Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"

"RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"

Item# 34901054
"This RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank is designed for transferring diesel fuel, gasoline or aviation fuel from the bed of a pickup to automobiles, heavy equipment, boats, 4-wheelers, generators, or anything else requiring fuel that you may have. Enjoy the convenience of a gas station that goes where you go. DOT approved aluminum fuel tanks do not rust, which protects fuel from contamination. The tank can also be used as an auxiliary unit to provide additional capacity for a diesel factory tank with the use of an RDS diesel install kit Item#s 3490901, 3490902 and 43748, sold separately. Diesel install kits will work with any RDS tank with a drain fitting. Auxiliary tank function is for use with diesel fuel only and is not for use with gasoline, which cannot be gravity-fed. It is the user's responsibility to comply with local, state and federal requirements pertaining to safe transportation, loading and discharging tank contents. Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 50 x 33 x 28 1/2, Mounting Type Truck bed/trailer, Finish Type Diamond plate and smooth, Material Type Aluminum, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, mounting tabs, Tank Dimensions L x W x H in. 48 x 32 x 26, DOT Approved Yes, Inlet Diameter in. 2 w/locking cap, Tank Size gal. 95, Compatible With Gasoline, aviation fuel, diesel, water, fertilizer, oil, bio fuel, combustible fuel, Shape L shaped, Works With Fits 5, 6, 8 foot truck beds, Tank Type Transfer, UV Inhibitors No, Outlet Diameter in. 2-in. FPT, Includes Rollover valve. Tank comes with a 2in. female pipe thread coupling for manual or 12V transfer pump not included No-rust aluminum construction is built to last Tank can be used to transport diesel, gasoline, or aviation fuel DOT Approved Tank L-Shaped Models work with your crossover toolbox 0.125in. heavy-duty aluminum construction Fully welded seams offer built-in strength 100 pressure tested for safety 0.187in. heavy-duty aluminum mounting brackets keep the tank secure Built-in baffles reduce sloshing during transport Locking gas cap adds security Has a rollover valve vent to help prevent spills Includes 3/8in. FTP drain plug Diesel install kits Item#s 43748, 3490901 and 3490902, are also available for diesel gravity feed sold separately 3/8in. coupling for pickup 1/4in. coupling for return Item#s 71083, 72545, 71083PC - sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Review 1 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not diamond plate

,
July 9, 2014
By
from Indiana
Disappointed that all sides of the tank were not diamond plate. Looks cheap and like they tried to cut corners. Structurally tank appears ok.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

filler up

,
November 7, 2011
By
from Seirra Vista, AZ.
bought this a few months back. works great for what was intended. only problem so far is the size. I can not but my motorcycle in and tow my boat at the same time. Plus when towing a 5th wheel have to watch for any tight turns as the pump is right on top. over all with this tank and my main I have pretty good range... also its amazing how many people claim to a professional.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the on the road

,
March 21, 2011
By
All welds look great and no damage anywhere on it. I installed the whole thing in about an hour, but with the gravity fill on a new truck and you drive with it open like the directions say it will throw a fuel gauge fault code or at least it did in my 06 powerstroke
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light weight tank

,
September 13, 2010
By
from Virginia Beach, VA
My company purchased this tank and have purchased 3 others in the past to facilitate fueling equipment out in the field. This tank is a good lightweight tank for easy loading and unloading out of a pick-up. It fitts well in any full size truck. I think it could be improved with a site glass or gauge pre-installed and a venting cap. You have to remove the fuel cap when pumping fuel out or it will draw a vacuum on the tank. This tank also dents very easilly. The welds all look very good and have held up well. This is the only transfer tank that the local Northern stocks without special order (7-10 days). I would suggest a better selection in stock of a transfer tank/toolbox combo.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fuel transfer tank

,
January 14, 2009
By
from beaver dams, ny
I purchased the tank without actually seeing it in person, only the internet pictures.I was skeptical due to the extremely low price, compared to 7-800 dollar aluminum tank. When i received the tank i was shocked, it surpassed my expectations, the welds were perfect, nice bends on the 90 degree corners, It was built by people who care about their product which is hard to find these days. The only problem i had with it was the D.O.T. certification tag was crooked and it really made me mad, other than that it gets fuel to the iron. GREAT BUY, TRULY IS.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

95 gallon tank

,
April 27, 2008
By
from New Mexico,NM
This tank we into my 04 dura-max truck perfectly I had no problem installing it! And with gas prices always going up, It is good to fill it with the lower price!!! I love this tank an it looks GREAT with its diamond finish!! I recomend it to everybody, if you want to drive without paying more for gas elsewere!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

95 gal L tank

,
April 21, 2008
By
from lafayette louisiana
I hooked the tank to direct feed into my main tank . To date the tank works great on long trips and it is great . With the price of diesel you can select where you want to fill up. overall I am very happy with my purchase.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Owner

,
October 18, 2007
By
from Dolores, CO
I purchased an L shaped auxiliary transfer tank. Thus far I've had good luck with my tank.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "RDS L Shaped Transfer Fuel Tank - 95 Gallon, Smooth and Diamond, Model# 70388"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
October 16, 2007
By
from Los Angeles, CA
I've had this tank for a few months now and it's fantastic. The only thing I would like to see is a built in port to remove the vacuum build up when pumping out.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.