Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket

Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket

Item# 365371
"The Ultra-Tow spare tire carrier mounts to the tongue of your trailer and carries your spare tire weighing up to 100 lbs. The spare tire carrier includes free locking tabs. These tabs are threaded on one end and open on the other to accommodate your lock choice. This very simple but effective set of locking tabs can be used on either side of the lug nuts depending on your own unique application. Once the tabs are threaded onto the lug bolts and locked together, they become a very effective method to secure your spare tire investment. Compatible With Trailers w/up to 3 in. tongues, Finish Type Powder-coat, Mount Type Bolt-on, Working Load lbs. 100. Mounts on trailer tongue up to 3in. wide Fits 4- and 5-lug wheels Includes tire locking bracket Heavy-duty steel construction with powder-coat finish Includes zinc-plated mounting hardware Easy bolt-on installation"
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
22 of 24(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 25, 2014
By PaulinRaleigh
from Raleigh, NC
"Works perfectly on my Haulin trailer hitch arm. A 5.30-12 5 lug wheel fit it perfectly. I haven't tried it yet, but a modified set of threaded metal straps (like the ones used for the wheel lock) and another lock would solve any concerns you might have for theft of the whole unit from the arm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare tire holder

,
April 24, 2014
By nothead
from california
"this was easy to install looks great and now I can have a spear tire in case of a flat love the thing"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as described

,
February 5, 2014
By heavy4x4
from WI
"Used this to mount my spare trailer tire on my enclosed trailer tongue. Works as expected. I did not have issues with hole alignment on a 5x4.5" rim pattern like other reviewers have described.
The lock does work, but as others said, it's a little silly because you can just unbolt the whole mount from the trailer frame. You'll never completely stop a determined thief, I suppose, but the lock does give a little piece of mind. Please note that the locking bars do stick out far enough that if you put a spare tire cover over the spare, these locking bars will poke into it - I covered the tips with a piece of rubber I had laying around to prevent them from cutting into my spare-tire cover.
Product seems stout; welds looked good and paint/coating should last a while. I did sleeve the bolts with vinyl tubing to both protect my trailer frame paint as well as prevent the bolts from getting too rusty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bolt pattern

,
January 16, 2014
By cat9
from USA
"Sure this will fit 4 or 5 hole wheels, but on a 5 hole pattern it will ONLY FIT A 5'' ON 4.5'' PATTERN........ONLY!!! Will not fit 5'' on 4.75'', 5'' on 5'', or 5'' on 5.5'' pattern.
Very deceiving on what it fits by description.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but not secure

,
January 6, 2014
By Hockey86
from Cary, NC
"This is a nice spare carrier but do no count on it being secure. Granted if someone wants your spare tire they are gonna find a way to take it but the whole purpose is make it inconvenient for the average person to steal. Yes you can put a lock on the tire but the bolts are still exposed that mounts the unit to the trailer frame. A simple open end wrench will let anyone take the whole thing off the trailer. I installed the unit then mangled the threads so that you can't easily back the nuts off and walk off with my tire. Works but is not secure as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier

,
June 11, 2013
By dcm230
from wichita,KS
"Great price!!! But the holes for the 5 lug on 4 1/2 are alittle bit off. You have to spend time making one hole larger so you can offset the stud to bolt the spare tire on"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spare tire holder

,
April 24, 2013
By 102barn
from Westfield, NY
"Very easy to install. Locking device works well. Can be repositioned if type of load changes on trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Tire Mount

,
October 9, 2012
By Rayfish
from Ohio
"Very nice Spare tire mount, locks onto most frames very good. This unit holds a tire very tight, and has no chance of rolling on the frame, ( like my other one did) Thanks for a unit that works !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Measure your hole pattern

,
August 20, 2012
By marlin44
from GA
"Make sure you measure the width of your spares holes. Instruction states it will work with 4 or 5 lug wheels. I have a 5 lug and the holes on the bracket were not wide enough. I had to drill a new hole on the bracket to make it work. Product is well built. I did not mount it on the tounge, I side mounted it drilling 4 holes in my trailer.If your spare will fit it's worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spare tire carrier

