Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"

"FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"

Item# 35239002
"Quincy reciprocating air compressors are designed to be a compressor for life. They are built for efficiency and lower operating costs, producing more compressed air at a lower horsepower. They run at a slower RPM, run cooler and cost less to operate. Heavy-duty compressors are engineered for industrial applications and boast an industry-leading 50,000-hour pump life rating. Purchase an extended warranty kit Item# 42637 at the same time on the same receipt as your Quincy 80-gallon air compressor and it will double the package warranty to 2 years and triple the pump warranty to 3 years on-site parts and labor included. U.S.A. After-Cooler Included No, Air Outlet Size in. 3/4, CFM at 100 PSI 17.7, CFM at 175 PSI 17.2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 37 x 24 x 74, Drain System Manual ball valve, Air Tank Size gal. 80, Amps 28, HP 5, Max. PSI 175, Motor Phases Single, Package Type Standard, Drive Belt, Duty Cycle 100, Pump Life hrs. 50,000+, Tank Type Vertical, Volts 230, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Pump Cast iron, Working Pressure PSI 145-175, Stage 2, Low Oil Protection No, CFM at 90 PSI 17.7. Industrial-duty US-made Baldor motor Industrial-duty general-purpose mounted and wired magnetic starter Less than 5 PPM oil carry-over blow-by rating 145-175 working PSI Pump RPM 942 2-cylinder pump design Heavy-duty, easy-to-reach, manual ball valve 2-stage belt drive pump with solid cast iron cylinder Motor RPM1750 Finned tube intercooler for maximum cooling and increased valve life Aluminum head for heat dissipation Extra-capacity oil reservoir for low oil temperatures Cast iron fly wheel for energy efficiency and durability 100 duty cycle Splash lubrication UL & CSA approval on all electrical components ASME-coded pressure relief valves and tanks Additional charge for liftgate shipping option"
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Worth the bucks"

,
November 20, 2014
By Anonymous
from Lilburn Ga.
" Great compressor, runs every thing I throw at it,with air to spare. I bought this monster because I really got tired of waiting for my old unit to catch up ,I would definitely recommend the QT-5 to anyone that is looking for quality and dosen't mind " A little overkill! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
February 4, 2014
By bdranger92
from Tx
" excellent and for those of you wonder about specs on the motor and power at startup amps it will pull 25.3 and running 22. beast runs everything I have with no complaints. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT COMPRESSOR

,
September 19, 2013
By bromel
from Anna IL
" This compressor is the best. I have had this compressor for about a year it has performed just as advertised, not one problem. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built

,
May 8, 2013
By TheRealStubot
from Southern California
" I'm a car guy. I work on my own cars, and pretty much all my neighbors cars, as well as the cars of the people I work with. I'm not a professional, just an avid hobbyist. My compressor is intended for moderate to severe occasional use. I might not touch it for a week, then use it 8 hours straight for 2 days in a row. This compressor is installed in my garage at my house, and runs a number of low to high cfm tools. It is replacing a 2hp 30g oilless compressor I've had for years, and has just not quite enough power.
This compressor is a beast. I wondered why it was around 200 pounds heavier than competing units, it's just very well made. It took me a week to get the thing off the pallet, get it moved and mounted, and get the new circuit wired in ( old compressor was 120v ). Since then, I've been putting it through its paces. It's pretty quiet for such a big machine, I'm able to hold a conversation within 5 feet of it. My old compressor made a lot of noise. Pump up takes under 2 minutes. My pressure switch is set to on at 135 and off at 175. I tried my biggest air hog tool ( blast cabinet ) last night for about an hour. I was mildly surprised to discover that the compressor can "keep up" with the cabinet, and actually only has about a 30% duty cycle. Even running at night, during rainy weather, I have drained maybe a teaspoon of water a day from it, and have no water in the traps at all. The noise from the compressor is very low frequency like a muffled Harley-Davidson engine at idle, not objectionable at all, unlike my previous compressor which sounded like a jack hammer and ran continuously under any load. I have no doubt that this machine will outlive me. Its design is simple, and overbuilt. It barely gets warmed up even under my most air intensive tasks, and is a solid testament to American craftsmanship.
My only gripe about it is that it's difficult to remove from the pallet in a garage with an 8 foot ceiling. There are no lift points on the unit, or even a way to route a strap through the channel so it won't interfere with the pump. I ended up fabbing a frame that bolted to the channel that was tall enough to clear the pump, then wrapped a strap around that, and used an engine hoist.
Bottom line: if you're interested in an efficient, well designed and built compressor, this one certainly qualifies. It's a bit more expensive than the competition, but it's a quality tool designed to work a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only compressor I'll ever own

