Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792

Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792

Item# 33631
The Duramax 14 gallon fuel caddy quickly and safely transfers fuel with the patented Flo n' go Maxflo siphon/pump. Prevent accidental spills and overfilling by stopping and restarting the flow of gas with its patented pump, which transfers fuels at a rate of up to 2 gallons per minute. Enjoy the benefits of having your own portable fuel station wherever you need it Ideal for campers, hunters and outdoor enthusiasts. This unit is perfect for refueling personal watercraft, ATVs, snowmobiles, vehicles, generators, engine-driven compressors, log splitters, lawn care products and other outdoor power equipment. Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 1/2 x 12 1/2 x 33 11/16, Hose Length ft. 10, Tank Size gal. 14, Wheel Type Solid, Wheels qty. 2, Material Type Polyethylene, Pump Type Siphon/gravity, Compatible With Gasoline, diesel, kerosene. Patented Flo n' Go Maxflo gravity feed system also can be used as a siphon Hand pump allows you to eliminate spillage and overfills by stopping and restarting the flow of fuel when needed Features a 10 ft. automotive-grade rubber fuel hose with steel spring inserted at the base for durability and to help avoid crimping Stand the DuraMax vertically when refueling gas powered engines. It has a flow rate of 2 gals. per minute in siphon mode Transfers fluids on level surfaces with minimal priming Works standing vertically or lying horizontally Finger recesses at base and sturdy handle at top so 2 can easily carry if necessary Features an extra-deep handle for ease in delivering fuel dockside when refueling boats or powered water craft High-density polyethylene container is corrosion and dent resistant Drop-tested with a full load for safety, dependability and long service life Dual brass shutoff valves for spill-proof disconnection of hand pump for refilling and transportation Rolls easily on sturdy 6in. wheels Vented fill cap Bolt-on hanger for hose storage Recessed grooves provide easy strapping locations and safer transport Meets DOT and UN transportation requirements available for purchase in all 50 states CARB certified
Average Customer Rating:
3.53 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (183 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 star
33
129 of 183(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Review 1 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product with known flaws

,
September 8, 2014
By RichSinGA
from Georgia
"Pros:
- Very good vent control, seals up tight (no fumes in vehicle when transporting gasoline)
- Good quality (tank, cap, vent, control valves)
- Rolls well over smooth surfaces
- Hand pump is useful if you have no choice but to pump "uphill."
- No alternatives in its price range
Cons:
- Low flow rate regardless of pumping or gravity.
- Small wheels no good over any kind of rough terrain
- Low quality hose kinks too easily.
I'm going to extend the axle and put larger wheels on, and set up some sort of quick disconnect for the hand pump, since it's a huge bottleneck when fueling by gravity.
Overall, I like this product, especially for the sale price + discount coupon. It beats using 5 gallon jugs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea, poor design

,
September 8, 2014
By wsimmons
from Angola, IN
"Super idea but forgot to test before going into production. Great to haul 14 gallons at on time but I am short person and you have to bend over to haul 100 lbs of gas. Make handle taller. Hose is to small and to flimsy. Kinks and makes hard to use. Needs to be larger to have more volume. Hand hurts by the time you finish filling your tank. It is gravity feed. With my boat lift, the tank has to be set up in the air. Needs a collapsing stand to get up in the air. Don't know how you would fill a car. To fill boats and jet ski, it is a two person job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retired

,
September 5, 2014
By MrTec
from Hilbert, WI
"Now that I an 70 I need to start making things a little easier. I can fit the caddy on my SUV cargo carrier to take it to the station to fill it. When I get home I can back up to hanging location to attach a chain hoist and raise it to a hook on the wall. No more spilling and carring gas cans around. Works great to fuel lawn tractor, ATV, snow blower and anything else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality

,
September 4, 2014
By UpstateHunter
from Upstate New York
"Great for refueling the camp generator and four wheelers. Just pull the truck up next to what you're refueling and let gravity do all the work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good idea with poor execution

,
August 28, 2014
By DGR008
from North Carolina
"This tank holds 14 Gallons of gas but only 12 can be extracted. The wheels fell off mine repeatedly.
The hose kinks throughout it's length and at the handle. I had to cut the line and install brass "stents" in several places to keep the gas flowing. The flow is very slow at best. I hold the pump handle open with zip ties when refueling my boat as it can take nearly 30 minutes to drain the 12 gallons from the tank. You would be much better off to buy three 5 gallon gas cans. This product is not worth the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Rollie Pollie

,
August 22, 2014
By Texashornhunter
from Arlington
"Two things wrong with this product. #1 The wheels did not roll. That is kinda of an issue when full of fuel. I removed both of them, oiled the axil and replaced. At least it works now but don't tighten up the nuts all the way or the wheels won't turn. #2 Works better from an elevated position. Other than that, works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Independant Elderly

,
August 21, 2014
By MH57
from Lucas, Iowa
"This was bought for my elderly Mother who mows her own large yard but shouldn't be lifting gas jugs. The son in law keeps it filled and she can pull up to it and gas up the mower easily.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

What was I thinking ?

