Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502

Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502

Item# 34670
The Mighty Mule DUAL Gate Opener is a heavy-duty, swing gate opener that is very easy to install. Ideal for gates weighing up to 850 lbs. or up to 18ft. long. This 12 Volt, DC-powered low-voltage system is powerful, dependable and durable. Includes battery. Application Automatic gate opener, Capacity lbs. 850, Length ft. 18. Solar capable, low voltage system - no electrician or welding required Designed for gates that open into or out from the property two Push-to-Open Brackets, Item# 34694, required to open out from property Durable opener features Soft Start/Soft Stop Adjustable Auto Close 3-120 Seconds Adjustable Gate Activation Alert UL-approved Obstruction Sensing Systems Extra-large Control Box is prewired for two batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Review 1 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

you get what you pay for

,
June 14, 2013
By Morelos
from Houston, TX
"Worked great for all 2 weeks and it was only used to open & close a driveway gate, roughly 5 times a day, on busy days. I double checked my gates weight and dimensions so I would pick the appropriately oversized opener, and upgraded the hinges to ball bearings to make sure I would get the longest life out of the system but apparently that didn't matter. When it works, it works great but it rarely works now and opens at random, sometimes after a couple of minutes, sometimes after hours. Regardless, don't throw your money away, spend more and get something truely durable since apparently Mighty Mule has it's own definition of "Heavy Duty"."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate Opener

,
October 18, 2011
By TEMJr
from Cullman County, Alabama
"The Mighty Mule heavy duty, dual gate opener exceeded my expectations in its operation and quality. As far as installation, I am a fair handyman and the installation challenged me but I got it working correctly and I would buy one again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty easy

,
March 21, 2011
By Tobor
from tn
"i installed this opener, till you get the instruction you dont know you have to run a wire from one side of the driveway to the other tho, if it wasnt for haveing to go under the driveway it would have been very easy , i really like this product but you will need to see the dvd of it and the instructions before you bid the job to know all you have to buy extra to do a good job"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mighty Mule to the Rescue

,
March 21, 2011
By mcgolfer3
from Greenville, SC
"I purchased the Mighty Mule Dual Gate Opener for the wooden gates to the entrance of my driveway. I opted to turn on the sound when opening or closing the gate for safety purposes to warn anyone walking on the sidewalk nearby.
PRO: Easy installation
Maintenance free or low maintenance
Operation is quiet and runs smoothly
CON: Only one remote control was included.
Overall, I'm very satisfied and would definitely recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super gate opener

,
November 23, 2010
By jerroe
"My wife and i recently purchased a home with a garage entrance in the back of the home. The yard was already fenced all of the way around the house. We had to get out of the car to open the gate in order to get to the garage. This wasn't very convenient in the rain or snow at the time we moved. I purchased this product online and received it within a few days. installation took me a few hours with a little help from my wife. Her main purpose was to hold the product in place while i tightened screws and marked holes. I'm not much of a handyman, so that should tell you it was quite simple. The instructions were very clear on how to install the product and align the opener. We have had this for about 9 months now and have had no problems with operation. It is installed on an aluminum gate, so probably a little overkill due to the opener's weight capacity. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a gate opener."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
August 30, 2010
By Rick3
from Jacksonville fl
"Easy to set up. A little slow to open but works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice gate opener

,
July 20, 2009
By woody40
from Georgetown,Tn
"very good product works very well have had mighty mule for about 6 years an bought two more they work very well very little up keep."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unclear wiring instructions, loud, not bad

,
August 12, 2008
By theweis
from upstate NY
"Decent for the price, died in first electrical storm.
Also, very noisy when running. Hardware included is pretty loose fitting, Make sure you have extra washers to get slack out of all the links, otherwise it's hard to get it lined up and close repeatedly with gates lined up properly.
I would not recommend these for an aethetically important location, these are pretty utilitarian. Large black plastic cylinders, loud in operation, and remote doesn't have much range. I should have gone with a higher end system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Big Mistake

