Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH

Item# 365353
42in. lawn sweeper uses its 6 powerful 11in. brushes to collect leaves and grass clippings the first time through. Brushes pick up material continuously, even during turns. High brush-to-wheel ratio for increased ground contact to minimize skipping for maximum performance. Full-swing hamper allows for easy dumping, and when the job is done, the patented Brinly-Hardy self-storing feature allows sweeper to collapse for easy storage. U.S.A. Application Sweeper, Working Width in. 42, Walk or Pull Pull, Approx Capacity cu.ft. 20, Bagger Volume bushels 16, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 86 x 53 x 38, Tire Size 12. 20 cu ft. hopper and 42in. clearing width for reduced sweeping passes 6 high-velocity brushes with indexed brush height adjustment provide continuous material pickup, even on turns Durable polyweave fabric hamper 51 brush to wheel ratio increases ground contact for a clean sweep each time 12in. wheels free wheel in reverse Patented self-storing design Includes hitch pin Dethatcher kit available, Item# 25291 sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Review 1 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes the job easier

,
October 19, 2009
By Mommyof2
from Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My husband loves our lawn sweeper. It makes the yard look nice and saves a lot of time and effort. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that it is difficult to put together. It is also supposed to be able to fold up, but we have not figured out how to do that yet. I would recomend this product to a friend, because it cuts the yard work in half."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leave Getter

,
August 22, 2012
By mcy32
from Wilmar,Arkansas
"very good product,easy assembly. Does really good job picking up leaves and pine straw will even pick up acorns,which are good to put out around your Deer stand and you will be surprised what you will see."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and easy to use!

,
May 14, 2012
By Lynn0101
from Berkshire County, Massachusetts
"The Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper is a great product! It has been in use for 3 seasons now and works like new! The lawn looks great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great work saver

,
January 17, 2012
By HighwaySuper
from Chicago and Michigan
"Purchased this sweeper about 2 years ago, don't usually write reviews, but this sweeper is great. Looks like you vacumed the lawn when finished. It even pickes up branches. The guys who usually rake around here think this is the greatest invention.
Going to buy one for my lake house with 3 lots to rake up which usually takes 6 weekends to rake.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

brinly

,
January 9, 2012
By bigguy2011
from wi
"i had bought this sweeper and when it arived was missing parts and also a lot of bent sheet metal all cosmetic box was all broken up so i called brinly direct and they were the rudest place to deal with did send my missing parts also called northertool and was told if had any problems they would help mabey brinly custemer service should sit in with northern tool to get some good custemer skills. all in all works ok."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

,
October 14, 2011
By larrh7
from Indiana
"Don't buy this sweeper. The first year it worked fine. Then the gears,plastic, started to wear out. The drive system is made to go forward and sweep and backwards and free wheel. This is done with a metal cog that floats back and forth withing the shaft. Well it don't work. Hard to explain but it don't. Would take a lot of writing to explain right. Very poorly designed drive is all I can say. When the wheels fall off, and they will, you can't get parts at the hardware. Held on by a small clip is all. DONT BUY THIS!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BH Lawn sweeper # STS-42LXH

,
October 10, 2011
By ReturningNTcustomer
from CT River Valley
"Size and price were the incentive to purchase this lawn sweeper from Norther Tool. Basic set up was quick and simple with the exception of how to actually assemble the debris catcher. Brinly-Hardy needs to supply more pictorial assembly details for the debris catcher. Once properly assembled (after several frustrating attempts - I'm mechanically inclined with an engineering background) and attached to the sweepers main body the leaf catchers assembly looked intuitive - but the directions and pictures in the assembly manual were far from clear. After connecting the sweeper to my lawn tractor and with the sweepers deck height set to my lawn the sweeper performed as I hoped it would, exceptionally well. I would highly recommend the B&H #STS-42LXH to anyone with a large lawn. The build quality and performance exceeded its low price. Shipping as usual from Norther Tool was very prompt. Bottom line? The assembly manual needs attention to garner all five stars from me.
RB
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly Hardy Lawn Sweeper -42in.,Model#sts-42LXH

,
March 21, 2011
By Jcc1
from Dade City Fl.
"What a time saver I have an acre with 22 oak trees and what used to take us days of raking has been cut to hours.This was easy to assemble ,about an hour .I was skeptical at first to get a lawn sweeper but I'm glad I did .I would recommend this to anyone .Great product !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

