Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"

"Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"

Item# 365344
"Incredible 175-lb. capacity makes this spreader ideal for areas 1 acre and larger. 3.5 cu. ft. spreader applies granular seed and chemical materials to keep your lawn vibrant and growing strong. Can also be used to spread sand, salt and other melting materials to keep your walkways safe during the winter. The spread pattern control feature makes it easy to direct your materials. Made of durable, rustproof polyethylene to last long and stand up to even the most corrosive materials. Frame Construction Steel, Hopper Material Poly, Load Capacity lbs. 175, Recommended Media Salt, sand, granular material, Variable Speed Yes, Mount Type Tow-behind. In summer use your spreader to spread granular seeds, chemical materials and more In winter use your spreader to apply sand, salt and other melting agents Incredible 175-lb. capacity makes this spreader ideal for areas 1 acre and larger Flow control with adjustable opening Patented directional spread pattern control Durable steel frame Fully enclosed, rust-resistant gearbox 14in.dia. x 4in.W wheels handle varying terrain"
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Review 1 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great for me

,
December 4, 2014
By recyling
from St. Louis, MO
" I am using this spreader to pull behind my fourwheeler and using it to salt my parking lot. it works awesome. very happy with it "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super spreader

,
September 20, 2014
By love2fly
from northern Maine
" I've had this spreader for over 3 years and use it primarily to spread fertilizer on my 4 acre lawn and runway but have also used it for grass seed. Since my lawn tractor has a full cab, I mounted an electric actuator to open and close the flow from inside my cab. This spreader has worked flawlessly. Since fertilizer will corrode things I always rinse it clean after each use. I highly recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
May 9, 2014
By Ed36
from Ipswich MA
" Having a spreader that can handle 150# of material saves a lot of on and off the tractor refilling a smaller reservoir. The settings are clear, and the off/on bar positive in both directions. The most surprising thing was the installation instructions and the parts required. Not only were the instructions quite clear, but the parts were shrink-wrapped to a cardboard with each part identified, in sequence with the instructions. None of this sorting through a bag of stuff, trying to figure out which bolt is the one referred to. It took me 30 mins to assemble, but I didn't make any false moves. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stabile Attachment from Spreader to $ Wheeler

,
October 15, 2012
By stevieboy1968
from Sandersville, MS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Unless this spreader is strictly for flat smooth ground, there is one real problem. The upper and lower "flat" metal that is to hold the spreader (with up to 175 pounds of ....") is on top of a round tube! What are the chances of there being a good grip? The upper and lower support for the tow tube should be a strong TUBULAR shaped support. After one use on a ground with a few dips, it rolled over to the right and emptied seed. Then to the left and emptied seed. I mean like laying on its side with the flat bar upper and lower "connecter" looking like a peeled banana facing opposite directions. Most of my 5 acres of rows were not "spread", only dropped in a 18 inch path, which may be my fault in the level of the propeller pan to the hole. It may have been too tight? I don't know, but the first 50 pounds was slung as appropriate, and I didn't change things. I've written service for support, and hopefully a better support upper and lower to keep the spreader connected so that it will remain horizontal in spreading the seed for my horse pasture.
It is well made and structurally sound except for this one issue, and easy to put together, even for me.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This spreader ROCKS

,
June 14, 2011
By don12
from Chester, NH
" Used this unit for two seasons and its proven itself again and again. From the ease of changing settings while on the run to the large hopper I've found it to outperform all others.
Would recommend it highly.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plastic Gears!

,
June 13, 2011
By Hartsell
" I used this product three times before the gears stripped. Call Brinly-Hardy and they were VERY helpful and sent whole new gear assembly. Unfortunately, still plastic and stripped again!
For the cost and the quality of all other parts, they really need to go with a better gear assembly. Would NOT buy again! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the price

,
June 6, 2011
By rcjohns
from kansas city
" What I like about this spreader as compared to others that I have tried is the settings stay put and seem to be very accurate. Other spreaders in this price range tend to close down or restrict the output after several passes. When you close the plate on this machine it dose not leak a pain with other less rigid machines. This unit is a fine spreader, heavy duty and I doubt I will need to replace it for many years. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BH spreader

,
June 6, 2011
By countyfarmer
" Very well packed for shipment; easy to assemble and does an excellent job in putting down grass seed and fertilizer. We even pulled this by hand when the lawntractor was not available. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

,
June 5, 2011
By Westcoastguy
from North west
" I used the spreader for fertilizer on my 2 acres of grass. So far I have used it on three different brands of fertilizer and the spreader handles them all just fine. Upon completing the assemply, I used the spreader immediately. After a few runs I noticed one tire was flat. There is no tube with the tire, so I used a long crank strap to compress the tire so it would seat on the rim. Then I had no problem inflating the time. So if you buy this product, check the air pressure on the tire before use. :) "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For us

