Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity

Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity

Item# 348040
The Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter holds lumber and other loads 10ft. to 18ft. long for safer transport. The 4ft. long steel extension fits any truck with a Class III 2inch receiver hitch. The unit not only extends the length of the truck bed, but can be adjusted to match the truck roof height as well Supports up to 350 lbs. Includes red warning flag to attach to your load. Application Hauling extra long loads, Mount Type Class III, Capacity lbs. 350, Material Type Steel. 2-in-1 design secures long loads, making them safer and easier to haul above or behind your truck Installs quickly and easily into any Class III receiver hitch Removes in seconds and stores behind truck seat Bed level adjusts from 16in. to 23in. above the hitch Roof level adjusts from 55in. to 62in. above the hitch 4ft. wide support beam has a height adjustment of 6 1/2in. to add versatility and support 350-lb. load capacity is ideal for canoes, lumber, pipes or other long cargo
Average Customer Rating:
4.902 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy

,
October 21, 2014
By FarmerLife
from Gloucester, VA
"Great because you can load the back of the truck without items sticking out the top of the tailgate. Easy to unload also. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

14 Foot Canoe.......... No Problem!!

,
September 22, 2014
By WeLoveFishing
from Charleston SC
"Bought this to avoid buying a trailer for a 14 Mad River canoe and it was fantastic! Could also easily handle a 16 foot canoe or a jon boat because of how easy the boats are to load/unload when using the attachment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truck Load Support

,
September 6, 2014
By Badgerone
from Goldendale, WA
"Well made, works fine in either position on my 2003 Ford Ranger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works

,
June 26, 2014
By Rob62672
from Maryland
"This does exactly what it is designed to do. No complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useful product for light duty work

,
May 22, 2014
By HobbyFarmGuy
from Richmond Virginia
"Product is very easy to assemble and use, but 350 lbs. is the absolute limit. Used it to support 16 foot oak boards and they bent it down. As much as possible keep the weight in the bed of the truck and not on the support. Don't set the support higher than the bed of the truck for long lumber."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By JND46
from Perry, Ohio
"I have been remodeling rooms in my house and this product has made my 6 1/2' truck bed capable of hauling wood, drywall, and even 16' lengths of crown molding and baseboard safely and securely. This product allows you to secure all these items with ratcheting straps to the loops provided. When not in use it can be disassembled and stored under the back seat until needed again. The only add-on I made was reflective tape to make it more visible to those following. My friend borrowed it to haul dimensional lumber on his truck with a cap and roof rack supporting the lumber on the rack and bed extender, clearing the cap and it worked great. For the price you can't go wrong. Very well designed thought out product and was delivered to my house 3 days after my order. Thank you for a great product that has made life much easier in my remodeling ventures."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Godd for hauling long stock

,
September 17, 2013
By neaky
from New Jersey
"I bought this as a bed extender. It works great! I have a 7ft pickup truck bed and this unit extends my capacity to carry 12- 14ft long wood and mouldings without them dragging along the ground. It can also be turned up to carry things high on top of my truck cap when I added a roof rack over my cab. Very functional and portable at a great price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

,
September 17, 2013
By Willi
from Chesterfield, Va
"I have a short bed F150, and was a bit uncomfortable towing my canoe. The extend a truck eased my concerns."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

should be called "builders best friend"

,
April 23, 2013
By Grif47
from Marietta, Ga.
"this product is probably the most useful tool a builder could own. No truck can carry 16' to 18' material necessary in the home building business, with this fantastic tool you can even have a short bed and still carry any amount of trim or framing you need to complete your project. Tie all your trim together with a red flag and you are good to go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extendabed

,
October 8, 2012
By Randy58
from ky
"Great product for pickups and hauling those extra length loads."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extend A Truck

,
August 15, 2012
By MyToby
from MT.
"I have a 6' bed on my truck and need to haul 16' lumber. I would hook my 18' trailer and get the lumber . Now I hook the Truck extend and go. I have got alot of comments on it ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dooby, Darby, Doo

