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 PC STEP DRILL SET #35326

,
March 21, 2007
By Cer123
from Central Pa
"I had been considering purchasing a set of step drills and when I noticed the Northern Tool Catalog item #35326 I reviewed the description and made the purchase. The tools are impressive to me in that they are well made, well marked for size and High speed steel material."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Set

,
March 6, 2007
By Lahondarosa
from Redwood City, California
"Have you ever needed a 1/2" hole in a piece of metal and your largest drill bit was 1/4". You spend about 30-40 minutes using a file to make the hole the right size. I ordered a set of the Titanium Step Drill set so I wouldn't have to go through that again. I used them the other day to drill a 3/8" hole in an exterior metal box. A minute later I was done. I should have purchased this set a long time ago.
The product was great, easy to use, and the step markings make it a snap to bore the correct hole size.
Thanks for another great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Grip Titanium Step Drill Bits - 3-Pc. Set, Model# 35326
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent step bit set

,
February 17, 2007
By JustBo
from Birmingham, AL
"I order the tools for our panel shop. We have been spending over $900 per month for unibits every month for the passed few years. Needless to say we are not happy about the expenses, so we decided to look for a more suitable brand.
We recently tested 6 other brands under our most stressful situations with the sole intent of seeing how long it took to ruin them. The Grip brand outlasted all of the other brands. Using the 3/16 - 1/2" bit we drilled 72 holes in 1/8 steel without fluid and without stopping and the bit was still sharp. The other brand bits burned up before we got to 20 holes for each of them.
We used the 1/8 - 1/2 bit to drill 8 holes under the same conditions and it was still cool enough to touch. The guys doing the tests immediately asked me to order this brand from now on.
And MY favorite part, I bought this 3 pack for less than I paid for a single bit from the other 6 brands. They have definitely won my business.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.