Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"

"Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"

Item# 365341
"Tow-behind aerator/spreader is a dual-action time saver. The heavy-duty aerator perforates the ground while a high-quality drop-spreader puts seed, lime or fertilizer directly into the soil. Spikes qty. 132, Weight Capacity lbs. 100, Overall Width in. 51, Aerator Type Spike, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2, Spike Length in. 2, Working Width in. 40, Application Aerator. Aerates and spreads seed, fertilizer or lime at the same time Heavy-duty nylon spacers for maximum strength and dependability Calibrated flow control with adjustable stop feature 132 galvanized steel tines on 8in. discs penetrate up to 2 inches, stay sharp and won't rust Direct train drive prevents skips when dropping granular material Durable tubular steel framing and drawbars 18-ga. welded steel hopper minimizes twisting and flexing when loaded 100-lb. hopper capacity 9in. poly tires Hitch pin included Assembly required 37 1/2in.L x 51in.W x 18in.H"
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Review 1 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aerator Spreader

,
July 1, 2015
By R6262
from New Jersey
" This Aerator Spreader is one of my favorite lawn care products. It is extremely simple to assemble and operate. I actually had my 10 year old daughter operate the tractor with the spreader. I used it after a nice rain when the soil was damp and the aerators worked perfectly and the settings on the spreader were perfect. It rolls smoothly and stores easily in my shed. I highly recommend this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader

,
May 29, 2015
By BGW7777777
from Apple Valley, MN
" Love the concept of an aerator and spreader combo unit and I thought the unit worked really well. I do have a few suggestions for the next generation of this product:
1) Make the spikes a little wider so a bigger hole plug is made.
2) I am concerned about the long term performance of the wheels. Would suggest wider tires that would hold some air.
3) The handle to open and close the spreader should extend longer towards the tractor because one really has to strain to reach it.
4) Design a better system to raise and lower the spikes because one has to currently get on and off the tractor each time the unit is raised and lowered.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

aerator/spreader

,
April 23, 2013
By aokruss
from iowa
" This work very good and easy to use, will be the way I seed from now on. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good but know its limits, is not an aerator

,
April 23, 2013
By bigred77chevy
from pa
" Item should just be sold as a drop spreader! as the tines are so thin they dont really do anything, and seed or fertilizer is not heavy enough to make tines pennitrate the softest of lawns. Only other problem for me is on off handle is to short but I pull it with a large garden tractor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spreader - Food plots

,
August 20, 2012
By BRICHTER
from Michigan
" Spreader worked great for spreading seed, lime, and fertilizer. Our group put in four food plots using this spreader. Nice product. Pulled with an AVT. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

,
August 13, 2012
By BubbaD
from Ohio
" I purchased this item to aerate and spread seed on 2 one acre food plots I have. By the time I was done with the first pass half of the aerator tines were bent. It may work well on a well manintined lawn but not for my application. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aerator

,
May 7, 2012
By Shuffy
from South Carolina
" Very economical and very easy to put together. The packaging is the only thing that needed some work! Box was coming apart when delivered and the tines were sticking thru! Directions were very adequate and the hardware was all seperated for each step of the directions!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brinly/Hardly

,
June 1, 2010
By Yardman03301
from Concord, NH
" Have had this item for several years and it works well. My lot is 2 1/2 acres and this product saves me some time. Did have some problems putting it together, but I'm retired so the extra time was not an issue. If you have hard soil consider the PA48-BH. It will doing a better job. And if your putting grass seed down I'd use the roller Northern has. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Aerator/Spreader - 40in., Model# AS-40BH"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

It doesn't work

,
April 19, 2009
By larrh7
from Indiana
" This thing doesn't work like it should. It is supposed to aerate your yard and then seed at the same time. For one thing it isn't heavy enough to do much. It is spring and my yard is plenty soft but it don't go down in the ground far enough. The seed don't go down into the holes that it does make either. I noticed that most of them are just on top of the ground. Don't buy this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
22out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.