Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount

Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount

Item# 34917
The Wilton Shop Vise has heavy-duty castings with a 30,000 PSI ductile iron body built for rugged use and extended life. Has the capability of handling pipe as well as mounting to the bench with 4 mounting posts, providing more stability and a secure hold. 360 swivel base vises include 2 lockdowns to secure your work position when utilizing the swivel. Pipe jaws assist in bending, cutting and holding materials. An anvil is attached for pounding. Made with cast iron channel for strength and durability. Ideal for general purpose, light tradesman, utility and service, and automotive applications. Pipe Jaw Yes, Double Look-downs Yes, Jaw Capacity in. 8, Replaceable Jaw Yes, Jaw Depth in. 4, Handle Length in. 10.5, 360 Swivel Base Yes, Jaw Width in. 8. Double lock-downs for a sturdier base and less rotation Hardened steel jaws are furnished with a serrated pattern to insure strength and long life
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Review 1 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vice

,
February 6, 2014
By J1980
from Independence, Mo
"I purchased this vice for our company shop. It seems to be a very well constructed vice. We are very impressed with the quality. We use it almost everyday doing a variety of different jobs in the shop. I would recommend this vice to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wilton Vise

,
February 4, 2014
By Crazy1
from Waverly, IA
"The plates on the jaws of my old vise had broken off, then the mechanism which allows you to swivel the vise also broke. I ordered this product to replace what I thought was a durable vise in my shop. I was very pleased when I received this new vise. Just the weight of it tells you that it is well constructed and with the eight inch jaws I know it will perform the way I want it to. It did not take me long to remove the old vise and install the new one. I would recommend this vise to my friends!
Ed.......
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A vice so nice I bought it twice

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I'd had small vices for years and that's fine for small work, but I'm finding that I'm doing more beam work now and I needed something with a wide mouth and a heavy grip. I bought one for my bench and it's been great ever since. Easy to apply just the right amount of pressure. The items within it never slip. Has the capacity to torque way down on items that will heat up so they don't expand and knock the item from the vice. I was so pleased with it that I bought a second of the same vice for the other end of my table so I can now work on 8 foot pieces of steel held at the same position and level."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vise

,
November 9, 2012
By RonnyBob6
from Houston,Texas
"I purchased 5 of these vises for our shop and am extremely pleased with them. They are heavy duty and a good value. The only thing that I saw bad was the square slide had very sharp corners. I simply filed the sharp edges to remedy the problem."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Vise

,
October 15, 2012
By SnowGlider74
from Shippensburg, PA
"This vise is a very heavy duty piece. This purchase actually replaces the same model that we have had for years."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Vise

,
January 9, 2012
By TomRents
from Kansas City, MO.
"Unit was much heavier than I expected! My mechanics love it!
Thanks Northern!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vise

,
August 30, 2010
By HomeMechanic
from Raleigh, NC
"I've had this vise for about 8 months now and have been very pleased with it. Especially at those times when I'm really just using it as a second set of "hands".
One tip: be sure you have a stable surface to mount it to. The vise itself is quite heavy, and when you get to pushing/pulling on whatever is clamped in it, it can move the whole bench if it isnt secured to the wall/floor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
June 4, 2010
By tjtusyns
from Mt Pleasant NC
"This vise does everything I need at work and is heavy enough to hold up to the heavy parts and pounding I need to perform on some of the parts."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good vise, good price

,
October 19, 2009
By koumis
from Elbert Co, CO
"A good solid vise for the price. I've owned this unit for over a year and the 8 in is bigger than I have needed but it certainly doesn't hurt to have the capacity. I have used this for wood, metal and gunsmithing projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty and solid

,
July 13, 2009
By John77
from Michigan
"Excellent vise for my workbench. Very tough, heavy and industrial. No problems. Should last forever. Pleased with this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bench vise

,
August 16, 2008
By caleb
from saint joseph, MO
"the bench vise i purchased was exactly what i had been looking for, it was medium duty and works smoothly. I would recomend it to anyone for a small shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Vise

,
April 21, 2008
By kennyand13
from Montgomery, Tx.
"Strong, quality vise for homeowners to use. Don't buy cheap, it will cost in the long run."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great vice

,
January 14, 2008
By PaulRB
from Montesano, WA
"I wanted something with a wider jaw than my original vice. This is a great, heavy duty wide vice. Perfect for what I wanted."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great vise and great price

,
October 31, 2007
By bobdog
from Illinois
"This is a excellent vise and the price for this quality of a vise is cheap. Would recommend it to anyone that needs a heavy vise."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wilton Shop Vise - 8in., Bench Mount
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good vise it can do anything

,
October 8, 2007
By IndustrialRepairman1
from Milwaukee WI
"this is a good vise it is the 3rd one we have purchased for our company it is a Heave Duty vise and at a good price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.