Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376

Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376

Item# 365021
This heavy-duty utility cart has an extra-large 10 cu. ft. high-impact polyethylene tub ideal for hauling rock, dirt, leaves, firewood, grass clippings, gear, game and more. Two solid, spoked rubber tires with ball bearing hubs allow for smooth movement. U.S.A. Dimensions L x W x H in. 60 x 27 x 32, Load Capacity lbs. 400, Tub Material Polyethylene, Wheel Type Rubber, Wheel Size in. 20. High-impact polyethylene tub won't rust, dent or corrode Optimum balance to easily haul heavy loads 20in. solid no-flat rubber tires on spoked wheels roll over varying terrain Ball bearing hubs for smooth operation Tub is 52in.L x 26in.W x 15in.D
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Review 1 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mostly good but flawed.

,
August 24, 2014
By DJon
from southeast US
"It's very strong and solid. It will hold a big load of firewood or sand. The big wheels make it easy to pull over bumpy ground. It's well balanced. The tub itself (except the wheels) will probably last longer than my lifetime.
On the whole I'm pleased with it. But three flaws really stand out.
First flaw, the dimensions stated in the product description are WRONG. Stated dimensions say it's 26 inches wide so you'd expect it to easily go through a standard 30" wide door. Big surprise to find it's a lot wider than the door, hence it has to stay outside all the time. The tub alone is almost 29 inches from outer edge to edge, wide. Add about four more inches for the wheels and tips of axle. Really, all they need to do is to measure the total length of the axle and they'll know how wide it is. Someone couldn't be bothered I suppose.
Second, whoever put chrome on the wheels did it as cheaply as possible. I got mine on May 15. Now it's August 28 and the wheels already show rust on top of the chrome. Not even four months and it's rusting already! That's the part that will limit the lifespan of this product.
My advice if you buy one, as soon as possible, spray some primer on top of the chromed areas of the wire wheels. Not so much on the wires themselves as on the metal rim the wires are attached to.
Third flaw. The axle is not symmetrical. Whoever built the axles didn't pay attention to quality control. The axle is just two bits of half inch diameter rod welded into a square channel steel bar. But one side of the axle rod is not as long as it should be. The instructions say put the two big washers on each side of the wheel, then insert the cotter pin. But on mine, that works on one side but not the other, where there is only enough room for one washer and a wheel and even then I had to hammer in the cotter pin to get it in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden Utility Cart - 400 lbs capacity

,
May 29, 2014
By BB820
from South Florida
"An awesome, very well-made product that's very easy to assemble. Everything was expertly packaged. The oversized wheels are real quality and very smoothly rolling. Though I wanted the extra size for large yard projects, I wish there was a way to tip it up on its end like a conventional wheelbarrow for easy storage. I don't want it collecting a lot of rain. That said, I recommend this model to everyone...it's very sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product at a decent price

,
May 23, 2014
By Yflyer
from SC
"I was really surprised at the quality of thePolar cart. It is very easy to load and unload, and the sloped end makes it simple to just sweep debris into the cart.
It could be improved by using polyurethane foam tires instead of the heavy solid rubber tires that come on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Garden Cart

,
October 24, 2012
By hocadobi
from Arizona
"I bought this on the recommendation that came with previous reviews. I am not disappointed in my purchase.
It was difficult to determine the exact dimensions, so here they are. The bed of the cart is 24 wide by 32 long, but add another 18 inches to the length for the lip of the cart which makes it 24 x 50 total. It is nicely balanced to move quite a heavy load. It is easy to both pull and push and turn. The bed of the cart is very sturdy and durable material. It was not difficult to assemble, as my husband did not complain one bit.
We use it to move cuttings and plant materials to a remote corner of our 5 acres where they will decompose over time. Overall I, as a mid range amateur gardener, (because I could not choose home handywoman below) am very happy with this cart!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality Product

,
October 17, 2012
By Bigfoot14
from NH
"Cart was very easy to assemble.
It is BIG, but saves a lot of trips.
Storage could be easier if handle had a quick release or hinge.
Front design helps loading and unloading materials but wish it would stand on front with no load.
Very handy, - should have bought it sooner
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great yard cart

