Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver

Item# 343901
The Klutch Multi-Function Tool is ideal for sanding, sawing, scraping and more with included accessories. There's no need to buy several power tools when this one tackles all sorts of cutting, scraping and sanding tasks by itself. Variable-speed multi-function tool works at 10,000 to 21,000 oscillations per minute to give you control and power over every job, and it's easy to switch attachments depending on the task. Multi-tool cuts through cable, downspouts, air ducts, plasterboard and pipes, sands down cement, concrete, plaster, stone, tile adhesive, paint and wood. Even saws through wood up to 1 1/2in. thick. Use this multi-use tool for remodeling and repairs jobs, hobbies, car repairs, tile, even scraping freshly painted windows or old floor coverings. The engraver is a handy tool for marking electronic gear, identifying tools, even engraving the purchase date on a car battery. Amps 2, Blade Included Yes, multiple, Blade Type Straight, bending shovel, and half circular, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 1/2 x 6 11/16 x 3 7/8, Volts 120, Material Type Die-cast aluminum gear housing, Pieces qty. 8. Variable speed 10,000-21,000 OPM Attachments may be mounted at angles up to 90 left or right Unique spindle-and-blade arbor design positively locks the blade in 7 forward positions for added versatility Die cast aluminum gear housing Comfort grip handle 6 different styles of attachment to get almost any job done sand disc and sand paper, bending shovel blade, half circle saw blade and straight blade
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
September 18, 2013
By tbsrich
from Albany,NY
"I used this tool in the repair of sheetrock ceilings.It makes less dust than a saber saw and saws shallow to miss electrical wires on top of 2x4s."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
September 17, 2013
By SCCD
from Harleysville, PA
"This tool works great. Was skeptical at first on which to buy but this is now the first tool I go to in many situations on the job site. Works great, good weight and the variable speed is very helpful."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 15, 2012
By DIY22
from NC
"I was putting down some hardwood flooring and bought this tool to cut off door moldings. It worked great, I would recommend practicing on a scrap piece first. I researched this type of tool everywhere and this was the best value. I've also used it in other projects. A great time saver!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would not be without this

,
October 15, 2012
By tried
from Tucson AZ
"This is one of those tools that, until I had one, I did not think I needed one. Now, I would not be without it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unlimited Uses/100 Tools in 1

,
August 20, 2012
By Eagle48
from Kent Island, Maryland
"I buy & flip houses,there is not enough words to describe all the different uses for this tool.First of all the compactness is unbelievable the space your able to get to, on top of the power as well as the variable speed, priceless. Its does the job off I cant count how many specialty tools I use to use is more maneuverable in so many tight space, what a time saver"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Quality and Performance

,
August 13, 2012
By Rocinante14
from WA State
"I bought this Klutch tool because it seemed to have equal or better quality and features relative to similar products that cost more. Plus NT is known for making quality products and standing behind them.
It is heavy duty and has a variable speed, adjustable on the fly.
The tool sliced effortlessly and accurately through dry wall. Without changing the attachment, I then sliced easily through a copper pipe. After a few passes at nails, the attachments dull, which I guess is to be expected, not having another point of reference to compare it to. The good thing is that the multi-pack replacement attachments from Northern tool are affordable.
My only criticism is that the mandrel needs to be VERY tight or else it will come loose when cutting metal.
Still, a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Tool to have in my Arsenal

,
May 14, 2012
By st81976
from Freeland, MI
"This was purchased for me to add to my tool room, not for a specific task at the time. But with that said, this tool has done so much for me on multiple projects. A wonderfully versatile product that I would highly recommend to anyone that is in the construction field."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sander

,
January 16, 2012
By Loomis
from Loomis, CA
"After buying 1 of the same design from a big box store I took it back because it didn't work and got another one that didn't work too. I purchased the Klutch Multi-Function Sander from Nothern Tool. IT WORKED GREAT.
Did exactly what it is suppose to do and better. Great for tight corners and angles.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful Tool

,
November 3, 2011
By 64handy
from Kansas
"Seems to work fine after using it only once, wish it had more blades for different jobs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teach an ole dog new tricks.....

,
October 17, 2011
By KnotRough
from Louisiana
"I've been doing trim carpentry for over 30 years and recently was doing some renovation on an old New Orleans home and needed to trim off the bottom of door casing so I could install ceramic flooring (yes...also do other trades besides carpentry) and having to do many door units I decided to break down and buy the Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool instead of doing it the old way with hand saws and sharp chisels. After my first cut I was kicking myself for not buying a tool like this before. It saves uncountable time and wear 'n tear on the back (and arms)....and since time is money the cost of this tool pays for itself within the first few hours. I'll never go back to a hand saw 'n chisel again unless they stop making these tools and everyone's out of stock. Thanks Klutch !!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
October 17, 2011
By Anonymous
from Phoenix , AZ
"This is a great tool for doing about everything. Great price too. I also enjoyed the engraver."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating

