Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644

RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644

Item# 3490104
This RDS fuel tank combo provides an auxiliary tank with a toolbox built in Auxiliary tank has fittings so it can connect to your factory lines. Diesel install kits Item#s 3490901, 3490902 and 43748, are also available sold separately. U.S.A. It is the user's responsibility to comply with local, state and federal requirements pertaining to safe transportation, loading and discharging of tank contents Lock Type Stainless steel key locks, Compatible With Diesel, Lock Included Yes, Tank Type Auxiliary, Box Dimensions L x W x H in. 51 x 20 x 6 1/4, Tank Size gal. 60, Tank Dimensions L x W x H in. 57 x 20 x 12 3/4, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 59 x 21 x 19, Shape Rectangle, DOT Approved Yes, Material Type Aluminum, Finish Type Diamond plate, Includes Manual sight gauge, baffles, return, drain fittings. Aluminum Tank and Toolbox - NO RUSTING Heavy duty 125 gauge aluminum used for tank Toolbox built using 058 gauge aluminum Fully welded seams Reinforced lid 100 pressure tested and submerged to test for leaks Heavy duty mounting brackets 187 gauge aluminum Tank can be used to transport diesel, water, fertilizer, oil, and bio fuel Cannot be used to transfer gasoline to another vehicle Manual fuel sight gauge Gas Springs to assist opening and holding toolbox lid Stainless Steel toolbox lid locks Tank meets DOT Standards Large opening for fast fillups Toolbox has stainless steel locks, 2 cylinders to open lid Fits some short beds measure before ordering
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Review 1 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RDS 60 Gallon Auxillary Tank / Toolbox Combo

,
February 15, 2010
By V8Rider
from Bushnell, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this tank / toolbox to replace an existing low profile toolbox as I tow a fifth wheel. Even the low profile toolbox would be hit by the end cap of the fifth wheel in tight turns going into an uphill driveway. This tank does not protrude above the bed rails and gives me 60 extra gallons between fuel stops. I run a Ford F250, V10, gasoline engine. I contacted RDS and the owner sent me a pickup tube for the gasoline application. The quality of the tank is very good and although I gave up some tool space, I still have room for the essentials. And, my range has tripled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
March 26, 2009
By JeepsterTim
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"How could you not like this.. It fits perfectly in my 2500 GMC HD short bed PU with a 5th wheel hitch. I have it controlled inside the cab using a electric soleniod valve. Great for storing tools on top..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rating

,
December 18, 2012
By JJ12399
from CA
"While I feel Northern Tool has done an excellent job in satisfying my delivery requirements RDS as the OEM needs some quality control refinements. Upon delivery the fuel gauge did not work and to fix that I had to bend the float rod with on offset bend to keep the float away from the side wall of the tank. It appears either the hole for the fuel gauge is in the wrong location or the gauge was installed backwards. In either case it was an issue I was able to resolve but not happy in doing so. Additionally in order to lock the tool box, adjustments had to be made to both lock the tool box as well as keep it from self-opening when I first installed. This too has been resolved. I do enjoy having the added capacity for long range driving now."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

,
January 9, 2012
By dalepoo
from Gainesville, GA
"I am very happy with this tank, others want one and I have highly recommended the tank the price was the best around"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fuel Gauge

,
January 9, 2012
By PeteinOKC
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Product performs as advertised except the fuel gauge Didn't work right out of the box.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
October 10, 2011
By TMSNM
from NM
"This Tank/Toolbox is of high quality and is very convenient for our company truck. The Toolbox is roomier than we thought it would be. Easy to Install and it is a Great product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Buyer beware.

,
April 10, 2011
By Sundancin
from NE Wisconsin
"I bought this tank from one of the Northern Tools stores. Tank looked great, welds were perfect. Install went as planned. Took me 4 hours as I had to chase parts and my son doesn't have the best tool assortment. Tank functions with the diesel fill kit flawlessly. The reason my rating is low is my 60 gallon tank only holds 53 gallons if you work it into it. The 2nd fill I could only squeeze 52 gallons into it. After agonizing for months which way to go and this happens. Not a happy camper - I have an email into RDS to see what they will do."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
March 23, 2011
By james22
from south saint paul minn
"this tank make a great addition looks nice and storage is good i use for both gas and deisal fuel and tools stay with in reach not messy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

,
August 30, 2010
By PETr
from Indianapolis IN
"I installed this product on my 2006 Chevy 2500 Diesel and use it for both hauling my Travel Trailer and fairly heavy highway driving. The capacity of the tank is just right. I rarely fill up away form home and have yet to fill up with the TT attached. Makes life easy.
I installed the tank my myself - it would be easier with some help. It is exactly what I was looking for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install and extended range

,
June 1, 2010
By turkeyfield
from Black Diamond, WA (near Seattle)
"Purchased and installed an RDS 60 gallon, combination tool box/diesel tank in my 2006 GMC, Duramax, short bed 3/4 ton pickup truck. It fitted perfectly. Install took me about two hours but could easily be done in less time by a more experienced mechanic. I'm very pleased! The short bed pickup has only a 26 gallon tank and when pulling my 29' 5th wheel I was stopping way too often to fill up. Now, with 86 gallons total capacity, on a long trip, I can top off every second day. The toolbox is just right for storing tire chains, tow chains, tie-down straps, jacks, etc. RDS, the manufacturer, has an 800 number, which I called to ask some questions which were answered by a very pleasant, helpful individual. I'm 110% satisfied!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

aux fuel tank & tool box 60 gal.