,
August 18, 2014
By whatwasIthinking
from East TN
"I read the reviews on this product and purchased it anyway. Opened the box and was impressed with the quality of the "can" itself . Filled 'er up after adding the appropriate amount of marine oil , paid top dollar for 100% GAS and then the fun began.
Sat it on the ground to fuel my pontoon boat. For a 56 year old woman , I impressed myself . Didn't throw any body parts out. Followed the video to a T . Pumped away .... milking a wild goat would have been as entertaining . Perhaps more productive as well. The first time I actually got the syphon to work was when the nozzle was no longer in the pontoon boat's tank , but pointed at my shoes. Success ! Momentarily . If I had all day to hang out watching water boil , I'd have been in the kitchen. The "safety device" on the handle makes a one handed squeeze to the trigger almost impossible. After 5 minutes or so , I grudgingly gave up and sat the still full flo and no go on the tailgate of the truck , pulled out the pontoon boat's boarding ladder , and wrestled the no go to the top step in hopes of syphoning some 100% gas into the pontoon boat before darkness fell. FINALLY got enough gas into the boat through a lovingly kinked hose to know that Mr no go was heading back to the store . NORTHERN TOOL was great ~ no return hassles . I'd rather milk a heard of wild goats . Flo and Go.... what a cute little idea.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it very much

,
August 16, 2014
By Johnny68
from Connecticut
"After reading all the reviews I still ordered it. It works
Great except for one thing. They should have made
It so the drain gets all the gas out. It leaves about a
Quart in it and it would be perfect it they made the plastic
Lower at the drain, other than that I really like it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with a few modifications

,
August 12, 2014
By Handyman80
from Minneapolis, MN
"Good product but needed a few modifications. As other reviews stated, the hose does easily kink, and the siphon handle does not work well.
I bought this to replace a similar product that I have used for years and finally wore out. I role it onto my trailer and bring it to job sites instead of 3, 5gallon cans. Close to the tank, I spliced in a better hose and put a ball valve on the hose 6" from the end for a shut off and flow control. By having it elevated on the trailer, it works good with a very good flow rate.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home or On the Go Fuel Station

,
August 6, 2014
By Rayluc
from Gresham, OR
"This well made product provides a safe/handy way to store fuel. I use the fuel caddy to store non-ethanol premium gas for my power tools, ride mower and boat.
Portability makes this product ideal for off-road motorcycle, ATV and snow mobile use.
When full make sure the Duramax fuel caddy is higher than what you're fueling, because it uses a gravity flow system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

More on the ground than in the tank...

,
July 31, 2014
By SGSC
from Spartanburg, SC
"The handle leaks terribly. Finish pumping your fuel and set the handle on the tank and everything in the hose drains onto your lawn, floor, etc. A hook on the side of the tank to hang the handle would be a good idea.
The hose is too flimsy. You HAVE to keep the hose relatively straight or it will kink, stopping your fuel flow.
The tank does not empty well. You are stuck with 1/2 gallon or more at the bottom when you are done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flow and go go go

,
July 17, 2014
By bigbozo
from California
"used it with the water toys(SeaDoos and boats) right on the shore fill it get it done really happy with this product would suggest it for everyone"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impractical

,
July 17, 2014
By RGas
from Chicago
"The only practical way to use this is to have the bottom of the fuel caddy well above the height of the tank you want to fill. The pump / siphon system is terrible. Waste of money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for intended purpose.

,
June 29, 2014
By CJMC
from Bartow county,Ga.
"I am using this as a fuel storage tank along with a few other gas cans. This is much smaller than the 6 other cans I keep around. The hose does link but the safety stop on the handle can be removed since is it put together with screws instead of it being welded together. Much easier to use instead of having to release it every time. The shut off valves could use a longer tab as access to the one that is on the take is recessed, even though I have small hands it's bothersome to try and shut it off. The valves are good quality and work great aposed to te safety on the handle.
I'm glad I got this and plan on using it for years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supplemental gas tank

,
June 29, 2014
By Drsgj
from Soldotna,AK
"I bought the fuel caddy to supplement the small fuel tank in my SUV. It works great, and fits easily in my hitch-haul carrier. The 10ft hose easily reaches from the hitch-haul to the SUV fuel tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flo n Go

,
June 27, 2014
By 1122
from Lake Bluff IL
"works perfect for filling up our boats and atv's. So much easier than hauling 5 gallon cans."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fuel caddy

,
June 11, 2014
By Stuburg
from Rome,NY
"Ez to roll & fill , long hose ,hanger weak ,pump little slow"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

,
May 22, 2014
By Bertus
from Md.
"The third time I tried to use it the handle leaked badly.
Would not work at all. JUNK!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Flo n' Go Duramax Fuel Caddy - 14-Gallon Capacity, Model# 06792
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as advertised

,
May 15, 2014
By jeff1966
from Iowa
"I purchased this product in 2012, and put in the garbage in 2013. It does not work, would not transfer fuel. I even purchased the replacement hose and still does not work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.