Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton

Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton

Item# 365398
This Wel-Bilt 8-ton log splitter's convenient, lightweight design gives you easy portability and is perfect for getting your firewood supply ready for winter. The splitting wedge adjusts to 5 different heights and splits logs up to 23in.L x 14in. dia. Pre-assembled No, Continuous Force Tons 8, Wedge Yes, Product Type Vertical splitter, Ram Force Tons 8, Max. Log Size L x W in. 23 x 14. Lightweight design and handles make this unit easy to move from one worksite to the next Solid polypropylene wheels for easy maneuverability Splitting wedge adjusts to 5 different heights for faster splits Splits logs up to 23in.L and 14in. dia. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 of 19(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kindling splitter

,
January 2, 2014
By Tmbrwolfe
from Wisconsin
"I have had this unit in my shop, next to the wood furnace for 3 years. While there was a failure of the linkage at the pump fulcrum, it was relatively easy to fabricate a heavier link . Other than that I have had no problems and have even split 15"dia cherry log sections into kindling sized pieces.
This is not my primary log splitter, but it is a very handy and easy to use tool for splitting small logs (4"-8") into kindling.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

hydraulic jack failed within minutes

,
November 27, 2013
By LChris
from Iowa
"I was able to split 3 small logs with this splitter before the hydraulic pump release mechanism failed and now it will not raise the cylinder. The quality of the bottle jack appears to be low and the release pedal mechanism/valve is very flimsy. There was vinyl tape wrapped around the valve shaft and spray painted red to match the pump. ?? Quality - no. Northern Tool is sending me a whole new unit after I RMA this one. What a pain to get it all packed up. I don't expect the bottle jack to last long if it is anything like this one. Maybe you will be lucky and get one that works. If they just put a few more $$ into the jack component, I think this could be a decent product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad jack

,
October 6, 2013
By Hilldoditto
from The Ozarks in Arkansas
"The first splitter lasted one season; the second two. In both cases, the jack leaked. Almost impossible to repair. Not worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just right.

,
October 10, 2012
By KYGal
from Louisa, KY
"This splitter is not for those who want to split huge quantities of wood but is perfect for someone who doesn't need a large supply of wood. No gas, no motors, no electric - just the power of you is needed to operate the foot lever which activates the piston. Effective, healthy and environmentally friendly!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Foot operated log splitter

,
September 18, 2012
By DoLo
from NC
"I Bought this to split wood for casual bonfires in back yard (I burn alot of wood). Easy to assemble. Works fairly well. Logs need to be cut flat on at least one end. Didn't seem to take much effort. Easier than axe.
Works better than I thought it would. Have not used hard yet so do not know how durable it is. Jack would probably be only failure point but is 8 ton so it should be able to handle logs with in size recommendations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Foot-Operated Log Splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By 79stratman
from Wisconsin
"I ordered the 8-ton foot-operated log splitter with a bit of skepticism, since I use a 28 ton hydraulic splitter annually. It was a pleasant surprise to find this little splitter's ability to handle any low volume needs.
The only drawback encountered was with the hydraulic jack's valve failing during it's third splitting session. I was forwarded to Wel-Built, and their representative was VERY good about attempting to rectify the situation. They immediately sent a replacement valve assembly. Unfortunately, I was a bit daunted by the prospect of actually replacing the valve (plus, not having enough time to dedicate to the repair), the job has yet to complete the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very useful

,
May 7, 2012
By RSJONESCO
from Como, Co
"I bought this at the beginning of the year, but didn't get a chance to use it until March, so it sat in my garage for a bit. It was easy to assemble and easy to move around, which is about all good that I could say about this product. It doesn't hold logs that are not perfectly round. Meaning if it can't perfect set the log on the platform then it won't move upwards to be split. Furthermore, it binds very easily as it slides up the guide bar. The lever that you pump with your foot became wobbly after a few splits. It can't handle anything that weighs much of anything. The thing is weak when you do finally get it to hold a log for splitting. I actually spilt logs with a maul and wedge that this thing couldn't even start to split. As soon as it feels much pressure at all, the things starts to give out. Overall, this thing might be all right for the perfect log, but that is doesn't exist. Hence, you won't find this product much useful for anything that might be remotely tough. Don't waste your time or money on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'm splitting without gas

,
January 10, 2012
By TLCTX
from Austin, TX
"After swinging an ax and running a chainsaw I thought using leg power to split the wood was the ticket, a true full body workout. Even my eighty year old father was able to use the vertical foot splitter. Easy to maneuver around and set up. My only complaint is the metal seat where the log sits and is raised bent. Must cut wood flat, no angled cuts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

verticlal foot operated log splitter.

