Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T

Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T

Item# 365370
This 48in.W Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for getting water and nutrients to the roots of plants in compacted soil. Aerator Type Plug, Overall Width in. 50, Spike Length in. 3, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2 1/2, Spikes qty. 32, Application Aerator, HP Required to Pull 12, Weight Capacity lbs. 140, Working Width in. 48. Spikes penetrate 2 1/2in. deep, allowing water and nutrients to reach your lawn's root system, as well as giving new seed a safe place to grow Black powder-coated frame for corrosion resistance 10in. pneumatic tires roll smoothly over varied terrain Pin-style hitch easily attaches to lawn mowers and ATVs without requiring additional equipment Weight tray supports up to 120 lbs. to increase penetration
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
20 of 23(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Review 1 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its ok...

,
September 24, 2014
By Krookz
from Richmond, Va
"Works ok. Plastic bushings/bearing on the tine holders broke on the 1st use. This allowed the steel bushings that separate the tine holders to slide over the bushing and move around wherever they want."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works

,
September 4, 2014
By moni4630
from Durham, NC
"Straight forward and simple. Quality of materials and construction seems to be quite good. I used 4 five gallon pails filled with dirt for added weight. Instructions suggest 120lb total. It pulled easily behind my 18 HP lawn tractor. Pluggers poke 2-3in deep holes spaced about 8in apart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased

,
June 22, 2014
By Reseeded
from Michigan
"I and 2 friends went in on the purchase of this aerator 4-6 weeks ago. I chose this one because it looked to be the best built and was the heaviest of the price range. I have used it on 2 properties and both my friends have used it.It met all expectations and worked very well. Aerators take much more abuse doing their job than most people know,don't buy a cheap one. This aerator is well built and should last for years. Northern tools price was fair and was shipped and delivered as expected.Thanks!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

I use and broke!

,
June 11, 2014
By USN7Retired
from St Cloud, MN
"I wish I would have put this together last year when I purchased it, but I was unable to. I put it together a few weeks ago and tried it 2 weeks ago. Everything was fine and it did a good job on the back yard. I went to raise it to cross the driveway to do the front yard and snap, the bolt through the axle for the handle to lower the wheels sheered off. So I had to remove my 2 cement blocks that were on for extra weight, about 25 pounds each. I had to tap the bolt out of the axle and replace it. My son helped me with this evolution and he noticed that the plugs were sliding back and forth on the axle. So one use with 50 pounds of weight and the bolt that attaches the handle to the axle broke along with the nylon(plastic) bearings that allow the plugs to spin smoothly on the axle had broke and were sliding right over the spacers in between them. So just my luck that I missed the warranty by 12 days. So I am now out of luck as far as warranty repair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good sturdy product

,
May 19, 2014
By Yardman1900
from Taneytown MD
"I only used this aerator once and in my opinion it worked very well. It seem to be sturdy. You will need to put some weight on it to get it to punch holes in harder soil as with most aerators."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't last long...

,
May 2, 2014
By Yardguy131341
from Prosper, TX
"This aerator did a good job but as I approach the end of the first year of ownership it is clear that it will not last long. The Achilles heal of the aerator are the wheels. If you look closely at the picture and zoom in on the wheels you will see that they are not covered with powder coated material and are manufactured with some sort of inexpensive sheet metal. The nuts that hold the wheel together are rusting out. Additionally, one wheel fell off because the axle slides through wheel bearings that are held in place with a friction lock. Evidently regular use will cause the bearings to wear and eventually they cannot stay attached to the wheel. I am contacting Northern to see if they can do anything for me as it has been less than a year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprised

,
March 12, 2014
By qualcon
from knoxville,tn
"This is a solid piece of equipment. I caught it on sale and had a coupon, but if it got stolen today I would gladly pay full price for another. High quality, went together good, works as good as any brand out there. Only problem I have is everyone wants to borrow it! Buy it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low Cost High Quality Aerator

,
February 7, 2014
By sb2665
from richmond, va
"I looked for a tow behind aerator after receiving several estimates for the service from local lawn care companies from $75-$300. With the exception of the $75 estimate all others were $180 and up. The $75 man pulled up, looked at the slope of my yard and passed. I purchased this after seeing all the terrific reviews and I have not been disappointed. It does require pretty involved assembly procedure but the result is a sturdy well designed product. I followed others' suggestions and put a little more weight than instructions call for and I waited till the day after a good soaking rain. The aerator pulled consistent 2 1/2" plugs on the entire yard. The only problem I had was pulling the assembly up my steep slope in certain places with my 17 HP lawn tractor. I just had to remove some weight. I had been paying Tru Green $180 two times a year (only this cheap with their expensive year round service) so this purchase has already payed for itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Tuff Aerator