,
August 14, 2012
By Bonn81
from Waterford, ME
"Cart was easy to assemble and solid wheels will not go flat as with other garden carts I have owned. Holds good sized load. Easy to push and dump. Stable design for loading. Love that it can be washed out from messy loads with durable plastic tub."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good cart

,
May 14, 2012
By GoDeacs
from Ahoskie, North Carolina
"I got tired of pneumatic tires going flat so when I replaced my old garden cart I purchased the Polar Utility cart. It took about an hour to assemble but no big deal. I am very pleased with the cart. It is much easier to pull/push than my old cart. Not for loads much above 400 lbs but I can still haul a good load of firewood from the pile to my house. The dumping design is good for yard work chores as well. I will buy anorther one shortly for my vacation home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
January 16, 2012
By kaspin42
from Martinsville, VA
"Very simple to put together, very tough and easy to use by my wife and I. Recommend to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cart

,
October 26, 2011
By zinziber
from Bend, OR
"This cart is easy to put together, sturdy, balanced and just all around great.
I have hauled trees, soil, rocks and lumber and it is easy to load and unload.
Surprisingly light for as sturdy as it is and the solid rubber tires are a must have, no more flat tires!
Every time I use it I say " I love this cart"
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lawn Cart Ever

,
June 13, 2011
By michdott1
from Frederick, MD
"This is a great lawn cart. It is easy to assemble and comfortable to use. I particularly like the ability to tilt the cart forward, flush to the ground, to roll in firewood rounds or slide in other heavy items. No more straining my back lifting things into a wheel borrow! The large capacity tub is great for mulch and bulky lawn debris. Large wheels roll easily over rough terrain and the large handle makes for easy pushing, pulling, and dumping. I like the thing so much that I've even bought one as a gift for a friend. I can't think of a single thing I don't like about this cart. I highly recommend this product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver!!!

,
June 13, 2011
By jjg234
from Ostrander, Ohio
"I purchased this cart because we live in the woods and my husband does alot of tree work. He is 81 years old but very very active. This cart has been truly a life-saver, unbelievably easy to move heavy loads of wood. I liked it so much I also purchased one for my son in Tennessee as he does alot of landscaping. Can't say enough good things about this product!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but with a caveat

,
June 6, 2011
By GetSet
from Louisville, KY
"The cart is great for hauling a lot of whatever, although the metal "legs" that it stands on when you put the cart down get caught on small stumps and rocks because they're so long. Also, the cart stand gets in the way when I take big steps while pushing or pulling it. Other than that, the cart works great and I can easily haul 3x as much in a trip as I can with our 2-wheel wheelbarrow. The bicycle-type tires don't go flat and roll easily over rough terrain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

width not as advertised

,
December 25, 2010
By Dozer49
from Orleans, CA
"I got the cart and put it together fairly easily and hauled wood into the basement to feed the furnace. It was a bit of a tight fit, even with a 36"-wide basement door. The dimensions for the cart are listed as 26" wide, but the body is 29 1/2" wide (may vary due to molded plastic nature), but the axle is 31 1/4" long, and that what would rip up your door jambs if your door width is too narrow. Overall, I'm very pleased with the product and think it will work out well for me. I'm just glad we have an extra-wide door!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Go To Cart

,
November 19, 2010
By Jimtheyardguy
from Southern Shores, North Carolina
"It took me a long time to find just the right yard/work cart that suits all of my needs in and around my yard and work areas. This cart is EXACTLY what I had in mind - it works well for transport of leaves, soil, building materials, firewood - anything that needs moving outside. I even used it to move my many Bonsai plants indoors before an impending storm! (The shape and roominess of the cart make it so versatile! It holds so much more than the standard yard carts.)
It's easy to move and is more stable than a wheelbarrow. My neighbors love to borrow the cart - I'm sure it will be on their Christmas lists this year!
Thanks, Northern Tool!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A VERY NICE CART