,
January 9, 2012
By brent73
from Lewiston, ID
"Very little assembly required to get in working condition. Very sturdy construction. Foot pedal that operates pump moves side to side a bit. .A heck of a lt easier than swinging a maul."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitter

,
October 10, 2011
By exwhitehat
from Valley Cottage, NY
"I use this for splitting wood that is too big for our stove. You can assemble it in little time and use it at once. It works great, easy to load, use, store. No problems at all and I love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it and have recommended it!

,
June 13, 2011
By WoodchuckVT
from Vermont
"Easy to assemble, portable and powerful. It quickly adjusts to all lengths and splits difficult pieces. The foot operated return valve is well done - keeping hands free to handle the wood. It's a perfect tool and safe and fun to use - I split too much wood now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't waste your money

,
March 25, 2011
By KSTARrrrr
from Springhill, Fl
"Take the money you are going to spend on this and put it towards either an electric or gas powered splitter. Works on smaller pieces that are not large enough to split with axe, but platform to sit wood on is small and larger pieces of wood won't split at all. However, if you are looking to tone your thighs and rear end, this is for you....."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

functional, small, great price

,
March 22, 2011
By jcarlo
from Warwick, NY
"I've been using this for the past few weekends to split maple and I am impressed that a unit of this size and price works as well as it does. Make sure you anchor the wood well and wear eye protection, as the jack puts a lot of pressure on the wood."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Splitter

,
March 21, 2011
By deejr214
from Oakland,MD
"Upon recieving the Vertical Foot Operater Log Splitter, I immediately assembled it, which was very easy to do. I used it to split wood in my basement as it was still 2-3 feet of snow outside. It works great and saved lots of time and effort to get my firewood replaced. The easy of splitting the logs was amazing even if slower compared to a gasoling operated spitter. Plus one cannot use a gasoline splitter indoors.
The splitter is light enough to move outdoors too quickly and I have split over a cord of wood so far in about a 2 days.
I would definitely recommend this product to friends.
Don
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Workout, and Split Wood At the Same Time

,
March 17, 2011
By EdOxman
from Primm Springs, TN
"Built sturdy. Heavy duty and easy to roll to move from one place to another. Expect a work out though. Hope your legs are ready, but not bad on the back. It is what you would expect for a foot opperated log splitter, but expect a little effort. For the price, you can't beat it, compared to a powered splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Operating Ease

,
March 14, 2011
By CS060755
from Wyoming
"Good product easy to use. small jack underneath has a few problems with not holding the pressure. Uses quite a bit of oil to hold pressure"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No strength needed

,
March 14, 2011
By Bea2702
from Denver, CO
"This log splitter is super easy to use, and does not require a lot of strength. I could not split logs with an axe or a maul, but with this one, I just place a log vertically on the platform and pump the pedal. It raises the log up towards the wedge, and the 8-ton hydraulics easily splits the log. I am close to 60 yrs old, and with just my leg muscles, I can do up to 20 logs (split in 4 pieces) before I switch legs or take a break.
It is well made and has sturdy legs and wheels. Requires about 4 steps of bolting pieces together, about 10 minutes. The only thing was that the washer and cotter pin fell off one wheel, but was easy to replace.
A great time-saver and so easy to use!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 14, 2011
By WayP
from Newfoundland, Canada
"This product was easy to setup right out of the box. Just a few items to bolt on to get working. The wheels make it easy to move about, no lifting. It is completely portable. Take it to the cabin in the trunk of a car.
So far it has split large green hardwood junks with no problems. The best part is you don't need gas or electricity only leg power to operate. I can use it anywhere.
It has lived up to manufacturer claims about what it could do when I ordered it.
I am very happy with the purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Vertical Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 8-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the doctor ordered!

,
February 18, 2011
By Donald413
from Long Island, N.Y.
"I have a small Jotul wood stove and the wood I get delivered frequently has pieces too large to put in so I use this to re-split the logs. Absolutely incredible strength. Easy assembly and very sturdy.
Perhaps the stroke could be a little longer but it sure does work great!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.