,
May 25, 2012
By reubenr
from Cornwall, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I feel completely obligated to get back here and give a review on this product. It is fabulous, totally. I've always got a project going, so its ability to carry large lumber is a bonus, but for transporting a canoe, it is hands down the easiest and best solution I have tried in 30+ years. Where have I been? It kind of looks like it might not work, but it works great. After a quick 200 miles, I would never use a trailer again. Never. The photo makes everything look a little elongated. I didn't put all the straps on before that picture, but you get a good look at how it sits. I raised the back a couple of inches to give it a better set, and placed a strap at mid canoe and two cross lines from the back tie downs on the bottom of the truck bed to the front rail tie downs that run along the top of the bed. I've got a no skid deck, but I still used my old roof top canoe protective pads to take the pressure off the oak rails. That worked, too. I'm shocked."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Kayak hauler

,
April 17, 2012
By TroyGT
from High Point, NC
"Bought the bed extender for my 2010 Dodge Ram shortbed for the sole purpose of hauling kayaks. This thing works perfectly. I have a shortbed with tonneau cover and I just place the bed extender in the hitch and pin it, adjust the height to match my bed, then slide my kayak into the bed and bungee the tail end down. I'm off to the lake in minutes and I don't have to lift the kayak higher than my waist to load it. Perfect, portable tool, made well, works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can load my canoe by my self again

,
January 16, 2012
By Backinthewateragain
from Burnsville, MN
"I have heart trouble and could no longer get my canoe up on top of my van or pickup. This device has changed all of that. I now can load it in the back of my truck and strap it down to the cross Brace of the "Extend a Truck".
Great for transporting wood or sheet rock from the store to the project too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super-Duty Rack

,
January 9, 2012
By StanK
from Newport Beach, CA
"This rack saves the day for carrying my 40' ladder which is 20' closed on top of my suv. The factory rack would not hold up, but in combination with the Extend a Truck rack in the vertical set to the same height no problem. Good heavy guage steel and fully adjustable, the rack also lets me carry two 14' kayaks easily. This is the answer for any SUV to carry the long stuff!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extend A Truck - shorten a worry

,
October 10, 2011
By bj72
from Pawcatuck, CT
"We transport our canoe atop my modestly sized pickup. Formerly the bow of our canoe was perched on the cab and the stern on the top of the closed tailgate. Obviously the wind load at any speed was huge. I had 3 choices: 1. drive backwards, 2. drive mind-bendingly slowly. or 3. double-tie the canoe and worry throughout the trip.
Enter the Extend A Truck: The canoe is now parallel to the road, and there is no "scoop" to catch the wind. I can even raise the stern a bit which presses the canoe securely onto the racks. It is robustly made, and is easy to install, adjust and store.
I can now reserve my worry for the national debt and global climate change.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best truck accessory ever invented

,
June 14, 2011
By Chris431
from Summerville, SC
"I bought this from Northern Tool several years ago simply just for carrying my canoe to the river. It makes it easy haul, load and unload. It's a backsaver because I don't have to lift the canoe over my head to load on top of the vehicle. I also like the fact that it is adjustable and that it can be installed in the receiver two different ways, depending on the load. It also has welded tie down loops which make it convenient to strap my canoe in for transport. Now I use it for everything else such as hauling large loads of lumber. Great invention."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extend A Truck

,
June 13, 2011
By Ed2011
"I use this to haul 12ft to 16ft lumber an building materials. It is a great product is easy to use to haul long loads in a safe way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
August 31, 2010
By AFlowers
from Texas
"When hauling long loads, I have always had to hitch up the lowboy trailer. Not with this item! Just after I purchased it, I had to haul some 12' material. The extender worked perfectly. It was easy to install and easy to use, and I saved the additional fuel cost by not towing a trailer. Just a couple of trips without the trailer will save the cost of the extender.
I highly recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Darby Truck Accessories Extend-A-Truck Load Supporter - 350-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy

,
August 24, 2010
By tncmac
from British Columbia, Canada
"Works great for what it's designed to do. Light weight but well made. Easy off and on and to store. Beats buying or borrowing a trailer for the occassional long load."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.