,
February 16, 2010
By fishhound
from NW Ohio
"Box& tank combo was delivered safe & secure on wooden skid. it fit just right in 2008 ford super duty , , i have rollup cover for rear bed & the ht. clears the cover with room to spare . i sure did not want to miss out on the convenience of having my extra fuel supply & room for needed tools for road.The welds & construction passed my critical eyes, & its been working great for 5 mo. on the road ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

,
July 24, 2009
By henley
from Connecticut
"Recently, I purchased the 60 gal. auxhilary tank for my fith wheel tow vehicle. My truck had a 90 gal tank, which was over kill for an RV. I also could not use a bed cover on my pick up. The 60 gal tank with tool box must have been designed specially with a low profile to fit under the bed cover, to maintain that smooth sporty look and hide my tank so as not to make it easy for self help people to gas up. My truck has 2/3 more fuel capacity for longer distance and allows me to seek out bargan fuel stops. Also mentionable is the fact that I now have secure storage for my chocks, power cordes, stablizer jacks, etc.
Its a great buy and as serviceable as any brand on the market.
I highly recommend this item.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the tank

,
August 18, 2008
By dottfire
from Yuma, AZ
"I recently purchased an auxillary fuel tank/tool box combo. I love the tank. I now have an extra 60 gallons of diesal for those long hauls. Having the tool box storage is the best. It gives me enough room for the extra tools I had laying under my seat. The look of the tank is great. Not many people can tell it is a fuel tank. Installation took a whole 15 minutes. I have had several comment on the nice look of the tank. After shopping around, I found this tank the most affordable and best looking one. I would hightly recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
April 21, 2008
By cdndooley
from Thunder Bay Canada
"I found the tank to be very well constructed good welds and the fit and finish excellent. The installation was simple and took aproximately 1 hour . I would recomend this product to anyone requiring added fuel capacity in a diesel application. The only drawback the tool box portion is a little shallow but it still provides sufficent storage of tools etc. Great product value for money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

60 Gallon, Model# 71786

,
April 21, 2008
By OOYES
from Michigan
"Great tank, if your a RV trailer puller don't leave home with it. Find cheeper fuel with the extended range the tank gives you and the pice of Mind of not worring about running out of fuel is priceless. Some brands selling for hundreds more and this as good as any of them and you can use the saveings for fuel you will need on yours trips. I pull a 34ft. 5/wheel W/3/4 ton diesel chevy. so far I have pulled my trailer over 10,000 miles"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the price, a good unit

,
January 24, 2008
By dd5087
from La Vernia, Texas
"Had it installed for about 2 months now and everything has worked perfectly. Would have given it a 5 but the only thing I don't like about it is the mounting tabs at the bottom of the unit. They are too small. I replaced those with larger ones when we installed the tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

60 gal. trans fuel tank

,
January 21, 2008
By DDS16
from Kitsap county , Wa
"Excellent $ easy install great for fuel econonmy and price savings"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

60 gal. aux tank and tool box combo.

,
October 29, 2007
By jrssmoker
from Ogden, UT
"I was very dissapointed with the quality of welds and finish on the edges and seams on the box. The welds were spotty and had arc marks from the electrode coming in contact with the surrounding metal (apprentice welder). This tank/tool box would have been acceptable for a old work truck but not a 45,000 Show Truck. I had the delivery driver stay while I removed most of the packing, it was'nt until I removed all of the cardbord around the lid that I noticed it was dented. I called the freight company to get the driver to return to inspect the damage. I was told the damage had to be noticed while the driver was there to obtain any consideration for damage. Caution-Unpack the tank completely before the driver leaves!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
October 16, 2007
By ColoradoGuy
from Colorado
"Good quality work on the tank and box. Unit is light enough to move by yourself during installation. Tool box area on top of the tank is a good depth for stuff like tools, tow straps, extra oil, tire chains or any other suff that won't fit in your truck cab. The vent located near the fill tube tended to slosh fuel out when the tank was filled to capacity. I attached a 18" length of rubber fuel line and looped it up and around the tank to allow the tank to vent but dampend the sloshing out of the tank...no fuel out the vent since. I suggest predrilling the holes in the welded on mounting brackets at the bottom of the tank BEFORE setting it in place to save the drill bit from walking off the mark."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RDS Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo - 60 Gallon, Model# 72644
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auxiliary Fuel Tank/Toolbox Combo: Diesle

,
October 15, 2007
By Bakersfish
from Bakersfield, California
"Great tank with a small tool box on top that's perfect for those things we always need but have no where to put them. Couple this with the Install Kit and you have something that looks good and works with no problems. Very easy install and now we don't have to stop so much for fuel. I'll buy another one when I get a new truck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.