Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"

"Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"

Item# 365345
"This Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow uses eight 11in. disk blades to turn rough, plowed soil in to uniform, pulverized, plant-ready soil for your garden and landscaping needs. Disk angle can be set at 10, 15 or 20 to apply the correct amount of pressure needed. Product Type Disk harrow, Disc Type Steel, Working Width in. 29-39, Disc Diameter in. 11. Eight 11in. disk blades turn rough, plowed soil in to uniform, pulverized, plant-ready soil for your garden and landscaping needs Disks are made of 13-gauge steel Angle disks at 10, 15 or 20 to deliver the proper force Working width adjusts from 29 to 39in.W Requires a sleeve hitch from your tractor's manufacturer not included to attach to garden tractors Zerk grease fittings on disk hangers Steel frame supports extra weight to break the toughest ground Rust resistant Practically maintenance free"
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Review 1 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right tool

,
May 18, 2016
By
from Mayo, FL
Just what I needed to run between the rows of corn, beans and onions to kill weeds. Pulled by my lawn mower it is great for my one quarter acre garden.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Disk Harrow

,
March 24, 2016
By
from Eustis, FL
First of all it was very easy to put the Disk Harrow together. It is very well made, great quality material.
Used today for the first time to disk a pasture to plant grass seed. Very easy to use and does a great job here in the Florida sand. However, I had horse manure on top of the sand, to assist disking the manure into the sand I added a small concrete block, worked great.
I highly recommend this product and it is at a very responsible price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to assemble

,
March 22, 2016
By
from Varina, VA
Very easy to assemble, was finished within half an hour. Placed a cut section of railroad iron I inherited from my brother in law on top for addional weight. The discs cut through the moderate ground of a three year old garden, down to between an inch and an inch and a half. Broke up the roots good enough to rake up and discard last years stems and roots from the end of the season. (Keep in mind I burned off the surface growth before running the disc over the garden.)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets er done

,
December 5, 2015
By
from idaho
My garden is the size of an average suburb yard with hard clay soil. This unit pulls fine behind my 15 horse lawn tractor without any special hitch on the mower. I strap a 15 gallon barrel on the unit and fill it halfway with water for weight. It takes several passes but works the soil up very nice and deep. It is very well built and I expect it to last for many years. I will never touch a tiller again now that I own this unit. Specially with my bad back!!! For anything over an acre you would be crazy to buy this, you need bigger/ heavier.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
By BrinlyCustomerServiceFebruary 25, 2016
We are glad to hear your apart of the 5 star Brinly team!!! "Get ER Done" Brinly
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disc

,
April 28, 2015
By
from wyoming
easy to assemble needs weight to dig into unploughed soils but does a nice job on plowed or tilled garden and lawn
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

,
February 25, 2015
By
from Texas
This disk worked just like I though it would very good. You have to add extra weigh but I knew I would and you should really plow the ground first. I used a 12'' moldboard plow with a sleeve hitch and a 18 hp 4wd tractor that worked very well. Thanks
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Disc harrow

,
October 5, 2014
By
from Dewittville, New York
Works well when ground is all ready loosened up. Just got to remember this goes on a single one point hitch. Putting weight on it is a must. Great for those smaller plots way out in hard to reach areas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Rugged

,
September 20, 2014
By
from northern Maine
I bolted two pipe flanges on the flat surface and added two 12" pipes on which I slide 280 lbs. of barbell weights and this thing cuts through sod. I tow a seeder behind it and use the combination to reseed areas of my lawn that have had winter kill or are just weak. The set up works great. An improvement would be a flip down set of wheels (which I've homemade and added) so I can tow it behind my lawn tractor when not on an area I want to disk up, such as my driveway..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product

,
May 28, 2014
By
from Missouri
We are new at farming and have 3 acres. This product has been a wonderful addition. We have used it over and over in order to re-plant hay and clover for our horse. Thank you so much.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little Harrow

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Gardner, MA
This harrow is great if your dirt has been dug up in prior time.
You really need the extra weight on it. But it works great.
My garden is small 50' x 50' and in dose a great job.
Don't have a 3 point hitch on my tractor yet but I just leave it on the side of the field any ways.
Next thing I'm going to get is the plow. Will have to make a 3 point hitch then.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
June 11, 2012
By
from MA
Went together easy. jusst needed some adjusting when I started useing it. Had the disks to tight. Deffently needed the weights. Left good workable soil to hoe up. Would have given it 5 stars. But didn't dig as deep as I would have liked it. But good enough for now. Deffently better than doing it by hand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

disc harrow

,
May 12, 2012
By
from Newport Mi.
Very easy to assemble and weight easliy added but pre - sharppening should be included in instructions , other than adding length to hitch it is excellent for my small deer food plot !
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great disc if soil loose/ wet, or worked previous

,
May 7, 2012
By
from searcy ar.
This disc is very well made and I expect it to last years. Easy to assembly, but watch the pics in directions carefully to see if they match your set up for assembly order. I intend to get another soon to make faster work of pasture work under and around oak trees by having two units. It will do for the 3.7 acres here in central Arkansas and it pulls easy with the lawn tractor, but watch the rear tires on each and every turn. I will extend the hitch length for extra protection on turns so disc does not climb up and remove me from the seat! The grease zerks on two sides was nice touch in manufacturing a great tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disc harrow

,
June 15, 2011
By
from South Carolina
I use this disc on my food plot and it seems to work great with a few adjustments.I had to make the hitch longer and ad a lot of weight. For the money it works great with small jobs.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Food Plot Disc

,
June 6, 2011
By
from Porterfield, WI
I bought this to work on food plots at our deer property. I thought it worked really well for the money. Others have recommended more weight and I have to agree. I built a small box and filled it with sand, and that gives me both weight and portability. I also recommend extending the hitch. this will allow you to turn tighter corners , without interference with the rear wheels.
Good product.....I am planning to purchase another to attach to the rear of this one!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HARDY DISK HARROW

,
March 14, 2011
By
from FLORIDA
JUST LIKE THE NAME IMPLYS, THIS THING IS HEAVY DUTY, EASY TO ASSEMBLE ,JUST THE RIGHT SIZE TO BE PULLED WITH RIDING MOWER OR SMALL GARDEN TRACTOR .MY WIFE USED HER GOLF CART TO PULL IT , SEE HOW I GET OUT OF WORK LOL .I SHOPED AROUND THIS WAS THE BEST FOR THE MONEY. GARDEN IS READY TO PLANT SEE YA
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GreaT Product

,
February 25, 2010
By
from Demopolis Al
Its more than i thought it was ,i will order one more to make a complete disks.Thanks for having a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent

,
October 19, 2009
By
from Pa
The unit itself is well constructed. It takes a lot of weight (more than the weight pan can hold) to get it to dig in deep enough to make a difference. It will not replace a roto tiller. Does a great job in already loosened soil.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow

,
July 22, 2009
By
from Milam, Texas
I found this equipment to do what it says. I have used it for food plots in East Texas Piney Woods.
You really need to add a lot of weight. I added a box to fit the holder and filled it with cement.
I also added an extention to the tow bar as it was too close to the back of my 4 wheeler.
I also sharpened the edges somewhat.
All in all, a good value for the money and idea for making food plots!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brinly-Hardy Disk Harrow, Model# DD-55BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 20, 2009
By
from Alabama
These disk work great to break up the ground for a garden or food plot.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.