,
March 22, 2011
By RogerV
from Monroe, Michigan
" It has worked well for us. My only problem was the fasteners on the sliding plate were steel which rusted and wouldn't allow the plate to move. I replaced them with stainless and all is well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost great

,
March 21, 2011
By Coastie48
" The carton stated "assembles in 30 minutes or less." After two and a half hours of trying to get the wheels on the axle, I gave up. The axle and the inside of one of the wheel bearings were badly burred. Fortunately I have a friend with a machine shop, and he ground the axle for me, and the wheels went on in 30 seconds. On the plus side, the way the small parts are packaged in sealed labeled panels is a real plus. I've fertilized my 5 acres, and it works well "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seed and Fertilizer

,
October 25, 2010
By Rebel702
from Joplin, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I purchased this unit based upon other reviews. I was impressed with the care that Brinly takes in packaging and shipping and felt that this showed their quality control focus. I was not disappointed. Assembly time was approximately 90 mins. with simple tools and socket set. Other reviews mentioned having to redo the axle assembly. Note in the instructions about using multiple washers on one or both sides if needed for a tight fit. I installed two washers on the left side wheel (looking from the back)
I have used the spreader for 200lbs. of fescue grass seed and 200lbs. of pellet fertilizer and was quite happy with its coverage. Setting the spreader at 3.25 for seed applying at 8lbs per 1000 sq allowed for multiple passes and even distribution. Fert was spread at 2lbs per 1000sq using a 2.75 setting, again getting 3 direction passes for even coverage. The unit handled 50 lbs of seed with no problem and no clogs (about the max hopper could hold). The max I needed for fert each time was 50 lbs but this was only about half a hopper load (I was refurbishing an acre home site in sections). Next spring when I need to fert I should be able to fill the hopper with 150 lbs and do the entire lot (this depends on your application rate of course). I do like having the left/center/right spreading capability and did try it to start. However, once I got my speed and spread experience I just adjusted my proxity to edges rather than taking time to get off the tractor.
I pulled the spreader w/ my Kubota BX2660 tractor using a draw bar on the rear pto. I did need to reverse the hitch plates for the spreader so it was wide enough to fit on the drawbar. With this hitch method the unit is sitting back further so I used a 4ft 1x2 bungeed to the spreader handle to open and close the hopper as needed. I will work on a more permanent handle extension. This is something Brinly should address for these larger size spreaders. The unit was very stable even traveling over side slopes and making tight turns. I do suggest keeping the setting knob loose when not using the unit. This will keep the flex washer from getting flattened over time. The setting knob was very positive and keeps its place even with a strong pull while I was sitting on the tractor.
Overall, this spreader worked as I expected and appears to be strong enough to last. I spent six months comparing units and waiting for NT to put it on sale, just enough to cover shipping. I feel it is a good value if you have more than a half acre of turf to maintain. I don't have to deal with snow or ice spreading so I cannot address those applications. I do use a vegetable cooking spray to maintain the unit so the lubrication does not effect seed or turf (tip from another reviewer). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spreader

,
June 2, 2010
By garagehobbyist
from MN
" A very good spreader easy to adjust and use, gives an even broadcast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly Seed Spreader

,
June 2, 2010
By Sammy2
from Florida
" I bought my first Brinly six years ago and it has worked great !
I probably put down over 7,000 pounds of seed and fertilizer a year on my horse farm and it has never failed to perform perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and will buy another one when needed . . .
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Spreader

,
February 22, 2010
By DRMUDD
from Mead, WA
" This took about 90 minutes to assemble, however the directions were about as uncomplicated as it comes. each step had all the fasteners & components neatly sealed in order of the steps. I need the spreader to re-seed partial small pastures that my horses killed off. I'll also use to fertilized. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

365344 Spreader

,
August 13, 2009
By SpongeBob
from CT
" Pros
1. This is a bigger spreader than it looked. It will easily hold 3 bags of fertilizer. However, I am glad it is bigger than it looked.
2. It seems to be well constucted.
3. It had very good assy. instructions. (Which is needed because there is a lot to assemble.) The parts were laid out in a bubble pack. The best lay out I have ever seen. The parts are layed out in the order you need them from top to bottom on the bubble pack. This was well thought out and made the assembly easy.
4. During use it worked well.
5. One reason I picked this spreader is because the hopper lookes to be lower than most and this wil decrease the chance of tiping on side hills, which I have.
Cons
1. Lots of parts to assemble. It took a while to assemble, but it was not hard to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brinly-Hardy Broadcast Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# BS36BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spreader

,
March 23, 2009
By grandpabob
from Hendersonville,NC
" I purchased this speader last fall and did'nt use it until this week,worked great!
I would recommend it absolutly.Good price too.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.