Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"

"Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"

Item# 365370
"This 48in.W Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for getting water and nutrients to the roots of plants in compacted soil. Spike Penetration Depth in. 2 1/2, Spike Length in. 3, Aerator Type Plug, Application Aerator, Overall Width in. 50, Weight Capacity lbs. 140, HP Required to Pull 12, Spikes qty. 32, Working Width in. 48. Spikes penetrate 2 1/2in. deep, allowing water and nutrients to reach your lawn's root system, as well as giving new seed a safe place to grow Black powder-coated frame for corrosion resistance 10in. pneumatic tires roll smoothly over varied terrain Pin-style hitch easily attaches to lawn mowers and ATVs without requiring additional equipment Weight tray supports up to 120 lbs. to increase penetration"
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
33 of 37(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Review 1 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tow behind aerator, 48"

,
November 21, 2015
By
from Tennessee
Simple to assemble, simple to operate, this tow behind areator was perfect for the installation of my new lawn in my otherwise impervious clay soil. It provided the perforations needed to to get the nutrients and compost needed to sweeten the soil. Clay had to have the right moisture content for the system to operate properly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
October 30, 2015
By
from Dinwiddie, VA
I have only used this once but it did really well. I have a packed clay yard but with 6 solid 4" blocks I got 2"+ cores.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

plug aerator

,
October 25, 2015
By
from Indianapolis, IN
I really lam happy with the aerator. The most difficult thing was putting the axle section together. I had it all together and realized I had the axle reversed. The directions reminded you of the correct position. Oops
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plug aerator

,
October 22, 2015
By
from St Louis, MO
The unit came partiality assembled. You do need two people for some of the assembly. Used my old wheel Horse 12 HP tractor and some concrete blocks for weight. Worked great on my lawn, my kids lawn and my neighbors lawn. Sure beat the rental walk behind we used last year that beat us to death. Would recommend this unit to anyone who has a riding mower or ATV of 12HP or more.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Aerator

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Colorado Springs, CO
This is a nice aerator. Easy to assemble with clear instructions. Anyone who knows what a wrench is can assemble this easily. Tows nicely behind our Deere D-130 and did a great job of aerating our lawn. Be sure to put enough weight on it. Really like the feature that allows the knives to be raised to allow transport over areas not to be aerated. Use it twice a year and it pays for itself the first year!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it so far

,
October 14, 2015
By
from Stafford
The product was easy to assemble. Some mistakes in the directions, but nothing major. Figured them out quickly. Thought since it is called a plug aerator that the tines are circular, but they are semi-circular. They leave half-moon shaped holes, not a true hole and plug like the expensive mechanical plugger. Either way, did a good job on the lawn after first use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy With Purchase

,
September 27, 2015
By
from TN
So far I am happy with the purchase and would recommend this product. The price was right and allows me to go over problems areas multiple times. You have to assemble the unit but instructions were clear.
Pros:
Sturdy, well built. Aerates yard well. Handle allows you to easily raise and lower wheels. Hooked easily to the lawn tractor.
Cons:
Wider than 46" cut lawn tractor and with wheels on the aerator on the outside it is even wider. This means you have to be very careful about running the unit into a fence, sidewalk, etc. Needs a few slots to secure tie downs for weight placed on top.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective with apparent design flaw

,
September 26, 2015
By
from Knoxville, TN
Bought this unit last fall and used once to aerate my 2 acres. Went to do the same this year and noticed that the tines are not evenly spaced. Examining I have found that there are nylon washer, and spacers that do not last and are now missing. This is a product manufacturing defect. The Brindley that I had before this one and lasted for >10 years had metal washers that prevented the telescoping of the tines on the shaft.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the money

,
August 16, 2015
By
from virginia beach, va
Bought this to handle 5 acre yard. Tows well behind my John Deere riding mower. Fairly easy to assemble just takes a little time (took me about 2 hours). Aerates the yard very well with some weight on the platform (I use 2 cinder blocks).
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basic need for Homeowners

,
July 13, 2015
By
from Sturgis,MI
I bought this product to help my own lawn. I recommend this for a homeowner who doesn't need the commercial/professional grade item. This is affordable and does what it is made to do. You'll have to assemble the product, but it's not rocket science.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Hard

