Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388

RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388

Item# 34901054
Auxiliary transfer fuel tank It is the user's responsibility to comply with local, state and federal requirements pertaining to safe transportation, loading and discharging of tank contents. Not intended to be used for gasoline. Cannot be used to transfer gasoline to another vehicle. U.S.A. Pump and hose shown are not included. Tank Type Transfer/auxiliary, Shape L shaped, Outlet Diameter in. 2-in. FPT, Includes Rollover valve, UV Inhibitors No, Works With Fits 5, 6, 8 foot truck beds, Tank Size gal. 95, Mounting Type Truck bed/trailer, Compatible With Diesel, water, fertilizer, oil, bio fuel, combustible fuel, Finish Type Diamond plate and smooth, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, mounting tabs, Material Type Aluminum, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 48 x 32 x 26, DOT Approved Yes, Inlet Diameter in. 2 with locking cap. Aluminum Tank - NO RUSTING Heavy duty 125 gauge aluminum used for tank Fully welded seams 100 pressure tested and submerged to test for leaks Heavy duty mounting brackets constructed from 187 gauge aluminum Tank can be used to transport diesel, water, fertilizer, oil, bio fuel and combustible fuel Tank meets DOT Standards 2in. female pipe thread coupling with reinforcement plate welded inside to provide additional strength for mounting a manual or 12V transfer pump pump sold separately Built-in tank baffles to reduce sloshing Diesel install kits Item#s 3490901, 3490902 and 43748, are also available sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Review 1 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

filler up

,
November 7, 2011
By ontheroadcoasttocoast
from Seirra Vista, AZ.
"bought this a few months back. works great for what was intended. only problem so far is the size. I can not but my motorcycle in and tow my boat at the same time. Plus when towing a 5th wheel have to watch for any tight turns as the pump is right on top. over all with this tank and my main I have pretty good range... also its amazing how many people claim to a professional."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the on the road

,
March 21, 2011
By 505RUST
"All welds look great and no damage anywhere on it. I installed the whole thing in about an hour, but with the gravity fill on a new truck and you drive with it open like the directions say it will throw a fuel gauge fault code or at least it did in my 06 powerstroke"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light weight tank

,
September 13, 2010
By BCAGVIQ
from Virginia Beach, VA
"My company purchased this tank and have purchased 3 others in the past to facilitate fueling equipment out in the field. This tank is a good lightweight tank for easy loading and unloading out of a pick-up. It fitts well in any full size truck. I think it could be improved with a site glass or gauge pre-installed and a venting cap. You have to remove the fuel cap when pumping fuel out or it will draw a vacuum on the tank. This tank also dents very easilly. The welds all look very good and have held up well. This is the only transfer tank that the local Northern stocks without special order (7-10 days). I would suggest a better selection in stock of a transfer tank/toolbox combo."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fuel transfer tank

,
January 14, 2009
By nobodyspecial
from beaver dams, ny
"I purchased the tank without actually seeing it in person, only the internet pictures.I was skeptical due to the extremely low price, compared to 7-800 dollar aluminum tank. When i received the tank i was shocked, it surpassed my expectations, the welds were perfect, nice bends on the 90 degree corners, It was built by people who care about their product which is hard to find these days. The only problem i had with it was the D.O.T. certification tag was crooked and it really made me mad, other than that it gets fuel to the iron. GREAT BUY, TRULY IS."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

95 gallon tank

,
April 27, 2008
By corvetgary
from New Mexico,NM
"This tank we into my 04 dura-max truck perfectly I had no problem installing it! And with gas prices always going up, It is good to fill it with the lower price!!! I love this tank an it looks GREAT with its diamond finish!! I recomend it to everybody, if you want to drive without paying more for gas elsewere!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

95 gal L tank

,
April 21, 2008
By bullelk
from lafayette louisiana
"I hooked the tank to direct feed into my main tank . To date the tank works great on long trips and it is great . With the price of diesel you can select where you want to fill up. overall I am very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Owner

,
October 18, 2007
By DDM1
from Dolores, CO
"I purchased an L shaped auxiliary transfer tank. Thus far I've had good luck with my tank."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RDS L Shaped Auxiliary Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
October 16, 2007
By TS702
from Los Angeles, CA
"I've had this tank for a few months now and it's fantastic. The only thing I would like to see is a built in port to remove the vacuum build up when pumping out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.