Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"

Item# 365382
"This Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator has 126 three-inch long spikes that penetrate 2 3/4in. into the ground to allow water and nutrients to reach the plants' roots. This 60in.W drum holds up to 40 gallons of water for a total filled weight of 482 lbs. Overall Width in. 68, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2 3/4, HP Required to Pull 16, Spike Length in. 3, Spikes qty. 126, Working Width in. 60, Aerator Type Spike, Application Aerator. Holds up to 40 gallons of water for a total filled weight of 482 lbs. for greater penetration depth Works in clay soil Black corrosion-resistant powder-coated frame 16 HP or greater tractor recommended 0.118in. thick drum"
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Review 1 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spike Aerator

,
January 4, 2016
By
from Andalusia,Al
Good solid item, but needs some spacer/washers on ends of rollers to keep handle from rubbing on the tank (around the shaft) as you make a corner turn, also had to replace 1 grease zerk. I like that the spines actually dig into the ground.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

60" spiked tooth aeriator

,
November 17, 2015
By
from N.E.Oregon
I would start with drum only half full. Make big sweeping turns in more of oval pattern, to not over aerate your ends and corners. Don't use if conditions are to wet as the machine your pulling it with (4-wheeler) preferred will tear up the grass. It does a great job that adds oxygen to your soil and stimulates root growth. The short comings in my opinion is the frame is to light and should be made with rectangular
tubing with slightly thicker walled material which I'm in process of doing. I plan on ordering another one, (works great)
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a good purchase

,
October 4, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this to loosen the soil /clay that NC is known for. WOW,...it really did turn over the soil and made great size holes in the ground. First tried it while the ground was completely dry. It did not work as well. Once it rained for a day then tried it again,...WOW. This works great.
The only suggestion that I have is to make sure you have a powerful enough tractor/mower to pull this as when you fill it with water, it weights over 400lbs. All-in-all,....this was a good purchase that will help me for years to come.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
April 24, 2015
By
from Nashville, TN
Product was shipped to store. Pick up was quick and easy. I've used it several times on my 4 acre yard over the past 2 months, and this roller/aerator performed as advertised.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as described.

,
April 15, 2015
By
from North Carolina
Good spike aerator that doesn't break the bank. Was able to pull with my compact tractor full of water with no problems. Half full can pull with Mule. Works well for small pastures and yard and does a nice job penetrating the clay soil in our area. Grease fittings make for an easy to maintain tool I hope will last for a long while.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool for the money

,
September 26, 2014
By
from Kansas City
this is a great tool and easy to use. The only issue I had was the grease zerks would good too far in and would rub on the shaft. I had to add a thin washer to each and then worked perfectly. I was able to spike my 4 ac yard with my riding lawn mower in a few hours.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spike aerator

,
July 22, 2014
By
from chesapeake,va
this aerator is built very well. It is easy to use, with it's
single pin to connect to the mower. It is a bit heavy when full of water.Does a nice job.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aerator

,
May 6, 2014
By
from Livermore, CO
My aerator arrived when it was suppose to. Even though the packaging was pretty flimsy for the weight and size of the aerator it was in good shape with no damage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60

,
April 16, 2014
By
from fayette county tn
This aerator does the job even if the ground is a little hard. It pulls fine behind my zero turn John Deere. I didn't fill the tank full because the weight about 3/4 full was plenty to do the job. I have about 3.5 acres that I mow and aerate and with the 6 foot width it doesn't take long to cover. And for areas that need a little TLC just go over 3 or 4 times spread a few seed and the results are pretty amazing. The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is I don't know how long the aerator will last but everything else was as expected
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

aerator

,
May 14, 2013
By
from Lebanon, Tn
Don`t expect to pull this with a lawn tractor when it is loaded with water, unless you have chains or a ATV. I used a 20 HP tractor and mine slipped all the time. The axel brackets are a poor design. A hollow tube with a grease fitting allows the grease to leak out. It should have a pillow block bearing of some kind, instead of metal to metal. With this aerator fully loaded with water these brackets are inadequate and cheap. I intend to modify mine to this extend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the lawn

,
April 25, 2013
By
from Largo, Florida
When I first heard about aeration, I was a bit skeptical. After all, what good is just poking holes in the yard? This is one of the spike-style aerators, not a core aerator meaning it takes some of the dirt back out with it. I didn't have a trailer to pull it with, so I welded up a handle and I use this in a push capacity instead of a pull capacity (and by hand). It works pretty well. The drum itself is heavy enough to get into the dirt and make decent holes. I followed this with a good watering and some fresh grass seed and within a few weeks I had a whole new lawn. It's now luscious and green.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spike roller

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Indiana
I have a rather large yard, about 7 acres. The roller did great over the what was a hayfield and broke up the ground nicely. I will go over again in the spring a few times but initially I'm impressed with its results
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
March 19, 2011
By
from Tn
Works very well at busting thru some pretty tuff dirt. Looking forward to a very green yard.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
21out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Yard Tuff Drum Spike Aerator -60in.W, Model# SE-60"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Drum Aerator

,
June 3, 2010
By
from Southern Virginia
Bought this thing a few weeks back. It seems very solidly built and assembly was no problem. The welds look good. The weight should break even the toughest ground. My only concern is rust, so I intend to store cover it for storage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
33out of 50found this review helpful.