,
June 23, 2015
By
from North Carolina
First the Good: Its easy to put together, and seems to be well made. I pulled this aerator behind a quad with 4 cinder blocks on my 3 acre property. My yard is mostly clay with a ton small rocks(old riverbed). Its a new yard and to try and get the grass established I have run this repeatedly thru the mess that I call my yard. It has taken a beating and has held up so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr

,
April 23, 2015
By
from ball ground ga
Easy to put together, it works well, does the job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
April 8, 2015
By
from Palm Bay, FL
This was easy to put together, pulls nicely behind the tractor and gets the job done.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, well-built, great value

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Southeast NH
The only reason this doesn't get a 5 is because the instructions don't tell you the lever that lifts the wheels can be installed two ways... and one of them is backward. So, had to do a little disassembly. :-) Also, the bolts that affix the tines to the plates all needed to be tightened... they definitely weren't installed to proper torque at the factory. If you do buy this unit, please check these bolts before first use!
That said, this is a well-built unit, perfect for the homeowner who wants to aerate once each fall (and maybe do the neighbors' as well!). In order to get the proper penetration, I did need to load three cinder blocks on the back, and I had to take my time. My turf is pretty well packed... been years since I'd had it done (and it wasn't done well by the contractor, either). If you drive your tractor like a lunatic you won't get the results. But the thing worked well. Tines dug in and spit out the plugs with ease.
One thing I would have liked to see is a heavy duty rubber mat for the tray, so that I didn't have to place the cinder blocks directly on the metal. Aside from scratching the tray, it would help prevent them from sliding around.
Regardless, for the money, I think this is a great unit. Happy with the purchase. Definitely recommend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its ok...

,
September 24, 2014
By
from Richmond, Va
Works ok. Plastic bushings/bearing on the tine holders broke on the 1st use. This allowed the steel bushings that separate the tine holders to slide over the bushing and move around wherever they want.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works

,
September 4, 2014
By
from Durham, NC
Straight forward and simple. Quality of materials and construction seems to be quite good. I used 4 five gallon pails filled with dirt for added weight. Instructions suggest 120lb total. It pulled easily behind my 18 HP lawn tractor. Pluggers poke 2-3in deep holes spaced about 8in apart.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased

,
June 22, 2014
By
from Michigan
I and 2 friends went in on the purchase of this aerator 4-6 weeks ago. I chose this one because it looked to be the best built and was the heaviest of the price range. I have used it on 2 properties and both my friends have used it.It met all expectations and worked very well. Aerators take much more abuse doing their job than most people know,don't buy a cheap one. This aerator is well built and should last for years. Northern tools price was fair and was shipped and delivered as expected.Thanks!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

I use and broke!

,
June 11, 2014
By
from St Cloud, MN
I wish I would have put this together last year when I purchased it, but I was unable to. I put it together a few weeks ago and tried it 2 weeks ago. Everything was fine and it did a good job on the back yard. I went to raise it to cross the driveway to do the front yard and snap, the bolt through the axle for the handle to lower the wheels sheered off. So I had to remove my 2 cement blocks that were on for extra weight, about 25 pounds each. I had to tap the bolt out of the axle and replace it. My son helped me with this evolution and he noticed that the plugs were sliding back and forth on the axle. So one use with 50 pounds of weight and the bolt that attaches the handle to the axle broke along with the nylon(plastic) bearings that allow the plugs to spin smoothly on the axle had broke and were sliding right over the spacers in between them. So just my luck that I missed the warranty by 12 days. So I am now out of luck as far as warranty repair.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good sturdy product

,
May 19, 2014
By
from Taneytown MD
I only used this aerator once and in my opinion it worked very well. It seem to be sturdy. You will need to put some weight on it to get it to punch holes in harder soil as with most aerators.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Yard Tuff Tow-Behind Plug Aerator - 48in.W, 32 Knives, Model# AE-48T"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't last long...

,
May 2, 2014
By
from Prosper, TX
This aerator did a good job but as I approach the end of the first year of ownership it is clear that it will not last long. The Achilles heal of the aerator are the wheels. If you look closely at the picture and zoom in on the wheels you will see that they are not covered with powder coated material and are manufactured with some sort of inexpensive sheet metal. The nuts that hold the wheel together are rusting out. Additionally, one wheel fell off because the axle slides through wheel bearings that are held in place with a friction lock. Evidently regular use will cause the bearings to wear and eventually they cannot stay attached to the wheel. I am contacting Northern to see if they can do anything for me as it has been less than a year.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.