,
November 19, 2010
By MikeMal
from Long Island, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently received my Polar Sport garden/utility cart (model # 108376) and I totally agree with the other 5-star reviews. This is a well designed product with high quality, heavy duty components. I had to wait awhile for delivery as it was back-ordered. I sure am glad I didn’t switch to another cart as this product was well worth the wait!
The published specs for this cart says shipping weight is 40 pounds, but the UPS shipping label states the package was 68 pounds. I think 68 lbs is closer to the actual weight. Thanks to my UPS delivery driver, the heavy, bulky box was rolled right to my back patio, ready for assembly.
Overall unpacking, inspecting, and assembly took about 30 minutes, using only a Phillips screw driver and a socket wrench. Steps included attaching the handle (4 bolts), the legs/stand (4 bolts), the axle (2 bolts), and sliding on the wheels and attaching the removable lock pins. Alignment of the pre-drilled component holes was perfect. I did note that the bolts are slightly long leaving about 1/4 inch of exposed threads after tightening. (possible snags??) I found propping the tub upright on its front lip while attaching the parts worked best for me. Having an extra pair of hands to hold the parts in place while inserting the bolts, would have been helpful.
Functionally, the cart is a well thought-out design for all typical home owner applications. Loading, unloading, balance, and maneuvering make this cart a joy to use. The height is low enough for lifting heavy items in/out from the sides, and the elongated, sloping front allows sweep loading and dumping. A minor issue I did note is that the balance of the cart does not allow it to stand upright alone on its front lip for sweep loading when empty – it needs a little weight to hold it down. The upward slope of the wide handle is perfectly shaped for keeping the tub almost level and to minimize bending over to keep a load from falling out the front. The heavy-duty 20 inch diameter, spoked wheels with ball bearing hubs and solid rubber tires should have no problem carrying the rated load. See picture
This cart is so well made I don’t expect there will be any maintenance, other than some oil into the ball bearing wheel hubs on occasion. If a part was to fail, it’s comforting to know Polar Sport has replacements parts available, including the wheel bearings. The cart has a year limited parts warranty.
The cost of this cart is very reasonable for what you get. I look forward to many years of service. Well done Polar Sport!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 2, 2010
By ColoradoSouthEast
from Colorado
"It took no time to put it together and I started using it right away. I've used it fully loaded with wood chips, partially loaded with lumber, dirt, stones, and it moves very easily over uneven terrain. I thought the "U" shaped handles wouldn't be as useful as the standard wheelbarrow handles, but they are easier to use when pushing it or dumping a load. The shape of the front couldn't be designed better and there is a thick strong "lip" around the entire cart.
One minor problem is the intense rubber odor out of the box. I left it outside for several days and it has disappeared.
I cannot see how you would regret buying this.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful cart/barrow

,
May 27, 2010
By gearnoise
from Davidson, NC
"We have been looking for a 2nd wheelbarrow similar to our smaller large wheel one that is 20 years old for many years. This finally is it, and it is even better!
Pros:
1. Perfect wheel placement for balance and easy dumping.
2. Large diameter solid tires mean easy travel on rough ground and no flats.
3. Large volume and weight capacity and flat bottom make it great for loading yard waste, carrying plants, fertilizer, etc.
4. U shaped handle makes it safer than a normal barrow around farm animals.
Cons:
None, except that my wife has commandeered it for exclusive use around the horse barn, so now I have to buy a second one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart

,
May 24, 2010
By WorkSmart
"I had been looking a long time for a cart that would carry heavy loads without heavy lifting. With the axle set farther back toward the handle than on other carts, I can balance the load so there is no strain on my back. My perfectly good wheelbarrow now sits in a corner gathering dust. The cart was easy to assemble and is made of high-quality heavy-duty materials. I honestly don't know how I managed without it."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

,
May 24, 2010
By crowkiller
from Seattle WA
"Lightweight heavy duty and compact. This cart rolls smoothly over rough ground and fits through doorways with ease. Very large capacity for leaves and branches. Great for hauling dirt and other heavy materials. I'm sold"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Polar Sport Garden/Utility Cart - 52in.L x 26in.W, 400-Lb. Capacity, Model# 108376
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Cart

,
February 15, 2010
By PaulJ06441
from Higganum, CT
"This is my second Polar cart that I have purchased. The first one was the Polar tandem 4 wheel trailer cart. I purchased this Polar Utility cart because of the quality of the product. There is nothing better on the market. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Paul"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.