,
August 11, 2008
By Anonymous
from Rural Kentucky
"Despite what I had read this is not really a DIY job unless either your installation is simple or you are at the semi-pro level. While the product's tech support is good, the installation process, particularly if the installation is on a pre-existing gate is not for the faint of heart. If your driveway is in place, plan on an expensive exercise in cutting underneath it to install the slave gate. I had a conduit already in place, but the limitations in length meant that it was not useable (and there isn't anywhere in the literature that makes that point self-evident) so it was back to square one, with the need to bore under the driveway, which is blacktop, so that the total length required for the cable, including risers to reach the mounted control boxes, did not exceed 40 feet. If you don't know much about it, contractors want between $600-$1000 to bore a 4" (or smaller) hole underneath a 25' wide driveway. Or you can of course take the approach that we are trying, and buy a Borit product to drill the hole and put in the non-metallic conduit and remain within the 40' limit. The 40' limit doesn't seem that bad until you add in the 6' of riser (3' on each side), plus getting to them on the surface after passing under the driveway. You end up with about 28' of useable conduit space. Figure on about $400-$500 for the equipment necessary just to tunnel under a concrete or blackto driveway and add that cost on to the acquisition cost of the product, extended warranty, solar panels, etc. Then, even when that is overcome, if your fence post where the gates are mounted are not at 90deg. to the direction of travel plan on about another $100 to buy some other mounting hardware to solve that problem. Notably, while the cost of the initial unit is fairly reasonable, their additional parts are not. They want $50 for a simple bracket and you may end up needing two of the. The only upside I can see to the whole process, and we are three months into it and not finished, or even close, yet, is excellent tech support guys. They do go the extra mile to help out and will work with you to resolve problems with some unique and innovative approaches to making the product work for you and getting it done. All in all, if I had it to do all over again I'd bite the bullet and leave the job to a professional. In the end I think I'm going to lose fairly significantly in terms of cost comparison, even without counting the hours I've had to spend on it, or placing any value on them. It looks like if you are starting from scratch and can get the conduit in before you blacktop or concrete the driveway, and you can have the kit on hand before you put in the gates, and the posts to hold them you may be okay. Or if you are a very clever, or experienced individual who has done a lot of fences and gates some of the tools you need specifically for this job may be on hand, and of course contractors will have the laborers to put in much of the "sweat equity" into the project. If one or more of these criteria are not met, and you are not exceptionally handy with tools, etc., be smart and either buy this kit and hire a professional to do the installation work, or just contract out the whole project"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mighty Mule Model#FM502

,
January 22, 2008
By jeffw
from Pelham, AL.
"As an ex-dairy farmer I look for the weakest in everything I purchase in today disposable society. Never would I have thought, that the Mighty Mule, Dual Swing, Automatic Gate Opener, Model#FM502 would give me a second thought about quailty ,workmanship, performance and most of all the power of this manufactures product. The Installation of this gate opener was a breeze. It took me longer to do my dishes., and I've got a dish washer. If today I were still on the farm and knowing the abuse farm hands and farm animals can dish out, this gate opener would be my #1 chose. It's been along time since I've been able to purchase or even find such an exceptional piece of equipment. Thanks, this was money well spent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

502 GTO

,
September 21, 2007
By wooddr58
from Walterboro, South Carolina
"I have and currently use the 502 GTO product. Even though I did not install the device I have since had to make several adjustments and found it to be quite easy. The product has been in use now approx. 5 years and until recently have had no major problems. The master arm has stopped working. It tries to close but it sounds like the gear is stripped. Iam currently tring to order a new replacement. I would recommend this product because in comparison to other systems which are much more expensive , more complicated to install and maintain, this product really gives you your bang for the buck.
Thank You
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mighty Mule Automatic Gate Opener for Dual Swing Gates, Model# FM502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't have been easier

,
March 7, 2007
By acejewell
from Tucson, AZ
"August 2006 I completed building a home for my 84 year old mother on the south end of my property. She loved the home but complained about having to stop and open her gate each time she left the property and returned. I finally broke down and purchased the Mighty Mule Dual Swing. Aside from the modification of the existing chain link gate, the installation could not have been easier. The instructions were clear and consise. Mounting the openers and leveling was a breeze. Installing the cables was simple. The gate stops were easily calibrated and the operation so far has been flawless. I am so impressed with the product I may gate my end of the property as well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.