Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"

"Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"

Item# 34662
"The Mighty Mule FM500 Single Gate Opener is a heavy-duty, swing gate opener that is very easy to install. Ideal for gates weighing up to 850 lbs. or up to 18ft. long. This 12 Volt, DC-powered low-voltage system is powerful, dependable and durable. Application Swing gate opener, Capacity lbs. 850, Length ft. 18. Solar capable, low voltage system - no electrician or welding required Designed for gates that open into or out from the property Item# 34694 Push-to-Open Bracket required to open out from property Durable opener features Soft Start/Soft Stop Adjustable Auto Close 0-120 Seconds Adjustable Gate Activation Alert Rapid Recovery charging system UL-approved Obstruction Sensing Systems Extra-large Control Box that is prewired for an optional second battery a second battery for solar and for dual applications is recommended"
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 of 11(73%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Review 1 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your money

,
April 23, 2013
By TXRNMN
from Central, Texas
"There was one of these on my place when I bought it 4 years ago the quit shortly after we moved in. According to the data tag it was less than 2 years old. Problem bad main circuit board. We installed a MM350 that works fine to this day, we moved it to a gate near the barn and put a MM500 at the front gate 2 years ago. It was a disappoinment from day one. The slow start feature is aggravating and we would have to be right on the gate for the remotes to work. It died last month with a bad circuit board. The replacement circuit board is almost $300. Buy the MM350 instead, maybe not as many features but much more durable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

convience

,
April 23, 2013
By hs500
from Kansas City Ks.
"If you are getting older, i RECOMEND the mule gate opener. We have a gate on our driveway. On a rainey day it is nice to sit in the car and push a button.
It is also nice to have that secure feeling on one can inter your property. I have been using the mule gate opener for more than 15 years. It is easy to install. Any one handy with tools can do the job.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate opener

,
October 8, 2012
By dm123
from california
"fast and easy to install.works great is great for securty and ease, all of the accessories also work well with it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOTTA HAVE ONE!

,
August 13, 2012
By MAMA1GRANDMA
from piedmont sc
"THIS ITEM IS PERFECT FOR THE HANDY CAP AND OR ELDERLY WHO DON'T WANT TO GIVE CHANCE TO AN INJURY BY REDUCING TIMES IN AND OUT OF THE CAR AND STILL HAVE THE SERCURTY OF TRYING TO DETER PREDATORS FROM GETTING ON THIER PROPERTY."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use on a Metal Gate

,
April 28, 2009
By Coastal
from Suffolk VA
"I have had nothing but problems with this gate opener,
I am still unable to use the remote to open the gate after replacing the reciciever and the module at a cost to me.
I have been in contact with GTO to trouble shoot this problem with no success.
I highly reccomend you do not purchase this Item.
It seems to have a mind of its own.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

over 2 years

,
June 12, 2008
By Chuck46
from Saint Johns AZ
"I found the Mule easy to install. Once I read the directions setup was easy for me and no problem. The only problem with the gate was a cow that chewed the wires in half, not the products fault! I will buy another gate opener for my next project. Its been more then 2 years since I first installed it.
Chuck46
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A worthwhile product

,
April 22, 2008
By Grandpoohbah
from Ojai, CA
"Installation was surprisingly easy but learning the adjustment cycle took some time. The instructions do not emphasize enough how important it is to have a solid attachment to the gate, especially if your gate is at the limit for weight and size (as mine is); I have had to reinforce mine twice. Troubleshooting is a problem because the unit communicates with beeps and there is no guide in the manual, so you have to call the factory to find out if your one long beep or two short beeps or whatever is 'obstruction' or 'low battery' or something else. Once I got the alignment and closing position right it has worked well for nearly two years. The opener range is only about 40 feet. It is good value for the buck and I would buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
July 10, 2007
By PatC
from Prattville,Al
"This is a great way to secure your property"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

,
June 21, 2007
By poolbuilder
"Easy to install but only worked for two days. Tech support is quick but could not resolve the problem for several more days. They concluded the arm is defective. I have to dismantle it from the gate and return it. At my cost and with my own packaging. It will be 7-10 days to get it back. I would not buy this product again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Close to a 5

,
April 8, 2007
By NFDFFP
from CA
"The opener was easy to install. The video helps a lot. The only downside to this opener is the transmitter range. It says 50-100 feet, and that is generous. It is more like 35-40. It would be nice to be further away so you don't have to sit in front of it while it opens. Otherwise, it works like a charm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Single Swing Gates, Model# FM500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT GATE OPENER

,
March 7, 2007
By MELISSA
from ADKINS, TX
"THIS GATE OPENER HAS BEEN GREAT! WE'VE HAD IT FOR ABOUT 1 MTH AND WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH IT!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.