Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"

"Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"

Item# 33631
"The Duramax 14 gallon fuel caddy quickly and safely transfers fuel with the patented Flo n' go Maxflo siphon/pump. Prevent accidental spills and overfilling by stopping and restarting the flow of gas with its patented pump, which transfers fuels at a rate of up to 2 gallons per minute. Enjoy the benefits of having your own portable fuel station wherever you need it Ideal for campers, hunters and outdoor enthusiasts. This unit is perfect for refueling personal watercraft, ATVs, snowmobiles, vehicles, generators, engine-driven compressors, log splitters, lawn care products and other outdoor power equipment. Hose Length ft. 10, Tank Size gal. 14, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 1/2 x 12 1/2 x 33 11/16, Wheel Type Solid, Compatible With Gasoline, diesel, kerosene, Material Type Polyethylene, Pump Type Siphon/gravity, Wheels qty. 2. Patented Flo n' Go Maxflo gravity feed system also can be used as a siphon Hand pump allows you to eliminate spillage and overfills by stopping and restarting the flow of fuel when needed Heavy-duty ribbed 10-ft. rubber hose significantly reduces hose crimping and springs back to shape when crushed Hose has bolt-on hanger for storage Stand the DuraMax vertically when refueling gas powered engines. It has a flow rate of 2 gals. per minute in siphon mode Transfers fluids on level surfaces with minimal priming Works standing vertically or lying horizontally Finger recesses at base and sturdy handle at top so 2 can easily carry if necessary Features an extra-deep handle for ease in delivering fuel dockside when refueling boats or powered water craft High-density polyethylene container is corrosion and dent resistant Drop-tested with a full load for safety, dependability and long service life Dual brass shutoff valves for spill-proof disconnection of hand pump for refilling and transportation Rolls easily on sturdy 6in. wheels Vented fill cap Bolt-on hanger for hose storage Recessed grooves provide easy strapping locations and safer transport Meets DOT and UN transportation requirements available for purchase in all 50 states CARB certified"
Average Customer Rating:
3.592 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (238 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
74
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
38
172 of 238(72%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Review 1 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

big red cans

,
March 15, 2016
By
from rosamond ca
Good product for the price. Easy to fill.Delivery was right on time and product was what was shown.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design, Does not hold up over time

,
February 18, 2016
By
from Ofahoma, MS
The Fuel Caddy is a good concept BUT poor design and construction. Had mine for 2 years. The wheels stopped rolling after the first year. Locked up completely on the axle. Have to use a wagon to move it around now. The hose kinks badly completely stopping the limited gravity flow of fuel. Have to twirl the handle to get the kinks out. The pump handle does NOT stop the flow of fuel, it leaks out from within the handle. Have to turn one of the valves off but in the mean time a good 12 to 16 oz comes out of the handle. Finally removed the handle, more trouble than it is worth. There is about a quart or more of fuel that you CANNOT get out of the outlet port and you can only remove a limited amount from the inlet port. Impossible to remove all contaminated fuel other than remove the cap and let it evaporate over a week or two period. Not a good buy no matter the price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Stars

,
January 24, 2016
By
from detroit
great system for storing gasoline and dispensing it
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flo n Go

,
January 21, 2016
By
from Dwight,Il.
I havn't used it yet but it looks to be a good quality gas hauler for the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

,
January 16, 2016
By
from Colorado
The only thing I did not like is after fueling the nozzle drips gas after hanging it up. I will have to create a cap for the tip to prevent that. Should have come with the unit for the price. It does the job filling up equipment making it much easier to put the gas where you want it. I won't know if was worth money until I have used it for awhile and see how well it lasts.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duramax Fuel Caddy

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Massachusetts
Good sturdy construction and ideal to store fuel with less trips to gas station.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel Caddy

,
December 11, 2015
By
from Kansas City MO
Product works as it should. Convenient. Have had no issues with the caddy.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like Simple

,
October 8, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
I found this to be very simple to use, fill, and store. Easy to take the hose off when bringing it to a gas station, then replace it to fill. The unit it very rugged/ sturdy, but not too heavy. I would recommend this to anyone that has a boat, tractor, etc. I use it to fill my boat and going from my truck to the boat requires me to go down two sets of stairs, this unit does it with ease.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