,
August 14, 2012
By de69
from mn
"easy to use, very adaptable to trailer, good design. May need some attention given to bolt on attachment as far as security goes. Overall security of tire racking desdign good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good afordable tire holder

,
August 13, 2012
By dakotajay7
from West Allis, WI
"This is a Good afordable tire holder. Well worth the asking price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Label

,
July 10, 2012
By Chkultr
from Virginia Beach
"Product seems to be a great product. I wish they would put the bolt pattern on the outside of the box. The outside says 4-5 hole rims. Perfect, but you have to purchase and get it home to find out that it will not fit a 5 hole rim with a 5.5 pattern!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Missing one of the bolts - but well made

,
May 31, 2012
By DaddyDoThis
from Austin, Tx
"The mount is sturdy and well made. Mine didn't have instructions and was missing a bolt. I didn't need the instructions, and I bought shorter bolts anyway - but that knocked it from 5 to 4 stars. I mounted my 13 inch spare horizontally on a brace for the A-Frame tongue. It holds it securely, looks nice, and keeps it below the pipe rail tops so it doesn't block anything. If you want to use the threaded lock tabs - then they do work somewhat. They lock the wheel to the bracket - but the bracket can just be unbolted from the trailer frame. Duh. You could easily secure the bracket to the trailer by welding or soldering across the threads of the mounting bolts to block them, I don't lock the wheels to the trailer, and if someone is going to steal a wheel then I'd prefer they steal my spare - so I'm not going to use them. If you are really concerned about your spare being stolen - then I would lock it to the frame with a U lock,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SPARE USEFUL

,
May 18, 2012
By berrylady
from Powder Springs, GA
"Makes it nice to have that spare tire for my utillity trailer and not be at the mercy of whomever to buy a new tire when mine blew! Now I feel comfortable having a good spare with me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Tow Carrier - Great Price for Great Product!

,
May 7, 2012
By bdraper
from Rochester, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"After reading some reviews on here about this tire carrier, I decided to give it a shot even though some people are claiming it is hard to install or doesn't work properly. After purchasing this I took it home and installed it on my pop up camper. The directions were clear as a bell and even if they weren't this is a very simple no brainer product to install. Everything installed the way it should with ease and yes that does include the theft deterrent system. The install took about 5-10 minutes to install. The metal tabs for the locking device thread onto the bolts and then when you put your own lock it, it would be pretty hard to steal unless you carry a blow torch or some heavy duty bolt cutters around with you. All in all this is a great tire carrier that does exactly what it claims and definitely won't break the bank. So, if you're looking for an inexpensive carrier that is easy to install, don't look any further than this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spare Tire Holder

,
January 9, 2012
By Rustus
from Plano, Texas
"Inexpensive way to get the tire out of the way until needed. Went on easy and quickly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

,
December 1, 2011
By capper
from chalfont pa
"got tired of moving my loose spare tire for trailer back and forth between tow vehicels.put this baby on in about 10 minutes.should have done this years ago.easy to install,as stated by other reveiws locking setup is worthless,other than that im very happy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
NTEBuyer
Burnsville, MN 
 
Please wait while more information about NTEBuyer is loaded.
Additional information about NTEBuyer could not be loaded.
Locking Tabs
January 3, 2012
"The locking tabs are threaded on one end and open on the other for the use of a padlock. Once you thread the tabs into place (under or over the lub nuts) and lock them together, they can not be removed.
Please give this a try and come back and let us know what you think about this very simple yet effective locking method."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

,
October 29, 2011
By Otac
from Memphis, TN
"This spare tire mount is well made and easy to install. However, it does not appear to work on 15" wheels or larger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tire carrier

,
October 10, 2011
By JasonE
from Leavenworth, Ks
"This spare tire carrier is excellent. Very easy to install and creates a convenient place to carry your spare tires on a trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spare Tire Mount

,
March 14, 2011
By turk242
"Well-built, solid construction and all hardware is included. Out of the box and mounted to my trailer in under 10 minutes. Good buy, great price and fast shipping. Thanks again Northern Tool - i'll be back!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.