Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36

Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36

Item# 365395
This plug aerator has fifty-four 6in. plugs that penetrate up to 3in. into the ground for full core aerating. This 18in. dia. drum holds up to 40 gallons of water for additional weight. Application Aerator, Overall Width in. 40, Spike Length in. 6, Spike Penetration Depth in. 5, Aerator Type Plug, Spikes qty. 54, Working Width in. 36. Plugs can be removed for sharpening or replacement Works in clay soil Can be attached to a standard mower hitch Drum holds up to 40 gallons of water for additional weight that totals 490 lbs. for greater penetration depth Durable 0.118in. steel construction Rust-resistant powder-coat finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Review 1 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ohio Steel spiker

,
September 10, 2014
By DaisyCutter44
from NC
"Would be better if it had bushings or bearings instead of metal to metal. Had to buy pillow blocks to increase longevity.
Also, missing one spike.
Aside from above seems to be a good value product that should last beyond expectations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it is supposed to

,
August 4, 2014
By cmzaustin
from austin, tx
"We live in Texas, which is hard, rocky ground. So, after assembling this device, we waited for a good soaking rain. With the ground wet and soft, we pulled this behind the mower. It worked exactly like it is supposed to, drilling deep cores that it then spit out on the yard. With the first use, we did break off five of the spikes when we hit a spot that was unusually rocky underneath. We've ordered 50 extra spikes so that we can change them out when necessary.
One of the grease fittings did break off when we were trying to put grease where the drum rolls. It seemed a little fragile. Everything else about this is very well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tines break

,
April 18, 2014
By Homeownerforgood
from Virginia
"I was encouraged by the reviews. I should have been suspicious since the most recent review is one year old. I did not notice, the age of these reviews. Today, tines are cheap! I had at least a dozen tines break. I returned the product for a full refund."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great plug tool

,
April 24, 2013
By Piero
from Mountain top,pa
"Wow this drum did the job and saved me lots of time I use to rent a machine it would take me 3 hours for my front yard now it took me two hours front and back .. I had to use my quad ground was kind of soft so the plug went in deep. Dollar for dollar this is the winner. Best part u can add water to make how light or heavy you want to"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great aerator with ideal conditions

,
October 21, 2012
By Scow1
from Lake Zurich, IL
"The aerator works great if you have moist soil. Had issues with the plugs penetrating and ejecting the cores with dry dirt. To wet of soil will also clog the plugs. Had to use a screwdriver to clean out the plugs to get them ejecting again. Make sure you have atleast 20+hp tractor to pull the aerator when full of water. Unit is heavy duty and gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 11, 2012
By RKent
from Clarksville, TN
"I bought this Aerator to do my yard this fall. I used to rent one that I had to push around the yard and it took all day. I used this aerator and made several different patterns around the yard, in about an hour. I filled the drum up with water full. As long as the ground had water in it, It dug deep and clean. Where the ground was hard, it did not go more than about half inch.
I used a Four wheeler to pull it around, I am sure that my 21 hp lawn tractor could have pulled it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great piece of equipment

,
October 10, 2011
By Wars
from South carolina
"Great product!!!! It will dig deep even on hard pan"
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

plug Aerator

,
June 14, 2011
By TerryTheyardman
from Newnan GA
"This aerator is the best one that I could find it's built tougher than any I could find. This is for the hard core yard man. and only half full it works grate. But you need a large lawn tractor to pull it with but it works great !! It could use a set of weels so you could pull it across hard areas like driveways and walkways"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

,
August 23, 2010
By NCFordMan
from Raleigh, NC
"This machine does take a nice plug out of the ground and my grass has benefited from the aeration. My lawn tractor does have trouble sometimes pulling it up an incline, so I had to take some water out of the aerator, but it still takes a deep plug out of the ground. I would recommend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Tuff Drum Plug Aerator - 36in.W, Model# DE-36
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it

,
April 24, 2010
By Hoss12
from White Marsh, MD
"I purchased this about two weeks ago. I am a mechanic so putting it together didn't take long at all. (when using air tools) Could take a little time using hand tools. Just got done using it and it works GREAT. Filled about half way with water and it was pulling perfect plugs about 3" with no problems. If your thinking about buying one DO IT. I have used the other ones with the blocks for weight, the difference is night and day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.