Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH

Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH

Item# 365342
This Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper is a a great all-around tool for landscaping, gardening and other yardwork. This solid piece of landscaping equipment can do anything that a box scraper can, but can also be modified for blade-only use, letting you move gravel, sand, snow, mulch and more, fill holes, spread topsoil and remove roots and other unwanted debris with very little effort. Frame Material Steel, Reversible Yes, Hitch Type Sleeve, Blade Material Heavy-duty carbon steel, Blade Size L x W in. 35 x 38, Adjustable Yes, Product Style Box scraper blade. Compact design with 38in. working width attaches to garden tractors and is easily maneuvered through tight spaces Multi-use functionality for grading, backfilling and moving dirt, gravel, sand and snow Scarifier bar allows you to easily move and level materials Convert into a rear blade by removing side plates and scarifier bar Standard weight trays hold additional weight for tougher jobs Heavy center-mounted C-frame and carbon blade means this tool will last for generations Scraper and blade angles lock at 30in either direction to push instead of pull Requires sleeve hitch from tractor manufacturer not included
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 16(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Review 1 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works

,
February 6, 2014
By SuperDave7
from chicago,Il
"Loved it; worked great. I used this to put my backyard back together. My yard was dug up for a sewer repair. after the back hoe back filled I still had large areas that were uneven (high and Low) also there was a lot dirt compacted to the ground from the back hoe. I used this box blade with a 14hp riding mower and turf tires to level and scrap everything. I moved tons of dirt around. I also used it to cut a swale on my property to direct rain fall run off. This thing is not a bulldozer but it will scrap, hold and drag large amounts of dirt from point to point. A serious labor saver. Things to know: I live in suburbia and we have hard clay soil here. I used one cinder block. This thing has a small ripper bar; it works however I cut my own holes in the sideplates so I could lower the teeth further in the ground. The blade alone will slide over grass without biting into the earth so you'll need to make multiple passes or rip through it first with a cultivator/ ripping device. Go slow; you will fill the blade faster and fuller. I had my mower set to 1/2 throttle and this was plenty of power. Don't forget you need a sleeve hitch to attach this to your riding mower(that's how you raise and lower it). Keep in mind your right arm is going to get a work out from raising and lower this thing but the average guy will be fine. Lastly my mower is a hydro drive so I had lots of easy low speed control, I spent 6 hr on the thing. I don't know what it would be like on a manual riding mower. Finally go buy one of those spinner balls(suicide knobs) for the steering wheel you'll appreciate it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Brinly Hardy Box Scraper

,
February 5, 2014
By SRD2002
from California
"The box scraper is excellent for light duty such as levelling the soft material in an arena. To do heavier levelling requires a significant amount of weight piled on. Only problem is the arm attaching to your hitch becomes very wiggly. I ratchet strapped mine down to prevent the bar from comming loose. If you need to do anything other than LIGHT levelling, get a tractor and a 3 point attachment. The scarifier does not break up hard soils to any mentionable depth either..again, good implement for light duty. For the price, it is good for the types of light chores I mentioned."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

limited ability lots a slop in the arm

,
July 3, 2013
By 1146markm
"Didn't really need a heavy duty so bought this...Started to assemble but the holes were drilled at the factory way off and i had to re-drill my own!! Thought I may be putting it together wrong but nope they welded the fittings together backwards..No problem but a pain..Once assembled the mechanism has a lot of play and no strength so it wanders all over the place when grading...I ended up welding gussets and redesigning the way its adjusted...now it works the way it should..My recommendation is spend the extra $100 and get the Agri-fab...poor design and sloppy parts...Must be getting cheap labor to build these..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

While you are assembling.........

,
May 30, 2013
By DBWman
from Central Vermont
"Scraper went together easily...a little awkward for one person...get a helper or use the "balancing technique" as I did.
Save yourself some work...on one side of the "rake"
( where it slides into the slot on the side piece), there is a hole for a shear pin and a hole on the outside for a ring-clip/ Before it gets bent and falls out, drill a hole in the other end of the rake on the outside...and pin it too!
I actually bolted a sleeve on the scraper frame, and installed a trailer-jack wheel with several holes to adjust height and to be able to move the scraper without it engaged. Buy one you will enjoy it!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth The Money

,
May 19, 2013
By RG61
from Eastern No Carolina
"Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in works great with a 650 cc ATV no problems with the hitch. Did a great job of grading an existing stone drive @ 100 -feet . Easy to assemble , next it will be used to grade around the septic field."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tired back in Pa.

,
April 23, 2013
By 72geo
from Pennsylvania
"I am really surprised how well this works!! I spread 5 ton of top soil in a couple of hours. I also leveled hard ground with it, the tines really dug in and the blade leveled it. I did add about 40 lbs to it. It wasn't hard to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little Blade

,
July 2, 2012
By Welderr
from Northwest N.J.
"First off this a light little blade it is not a bull dozer so if thats what your expecting forget it. It works great for yard and garden landscaping projects. I use it mainly as a rear blade and have spread a lot of top soil and driveway stone with it. I also use it in the barn to pull muck out of the corners that I cant reach with the Skidsteer. If I want to move a lot of dirt out of an area I hit it with the tiller first and follow with the blade it levels really nice too. My sleeve hitch has sway bolts so side to side sway is not an issue."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brineley Box Scraper

