Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket

Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket

Item# 365371
"The Ultra-Tow spare tire carrier mounts to the tongue of your trailer and carries your spare tire weighing up to 100 lbs. The spare tire carrier includes free locking tabs. These tabs are threaded on one end and open on the other to accommodate your lock choice. This very simple but effective set of locking tabs can be used on either side of the lug nuts depending on your own unique application. Once the tabs are threaded onto the lug bolts and locked together, they become a very effective method to secure your spare tire investment. Working Load lbs. 100, Mount Type Bolt-on, Compatible With Trailers w/up to 3 in. tongues, Finish Type Powder-coat. Mounts on trailer tongue up to 3in. wide Fits 4- and 5-lug wheels Includes tire locking bracket Heavy-duty steel construction with powder-coat finish Includes zinc-plated mounting hardware Easy bolt-on installation"
Average Customer Rating:
4.031 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
30 of 32(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tiremount

,
August 28, 2015
By
from Ala
" Good for mounting the tire on the trailer I just bought, but the lock bracket is useless. When you put the lock on the tire will pull right over it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spare Tire Carrier for Trailer

,
July 4, 2015
By
from Houston, Texas
" Very pleased. The product arrived in a timely manner. Good quality material. Easy to install. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spare tire carrier

,
June 27, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
" Great product, good workmanship and design. Universal to many trailers and gets the spare up off the ground. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hanger

,
June 14, 2015
By
from Beulah, MI
" This is a good product. I used it to place my spare tire on the side of the trailer instead of on the tongue. I had to weld a 1 1/2 x 3" rectangle to the angle of the side rail. Fastened the Ultra-Tow Spare tire Carrier and mounted the wheel/tire without a problem. I am happy with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

,
May 26, 2015
By
from charles town wv
" it was easy ot install , It look great on trailer. I mounted it to the side of my aluminum trailer that away the water will run off of it. , great product.. Thanks Chris "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bracket for the money

,
April 16, 2015
By
from Minnesota
" I needed to add nuts to hold the studs in place.
I don't know How the locking Mechanism is supposed to work. Look at the picture....All a thief has to do is remove the lug nuts..... So if your buying this on the selling point that it is lockable, Think again. I am not rating the item on its lock ability, nor did I buy it for that. (it would score a zero if I did) The bracket itself is very nice.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Will not fit all trailers as designed.

,
December 25, 2014
By
from Star City, Arkansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This is a good product for the price, but as I found out, the product will not fit all trailers as intended. I simply removed the back support pieces and welded the product on my trailers side frame. This application worked really well and did not stick out pass the trailer axle wheels. Looks good and works well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier

,
December 6, 2014
By
from Berea, WV
" This is a well made carrier. It bolted to my trailer in just minutes and I love being able to lock the Wheel/Tire to the trailer. It's like having an insurance policy. Get one and you wont regret it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 25, 2014
By
from Raleigh, NC
" Works perfectly on my Haulin trailer hitch arm. A 5.30-12 5 lug wheel fit it perfectly. I haven't tried it yet, but a modified set of threaded metal straps (like the ones used for the wheel lock) and another lock would solve any concerns you might have for theft of the whole unit from the arm. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare tire holder

,
April 24, 2014
By
from california
" this was easy to install looks great and now I can have a spear tire in case of a flat love the thing "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as described

,
February 5, 2014
By
from WI
" Used this to mount my spare trailer tire on my enclosed trailer tongue. Works as expected. I did not have issues with hole alignment on a 5x4.5" rim pattern like other reviewers have described.
The lock does work, but as others said, it's a little silly because you can just unbolt the whole mount from the trailer frame. You'll never completely stop a determined thief, I suppose, but the lock does give a little piece of mind. Please note that the locking bars do stick out far enough that if you put a spare tire cover over the spare, these locking bars will poke into it - I covered the tips with a piece of rubber I had laying around to prevent them from cutting into my spare-tire cover.
Product seems stout; welds looked good and paint/coating should last a while. I did sleeve the bolts with vinyl tubing to both protect my trailer frame paint as well as prevent the bolts from getting too rusty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bolt pattern

,
January 16, 2014
By
from USA
" Sure this will fit 4 or 5 hole wheels, but on a 5 hole pattern it will ONLY FIT A 5'' ON 4.5'' PATTERN........ONLY!!! Will not fit 5'' on 4.75'', 5'' on 5'', or 5'' on 5.5'' pattern.
Very deceiving on what it fits by description.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but not secure

,
January 6, 2014
By
from Cary, NC
" This is a nice spare carrier but do no count on it being secure. Granted if someone wants your spare tire they are gonna find a way to take it but the whole purpose is make it inconvenient for the average person to steal. Yes you can put a lock on the tire but the bolts are still exposed that mounts the unit to the trailer frame. A simple open end wrench will let anyone take the whole thing off the trailer. I installed the unit then mangled the threads so that you can't easily back the nuts off and walk off with my tire. Works but is not secure as advertised. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier

,
June 11, 2013
By
from wichita,KS
" Great price!!! But the holes for the 5 lug on 4 1/2 are alittle bit off. You have to spend time making one hole larger so you can offset the stud to bolt the spare tire on "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spare tire holder

,
April 24, 2013
By
from Westfield, NY
" Very easy to install. Locking device works well. Can be repositioned if type of load changes on trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Tire Mount

,
October 9, 2012
By
from Ohio
" Very nice Spare tire mount, locks onto most frames very good. This unit holds a tire very tight, and has no chance of rolling on the frame, ( like my other one did) Thanks for a unit that works ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Measure your hole pattern

,
August 20, 2012
By
from GA
" Make sure you measure the width of your spares holes. Instruction states it will work with 4 or 5 lug wheels. I have a 5 lug and the holes on the bracket were not wide enough. I had to drill a new hole on the bracket to make it work. Product is well built. I did not mount it on the tounge, I side mounted it drilling 4 holes in my trailer.If your spare will fit it's worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spare tire carrier

,
August 14, 2012
By
from mn
" easy to use, very adaptable to trailer, good design. May need some attention given to bolt on attachment as far as security goes. Overall security of tire racking desdign good. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good afordable tire holder

,
August 13, 2012
By
from West Allis, WI
" This is a Good afordable tire holder. Well worth the asking price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra-Tow Spare Tire Carrier - With Tire Locking Bracket
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Label

,
July 10, 2012
By
from Virginia Beach
" Product seems to be a great product. I wish they would put the bolt pattern on the outside of the box. The outside says 4-5 hole rims. Perfect, but you have to purchase and get it home to find out that it will not fit a 5 hole rim with a 5.5 pattern! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.