,
September 18, 2015
By
from Nashua,NH
This is a very nice gasoline container that is versatile in many ways, and still easy to use. It is neither too small nor too big, it is just the right size. I was surprised when I saw the gauge of the plastic. While the thickness makes it rugged, it also does not let light through to view the liquid level. Is it possible to insert a translucent strip in the side, similar to quart size motor oil bottles currently in production?
My motorcycles have vented caps and gas quickly evaporates. This means that I must fill the tank when I want to ride and then siphon it when parking it for an extended time. The Flo n' Go Duramax Gas Caddy lets me do this easily.
Thanks for a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
September 12, 2015
By
from Pevely, MO
Wonderful product. Had it filled for weeks before finally hooking up the hose and using it. No problems at all, just remember that it works primarily on gravity, so try not to set it below its target.
Recommendations for future iterations:
-Don't just say there is a lower tank handle, install one! What IS there is barely enough to hold on to.
-Increase the tire size. Something about the size of a two-wheeler tire. Those little plastic wheels are great on concrete but impossible on soil or gravel.
Other than that, no complaints. Just be careful--it is heavy when filled!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy

,
September 11, 2015
By
from By God Iowa
I bought 2 of these for the acreage and mounted them level with my trucks tailgate to the utv tailgate on a elevated covered shelf. Take the empties to the station in the PU bed slide them into the UTV bed and then onto the stand (Covered) so I do not ever have to lift them. I use them to fill the tractor, mowers, weed eaters and such. I have owned the 2 for about a year and a half sharing one hose when one empties and so far I love them. If what you are filling is higher then the tanks the pump works as you would expect. Sure beats 5 gallon cans and multiple trips.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great size for fueling from dock

,
September 10, 2015
By
from Stone Lake WI
I bought this fuel tank so I could fuel the boat from the dock. The Idea is great, Quality is OK, Fill nozzle could use improvement but overall for the money, it is a good product. Except the last 2 gallons you can not get out of the tank so you always have fuel in the bottom you cannot get out. The wheels quit turning as I think 14 gallons of fuel is a little much for them.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for boats and jet skis

,
August 30, 2015
By
from Houston, Texas
I bought this fuel caddy a couple of weeks ago on sale for a fair price at Northern. It is the right size and weight for one person to handle. Assembly was super easy and everything fit well with no leaks. Pumping from below siphon level using the hand pump is pretty slow so I hoisted the caddy up with my Northern Tool P/U Truck crane and voila it flowed well with the assistance of gravity and filled my jet ski in no time at all. We also used it to fuel our boat by simply lifting the caddy onto the boat from the dock. The wheels seem sturdy enough for a few stairs and rough concrete. If it holds up for a couple of boating seasons it will have been well worth the money spent, especially considering the $2 per gallon differential between the local gas station and the marina for premium fuel.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fuel Caddy

,
August 20, 2015
By
from Lake County Illinois
Pros: Good quality construction
Cons: VERY SLOW flow
Great for filing small volume tanks.
Not so great for transferring the entire 13 gallons like to a boat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

$100+ mistake

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Ohio
This unit only works when it is elevated way above the tank it is filling, even then it is very slow. The nozzle and hose are low quality. You have to be very careful to empty the hose after filling or it will spill fuel as you wind it up. The vent cap is small and hard to unscrew. Hard to maneuver when full, smells like it is leaking for days after use.
A $100+ mistake.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fuel Caddy

,
August 10, 2015
By
from Los Angeles
Constructed very well, the double shut off valves are a good feature. a little hard to prime the pump handle, but over all I would recommend it. a lot safer that poring.
14 gallons is plenty. I use them to fill my little Honda generators. My FJ also has a small gas tank and the fuel caddy can extend my off road driving range. Carried outside of course.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hoses

,
August 9, 2015
By
from Scituate
It should come with two hoses, Nearing the bottom of the container there is a considerable smaller head to drive the fuel in the hose especially when filling a boat at dockside. Shorter hose reduces the height requirement to establish and adequate head.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tank is ok. Pump/nozzle poor.

,
August 1, 2015
By
from Colorado Mountains
The pump/nozzle on mine started leaking badly after about one year of occasional use. Replacement nozzle is half the price of the whole unit.
Unless you have another way to take gas out of this tank, I don't recommend purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kinda works

,
July 21, 2015
By
from Dallas, Tx
First, the tires are too small. I replaced them with 8 inch inflatabkes, that worked better but I had to glue on a 2x4 to make it balance. I had two, one got a hole in it after six months of use. Down to one now. Not a durabke produce, marginally usable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Duramax Fuel Caddy

,
July 17, 2015
By
from Tennessee
The container seems to be good. The hose is extremely slow in filling a tank. I had a gravity fed 11 gallon container which had much faster fuel flow.
I have been very disappointed in how slow this is
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.