Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000

Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000

Item# 352
The Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader quickly turns your pickup into a dump truck. The easy-to-install Loadhandler has adjustable metal brackets that belt onto the tailgate of your truck no welding, cutting or drilling necessary. Just load up the drag sheet, then use the crank system with heavy-duty roller bar to unload a full load of rock, soil, mulch, firewood, feed and more in as little as 30 seconds. Saves time while reducing stress on you back. Application Cargo unloader, Capacity lbs. 3,000, Includes Loadhandler system, Works With Heavy-duty full-size pickups 62 - 69 in. tailgates. Durable commercial grade construction for use with any load Heavy-duty full-size professional model 3000-lb. capacity handles large loads Fits 62-69 in. W tailgates Unloads a full pickup truck load in as little as 30 seconds Belt-on mounting system requires no welding, cutting or drilling Attaches and detaches quickly and easily for use whenever you need it Rubber stopper ends leave no scratches when attached to vehicle Perfect for commercial applications and frequent home use
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (54 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
52 of 54(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Review 1 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pickup truck unloader

,
October 5, 2014
By CMCE7
from Massachusetts
"Works good, could be about 4" wider. Snags on the tailgate latch bolts and tears"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad, pretty handy

,
September 9, 2014
By SmithsIdaho
from Boise Idaho
"Yes it is rated at 3000 pounds but don't expect it to move a cubic yard of crushed stone. Works fairly well on bulky things, bark, mulch, brush and lesser amounts of dense materials, rock, dirt etc. I think there is just too much weight on the mat with a dense material."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRUCK BED CARGO UNLOADER

,
July 29, 2014
By LONGLEAF
from CAMERON,NC
"Easy to install, works well with small loads( fire wood, brush, dirt) so far, easy cranking, smooth operation. Fabric seems strong and easy to unroll ,roll up and clean. I use it mostly to haul debris from cleaning up 100 acres of long leaf pine including limbs, cut down undergrowth brush, cut up lengths of dead pine trees and live non pine trees 6-18" diameter, occasional rocks, small stumps. I try to manage the loads to prevent overloading. It is a very useful hauling unloader for small jobs on the farm"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

should have bought one 10 years ago

,
May 4, 2014
By porkslap
from Baltimore, MD
"Pretty easy to put together and install.
USed it the first time with two loads of large firewood pieces and worked great. It bound up but it was because a small piece of wood was getting caught up in the roller. I just backed off a bit, removed it and was good to go.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than great!

,
February 24, 2014
By Hermee
from NW Ohio
"I purchased this model 3 years ago. The first year we hauled 12-15 loads of wet wood chips. I have a plastic bed liner, so this works great. When hauling gravel, stone, and firewood, I've found that cleaning out behind the wheel wells before cranking makes it a lot easier to unload. Also take time to clean your bed before each load. This ensures each load will crank off as easy as possible. I ask my wife to idle the truck across the garden as I crank, thus getting a smooth uniform unload of product. This eliminates a lot of work leveling it out afterward. I read where some people complained about the length of the crank. I'm a man so I overload everything (more is better, right?) lol! So when you go to unload you find your crank is close to the ground. If it was longer you would be making only 1/2 turns through most of the load. Only with very heavy loads did I use two hands to crank the handle. Take it from a satisfied customer, buy it, you won't regret it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works OK

,
February 4, 2014
By oldsman
from Mt airy MD
"If the material is loose dirt or gravel and gets off the mat and between wheel wells and bed bulkhead,it is very difficult to crank the handle. I purchased the rubber mat and when it arrived it was rolled up.I called the company and they told me to put the mat out in the sun and the UV would straiten it out.It worked."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pick up truck loadhandler

,
February 4, 2014
By VR69
from md
"I have used this load handler to transport mushroom soil, leaf mulch from the county reycyle center, tree brush, and fire wood. So far it has done an excellent job as advertised. I pull right up to the garden and drop the load. Same goes for tree brush. Saves time and energy for a 69 year old guy!! Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

