Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit

DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit

Item# 36626
DuraPlus Chimney is the metal chimney that does the 3 things a firesafe chimney must do stay cool on the outside, provide a hot draft on the inside, with a firesafe design that protects both the chimney and building. It is designed for appliances that are tested and listed for use with a 2100F HT chimney system such as wood stoves, fireplaces, furnaces, boilers, stoves, ranges, water heaters or appliances fueled by wood, oil, coal or gas. This kit is the perfect solution for applications when you must penetrate the wall. Add DuraPlus chimney to the kit for a full system. U.S.A. Adjustable Yes, Length in. 9, Material Type Galvanized steel, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Mounting Type Through the wall, Color Stainless steel and black, Fuel Type Wood, oil, coal, gas burning, Pipe Diameter in. 6, Product Style Chimney kits, Pieces qty. 9, Pipe Design Triple wall. Kit includes Chimney cap with spark arrestor 2 wall straps Tee with cap Tee support bracket Wall thimble One 9in. DuraPlus chimney section Snap-lock adapter Chimney is 6in. diameter
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Review 1 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Through The Wall "Nice and Clean"

,
September 17, 2013
By offthegridgrin
from The Berkshires (Massachusetts)
"Great Product! Very well built and to the standards of what you would expect from Duravent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark Arrester

,
November 5, 2012
By rangerrick
from oklahoma
"agree w/others but note: Screw the spark arrester into the top stack w/sheet metal screws or you will find it in the next county as it is one big frisbee to Oklahoma wind."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chimney Kit

,
May 7, 2012
By Banny
from Windber, Pa
"An easy to install through the wall kit. Follow the instuctions and you will have a safe, reliable installation. The tripple wall pipe does not even get hot to the touch, letting you not worry about leaving the house with a nice hot fire going. Would very much recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install.

,
January 19, 2012
By akgarbageman
from South Central, Alaska
"I ordered this kit to install a woodstove in our home. The kit was easy to install and functions flawlessly. The only thing I have heartburn about is that the T connection is galvanized and not stainless like the outside of the duravent piping. That being said, it still functions but it isn't as aesthetically pleasing to the eye."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Missing Piece

,
January 16, 2012
By Kasi
from Ponder, Texas
"Quality great, but 9 inch chimney pipe was missing in the kit. Local store replace it off their shelf, but they found it was also missing in the kit they had on the shelf."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

This kit works fantastic

,
January 9, 2012
By Nugentrocks
from Iowa
"This was my first wood stove installation, and I wanted to take an easier route when installing the piping. I had just put a brand new roof on my house, and didn't want to cut through it, so I decided on a through the wall installation. I had some concerns as I didn't know whether or not it would be difficult, and whether or not this kit would prevent heat transfer into the surrounding wood walls.
The installation was simple, and everything that I needed to get the pipe through the wall was contained in this kit. After completing the installation, I fired up the stove for the first time, and although I did not get it real hot (based on the stove manufacturers recommendation for a burn in period), there was not transfer of heat into the surrounding walls.
Now, four months later, with the stove completely broken in, and the temperature in the 20's for the day time high, I have run the stove at extremely high temperatures, and have not had any heat transfer from this kit to the surrounding walls.
I would highly recommend this kit to any "do it yourselfer" as well as to any other person wanting a simple and effective way to get pipe through a wall without any worries about heat transfer and/or possible fires."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 6, 2011
By WaysideWayne
from Middle Georgia
"I purchased this kit from Northern Tool via their web site -on sale. All the reviews from others indicated that this is a very good product. Based on that, I decided to purchase this item and additional 6" flue pipe sections. It was shipped free to the local Northern Tool store. When I began the installation I discovered that all the reviews were exactly right. This is a very well made product and should last a very very long time. I look forward to my first fire burning in the Myriad wood heater that I also purchased from Norhtern Too and is connected to the DuraVent chimney. Since I have not used this product yet, except for the easy installation, I cannot speak positives or negative regarding performance. I expect it to work very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked perrrrfect,

,
March 14, 2011
By mack22
from Atlanta Ga
"You can't go wrong with DuraVent. You expect the best and you get the best!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit

,
March 14, 2011
By mda1
from Cleveland, UT
"Easy to install need to read to get proper pipe through the wall. NT actually put this on sale after order was placed and refunded the difference."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DURAVENT DURAPLUS THROUGH-THE-THE-WALL CHIMNEY KIT

,
March 14, 2011
By eugene3041
"VERY PLEASED WITH THE WALL KIT.VERY EASY TO INSTALL.THE ONLY THING I WOULD RECOMEND WOULD BE ABLE TO SELECT WHAT LENGTH WALL PIPE YOU NEED. EXAMPLE KIT IS SENT WITH A 9IN.AND I NEEDED A 12IN.I HAD TO ORDER A 12IN NOW I HAVE A 9IN. THAT I CANT USE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vent Kit

,
November 21, 2010
By genswm
from Portland, TN
"Vent Kit arrived on schedule. All components were in one package. Very easy to install and works great with my woodburning stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dura-Vent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit

,
February 22, 2010
By Shed
from Rochester NY
"This was a great produt, I used it for a small wood stove that was located in a storage shed where we hunt. The instructions were easy to follow and everything fit very well to the pieces that I already had. This was the first time that I had set up a wood stove and wanted it to be as safe as possible. I keep warm now and fell completely safe because of using this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best way to get a chimney through the wall

,
February 4, 2010
By Oldguy
from Middle Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This kit was complete when I unpacked it, and consists of well-made, solid components. The triple-wall pipe goes together well, and stays cool enough that fresh snow didn't melt on the tee support with a hot fire in the stove. The thimble stays just warm to the touch around the outside edge, also with a hot fire in the stove. I guyed the chimney (3, 36-inch sections of Dura Plus with the kit's storm cap/spark arrestor on top to my porch roof, using one of the two support brackets. The draft is great, and I have no concerns about safety or durability. I wouldn't use any other type of chimney pipe on a wood stove install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Master Carpenter

,
November 12, 2008
By DannyNJ
from NJ
"I have done a lot of work were you have to figure things out but this takes the cake.The product itself is great once figuring out all the measurements.The only problem I had was figuring out how to hook in the stove pipe.The instructions on the transition from the single wall pipe to the triple wall pipe were not very clear.All the illustrations on the applications were very good.When goin through the wall the instructions lack the detail needed for someone who is not mechanically inclined.The only other down fall is trying to contact dura pipe for support.If your not in a rush and don't mind waiting 24-36 hours for a phone call back you'll be ok.All in all this product is very good..DOWNSIDE---waiting 24-36 hours for technical support to call you back.
Danny NJ"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit

,
October 29, 2007
By PlmbrJoe
from Plymouth Meeting, PA
"The kit arrived nicely packed and was of high quality. It gave easy to read instructions and was fairly easy to install. The only downside was the hunt in the boxes for the nuts and screws."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DuraVent DuraPlus Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
October 22, 2007
By AlmostHandy
from SW Wisconsin
"I used the Through-The-Wall Chimney Kit to replace an existing masonry chimney. Everything went very smoothly as the kit parts fit perfectly in the framing created for the old chimney. The only additional items I needed were 4- 36" sections of pipe, two more pipe straps and the roof flashing. DuraVent Support helped me select the right flashing when I got to that stage. I had some carpenters help me install the flashing but I'd feel comfortable doing it on my own next time. The system works great and it feels good to finally have a really safe chimney."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.