Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"

Item# 365396
"Pull behind your ATV or lawn tractor to prepare and cover seed beds and lawns before and after planting. Also good for leveling playing fields and baseball diamonds. Dethatcher Type Drag, Operating Width in. 48, Tine Type Galvanized mesh, Dimensions L x W x H in. 60 x 48 x 3. 5ft.L x 4ft.W galvanized mesh harrow Tow behind any ATV or lawn tractor using a tow chain Durable steel construction with rust-resistant powder-coat finish"
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Review 1 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow 48 in model#DH-045

,
November 4, 2015
By
from Tampa,Fl
I ordered online to pick up at the store in Tampa , and got a phone call in maybe 5 days from the store that it was in. Went in picked it up and tried it out. I had brought in 10 yards of top soil to improve my front yard. The drag harrow really helped smooth out the dirt using my riding lawn mower to pull it. For the money you really can't go wrong buying one for leveling off areas for new topsoil or gravel . I would recomend this basic drag harrow to any homeowner who has a riding lawn mower .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

,
November 2, 2015
By
from Rural, KY
Product does the job well if you add weight across it. You especially need this when working in thick gravel, rough ground, or thick grass and weeds.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Harrow

,
November 1, 2015
By
from DeWitt, Ia
The product was ordered and picked up at the store. Shipping time was two weeks which seemed excessive. The merchandise came preassembled. I the harrow worked very well on my lawn. I used it for leveling off low areas in my lawn. I would highly recommed it for lawn and gravel drive leveling.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Drag

,
October 26, 2015
By
from Douglasville, GA
The Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow is the ideal piece of equipment for leveling and smoothing a tilled seed bed. Also with little or no added weight it excellent for covering seeds after planting. The drag harrow works well behind an ATV or garden tractor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Basic Drag Harrow

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Sussex County, VA
Basic functionality for my long gravel driveway smoothing out recycled asphalt. Since my instruction booklet was rendered unusable (left it out in the rain) I am not sure what Mfgr recommends, but seems light at tail end. Tried putting an 8' Post there but it falls off. Also, weighted block/stones I use at the front slide off periodically as well. Functional, but could be better. Give it 3.5 stars. For the price, not bad.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Road Drag

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Kingman, AZ
This drag does a good job out of box, but did need a minor modification! Tow chain came attached to wire fencing type material instead of metal frame. A move to the frame prevents wire from being stretched out of shape.
Also, came with 10 small plastic clips and two round metal disks with no instruction or idea of what they are for. Even downloaded manual from store, and they are not mentioned.
I see however that is drag will be a great help in keeping weeds out of gravel road!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for gravel driveways

,
October 23, 2014
By
from Tulsa, OK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have owned one of these for about 5 years. I have loaned it to neighbors and purchased one for a friend. This is a perfect finishing tool. I can't get a nice finish with my big track loader but this smoothes out gravel or loose dirt great. Simple. Effective. Cheap. If you have a grave driveway you need one of these.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Harrow/drag

,
August 19, 2014
By
from Winlock, WA
I got this drag for pulling behind the lawn tractor. It works well overall. I had to learn how to make it work correctly. I also took one of the weights off as it was too heavy for my small lawn tractor. After removing it - wow, great, wonderful - our driveway is level again and I don't have to order another load of gravel!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Driveway & Lawn Maintenance Drag

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Mpls/Stp
Considerably more robust than expected good value, will last many years.. Using it on the aggressive side it does a great job of leveling and freshening my class 5 driveway. And did a great job of ripping up the portion of my yard that was mostly weeds.
Turned it over using the less aggressive side and the area was smooth enough for seeding.
Hint / Caution in storage it can get really tangled. To avoid this I got an old piece of carpet cut it to the same size as the drag. Then I can lay in on top of the drag and roll it up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lghtweight!!

,
September 25, 2012
By
from Ireland
Bought this of the UK branch of Northern tool.[Kudos for getting into europe BTW].
However this is really a lightweight tool for paddock usage lawn or gravel smoothing,nothing else.
Its chain is about the toughest part of it.The plates are lightweight steel and a hunk of chain link[Hurricane fencing] serves as the drag.
However using lightweight chain link connectors is a no on even less connecting them to the chain link fence.I drilled holes in the plates and used small bow shackels to connect the chain properly to the plates.
Concrete blocks dont sit properly onto the drag board,and need to be secured with bungee cords.
The chain link drag after awhile bends out of shape.I have added a old 12lb window sash weight to the end of the fence links to keep it down.And have pretty much rebuilt this from the ground up.
All in all disappointing if you are going to do anything heavier than a flat surface.Its great for gravel driveways or such,it fell apart when I tried to do our horse pasture.
Dissapointed!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light weight

,
September 25, 2012
By
from West Virginia
Bought this to smooth my soil on my new home. The dirt was loose and had some small rocks that needed removed. Put this behind my atv and had to add weight to get it drag and not just float. After about 1 hour the chain was stretched badly, the chain connectors were apart and I just gave up with it. If you have a small project this may work for you, but if you need to have something to do a bigger job, this may not be for you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

ATV drag

,
May 7, 2012
By
from ohio
Only for fine work. I put some concrete blocks to give it more weight. Drag with the metal frame where you can put 4 concrete blocks worked better for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

harrow

,
June 6, 2011
By
from camp verde az
this works really great smoothes nicely and pulls easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horse Pasture Harrowing

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Bend, Oregon
We actually got this to harrow the horse pasture. We did not want it to damage the grass just breakup and distribute the debris. It does just that. Hook it on to the ATV hitch and drag away. Our pasture is uneven and has rock but this glides over without issue. Make fast work cleaning up the pasture.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small and lightweight for ATV

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Central, NY
This might be OK for very well tilled dirt if you pull it behind a lawn tractor. I used this for about an hour behind an ATV and it is basically junk now. I wasn't even hauling weight on it! The pull chain is too light weight, too short, and the attachment clips bent so badly that I had to use Vice Grips to remove it from the ATV. Save your money, or buy something for more money that is more heavy duty.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Texas
I recently had several trees cut down and the stumps ground on my property. The chips from the stump grinding were removed and 50 yards of dirt were hauled in. This drag was a life saver for leveling the dirt and preparing the ground for planting of grass seed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

,
November 16, 2010
By
from California
I've looked around for a similar item and Northern Tool has the best price and selection by far for this item.
I use it to drag my arena for my horses. It works great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Tuff drag harrow

,
August 25, 2010
By
from Lakeview, OH
This is a great product. I had topsoil spread over a 1/4 acre with a skid-loader. To finish my yard I attached the harrow to my riding mower and added a couple concrete blocks to the harrow, it knocked down the high spots on my yard, next I removed the blocks and did a finish drag. Finally after seeding I did one more drag to cover the grass seed. This only took me about 4 hours. Six weeks later I am mowing grass. This was the first time I had done anything like this. Excellent tool for homeowner or light commercial use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drag

,
June 1, 2010
By
from ohio
great drag for the price i use it on the local baseball fields i am in charge of dragging all 8 fields this is the best drag i have bought
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Yard Tuff ATV Drag Harrow - 48in.W, Model# DH-045"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Patton, PA
durable product, works well. Northern Tool did a great job getting this item to me fast.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.