Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744

RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744

Item# 3490107
100 aluminum diamond tread plate auxiliary fuel tank with built-in toolbox. Diesel install kits Item#s 43748, 3490901 and 3490902, are also available sold separately. It is the user's responsibility to comply with local, state and federal requirements pertaining to safe transportation, loading and discharging of tank contents. U.S.A. Includes Suction tube, manual sight gauge, baffles, return, drain fittings, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 55 x 20 x 22 3/4, Lock Type Stainless steel key locks, Tank Size gal. 60, Lock Included Yes, DOT Approved Yes, Compatible With Nonflammable liquids, Tank Type Auxiliary, Finish Type Diamond plate, Material Type Aluminum, Shape Rectangle, Tank Dimensions L x W x H in. 55 x 20 x 12 3/4, Box Dimensions L x W x H in. 48 x 20 x 10, Fits Models Fits 6, 8 foot truck beds. Aluminum Tank and Toolbox - NO RUSTING Heavy duty 125 gauge aluminum used for tank Toolbox built using 058 gauge aluminum 2in. fill neck for fast fillups Fully welded seams Reinforced lid 100 pressure tested and submerged to test for leaks Heavy duty mounting brackets 187 gauge aluminum Built-in tank baffles to reduce sloshing Manual fuel sight gauge Gas springs to assist opening and holding toolbox lid Stainless steel toolbox lid locks Enclosed fuel fill area for added protection Tank meets DOT Standards Fits some short beds please measure before ordering Diesel install kits Item#s 43748, 3490901 and 3490902, are also available sold separately 3/8in. drain fitting also works with RDS install kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Review 1 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, well manufactured transfer tank

,
February 4, 2014
By Rotorwinger
from Plano, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This RDS transfer tank is very well constructed, provides cross-country range to my Chevy Silverado Diesel pickup (with the optional RDS plumbing kit from Northern) and provides space for a transfer pump and hose as well as adequate space for tools and sundries under the lid. I tow a 44' toy hauler camper and it still is small enough to fit in the 6.5' bed of my pickup. This tank/toolbox has reduces gas station visits and the resultant maneuvering of a large trailer on long trips. When I get a new HD pickup, this will be the first upgrade!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fuel Tank

,
May 14, 2012
By ROS819
from Tacoma, WA
"I bought this tank 3 years ago and installed it myself with the offered install kit. I found the installation to be quick and easy. The extra 60 gals of fuel makes my trips pulling a 13,500# 40' fifth wheel much less work because of fewer fuel stops. The only issue I have is not with the tank or install kit but with my GMC Diesel fuel gauge. It will show empty after what the GMC computer determines should be an empty tank. Thankfully you can just turn off the engine and restart for a show of a full tank again. A minor pain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built

,
March 14, 2012
By EnlistedAuctions
from Stuarts Draft, Virginia
"I mounted this tank/box on an '08 Sierra short bed and it has performed great for the last 7K miles. The extra fuel is great when traveling through some of the remote locations around the west coast. The fuel gauge falls over to "empty" after about 50 miles when the truck tank and aux tank are both full. The gauge will go back to full when the fuel from the aux tank is empty and the truck tank starts to drain. It resets everytime the truck is turned off. The installation kit was a bit tricky to get sealed up. I still see some drops under the filler neck every once in a while. I usually turn off the valve from the aux tank if I will not be using it for an extended period. I would recommend mounting with bolts instead of self-tapping screwing. The box is not heavy and will move if it is empty. When it is full there is no issues w/ movement. I have a spray-in liner on the bed under the box. I waited a long time to get this but now wish I had done it sooner. Overall, excellent product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the price, great tank and tool box

,
October 11, 2011
By trvlrerik
from Kansas
"I looked for a tool box along with the additional fuel for my 08 F350 (short bed). This seemed to be the only large capacity fuel cell with an acceptible size of box that will actually hold a tool box. It does not sit flush with the bed but neither did my old tool box. it still easily clears both in bed hitch and all trailers pulled. Not as heavy as old Weather Guard tool box, but well worth the price offered. Fairly easy to install with kit. Possibly best upgrade ever for poor fuel milage Ford pulling a fifth wheel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves some money

,
July 30, 2011
By puffenD
from Wichita, KS
"I've had this tank for over a year now and don't regret getting it. It helps me to save on fuel cost when I can fill up on the down swing of fuel costs and stretch through the highs or make the trip through an area with higher fuel prices. I use a small transfer pump to move fuel to my main tank. This also allows me to transfer to another container or vehical if need be. The locked storage and fill area is a plus. I do wish it had a little more tool storage area but it's still great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality toolbox combo

,
March 22, 2011
By 93green12v
from Buffalo,NY
"Bought this toolbox over a year ago and have not looked back. Quality made toolbox that is tough and durable. Easy installation, would recommend the kit to install it. I didn't and have had fuel overflowing out of my main fuel tank once or twice. I'll put it in any truck I own from now on. I like the insurance of having extra fuel on board or fill up for a long trip and don't have to stop for fuel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

,
November 23, 2010
By orhusky
from OR
"We have had this fuel tank/tool box combo for about 18 months and 4 round trips to Phoenix and back. Very well built and the storage is great! Nice to not have to stop all the time for fill ups! it's a little taller that the bed rails but plenty of clearance for our 5th wheel. Would definitely buy this again!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes the worry out of travelling

,
August 30, 2010
By RunninOnEmpty
from Chandler, AZ
"I have a 2008 Ford Super Duty and pull a heavy 5th wheel. Ford, in there infinite wisdom, only put a 30 gal fuel tank on this truck. At about 9-10 mpg when pulling, I was always looking for fuel. This tank is the best thing that I could have done to make travelling less stressful. Install was easy with the optional install kit. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
August 30, 2010
By Steelhead
from Boise, ID
"I pull a 14,000 5th wheel thru Idaho. Nothing beats having extra fuel on board when you pull thru the hills and remote locations. I kept with the manual ball valve to transfer fuel to truck's tank. I found that when the trucks 38 gal tank would be empty, I would open the ball valve, start driving and by the end of the day, the tank on the truck would be full and I drove all day long. Be adviced on 2007 F-350 diesels, if you keep the aux tank valve open all the time, your engine light will come on as the truck thinks your fuel gauge is stuck on full; this is why I manually opened and closed the aux tank to fill the main tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel tank tool box

,
July 20, 2009
By ENCS
from North Eastern North Carolina
"I purchased this item about 4 years ago and it has been great. I pull an RV around the country and it has helped me save hundreds of dollars by allowing me to drive longer distances and filling up where the fuel prices are cheaper. Filling up 60 or more gallons at a time at 20 or 30 cents a gallon cheaper adds up quick. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

60 gal. fuel

,
March 23, 2009
By tdavenport
from Georgia
"I received my tank quickly after ordering, installed both tank and fuel transfer valve in an hour. The tank/toolbox combo is not under bed rail but I do have plenty of clearance for my fifth wheel. This tank is the cheapest I have on the internet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RDS Fuel Tank Toolbox Combo - 60-Gallon Capacity, Model# 72744
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy install

,
March 23, 2009
By swflks
from S.W. Florida
"Fairly easy and straight forward to install with the optional install kit"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.