42 inch lawn sweeper

,
March 21, 2011
By boydie
from battle creek, Michigan
"I bought three lawn sweepers, and every one either went to the dogs or was plastic and simply wouldn't take a beating, Finialy i bought a 42 inch lawn sweeper from Northern Tool Company, four years ago,When it arrived it was all metal and very well made.I am still using it today i have never had one bit of trouble with it and even the heavy duty canvas is still whole and not torn.I have got my money back to fold.this product can take any kind of a beating as well as some of there other products that i have bought.Oh yes, this sweeper can sweep up a cigarette butt.and that is something."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lawn Sweeper

,
March 14, 2011
By TomHR
from Texas
"This is the best, it really picks the leaves up and does the load well.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough as nails

,
February 21, 2011
By yardworkers
from Athens Tenn.
"Love this sweeper. I've had it for four years now and it hasn't failed me yet. I live in an area with a lot of trees. I have about 1 1/2 acres. I mulch the leaves first and then sweep them with the sweeper. Works like a charm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad packaging - Good product

,
November 23, 2010
By Will86
from Southwestern Vermont
"Came in a flimsy box and as a result parts were missing. "Northern" got me the missing parts quickly. The sweeper works much better than my old gas powered vacuum. It picks up "White Pine" needles without a problem. No more clogged hoses!! Easy to empty out. Easy to store and takes up hardly any space in the garage. I should of done this years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sweeper blues

,
September 30, 2010
By BigB619
from Prospect, CT
"We have owned this sweeper for about 3 years, it worked great for those years without any complaints. This year I pulled it out and saw that the wheels turned but the sweep didn't budge. I discovered the gears inside had worn completely out, much to my surprise the gears inside were plastic, that was very disheartening. We were unable to get the replacement parts for this unit so we bought a unit with metal gears and parts more readily available. Loved it for 3 years, if you plan to keep it for longer then that get one with a metal gear box and metal gears."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly Lawn Sweeper

,
August 23, 2010
By YardGuy2010
from Conneticut
"Very Satisfied with this item. Bit of a pain to put together, but if you are at all mechanical, you will figure it out. Very impressed with what it will pick up, sticks, some even large... as well as small rocks. No more raking! so far no issues at all, and I beat the heck out of it. I have used it probably a dozen times. Need to empty it frequently for leaves. It gives your yard a nice manicured looked too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back and blister saver

,
June 1, 2010
By pickerupper
from East Texas
"What a work saver . . . no more sore backs and blisters . . . not to mention the hours saved. We have a large rural yard with many hickory, oak, and pine trees. This sweeper picks up all of it including hickory nuts, acorns, and needles. My wife drives the lawn tractor making passes until the hopper is full, then makes the round behind our bordering azeleas to our burn pile and/or compost pile. There I raise the hopper and dump the load, pushing it into the large pile while she's making another pass. 30 minutes later we've finished our near an acre yard. We're done! Even when I sweep without her help, it only takes a few minutes longer to dump from the tractor seat and afterwards neaten the final piles. I've used this one several years and it shows no sign of wearing out. (The wife either!)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lawn Sweeper

,
November 2, 2009
By Northfork
from Benton, AR
"I am well pleased with this equipment. I am mowing 4 acres and this sweeper has been a real time and back saver. It sweeps the grass clippings clean. I would highly recommend this sweeper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper

,
October 19, 2009
By DK3456
from Lawrenceburg, Ky
"Unit was delivered on time and intact with all necessary hardware. It takes an hour or so to assemble. It works very well for its intended use. Lightweight construction makes storage a snap as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but could use some modifications

,
October 19, 2009
By GKNY
"First, nothing's handier than a lawn sweeper. I like this product because it liberates me from having to rake, etc.
Unfortunately, it takes quite a few sweeps to get everything and I had to make my own adjustments (i.e. the manual didn't cover it) to get the sweeping brush low enough.
Finally, if you do want to use it for sweeping your driveway and other hard surfaces, you'll need to make your own adjustments to get the brush low enough."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picks up ALL

,
September 4, 2009
By Innkeeper
from Gettysburg, PA
"This is my second Brinly-Hardy sweeper. The final results after using this cannot be compared to any other similiar priced competetion. I mow 8 acres of lawn at our B&B. We have 12 black walnut trees that lose large golfball size walnuts. This sweeper,though not advertised to pick up walnuts, will do just that. Along with small twigs and anything else that gets in its way. I tried other sweepers but this is the best. Grass and leaves and usually be swept clean in 1 pass. Naturally this is not meant to a walnut sweeper but having to rake and pick-up thousands , this is a god-send. Please give it a try."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brinly-Hardy Lawn Sweeper - 42in., Model# STS-42LXH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Sweeper

,
July 20, 2009
By horsecrazy
from California
"Love love love this sweeper. Cuts my lawn maintenance time in more than 1/2 in the fall so I have more time to spend riding my horses! It is very easy to use and in no time, the leaves are picked up and the yard looks super!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.