,
November 5, 2013
By ChevyGal
from Churubusco, IN
"I borrowed one of these from a friend..and used it on my Chevy Silverado 4x4 and I love it! I am a small woman- 5'1" and 110 lbs and usually work by myself on my small farm. I have used this to unload 2 truck loads of sand, a truck load of firewood and 3 loads of shingles. I have a hard time lifting over 40 lbs...and I was able to crank everything off by myself in less than 5 mins. I will say that if you have a Silverado with the tail gate guard that has a fin- it will not fit over it. I could not use it until I took mine off . I replaced it with one that was the same thickness throughout when I got a hard tonneau cover to replace my roll up one. Also if you need a part, they are inexpensive...I lost the handle so having to replace that. I plan to buy an unloader for myself in the near future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this this

,
September 15, 2013
By SuperDaveKs
from Hill City, ks
"Hauled a huge load of trash and two loads of rock so far. Talk about a back and time saver. Love this thing, wish I bought it years ago when I first seen them. Not sure if the makers of the load handler read these or not. If so. Thank You..... I do wish they made a gear reduction 12v motor for it. But hey, if they do..... I'm buying one"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

More than worth the money

,
May 6, 2013
By OldBob2
from Akron, OH
"There's been a lot of times I wanted to haul something home but the time and effort to unload the truck outweighed, so to speak, the value of the "stuff" I wanted to get, and buying a dump bed for the truck is out of the question, money-wise speaking. So when I came across this little device I figured, "OK - so how far wrong can I go with this - if it works *once* it'll probably save me enough money to pay for itself". We have a 1/4 acre garden and our goats don't produce enough manure to compost down to let us improve it as fast as I'd like - and lemme tell you, our soil needs some *serious* improvement! So when I found a stable nearby that was having trouble getting rid of manure I strapped this thing to the tailgate and went over to get a load or ten. Got home with it, backed the truck up to the manure pile, hooked up the straps, and started crankin'. Lemme tell you, that ol' manure came off the truck slicker 'n...uh...manure! I find it's handy to have a scoop-type shovel to clean up what doesn't land on the unloader sheet, but that's just a minute or two of easy work instead of half an hour or more of lift-twist-toss-and-oh-my-achin'-back! Definitely worth the price. Handles two or three loader scoops of material just fine (probably a yard to a yard-and-a-half). One yard of topsoil from the nursery down the road came out with absolutely no problem. Gotta go - headin' over to the stable for another load!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

,
April 25, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"Ask anyone who's put their back into shoveling a truck full of rocks or topsoil how much they wish they had a dump bed. There were times I considered buying or building a dump cylinder for my truck because I found myself needing to unload a heavy load with shovels that would have taken me an hour. Then I saw one of these on a television commercial and found that NT sold them. I installed it on my truck and immediately loaded the truck up with river rock. The easy to turn crank makes it simple to unload at the speed you want. If you have a fleetside bed (with the wheel wells stick in), you'll have to shovel around them as the retracting sheet only going in the middle part of the bed. That said, it's still going to do 90% of the work for you. Very good!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves me lots of shoveling

,
August 20, 2012
By Talusman
from Santa Fe, NM
"Works great to unload full pickup loads of horse manure in under 2 minutes. Not sure how to prevent it, but the rubber pads have marred the tailgate a bit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loadmaster 3000

,
August 14, 2012
By Barney809
from Central NC
"Order was shipped and recieved in a timely manner. Installed on my F-250 in just a few minutes. I have used it 3 times so far. 2 Loads of Gravel at 2,000 lbs per load & 1 load of topsoil (about 1800 lbs). Could not be happier, has reduced my labor time immensely for small jobs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truck Unloader

