Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH

Item# 365363
This Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is ideal for heavily compacted or high clay soil. U.S.A. Aerator Type: Plug, Working Width (in.): 48, Spikes (qty.): 32, Spike Length (in.): 3, Weight Capacity (lbs.): 200 Tow-behind plug aerator Ideal for heavily compacted or high clay soil 32 carbonized steel spoons penetrate lawn up to 3in. and use a coring process to pull plugs of soil 200 lb. tray capacity Allows water and nutrients to reach roots so they can grow Steel construction with 10.5in. x 4in. tires Works with riding lawn/garden tractors Not designed for use with zero-turn mowers Includes hitch pin Individually replaceable plugging spoons for easier servicing Some assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Review 1 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works As Advertised, Needs Better Instructions

,
June 5, 2011
By jlzwa
"Overall the unit worked well producing reasonable plugs for the yard. As a bonus, the top of the unit is just the right size for a broadcast sprayer so I was able to use it as a trailor behind my riding mower (saved room in my shed for one more thing).
I agree with others about the packaging being too light weight; I was picking up washers and bolts from the broken corner of the box before even opening it. I also had to pound a couple of pieces flat again where it had been bent in shipping.
The instructions do cover where to place the large washers as bushings even though the docmentation is a bit hard to parse. I saw some comments on using extra washers while installing the tines; if you are doing this to make the tines align chances are you are hitting the weld which is only on one side of the mounting plate. Switch the tine to the other side and you'll be fine. Again betters docs would help to make this more clear."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

,
November 24, 2010
By skierd
"I bought this aerator for my 1/2 acre of property. I throw two bags of Cement mix in the bin and off I go... it works great. Even through GA clay! I had to clean out the spoons with a screw driver because a few rocks got caught. It comes in a lot of pieces. It took me a little over an hour to assemble. Be careful when tightening the wheels. to tight and it drags and marks up the lawn too loose and it unscrews itself falls off and drags and marks up the lawn. I'm also not a fan of having to get off of my tractor just to raise and lower the spoons. But for the price you can't beat it..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall it works very well

,
May 4, 2010
By wayne214
from Bellville, Tx
"I just finished using the plug aerator (48") and it works very well - afer I added some weight to the top of the unit.. A couple of suggestions for the manufacturer. Please use heavy duty bags to hold the nuts, bolts, and washers. Out of the five or six bags containing small parts, three of them were ripped with parts all in the shipping box. It is frustrating enough having to assemble the unit; not knowing if you have all the parts doesn't help. Like the previous reviewer said, use extra washers (5/16 - I purchased a bag of 50) to align the plug tines. Thanks for that advice. I had to reassemble the unit twice as well. I ended up with 6 very thin washers. Had I known those were "bushings" and that in this case bushings and very thin washers are one in the same it would have helped assembling the axle. Instructions could be much clearer. I would recommend the unit. Well constructed. I look forward to using it for many years."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aerator

,
February 22, 2010
By Schatz
from Los Lunas, NM
"The unit performed as expected. Moisture content of the ground will make a big difference on success. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was the instructions. Pictures of the bolts used were not necessarily what was in the bolt package. Do not tighten any of the carriage bolts until the whole unit is assembled or the aerators will not fit as pictured. I disassembled the unit twice before I figured out why the tines wouldn't fit and you may not be able to get the wheels on without bending something. One part on the center of the carriage shows to be assembled with a nut and bolt only. I would suggest adding washers or there may be an alignment problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plug aerator

,
November 2, 2009
By naturelover11
from Missouri
"This machine does a good job of aeration (sometimes it takes extra passes) and it spreads seeds or fertilizer as well as anything I have ever used! Don't be afraid of this one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Aerator for the money

,
November 2, 2009
By Credo
from Front Royal VA
"I bought the aerator a year or so ago and used it a few times. It easily carries four cinder blocks for weight and does a good job of producing plugs especially if the ground is moist."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
July 21, 2009
By Jafo
from Aspen Colorado
"This product goes together easy and is very durable. I use it behind a four wheeler and it pulls great. The wheel set up makes it great to move along driveways and roads."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brinly-Hardy Plug Aerator - Tow Behind, 48in.L, Model# PA-48BH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool to have around

,
July 13, 2009
By Franko
from Plantersville, TX
"the aerator works as described. i have used it once and it did a good job of punching holes in the ground to let it breath."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.