,
December 5, 2013
By Grunt1
from Charlotte,NC
"I agree with the other comments here in that this machine is well worth the money and does a good job. I would recommend it to anyone.
The one thing that doesn't get a 5 star with me is the split bearings. They are brittle plastic. I popped one putting it together.
If I can find them I will replace with metal then it will be 5 star all the way.
I did order spare parts (especially bearings) no one stocks them takes about a week to get them.
Grunt1
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Aerator-48"W Model AE-48T

,
September 17, 2013
By LincYardKing
from Strasburg, PA
"Order process was simple, arrived missing only one part and that was replaced at no cost. Assembly instructions were straightforward and easy. I was impressed with the construction and have used the Yard Tuff Aerator three times this year alone.
I have loaned it to several neighbors and they like the aerator AND the results too. For the money this is a good product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT VALUE

,
September 17, 2013
By McN1
from minneapolis minnesota
"This aerator paid for it's self the first day. I used it then borrowed it to my neighbor. For the same cost of renting a walk behind aerator I own this great pull behind aerator. I found it works best with 4, 40lb pound salt bags for weight (more weight than recommended) then on a well watered lawn, go slow and let the spikes sink in. Great part no wrestling a walk behind aerator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built

,
September 17, 2013
By Jake14
from Minnesota
"Great product for large residential yards, or small commercial accounts. Must add about 80lbs of weight to it.
I love the latching mechinism where the other brands the hand to adjust wheels will bounce out of place."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plug Aerator build.

,
June 2, 2013
By 1blh
from Roosevelt, UT
"I was impressed with the hardened steel axel shaft the tool is built around. The parts are good thick steel. The tool is more than 110 lbs. Good axles and tires, they need to be pumped up. Knives are robust but need to be sharpened. There was one item that they sent that didn't measure up to a 5 star product. The 3 hex bolts that transfers the weight from the handle to the wheels was soft steel. Someone had put in these soft steel bolts for the hardened steel bolts that should have come in the kit. 2 flat washers were missing. I can find the correct kind of bolts to fix this problem, and I have a supply of washers. The lock nuts that came with the kit are a must have. For a product of this quality I was pleased. 1blh"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aerator

,
May 1, 2013
By ASACUP
from Radford, VA
"I have 5 acres with approximately 3 acres cleared & cared for. I used the aerator a day after a rain. It performed very well. I have no regrets with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Tuff tow behind aerator

,
April 30, 2013
By Merlo
from Central Minnesota
"Great product, on the second season. Penetrates about
2-3 inches no problem in clay. Great price
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

48" tow behind plug aerator

,
April 23, 2013
By BeadyEyedBob
from Gambrills, MD
"This product works like a charm. The ground should be moist enough to allow good penetration.
I think I may have to buy a new one soon, as all of my friends and relatives are helping to wear this one out!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Arreator

,
April 23, 2013
By JDMolly
from Remote,Virginia
"Simple to use and heavy metal machine. Holes in yard are app. 2.5" deep in hard soil.Well built and easy to move for storage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the money

,
October 15, 2012
By some1ne
from Greenville, SC
"This aerator is well built and very sturdy. I have found it works best if you use this product within a couple days of rain. Way better than a spike aerator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
August 20, 2012
By BCMN
from St. Paul, MN
"I purchased the product to aerate my 1 acre clay yard. I first tried it after running the irrigation system through a cycle and it barely pulled plugs with 100 lbs of salt (2 bags) on it. After I got an inch plus soaking rain, I tried it again. It then pulled 2" to 2.5" plugs consistently. My lawn looks greener and fuller than it has since the sod was installed. I will be using this spring and fall from now on. My only complaint about this product was that it was missing one of the spacers out of the box. I called Northern Tool and they told me to just come in and get one for free from the local store I bought it from. This worked out well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works great, once I robbed my nuts & bolts box!

,
May 7, 2012
By Richard13
from Melbourne, FL
"Took about 45 minutes to put together. Item works well. Only problem was that it was missing 6 or 7 important nuts, bolts and washers. Thankfully, I was able to find replacements in my assorted nuts/bolts bin."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.