Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"

"Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"

Item# 365345
"This Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow uses eight 11in. disk blades to turn rough, plowed soil in to uniform, pulverized, plant-ready soil for your garden and landscaping needs. Disk angle can be set at 10, 15 or 20 to apply the correct amount of pressure needed. Application Disk harrow, Disc Diameter in. 11, Disc Type Steel, Working Width in. 29-39. Eight 11in. disk blades turn rough, plowed soil in to uniform, pulverized, plant-ready soil for your garden and landscaping needs Disks are made of 13-gauge steel Angle disks at 10, 15 or 20 to deliver the proper force Working width adjusts from 29 to 39in.W Requires a sleeve hitch from your tractor's manufacturer not included to attach to garden tractors Zerk grease fittings on disk hangers Steel frame supports extra weight to break the toughest ground Rust resistant Practically maintenance free"
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Review 1 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Disc harrow

,
October 5, 2014
By XTStinger
from Dewittville, New York
"Works well when ground is all ready loosened up. Just got to remember this goes on a single one point hitch. Putting weight on it is a must. Great for those smaller plots way out in hard to reach areas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Rugged

,
September 20, 2014
By love2fly
from northern Maine
"I bolted two pipe flanges on the flat surface and added two 12" pipes on which I slide 280 lbs. of barbell weights and this thing cuts through sod. I tow a seeder behind it and use the combination to reseed areas of my lawn that have had winter kill or are just weak. The set up works great. An improvement would be a flip down set of wheels (which I've homemade and added) so I can tow it behind my lawn tractor when not on an area I want to disk up, such as my driveway.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product

,
May 28, 2014
By JediandWife
from Missouri
"We are new at farming and have 3 acres. This product has been a wonderful addition. We have used it over and over in order to re-plant hay and clover for our horse. Thank you so much."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little Harrow

,
August 13, 2012
By Madhater
from Gardner, MA
"This harrow is great if your dirt has been dug up in prior time.
You really need the extra weight on it. But it works great.
My garden is small 50' x 50' and in dose a great job.
Don't have a 3 point hitch on my tractor yet but I just leave it on the side of the field any ways.
Next thing I'm going to get is the plow. Will have to make a 3 point hitch then.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
June 11, 2012
By Madhater52
from MA
"Went together easy. jusst needed some adjusting when I started useing it. Had the disks to tight. Deffently needed the weights. Left good workable soil to hoe up. Would have given it 5 stars. But didn't dig as deep as I would have liked it. But good enough for now. Deffently better than doing it by hand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

disc harrow

,
May 12, 2012
By theRep50
from Newport Mi.
"Very easy to assemble and weight easliy added but pre - sharppening should be included in instructions , other than adding length to hitch it is excellent for my small deer food plot !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great disc if soil loose/ wet, or worked previous

,
May 7, 2012
By bubbasouth
from searcy ar.
"This disc is very well made and I expect it to last years. Easy to assembly, but watch the pics in directions carefully to see if they match your set up for assembly order. I intend to get another soon to make faster work of pasture work under and around oak trees by having two units. It will do for the 3.7 acres here in central Arkansas and it pulls easy with the lawn tractor, but watch the rear tires on each and every turn. I will extend the hitch length for extra protection on turns so disc does not climb up and remove me from the seat! The grease zerks on two sides was nice touch in manufacturing a great tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disc harrow

,
June 15, 2011
By dan92979
from South Carolina
"I use this disc on my food plot and it seems to work great with a few adjustments.I had to make the hitch longer and ad a lot of weight. For the money it works great with small jobs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Food Plot Disc

,
June 6, 2011
By whitetailjct
from Porterfield, WI
"I bought this to work on food plots at our deer property. I thought it worked really well for the money. Others have recommended more weight and I have to agree. I built a small box and filled it with sand, and that gives me both weight and portability. I also recommend extending the hitch. this will allow you to turn tighter corners , without interference with the rear wheels.
Good product.....I am planning to purchase another to attach to the rear of this one!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HARDY DISK HARROW

,
March 14, 2011
By TUFFY5115
from FLORIDA
"JUST LIKE THE NAME IMPLYS, THIS THING IS HEAVY DUTY, EASY TO ASSEMBLE ,JUST THE RIGHT SIZE TO BE PULLED WITH RIDING MOWER OR SMALL GARDEN TRACTOR .MY WIFE USED HER GOLF CART TO PULL IT , SEE HOW I GET OUT OF WORK LOL .I SHOPED AROUND THIS WAS THE BEST FOR THE MONEY. GARDEN IS READY TO PLANT SEE YA"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GreaT Product

,
February 25, 2010
By rlmex
from Demopolis Al
"Its more than i thought it was ,i will order one more to make a complete disks.Thanks for having a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent

,
October 19, 2009
By Anonymous
from Pa
"The unit itself is well constructed. It takes a lot of weight (more than the weight pan can hold) to get it to dig in deep enough to make a difference. It will not replace a roto tiller. Does a great job in already loosened soil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow

,
July 22, 2009
By weldon99
from Milam, Texas
"I found this equipment to do what it says. I have used it for food plots in East Texas Piney Woods.
You really need to add a lot of weight. I added a box to fit the holder and filled it with cement.
I also added an extention to the tow bar as it was too close to the back of my 4 wheeler.
I also sharpened the edges somewhat.
All in all, a good value for the money and idea for making food plots!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 20, 2009
By Kennedybay
from Alabama
"These disk work great to break up the ground for a garden or food plot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Godd little disk

,
March 25, 2009
By stalynn74
from Kentucky
"It does the job well. Well made it is made of steel, but not to heavy to pick up. You have to add a good amount of weight. 100lbs at least. Great for making food plots or small gardens. Good for tight spaces and excellent for ATV use. The sleeve hitch is not needed if you have a pin type hole on your ATV or you could fabricate a trailer ball hitch to your disc."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.