Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60

Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60

Item# 365382
This Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator has 126 three-inch long spikes that penetrate 2 3/4in. into the ground to allow water and nutrients to reach the plants' roots. This 60in.W drum holds up to 40 gallons of water for a total filled weight of 482 lbs. Aerator Type Spike, Application Aerator, Spike Length in. 3, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2 3/4, Spikes qty. 126, Working Width in. 60, HP Required to Pull 16, Overall Width in. 68. Holds up to 40 gallons of water for a total filled weight of 482 lbs. for greater penetration depth Works in clay soil Black corrosion-resistant powder-coated frame 16 HP or greater tractor recommended 0.118in. thick drum
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Review 1 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spike aerator

,
July 22, 2014
By FarmerEddie
from chesapeake,va
"this aerator is built very well. It is easy to use, with it's
single pin to connect to the mower. It is a bit heavy when full of water.Does a nice job.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aerator

,
May 6, 2014
By fozeb56
from Livermore, CO
"My aerator arrived when it was suppose to. Even though the packaging was pretty flimsy for the weight and size of the aerator it was in good shape with no damage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60

,
April 16, 2014
By jdhughes
from fayette county tn
"This aerator does the job even if the ground is a little hard. It pulls fine behind my zero turn John Deere. I didn't fill the tank full because the weight about 3/4 full was plenty to do the job. I have about 3.5 acres that I mow and aerate and with the 6 foot width it doesn't take long to cover. And for areas that need a little TLC just go over 3 or 4 times spread a few seed and the results are pretty amazing. The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is I don't know how long the aerator will last but everything else was as expected"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

aerator

,
May 14, 2013
By r7564
from Lebanon, Tn
"Don`t expect to pull this with a lawn tractor when it is loaded with water, unless you have chains or a ATV. I used a 20 HP tractor and mine slipped all the time. The axel brackets are a poor design. A hollow tube with a grease fitting allows the grease to leak out. It should have a pillow block bearing of some kind, instead of metal to metal. With this aerator fully loaded with water these brackets are inadequate and cheap. I intend to modify mine to this extend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the lawn

,
April 25, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"When I first heard about aeration, I was a bit skeptical. After all, what good is just poking holes in the yard? This is one of the spike-style aerators, not a core aerator meaning it takes some of the dirt back out with it. I didn't have a trailer to pull it with, so I welded up a handle and I use this in a push capacity instead of a pull capacity (and by hand). It works pretty well. The drum itself is heavy enough to get into the dirt and make decent holes. I followed this with a good watering and some fresh grass seed and within a few weeks I had a whole new lawn. It's now luscious and green."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spike roller

,
October 8, 2012
By TommyB2012
from Indiana
"I have a rather large yard, about 7 acres. The roller did great over the what was a hayfield and broke up the ground nicely. I will go over again in the spring a few times but initially I'm impressed with its results"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
March 19, 2011
By minifarm
from Tn
"Works very well at busting thru some pretty tuff dirt. Looking forward to a very green yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
20out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Drum Aerator

,
June 3, 2010
By TheVirginian
from Southern Virginia
"Bought this thing a few weeks back. It seems very solidly built and assembly was no problem. The welds look good. The weight should break even the toughest ground. My only concern is rust, so I intend to store cover it for storage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
31out of 48found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.