,
March 14, 2011
By bugstoo
from South Carolina
"Received box scraper in a box and required easy assembly. It will work best if you use a hitch point. I used this box scraper on a zero turn commercial grade tractor and appears to perform well. This last snow storm, I removed the side plates from the box scraper and used it to plow my driveway clean."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the time or money

,
October 10, 2010
By Chewy864
from La Barge, Wy, Jack of all trades, 30+ yrs.
"Don't bother with it, first box scraper was damaged, was sent another one. It took a couple hours to put together by my self. Another pair of hands would have been better. Even with 2 concrete blocks on the back would not dig into rock and dirt driveway. My wife stood on the back on the blocks then it started to work. No real control of the scraper swaying back and forth without 200lbs on the scraper. Save your money and your time, find someone with a grader to do it. Very Unhappy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

,
June 1, 2010
By bdkcu
from Southwest New Mexico
"I bought this to use behind a lawn tractor with a drag hitch - no sleeve hitch is made for that model lawn tractor. First - it went together smoothly, instructions were clear and easy to follow - no missing parts, no special tools needed and the instructions listed the tools required for assembly. Second - a spare 3/8" hitchpin and it was connected! No muss, no fuss, no sleeve hitch, no expensive extra anything!!! So I started pulling up goatheads (seriously bad weeds) in my 6.7 acres. Even with the relatively narrow blade width, with a little experimentation on weights and a tractor that shouldn't have worked with this - it works GREAT. I'm clearing about an acre in two hours. I didn't expect this performance given the low price and questionable attachment to my tractor. I am IMPRESSED!! This is my first Brinly - it won't be my last."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
amastertech
MN 
 
Please wait while more information about amastertech is loaded.
Additional information about amastertech could not be loaded.
box drag
August 14, 2012
"I bought this one for my lawn tractor and also got a sleeve hitch, they where easy to install and worked better than expectations. Great tool for driveways and other plots that need to keep bare and smooth."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Box scraper

,
June 1, 2010
By AZDave
from Prescott, AZ
"This little thngs works great. I have two acres with rutting from water damage due to poor engeneering. I mada few passes without the block on the back and it still worked. Remember to go slow and cross paths for best effects. It's worh the money! Putting it together wasn't too bad but you might find a helper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!

,
February 22, 2010
By Mark29708
from Fort Mill, SC
"Easy to put together, sturdy, tines wear down quickly...but overall worked great! Regraded my whole driveway, and it cameout wonderful. I would recommend this product to anyone, especially for the price...you can't beat it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Box Scrapper Model# BS-38BH

,
February 15, 2010
By Limabean
from Erda, Utah
"Unit was easy to assemble and went together with just a few toolsin about one hour. I used it as a rear mounted scrapper blade on my ATV and made quick work of leveling a 50 x 150 ft. weed infested arena. I did encounter two problems. 1. The block rack is not very big and my concrete block barely fit . I couldn't bolt down the block without offsetting it so I never secured it. 2nd problem was the entire unit wanted to shift from side to side especially when turning. I had to purchase extra hardened pins to stabilize it better. Overall, a good product and a good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product for the money

,
February 15, 2010
By karmiller
from Lakeside, Arizona
"I purchased this to set up with my 18 hp craftsman lawn tractor and had no major problems building my own attachment and hooking a winch up to it. I used it to level out the ground where I had my septic redone and then to spread gravel for the driveway. The scraper worked flawlessly. Assembly was easy and the instructions were also very easy to follow. Very easy to attach and reattach to the mower. Next I will be adding an adaptor to the front of the mower so that I can use it as a snow plow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good

,
November 17, 2009
By Geary
from St Charles Iowa
"Perhaps if you lived in Florida or Wisconsin where sand driveways are common this piece of equipment might work. On a gravel drive, it just bounces along and finally shakes apart without having any impact on the gravel, even with two cement blocks as weight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOORE THAN BRAGANED FOR

,
August 9, 2009
By PAGARDNERMAN
from BUTLER,PA
"THE BOX SCRAPER WAS MADE VERY STURDY. WELL BRACED AND CONSTRUCTED. IT TOOK ONLY 3 DAYS TO RECIEVE IT AND 15 MIN TO PUT IT TOGETHER. I ADDED 1 CONCRETE BLOCK AND IT LEVELED AND SMOOTHED OUT A LOT OF DRIVEWAYS AND AREAS IN THE YARD. YOU CANT GO WRONG FOR THE MONEY. I EVEN ADDED A ELECTRIC WINCH TO LIFT AND LOWER IT. IT IS AN AWSOME SET UP. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO TRY IT , YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinly-Hardy Box Scraper - 38in. Working Width, Model# BS-38BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tool

,
July 14, 2009
By Rob24
from Las Vegas
"I have 40 acres near Yucca Arizona where my wife, & sometimes my kids, and I go camping for up to a week at a time for the last 12 years or so. We kind of made our own winding road ( aprox a quarter mile) by driving back and forth over and over again and again every time we are there! This scraper,attached to one of our Polaris 325 Quads, in about one hour made our road smooth and wider as we now have a toy hauler which requires a little more room to turn back and forth than our little pull behind trailer. It actually looks like a road grader was used ! I am very happy with this product and its ease of use ! Was able to scrape away bushes & cactus. Good , strong , heavy duty , product !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.