,
October 10, 2011
By tacarlson
from Ark City, KS
" Awsome is the best way to some this up. AC is smooth, quiet, quick, and well built. This will most likely be the last compressor I,ll ever have to buy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Industrial Compressor

,
March 15, 2011
By Ghall
from Tully, NY
" Purchased the Quincy to replace my single stage 60 gal. I needed 5cfm at 150psi min to run an air operated tire machine. I also use it to run air impacts and a cabinet sandblaster. This unit runs very quiet compared to the single stage and builds more air than I can use. Shipping: The Quincy is bolted to the stout pallet and has a wood cage built around it to protect it during transit. Wiring: I wired a new 40amp circuit that is dedicated to the compressor. The contactor box has plenty of room to terminate the connections. My Quincy was built about 15 days before I got it so I assume all these are build to order. The unit is extremely well made and should last longer than me. My only complaint is the pressure gauge is very small and recessed under and behind the contactor box. I ended up buying a 10" pipe extension and installed a 3.5" gauge. Get the maintenance kit to get the warranty and it's recommended to change the oil after the first 8 hours of use. All and all this is a solid product "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quincy Air Compressor

,
March 14, 2011
By bikerman
from Rexburg, ID
" This is a great compressor! The compressor was shipped quickly and received without any damage, and installation was very easy. It runs very smooth, and is incredibly quite, considering the amount of air it can kick out. I have been very impressed with the compressor so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for shop use

,
November 20, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
" got this and have the lines being split three its working great for everyone "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quincy Compressor

,
August 23, 2010
By Lenny62
from Murray, Ky.
" One look at this compressor tells you it's heavy duty and made to last. I couldn't be happier with it. It keeps up with all my air needs and it's way quiter than my last compressor. I bought it to sand blast car and truck frames and other parts and it's handled the job perfectly. Never had to wait for air build up. I would recommend this compressor to anyone "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Built, High Quality

,
February 15, 2010
By ClipWingCub
from Western North Carolina
" I have both IR and now a Quincy. I have a variety of air tools, some that use considerable CFM, such as grinders and sanders.
Although the IR is good quality, the Quincy is amazing, and extremly quiet comparing the two. I never have to wait on the compressor to keep up anymore (not the IR's fault - smaller compressor). I also have less moisture problems now, and no oil bypass either - absolutely none.
I did a lot of comparison shopping before I purchased. If you need a compressor in the true 17CFM range that you want to last, you can't beat this. Every component, including the Baldor motor is AMERICAN made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement Unit

,
September 28, 2009
By mastermechanicme
from Mississippi
" This is the 2nd one I have bought. The last QT-5 I purchased used in 1995 and it is still working 6 days a week. Thought I should buy its replacement while I can still get a quality unit made in USA. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Quincy QT-5 Splash Lubricated Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt, 1 Phase, 80-Gallon Vertical, Model# 251CS80VCB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quincy 5 HP, 80 Gallon Compressor

,
March 16, 2009
By tennsmith
from Huintsville, AL
" This is an awesome machine. I picked it because it delivered the most CFM for a 5 HP compressor at the least compressor RPM. To me, that indicated that the compressor was more efficient than competitive brands. The cost is a bit more, but the advertised lifetime (50,000 hr) on the compressor was worth the extra bucks.
The machine comes in a sturdy wooden protective open-sided crate on a pallet and has oil in the compressor. All you provide is a power cord and plug and you're in business. There are no leaks in the tank system and pressure relief valve and it will hold pressure for weeks without a noticeable drop.
I have it hooked to an air distribution system in my garage which consists of particulate and coalescing filters and a refrigerated air dryer. I use it for pneumatic nailers, die grinders, media blasting, and painting and have no complaints whatsoever about it. When it runs, it produces a sound reminsicent of gas station service bays of the 60's and 70's.....It produces a bit of noise, but nowhere near that of competitive machines which drive the compressors at a higher speed.
All things considered, quality, lifetime, etc., I think it provides the most air compressor for the dollar and would recommend it to anyone seeking a serious air compressor. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.