,
October 17, 2011
By Dan28
from Pawleys Island S.C.
"I purchased the klutch Multi-fuction tool when I was installingl laminate flooring, this is the perfect tool to cut door casings, it makes a beautiful precision cut, next I used it to cut dryway to add some receptacles in a neighbors bath room, again it made precision cut. You will be amazed how easy the tool is to use and how professional the results are. Great tool, makes a easy task out of what used to be difficult jobs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Klutch Oscillating tool kit

,
October 10, 2011
By Floridian1
from Southwest Florida
"I bought this tool even though I did not have a particular use for it at the time after hearing a friend rave about a similar item. Several weeks later I used it to notch a stud at a place that would have required lying down with a hammer and chisel otherwise. Notched it out in a few minutes. Every handyman should have one of these. Sturdy tool, great price, quick delivery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

,
June 25, 2011
By Naomi
from Kansas
"I had been shopping around for months looking for this sort of tool, but I didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars. I had projects that I wanted to do myself and I didn't feel that I had control over a hand saw or other power tools. I'm a petite gal so the weight of the tool, having control, and fitting in my grip was important to me. After discussing what I wanted with my boyfriend he informed me he orders from Northern for his company stuff and to check out what they had to offer. It took me about an hour to read the reviews and check out all the choices from other companies. We ordered it as my Administrative Assistant Day gift and having the engraver was a perk (have not used it yet). After reading the reviews we purchased the extended warranty and extra blades. It took longer to get than expected, but I didn't use it right away. I haven't replaced many blades but I use lots of sand paper and having the ability to change out the sandpaper is AWESOME! I find that I have complete control over it, I thought it was kinda heavy, but my cordless drill weighs more. I got used to it. It has speed settings (why I went with the one), which others didn't so I have complete control over the tool. It does get hot on the handle, you just have to be careful not to cover the vents on the sides and I make sure no dust is stuck in the tool. I've used it to take paint off, cut wood, cut small trees down, sanding, do my crafts, wood flooring, etc. The cord isn't long enough but using an extension cord fixes that problem. It really gets areas that you can't reach or that has detail. It makes the job so much easier and faster. Every time I use it I am asked 'where did you get it' and 'wow that is a really cool tool.' He's even used it at his bodyshop and customers have asked him where to get one! It gives me control over doing things that I'd have to wait for him to do with a 'big boy tool.' Overall a must have for any Do It Herself Gal..or a GREAT Administrative Assistant gift too!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Home Owner & Professional Handyman

,
June 15, 2011
By RonsCarpentry
"I purchased the Klutch Multi-function Variable Oscillating Tool after using a friend's Rockwell Osciallating Multi-tool. I found the Klutch to have more power and it was easier to use. When using it for long periods of time, it did not get hot.
I am a professional carpenter/handyman and I use this tool almost every day. It is definitely always part of my tool box. The only tool I use more frequently on a consistant basis is my cordless drill.
I have used it to remove caulk, tile and other "stuck on" items. I have found it very useful when cutting openings in drywall or undercutting door jams. It is lightweight and easy to handle. Because of its size and design, it can fit into tight spaces where bigger tools won't work or fit.
It makes a great, reasonably priced tool for the homeowner doing projects around the house to the professional using it on a job site. It is aptly named a "multi-tool" as it has many uses. In fact, some days I think the only thing I don't use it for is to make my morning coffee."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Labor saver

,
June 14, 2011
By Boyle
from Mexico, Maine
"I am amazed at the time and labor saving this tool gives me. I am really impressed with this tool and will recommend it to all my handyman friends!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Klutch Tool Kit

,
June 13, 2011
By Schapville
from Scales Mound, IL
"This is an amazing tool. My husband was unsure of the use, and he started doing projects around the house, and now can't imagine how he would have gotten the projects done without it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy And Dandy.

,
June 13, 2011
By Kevhawk
"This Klutch Multi Tool is a mans dream. I use this everywhere around the house. Cutting copper tubing for pipes to accurately cutting in resgister vents to fit perfectly snug. Easy to put together and the tool comes with it.
I reccommend the Klutch Multi Funtion tool to any Handy Man for the quick fix-it jobs. And the engraver works great to. A++++++
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Klutch Oscillating multi-tool

,
June 6, 2011
By Handyanne
from Alfred NY
"This seems to be a great tool so far. It will be handy for so many household projects. The tool itself is made well, but the case it comes in is junk. The blades interchange with ease. it isn't real loud."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Klutch Multi-Function Variable-Speed Oscillating Tool Kit with Engraver
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent

,
March 14, 2011
By Clockwise
from midcoast Maine
"For the price you can't beat this tool. I do wish the blades were interchangeable with other brands, but they continue to do the job even when thoroughly abused. Apart from that, the control you have cutting is great. I used it to cut shingles (free tip) and if you are doing a roof, I would buy it just for that, although you will find ways to use it once you have it. The carrying case didn't hold up very long, but I didn't buy it to carry it like a purse. The tool is tough as nails and has given me no problems at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.