Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH

Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH

Item# 365347
This tow-behind dethatcher helps prevent roots, leaves, grass clippings and other small vegetation from inhibiting the growth of your lawn. The patented dethatcher has 24 oil-tempered spring tines that comb the matted layer of thatch onto the surface where it can be easily bagged or remulched. Dethatcher Type Tow-behind, Tine Type Spring, Tines qty. 24, Wheel Size in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 x 50 x 11 1/2, Operating Width in. 48, Wheel Type Semi-pneumatic. Dethatchers have automatic transport position to protect tines from pavement Rust-resistant Includes hitch pins Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Review 1 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need lots of missing parts

,
June 3, 2014
By WaltInPittsburgh
from Irwin, PA
"Received this today with numerous parts missing. What I do have looks high quality. Packaging was very poor and small hardware bags could have fallen out, but I neet 2 side braces that were missing. From the numerous good reviews, I am looking forward to having a complete unit. Brinly customer service has been contacted via email"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dethatcher

,
May 18, 2014
By Jake2323
from Minnesota
"Dethatcher works awesome. I was shocked how much thatch it brought up. Only problem was all the thatch I had on the lawn to clean up. Luckily the neighbor had a lawn sweeper to help with clean up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked very well with no issues

,
May 15, 2014
By JS2969
from Wisconsin
"This thatcher worked extremely well and did what I was looking for. I have a little over 3.5 acres to mow and thatch and this worked great with no issues. I will definitely be using this more and more and have also had some friends use it with no issues as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dethacher

,
May 18, 2012
By kramie
from Winfield, Pa
"This piece of equipt. does and exceptional job dethachaing. Actually does such good job only bad thing is getting rid of the thatch it gets up. This piece of equipt. is also alittle cumbersome to store. But it gets the job done it was designed to do. Price was reasonable and it has needed no repairs even on more difficult and hard areas of the yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
May 7, 2012
By jimbus47
from Washington
"Works just fine. For those who mentioned that lack of a handle makes it inconvenient to move with tthe tines lifted, just disconnect from the middle of the towing yoke and put it on top of the yoke, reinstall pin and tines clear the ground nicely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

48 " dethatcher

,
June 6, 2011
By dfyrmm
from durham, nc
"only had a short time . but is working out great so far
also ship time to store was great
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Quality

,
August 30, 2010
By Anonymous
"Excellent Quality, especially for the price - works great for dethatching but also came in very handy for prepping the soil in areas for reseeding. Cultivated the soil just enough to overseed.
On the down side, it would be nice if it had a "lift" handle for times when you need to temporalily lift the spokes up (like going over the driveway etc).
Overall, sturdy and well buiilt product for the homeowner.l"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
17out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thatcher

,
February 22, 2010
By Schatz
from Los Lunas, NM
"For the price the unit it worked reasonably well. Slow speeds work best. Use numerous, opposing passes. I was surprised that the design did not include a devise to lift the tines to pass over sidewalks, gravel, etc. I had to disconnect and move the unit to the next area to dethatch. 2 cinder blocks provided sufficient weight, however, there is no front lip on the tray so I would recommend tying them on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Dethatcher - 48in., Model# DT-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

thatching

,
April 13, 2009
By rohd2
from Rhinelander Wisconsin
"I was having a lot of problems with dead spots on my lawn..I started using this thatcher and you wouldn't believe the dead grass and weeds it would pull up. I am now on my second thatcher or the tins for replacement. IT WORKS GREAT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.