,
August 13, 2012
By horseman59
from PA
"I bought the first Unloader 4 or 5 years ago because a friend recommended it so highly. I was not disappointed. The mat is nearly indestructible!
Since then, I bought one as a birthday gift for my son-in-law, and I recently bought another for my future son-in-law.
A great product that performs as advertised. What more can I say?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

,
May 31, 2012
By gipper1
from CT
"I purchased my load handler about 12 years ago. It is now on my second truck, F250 SD. Works excellent. I have hauled top soil, gravel, mulch, leaves, you name it. I have a hard plastic bed liner that is quiet slippery which helps the load handler slide better. I had 3800 pounds of gravel as the heaviest load. I had to shovel a litle bit onto the tailgait to weigh it down so that I could continue with the crank but normally I just put the crank on and away I go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product!

,
May 15, 2012
By Marc58
from Western NY
"This saved my back, and saved me money! It works perfectly!
I bought this 3 weeks ago and have since hauled 6 truck loads (1 cubic yard, about a ton, each trip) of top soil. Considering what it would have cost to have the top soil delivered, the Cargo Unloader has paid for itself already!
I don't understand some of the reviews that say it is hard to unload with a heavy load. Well, it does not operate at the touch of your finger, you do have to put your back into it! But an average person, in average shape, shoud be able to crank off any load in about 30 seconds.
My only negative observation is the length of the handle used to crank the unloader. I realize that the longer the handle is, the less effort required to turn, but when the truck bed is filled with a heavy load it is lowered considerably, and the handle can be too long to clear the ground - especially on unever ground. I think they should shorten the handle just a little."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

,
April 11, 2012
By Jeepforfun
from Tennessee
"I was hesitant due to some bad reviews that are completely wrong. This is well built all heavy steel. Spend the extra money and get the HD commercial version. You will be happy you did and this will quickly become your handiest tool.
Follow the instructions. You must have a hard plastic bed liner, or buy the slick mat to go with it. I have a long wheel base with a plastic bed liner and have used it to unload full beds of mulch and compost. I plan to use it to fill in the gravel on my driveway.
I will note that I have a flipover gooseneck hitch and did have to cut some cardboard to fill the cutout in the bedliner and tape it in place to provide a smooth surface for the Unloader slide over. This prevented having the sheet from hanging up on the jagged edge of the hole in the bedliner. I plan on cutting a wood or plastic piece to use for the future."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BACKSAVER!!!!!

,
January 9, 2012
By KENYG1
from CONCRETE, WASHINGTON
"I HAVE USED THE LOAD HANDLER CARGO UNLOADER SEVERAL TIMES NOW. I FOUND THE INSTALLATION TO BE VERY EASY AND QUICK. I HAVE FILLED MY ONE TON BED WITH MATERIAL FOR THE DUMP, AND MATERIAL I HAVE REMOVED FROM REFENCING 8 ACRES. EACH TIME THE LOAD HANDLER HAS MAD THE JOB EASIER TO UNLOAD AND SAVED MY ACHING BODY FROM HAVING TO UNLOAD THE TRUCK THE MANUAL WAY. MY NEXT PROJECT WILL BE TO REGRADE MY DRIVEWAY AND FILL IN WITH GRAVEL. I'M GLAD ILL BE USING IT TO UNLOAD THE MATERIAL THEN. GREAT ITEM AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

,
October 9, 2011
By Tcap
from Wacissa, Fl
"I tried to use it with a load of mulch in a standard pick-up with a six foot bed. It wouldn't budge. I doubt the mulch weighed 3000 lbs. Had to unload more than half the mulch by hand before I could use the load handler at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Loadhandler Pickup Truck Unloader - Heavy-Duty Full-Size Professional Model, 3000-Lb. Capacity, Model# LH3000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the ease of it all

,
June 16, 2011
By howiecompany
from cincinnati, oh
"i cant tell you how much back braking work this saves on my tired old bones. this has to be the best invention ive ever seen. im so glade i bought this. sure beats the shovel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.