Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1

Item# 365180
This powerful chipper/shredder from DEK has a 15 HP commercial-duty engine and features a 2-way feed with an oversized funnel for leaves, an ATV or lawn tractor hitch, and a chip collection bag. Landscrapers and large lawn-owners take note: this will help you clean up and keep your waste out of a landfill. Not for sale in California. Walk or Pull: Either, Max. Cutting Thickness (in.): 4, Engine Type: Commerical duty, Engine: DEK, Chipper: Yes, Shredder: Yes, Displacement (cc): 420, HP: 15, Max. RPM: 3,600, Bagger Volume (bushels): 2, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 1.7, Material Type: Solid heavy-duty steel, Tire Size (in.): 13 x 5, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 29 1/2 x 34 x 45 Self feeds and chips up to 3 x 4in.dia. branches, turning yard waste into useful 1/4in. mulch Transforms 12 bags of yard waste into 1 bag of chips Comes with extra blade, trailer hitch, chip collection bag and a spare belt Minimal assembly required 2-way feed including over-sized funnel for leaves Belt driven with centrifugal clutch protects engine and improves ease of starting Hardened steel cutting blade and 16 hammers (extra blade included) Automatic low oil level engine shutdown Large 13in. x 5in. off-road pneumatic tires for easy transport Minimal assembly
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Review 1 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good and stable

,
March 21, 2011
By NCGardener
from Charlotte, NC
"Received delivery of the chipper as promised, about 10 days after the order. Delivery person had equipment to get the 300# box up the drive and to the garage. Fairly straightforward to assemble but directions/photos could be more clear. Really appreciate the included safety equipment.
Can, with addition of a block, tow behind lawn tractor and fairly easy to store. Created very fine chips, about 1/2 inch square. Husband is delighted with this new tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

,
October 19, 2010
By basketteT
"Really great value for a commercial chipper. Chipper bag could use some improvement, but overall an extremely high quality product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent customer service

,
July 20, 2010
By Knoxville
from KNowxville
"Purchased this chipper based on it being the best value available. Chipper has all the features that I required. Performance met all my expectations. Great buying experience and great communication with the manufacturer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant chipper

,
June 2, 2010
By Eric80302
from Boulder Colorado
"This chipper has plenty of power to shred branches. Works as advertised. Startes easy and is very stable during operation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

,
May 31, 2010
By spooler
from Orcas Island, Wa
"Does a great job on chipping. The self feeding is a must. Very easy to start.
The Shredder is for leaves only. I didn't know that when I bought the machine. It's top heavy and not easy to move around. The tow bar for the tractor works, but only on level ground and for a short distance. I have to leave it outside covered because it's too hard to put into my shed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CHIPPER

,
May 31, 2010
By LWPX
from BAHAMAS
"I BOUGHT THE DEK FOR USE IN THE BAHAMAS . IT CAME ALMOST COMPLETELY ASSEMBLED, REQUIRING ABOUT 6 BOLTS AND NUTS AND OIL. WRENCHES WERE INCLUDED. IT STARTED EASILY ON SECOND PULL. IT PRODUCED A FINE CHIP, EXCELLENT FOR MULCHING. FINER THAN STORE BOUGHT MULCH. IT ELIMINATED OUR NEED AND COST FOR REMOVING OR BURNING, AN ENVIORNMENTAL PLUS. THE UNIT PAID FOR ITSELF. THE ENGINE IS POWERFUL AND DOESN'T STRAIN WHILE CHIPPING.TtHERE IS AN EASY TO CLEAR EXIT CHUTE AND UNLESS YOU ARE REALLY BRAINLESS, SAFE. ACTUALLY ENJOYABLE TO USE WITH GREAT RESULTS,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid chipper

,
February 18, 2010
By ClaytonM
from Michigan
"This chipper has done everything I needed and more. I've had tons of branches down over my 3 acres. It ran almost all day the first day out of the box with no problems. Mine also has no issues hitched up to me John Deere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointment

,
December 2, 2009
By cchasjh
from rocky mount, va
"The overall engineering of this product is poor. First off, its top heavy which makes it difficult to maneuever. When the chipper is attached to an ATV to move, the support stand, which is directly opposite to the hitch, is not elevated off the ground, so it digs into the ground. This, along with the top heaviness causes the chipper to easily tip as it's being moved. Larger tires, refiguration of the support system might ease this problem. Secondly, the leave hopper constantly clogs up. Thirdly, the branches have to practically be totally trimmed of smaller branches in order to go into the hopper. The hopper is too small. A 14hp engine should be capable to accept , not actually larger branches, but limbs with branches. One large hopper located where the limb hopper is, should be enough. Finally, the chip discharge constantly gets clogged. A chute to discharge the chips should not be optional. Overall, I was extremely disappointed in this product that is advertised as commercial grade. If I may, I would like to thank Liz(supervisor with customer service} for her attention with this matter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
October 3, 2009
By Handy2002
from Grand Blanc
"I have used this shredder for about 3 weeks and I can't say enough good things about it. Does everything I need with the 14 HP engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shredder

,
September 26, 2009
By Gonzales
from Texas
"“I purchased this chipper because it has a 14 hp engine, much bigger than other products in the market. When it arrived, I was quite impressed by how big the chipper was! Because the engine is so big, don’t expect to be able to pull it easily if you’re a small person. No complaints here!”"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chipper

,
August 15, 2009
By HOMEWOMAN
from Surry, VA
"Tthe DEK Chipper/Shredder CH1 is great. From the first time using it, did a really nice job. Have a lot of ground to cover. Took care of undergrowth, branches and leaves. I was able to recapture my yard by cutting back sapplings and briars. Made nice mulch for all my blueberry bushes, fruit trees, etc. Purchasing through Northern Tool was smooth, and easy. Employees work with you and are wonderful to work with. The manual is generic in nature; however, once you have a party extension and call DEK the employees there are helpful, courteous and friendly which is a plus.. With the chipper/shredder you receive ear protection, safety goggles and gloves, a set of wrenches, a nice funnel which is somewhat unique for the oil plus a tool for the spark plug which makes it easy to take out and put back in. You alway get an extra blade and extra belt. Changing oil would be nicer if it had a nipple adaptor to extend out some. Gave my neighbors mulch for their plants and in return got some homemade lunches and baked goodies. A very satisfied "handywoman"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

14 Horses

,
June 17, 2009
By james4321
from Maine
"I bought this DEK Chipper based on the engine output (14hp), and it did not dissapoint. Chipper hasn't bogged down yet. Leaves, pine cones, branches, you name it. Chews through everything and my yard looks great! Much improved over my last 10hp chipper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DEK Commercial-Grade Chipper/Shredder - 15 HP, Model# CH1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chipper

,
June 16, 2009
By BrandonW
from Ohio
"I received my DEK Chipper and immediately starting using it. I rebuilt my deck this spring and wanted to try and reuse the old deck as wood chips in the yard. The DEK Chipper tore through them without a problem. Happy customer here."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.